Player Review vs Fremantle

I

Not really sure with caff. Saw last year he can tag, but gets found out with speed- thought he might be able to blanket a small/medium forward because he still reads it well in the air.

The problem with that is small forwards will torch him once the ball hits the deck and expose his lack of speed and agility or turning circle.

Perhaps some thought should be given to protecting Pendlebury from the aggressive tag by tagging his tormentor. The placement as a forward obviously didn't work.

I'm just going with the negatives here:

Harry Lumumba- nothing has changed for the holier than thou individual who is battling the world's problems. He is constantly fumbly on deck, his overhead ability is atrocious when he flaps his arms around and coughs up easy uncontested marks under the high ball, his kicking is pure rubbish and every time he finally does handle the footy, he runs one way, runs another and then gets pinged for holding the ball. Harry O of 2010 is simply a myth these days because this guy is an imposter.

Marty Clarke- should never play league footy again. No kicking penetration- always loopy, only one sided and is slower with less agility than a guy like Sandilands. It's over for Marty.

Nick Maxwell- enough is enough. Bite the bullet and call stumps on his time. He doesn't man an opponent and he is ineffective when he now plays loose. In 2009/2010/2011 this guy was so good at reading general play but all his ability has been lost. He is slow, a poor kick, poor decision maker ( how many times could he have just handballed to a teammate over the top but ended up being caught holding the ball??? )

Jack Frost- Always trails his man to the ball, is fumbly and cannot take an over head mark to save his life. Kicking is rubbish as is decision making. We talk about Brown being bad but at least Brown isn't fumbly and can take an overhead mark to relieve pressure when the situation calls for it. This guy is simply a scragger.

Brent Macaffer- we miss the 2010 version. That version was agile, found space often, used the ball really well, took strong marks and ran all day. This version is slow, a poor kick without penetration, turning circle worse than Q Lynch and has lost all his game smarts and reading of the play.
Agree with those.
McCaffer finding space in 2010 is interesting. All players found more space. They would run and spread when we got the ball.
First quarter last night had a touch of 2010. We tackled and pressured when we didn't have the ball then I'm not sure what happened

he was pick 65 in the 2011 draft and on our snr list for 2012 and 2013 season and then rookied for the 2014 season I believe.

feel free to correct me if im wrong.

To the best of my knowledge he was re-signed post 2012 after a reasonable VFL season.

Upon reflection I had another matter that I wanted to address. The fundamentals of some in our line up are terrible. Maxwell twice attempting to break tackles when he had a free man OTT, Sinclair and Lumumba flying in contests in D50 when their teammate had the contest covered and the fumbling across the board.

It's so easy to control these elements, but we stuffed them up so regularly last night...

So the good were clearly Pendles, Beams & Langdon for us last night. Pendles I don't think can actually play a bad game if he tried, Beams showed us what we missed most of last year and if Langdon keeps up that form he'll turn out to be the bargain of the draft last year.

Grundy I think wasn't too bad given the task he was assigned and will learn a lot, and Kennedy, whilst wouldn't have saved us from that, should never have been the sub. His preseason earned a full game, and we definitely needed his speed (would also help my SC team Bucks). Adams I'll also hand a pass card too, he did some nice things and again will learn a lot from that, and Clint Young has a nice kick on him, not sure why he wasn't doing the kick ins.

I think we have now established that Grundy and Witts are not ready to play in the same side. The are both good young rucks, but they aren't really forwards, and I think it was a mistake going in with out a third tall as Witts/Grundy just aren't dangerous enough for the opposition to pay them any respect or for them to take advantage of that and so Cloke at times had 3-4 guys hanging off him and no one to kick too when he did good work up to the wings.

We absolutely need White & Reid forward as our forward line functions so much better with them. They allow Cloke to work up to the wings and still have a target forward, and they are dangerous forwards who will take advantage if the opposition don't show them respect. Let's all hope that their calf injuries are really minor and they are right to go round 2.

To the best of my knowledge he was re-signed post 2012 after a reasonable VFL season.

Upon reflection I had another matter that I wanted to address. The fundamentals of some in our line up are terrible. Maxwell twice attempting to break tackles when he had a free man OTT, Sinclair and Lumumba flying in contests in D50 when their teammate had the contest covered and the fumbling across the board.

It's so easy to control these elements, but we stuffed them up so regularly last night...

These glaring mistakes well and truly broke the camels back for me. There is no hope for Maxwell.

Yes. As I said, not enough developed talent on the list. That's the direct result of the decisions the club has made.
Don't disagree with that however you have to have fit and available senior players around them. In an alternate universe where these players had been available over the two years, you'd find that these players would have come along faster. Losing the likes of Krak, Didak, Toovey, Ball, Beams, Daisy, Jolly etc for extended periods throughout this development stage is going to stifle a kid's development somewhat. We can talk the club all we like but you can't top the experience gained on match day when you have experienced minds around you.

That was 24 years ago and we had Leigh Matthews. A premiership player and coach. Mate I don't know if you're trolling but I promise it's not gonna be a similar year

The point he is making is that if people like yourself were on this forum 24 years ago you'd be bagging Mathews, bagging the club and saying we were going to have a terrible season.

I thought he made an excellent point. Too bad the people he is directing it towards just don't get it.

Nice debut by Langdon................. that might see me out.

Lumumba continues the 'high stepping' action around in circles and rarely makes the right decision, reminds me of O'Brien.

I'll wait till we have our full side in but we continue to get out muscled at the contest and are deplorable by foot'. These 2 things stand out for me.

Hopefully we'll bounce back in 2 weeks.

I'm just going with the negatives here:

Harry Lumumba- nothing has changed for the holier than thou individual who is battling the world's problems. He is constantly fumbly on deck, his overhead ability is atrocious when he flaps his arms around and coughs up easy uncontested marks under the high ball, his kicking is pure rubbish and every time he finally does handle the footy, he runs one way, runs another and then gets pinged for holding the ball. Harry O of 2010 is simply a myth these days because this guy is an imposter.

Marty Clarke- should never play league footy again. No kicking penetration- always loopy, only one sided and is slower with less agility than a guy like Sandilands. It's over for Marty.

Nick Maxwell- enough is enough. Bite the bullet and call stumps on his time. He doesn't man an opponent and he is ineffective when he now plays loose. In 2009/2010/2011 this guy was so good at reading general play but all his ability has been lost. He is slow, a poor kick, poor decision maker ( how many times could he have just handballed to a teammate over the top but ended up being caught holding the ball??? )

Jack Frost- Always trails his man to the ball, is fumbly and cannot take an over head mark to save his life. Kicking is rubbish as is decision making. We talk about Brown being bad but at least Brown isn't fumbly and can take an overhead mark to relieve pressure when the situation calls for it. This guy is simply a scragger.

Brent Macaffer- we miss the 2010 version. That version was agile, found space often, used the ball really well, took strong marks and ran all day. This version is slow, a poor kick without penetration, turning circle worse than Q Lynch and has lost all his game smarts and reading of the play.

Unfortunately Lumumba was one of our best players last night so there are a few to go before him...

Marty Clarke - Agree

Maxwell - Agree

Frost - I thought he was one of the highlights. He has so much more upside than Brown.

Macaffer - Never really rated the bloke. He was a useful third tall in 2010 and has played some good to great tagging roles last year, but if he was out of the team next week I wouldn't miss him.

Nice debut by Langdon................. that might see me out.

Lumumba continues the 'high stepping' action around in circles and rarely makes the right decision, reminds me of O'Brien.

I'll wait till we have our full side in but we continue to get out muscled at the contest and are deplorable by foot'. These 2 things stand out for me.

Hopefully we'll bounce back in 2 weeks.

"Deplorable by foot" is so right. Our superboot recruit Young hit one target by foot out of about 10 kicks through the middle of the match. The ball spun beautifully and had great penetration, but missed the target so was completely useless.

Unfortunately Lumumba was one of our best players last night so there are a few to go before him...

Marty Clarke - Agree

Maxwell - Agree

Frost - I thought he was one of the highlights. He has so much more upside than Brown.

Macaffer - Never really rated the bloke. He was a useful third tall in 2010 and has played some good to great tagging roles last year, but if he was out of the team next week I wouldn't miss him.

If you honestly believed Lumumba was one of our best that's part of the problem with this team. He was woeful. He does the same thing week in, week out. He runs around flapping his arms everywhere, he zigs when he should zag and zags when he should zig resulting in constant turnovers via holding the ball, his kicking his woeful and he has lot all ability to mark the football overhead.

Frost has more upside than Brown? Please. Frost always trails his man and cannot take an overhead mark to save his life, such was the countless times he dropped overhead marks. Brown at least can take an overhead grab and relieve pressure when its required. Frost is always trailing in behind his man and has no footy smarts whatsoever.

So what? He was a premiership player who had a footy brain. I'd argue his list was not as good as the list Buckley inherited. So far buckley has r*ped and dismantled it with his piece of shit game plan. He set records tonight ffs. I know this is harsh but so many of you need to take off your black and white sunnies mate theres no light at the end of this tunnel
Hope it's not dejavu last coach to have these record scores etc kicked against was Anthony Shaw

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I'm not going to get too down on the result, it was kind of expected in a way, especially after Reid and White were late withdrawals and left our forward line pretty helpless against a Freo defence that just doesn't allow you anything. Freo are considered a strong flag contender for good reason, we have a lot of younger players who just can't deal with what a good team like that throws at us. Add to that round 1 and rusty skills and young players a bit overcome and you have a pretty obvious result.

The good guys were Beams, Pendlebury and Langdon, although none of them were exceptional. Toovey as usual played his heart out despite the long time off. I thought Kennedy looked lively but came on too late to have any real impact. It's hard to find others who performed well, which is worrying.

I am disappointed with some of the more senior players. Maxwell played horrendously; dumb kicks, got caught too often, seems to have no ability to influence marking contests anymore. Harry L just doesn't have the class or genuine skills to be played further up the ground. Right now he only seems capable of dropping anything overhead, running like a headless chook and bombing it aimlessly. Marty Clarke is just utterly useless, he brings nothing to the table except slow loopy kicks and softness. Sidebottom just seems to be constantly coasting, his kicking is that lazy that he can't manage to follow through, constantly dropping the ball at his teammates' feet.

Overall, though, we were just given a lesson in hard work and team ethos. Freo's two way running is the best in the comp, ours is right there down the bottom and it's our more experienced guys who are not even setting the example. Freo constantly had guys more willing and more committed.

If Macaffer is meant to be the teams specialist tagger, why wasnt he given a job on Fyffe or Mundy?

He either makes the best 22 to do this role or he is out, because as a half forward Kennedy, Fasolo and probably Blair and Dwyer should be played ahead of him.
I understand the latter 3 are underdone but that still doesnt it explain why he wasnt given a tagging job, especially in the 2nd or 3rd when Fyffe got off the chain.

I think the game against Freo showed us that we need to play a 3 tall forward line. Obviously with the circumstances we had we couldnt, but having Reid and White would have helped us alot more compared to 2 mediums or smalls, there importance to our side is underrated and we were never a chance.

The point he is making is that if people like yourself were on this forum 24 years ago you'd be bagging Mathews, bagging the club and saying we were going to have a terrible season.

I thought he made an excellent point. Too bad the people he is directing it towards just don't get it.

Yay....someone sees sense!

Maxwell
Clarke
Lumumba
Elliot
Goldsack

aren't AFL level players anymore. I'm especially disappointed with Elliot who was worst on ground tonight for mine. He was solid last season and you'd expect a player his age to improve on that however across the preseason he's fumbled too much, kicked poorly and generally made poor decisions.

Also out midfield gets a big F. Playing midfield these days is not about racking up high possessions anymore, it's about cleanliness and distributing the ball to runner who aren't under perceived pressure. Just from watching the two midfields tonight it was painful to see ho better drilled Fremantle were than us. They don't fumble and at first opportunity handball to wide runners under no pressure which gives them an advantage kicking to the forward line especially when it's 1v1. Our midfield, on the other hand, fumbles too much and when we do get the ball in tight throw it onto the boat too often rather than look to throw out the handball to a runner. It becomes even worse when you consider that we were allowing them to play a loose man in defence.

We had close to our best midfield in tonight, there's no excuse for what they served up. It's also disappointing to see that the worst offenders are 3 of our best - Ball, Beams and Swan. Idc if they get 30+ possessions if a significant portion of them are going to be bombs to a 2v1 which then allows Freo to launch huge counterattacks.

Fwiw Witts and Cloke don't deserve to be rated poorly on tonights game given the rubbish we served up to them.

Thought Grundy performed pretty admirably in the ruck against arguably the best player in the AFL. I'm a lot more confident that he'll hold up this season on that performance.

Langdon was excellent, I don't really understand how a player of his quality slips so low in the draft. On a night where over half the side couldn't take clean possession he can hold his head high.
Don't knock Maxwell he achieved his objective he got his interview on TV.Why do you think everyone wanted Maxwell to lose the captaincy bucks ,so you couldn't use the excuse of him being captain to play him you DUMBASS.AndWhy are you the only idiot in Australia that thinka Clarke can playAFL you DUMBASS.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

"Deplorable by foot" is so right. Our superboot recruit Young hit one target by foot out of about 10 kicks through the middle of the match. The ball spun beautifully and had great penetration, but missed the target so was completely useless.
The ball got near the target, but the problem was that no one could jump and take a mark.

We looked like a team of plodders.

We don't have anyone that has any 'X' factor, such as Dale Thomas, Didak and Leon Davis once provided. We seriously need a small forward with some pace and spark -maybe Fasolo can provide that. For me, the biggest problem last night was our forward line. The ease with which Freo moved the ball out of our forward line, particularly from kick-ins, put enormous pressure on our backline. Cloke often was merely guarding space when we lost possession. Witts is not a key forward. I'd stick with playing Reid in the forward line -at least he has some mobility.

Luke Ball is on the edge. He can't be criticised for his effort -25 possessions was okay, but he turns the ball over too often due to the lack of penetration with his kicking.

just heard maxwell on fox footy when asked about langdon saying he has a bright future as does frost who played his role extremely well. Was frost decent last night?

Player Review vs Fremantle