Opinion Player list management and game plan 2019 part 2

I feel bad for Burton, he is going to get torn limb from limb from our supporters if he's not dropping B&Fs and AA's withing 24 months of his arrival.

Dudes gonna have so much pressure on him it'll be insane.
From who exactly? I think you underestimate the footy intelligence of the wider Port community. What you think coz a few brainless bogans on a bigfooty board will denigrate another young player at Port, that's insane pressure?

I feel ill that we are going to bend over and let Clarkson have his new Rioli for a pick 15 .

I don’t believe it was just ‘training’ that they want to swap a double AA best midfielder for pick 15-17 and a player that we just don’t need.
Obviously he told Kenny that he is a shit coach and to get a new gameplan... ( like every other person on the planet)
If it was the Saints or Carlton and a low pick it would bother me less but to suckhole up the Hawthorn genius coach narrative and actually support a direct competitor to our entry in to the finals is the opposite to Port Adelaide ruthlessness.
Burgoyne blunder is already in our collective psyche .... and giving them their next Rioli on a plate makes me think ...please bend over more and pass the grease.
KT where are you mate?
Never Hawthorn
Never pick 15
Burton who?

Sits forward with Marshall kicks goals.
Be very popular very quickly.
He's gonna have to cover chads 20 disposals and a goal a game. People are gonna see the trade as a total bust if he isnt and will want him to be the martyr for the resulting poor decision making from the admin.

The media will fuel the fire by doing Burton v Wingard and Polec comparisons weekly.

He's gonna have to cover chads 20 disposals and a goal a game. People are gonna see the trade as a total bust if he isnt and will want him to be the martyr for the resulting poor decision making from the admin.

The media will fuel the fire by doing Burton v Wingard and Polec comparisons weekly.

Not much pressure for Burton to live up to.

Plug the defence up first. Then if any of Ryder, Frampton, Ladhams are off the list at the end of next season, go for forwards in next years draft/trade period.

I really value having a well balanced side at both levels, if we have 0-1 tall forwards and tall defenders in the SANFL it hurts the whole team.

If we have 4 up forward then it's too top heavy, It happened a couple of years ago with Ladhams being pushed down the the Academy because of Eddy, Trengove and Marshall.
Kids kids. Can’t we all just agree that a decade of drafting undersized flankers (forward and back), has left us with too few tall forwards, tall backs AND speedy mids? :(

Pressure on Burton wont be much.

Pressure on 6 or 3 will be gigantic given weve sold the farm to get to it
People are gonna be poking burton with a stick asking why he isnt just wingard. Wingard is an absolute fan favorite and this trade will turn plenty of younger supporters off from buying tickets and memberships.

I feel bad for Burton, he is going to get torn limb from limb from our supporters if he's not dropping B&Fs and AA's withing 24 months of his arrival.

Dudes gonna have so much pressure on him it'll be insane.
I don’t agree, the guys that made the deals will.

If Smith is there at 6 i'd call that would be a huge win. Max King probably best available. I think Rozee would be best fit for our side though.

10 I want Hately. I'll be shattered if we don't pick him if he's available. If he's not there then Caldwell is the best fit.

15 I want Williams. If he's gone then an outside type in either Hill, Stack or Butters.

I think realistically Rozee, Hately, Williams would be a good draft crop

I really like that list.

It really redefines our under 23 group.

Plug the defence up first. Then if any of Ryder, Frampton, Ladhams are off the list at the end of next season, go for forwards in next years draft/trade period.

I really value having a well balanced side at both levels, if we have 0-1 tall forwards and tall defenders in the SANFL it hurts the whole team.

If we have 4 up forward then it's too top heavy, It happened a couple of years ago with Ladhams being pushed down the the Academy because of Eddy, Trengove and Marshall.

We absolutely need to address the talk defense stocks in the sanfl so that garner isn’t playing chb next year, but we shouldn’t be doing it with first round picks.

The prospects aren’t there. It would be foolish to reach for guys.

There are this year, and always are, late draft and rookie pick options for tall defenders. I’m trying to get a pick or 2 back in the 35-65 range and looking at Koschitzke or Grundy. We could even live trade into a late pick by trading next years 3rd or 4th if they slide to a pick we like. Grundy might be available rookie draft even.

Is what we get in a packet of twisties trade better than sticking with him?.

Absolutely not. If hombsch goes we have to replace him with a ready to go defender and the young developing kid we need. I’m only doing it for overs. Even one extra year of him and we lose him next year for pick 75 still gives us a chance to get a year into a kid.

I’m trying to work out what a potential Carlton, Gold Coast, Port Adelaide, Hawthorn four way deal would look like:

Loses: 1

Gains: 3 (Rankine), 6 (Smith)

Gold Coast

Loses: 2, 3

Gains: 1 (Walsh), 10

Loses: Burton, 15

Gains: Wingard

Port

Loses: 6, 10, Wingard

Gains: 2 (Lukosius), 15, Burton

I’m trying to work out what a potential Carlton, Gold Coast, Port Adelaide, Hawthorn four way deal would look like:

Loses: 1

Gains: 3 (Rankine), 6 (Smith)

Gold Coast

Loses: 2, 3

Gains: 1 (Walsh), 10

Loses: Burton, 15

Gains: Wingard

Port

Loses: 6, 10, Wingard

Gains: 2 (Lukosius), 15, Burton

I don't know how it could get done but I'd only feel comfortable with all this if we could snare pick 3 only by losing 10. Go with 3, 6, 15 to the draft.

DO we think that we will consider trading a 2020 first round for another first round in this years draft?

Not unlikely and we could probably get a good deal because just about everyone will figure we're going to crash and burn next year.

Then again in that case maybe we hang onto it.

Unless he's an indigenous midfielder I'm not sure there's a comparison. I'm seeing Burton as a forward sometime mid and if he averages 2.5 goals a game and can work in with Marshall he's a great get.
We happen to end up Smith and Hately in the draft I reckon we move on quickly. Particularly if pick up Smith and he starts on the wing from day one.

DO we think that we will consider trading a 2020 first round for another first round in this years draft?

I'm all for trading next years and the year afters 1st.

Let's go for 5 picks in the top 10.

Opinion Player list management and game plan 2019 part 2