Players you thought were going to be guns but ended up being duds...

Oct 15, 2008
Princes Park
Liverpool, PAOK
Hot on the heals of the thread I started yesterday, theres bound to be players you guys thought were going to be guns the first time you saw them play, but for some reason or another they ended up being DUDS...

For me, the most recent Carlton example I can think of was Lawrence Angwin... The boy had some serious talent, but just couldn't keep himself out of trouble off the field..

An old school example is Frank Marchesani... He was coaxed into moving across to Carlton after being Recruit of the Year for Fitzroy in 1980. For whatever reason, he barely fired a shot at Carlton, barely played 50 (mostly unmemorable) games for the Blues over the following 5 years before being delisted.

Ash Hansen, he played a couple of games that made me think we had a really gd CHF on our hands injury, inabilty to take a cotested mark changed all that.

Sampi had all the talent but got FAT

Cupido...he was a freakshow, what a waste of talent :mad:

I think we have a winner. Cupido's still wandering around in the SANFL picking up a kick whenever he wants to, and if he feels like it. One day he'll realise what he threw away.

From a Hawthorn point of view, Jon Hay. Although he did have a good start to his career, the last 3-4 years were garbage in comparison.

I think we have a winner. Cupido's still wandering around in the SANFL picking up a kick whenever he wants to, and if he feels like it. One day he'll realise what he threw away.

Cupido was so good that he thought everything would just come to him. He didn't think he had to train hard or give everything he has got. I still get frustrated when i think about it because, as Smyth said, he was an absolute freakshow.

The name eludes me but what about that forward from North in the 90's?

I thought he was going to be a superstar but he was gone before you knew it.

Cupido was so good that he thought everything would just come to him. He didn't think he had to train hard or give everything he has got. I still get frustrated when i think about it because, as Smyth said, he was an absolute freakshow.

His old man was a school teacher of mine and a few years later after I had completed school, we ran into each other and came across the subject of Damian...he told me that sport, literally any sport he participated in he was naturally good at and never had to bother to put in hard work to make top level teams, his old man reckons he was just as good as cricket.

Shame really.

Not exactly duds... but close-ish...

Andrew Walker - who can forget that debut?
Dean Polo - another great debut
David Teague - looked like a winner after winning carlton B&F.
Jarrad Oakley - Whatever - starred with Dean Polo on debut - now in Sheehan's list of people lucky to still be on a list.

I reckon watch out for Walker in 2009. Battled injuries the last few years just when i thought he was finding his feet. Thought he came back well late in 08 and im tipping a huge year in 2009. Too early to right him off.

I thought Julian Rowe would be a star and Iaccobucci. I thought Yakka would've benefited from more opportunity, but Rowe was simply an average player who belongs at VFL level.

I reckon watch out for Walker in 2009. Battled injuries the last few years just when i thought he was finding his feet. Thought he came back well late in 08 and im tipping a huge year in 2009. Too early to right him off.

I thought Julian Rowe would be a star and Iaccobucci. I thought Yakka would've benefited from more opportunity, but Rowe was simply an average player who belongs at VFL level.

I went to school with Yakka, he had a lousy attitude at the Pies

Dean Polo - another great debut
David Teague - looked like a winner after winning carlton B&F.
Jarrad Oakley - Whatever - starred with Dean Polo on debut - now in Sheehan's list of people lucky to still be on a list.
wouldn't write off walker yet yes his debut was great and hasn't lived up but in saying that has been a good player at times and had shoulder troubles!! fingers cross he can show some of the debut form next year.. player that rings a bell for me is luke livingstone pick 4 said to be our answer to SOS retiring how wrong we were lol

I went to school with Yakka, he had a lousy attitude at the Pies
St. Bernies! Played a bit off footy against him in the Herald Sheild and ACC. Tore us to pieces, still we weren't that good.

David Spriggs - Brilliant debut season but just couldn't cut it later on as Sydney found out.

The name eludes me but what about that forward from North in the 90's?

I thought he was going to be a superstar but he was gone before you knew it.
Adrian McAdam ur referring to... Was a genius for 1 season, then disappeared. collingwood tried to revive him but no luck...

Luke Livingstone for me to!! I saw him play some in a couple of seconds games in his first year and gee he took some good grabs and looked good. How wrong i was though!!!! :eek: He just couldnt cut it at the top level and what a wasted pick. Every club has had them though :)

wouldn't write off walker yet yes his debut was great and hasn't lived up but in saying that has been a good player at times and had shoulder troubles!! fingers cross he can show some of the debut form next year.. player that rings a bell for me is luke livingstone pick 4 said to be our answer to SOS retiring how wrong we were lol

The problem with Livo was that we recruited him as a forward and tried to turn him into a key backman.. Add to that crippling injuries and being coached by Den Den, and he was doomed to failiure...

Ian Prendergast started out very well but really did not improve on that. Michael Gallagher was another for the Blues.

Rohan Welsh and Stephen Oliver looked like they would be guns early on but it never really happened for them.

Players you thought were going to be guns but ended up being duds...