Draft Expert PMBangers' (and ‘friends’) 2022 Draft Board

Agree with a bit of this, Davey BOG especially, was definitely the Chargers most consistent across 4 quarters and is really growing into the midfield role more with each game. Wardlaw started the game on fire but seemed to be heavily rotated in the second half which was a bit disappointing, but coming back from illness it's not super surprising. Teal was shaky early but worked into the game well, his composure by hand under pressure was really good in patches, hope to see him get some more midfield time whether that's in APS or when he comes back to the Chargers. I thought Heine had his best game for the year off half back too, especially impactful early on.
I found it hard to get Calders bests, no one really did it across 4 quarters outside of Newitt and Ktona, Burquest had a few moments too. I'm a big Penny fan, for mine he's their best draft chance atm, kicking could do with some polishing but athletically and application wise he's awesome. Jarvis was also good, got some speed and leads to the right spots regardless of where he is on field
I agree on Jarvis, but as u say none of the CC boys performed across 4 qtr. I like to write my review before that stats come out as it’s easy to get seduced by them. I’m not saying that’s wrong just IMO. TBH I could have named the entire OC squad, they we all good. The ones I named were consistent across 4 qtrs. If Davey keeps playing the way he is it might cost Essendon some extra points. He’s rising fast. The bombers might put him on ice to reduce the interest. Bombers fans should get excited about both the Davey’s.

If Davey keeps playing the way he is it might cost Essendon some extra points. He’s rising fast. The bombers might put him on ice to reduce the interest. Bombers fans should get excited about both the Davey’s.
As someone who has had him top 20 since last year it’s not really surprising to see him getting the accolades. I’ve talked both twins up at length for the past two years so I’ve likely already gotten the fanbase excited enough 😂

Oakleigh v Calder my view before the stats are released.
Best Players in alpha order.
OC - Badr, Dammersmith, Davey, Jefferson, Philactides, Tsatsas, Wardlaw
CC - Alessio, Andronaco, Penny, Valensisi,
Oakleigh dominated this game. Tsatsas and Wardlaw won their usual fair share of the ball. Tsatsas is class, he impresses me more every week. He brings his teammates into the game, really good hands. RFI balance when he’s running full tilt. Wardlaw is a grade 6 playing against preps, he’s the leading #1 pick. Dammersmith he’s a 19yr old but was great kicking 5. Should have kicked 7 or 8. Strong grabs. Hits up nicely. Bottom Agers Badr and Philactides continue to impress down back. Badr is slick and reliable. Philactides had a heap of the ball. His run and speed off HB results in scoring opportunities. Both are the better bottom agers I have seen so far. Davey, wow wee. He’s quick. Loves a bounce and while he wouldn’t be the highest possession winner today he was arguably BOG. I love how he tempts the oppo to come at him. He s a jet. Jefferson will go high in this yrs draft. He’s a strong grab and when he gets into a FT environment he will improve significantly. Oakleigh had other good players as well. Ben Moyle, Brayden Andrews, Jerome Lawrence 2 goals. Tom Warner and Riley Voulanas hit the scoreboard as well.
Calder - Harrison Andronaco is a 19yr old but he was good. Tough inside mid who won plenty of the ball And kick a snag. I really liked Rye Penny, Valensisi and Alessio down back. These 3 boys were hard as nails and took a lot of great contested marks. Alessio was probably the best for Calder. He will be a nice addition to the bombers in 2023. Having said this Penny is an animal, looks like he loves the contact. Will Hubik kicked 3 and was a shining light up fwd for Calder. Competes well and has a lot of enthusiasm with his goal celebrations. November baby so has a lot of upside. Jack Newit, Sam Wilson, Paul Pascu and Jamieson Jarvis snagged 1 each for CC.
Was at Highgate Rec. reserve yesterday to watch Calder vs Oakleigh….just love seeing Oakleigh play as they have a stacked side. I positioned myself near the Oakleigh interchange box…just to listen and see what the coaches are thinking and saying. I also ventured onto the ground at 1/4 time and 3/4 time.
The players the coaches seemed happy with were:
Backs: Heine, Badr, Philactides.
Repelled Calder entries and used the ball well.
Mids: Wardlaw, Tsatas, Davey, Andrews.
Worked hard all day, tough at the contest.
Forwards: Dammersmith, Jefferson, Voulanas.
Strong contested marking and applied pressure to Calder backs.
Not sure about Dammersmith / Andrews (over agers) and Badr / Philactides (2023 draft); but I’d say the others mentioned will all get drafted. Throw in Curry, O’Sullivan, Teal, O’Keefe into that as well.

Was at Highgate Rec. reserve yesterday to watch Calder vs Oakleigh….just love seeing Oakleigh play as they have a stacked side. I positioned myself near the Oakleigh interchange box…just to listen and see what the coaches are thinking and saying. I also ventured onto the ground at 1/4 time and 3/4 time. Throw in Curry, O’Sullivan, Teal, O’Keefe into that as well.

Thoughts on Angus Curry's game?

Is Harry Sheezel a lock for the top 5? 28 touches and 6 goals yesterday
To be fair its one performance, he's still in that 6-12 bracket for me until he does it consistently/ at a higher level

Saints need a near ready to go ruck & a defensive minded key tall back. Would there be such a player available in the pick 10-15 range?
Not the best draft for KPDs overall, but Jackson Broadbent fits nearly ready made ruck to a tee and would be right in that range

Saints have got another decent NGA crop. What are the odds cam McKenzie slides outside the 40. Seem unlikely

Just some tidbits from the other games I saw parts of over the weekend;
Oliver Hollands is a bit of a tricky one for me at the moment, came into the year as a clear top 10 prospect but hasn't been overly convincing in his two games so far, winning a bit of it but I'm somewhat concerned on his kicking under pressure, to me he plays like a first possession winner in the midfield but I don't think that'll translate at the next level. It's pedantic though given his skillset is transferable as an outside leaning mid, hope to see him get to show that off more in champs. Brayden George is obviously good, liking what I'm seeing from him more and more, and Max Clohesy is one I'm watching closely going into the next couple of weeks, didn't realise that he was as clean as he is with the ball. Not much to take out in terms of Northern, Edmends and Harvey remain their only two 2022 draftable kids imo, but both are shaping as more 40+ picks for me currently

Sandy v Tassie was a blowout, Sheezel had that big day we were expecting but I've liked him as a top prospect through the lesser weeks as well, he's getting a lot of attention from opposition and that's allowed other guys like Hall-Kahan and Hope to hit the scoreboard more regularly, but he's maintained his efforts and leading patterns well throughout. I don't think he'll ever be a full time mid at the next level but he's got some really solid attributes to pinch hit in there, surprisingly hard at winning the ball and quick with his hands. Charlie Clarke has looked good with a more forward focused role, he's just manic in his approach and he's arguably the top pressure small forward currently in Victoria at the very least, will be interesting to see how he goes with APS footy on, will give him more midfield opportunities despite the likes of Ashcroft and Benton not being effected by it, I liked what I saw of Lachlan Cowan as well, has pretty much just taken over that Sam Banks role as an aggressive halfback, but I think his defensive game is stronger, making him a good two way running option.

Nick Madden will be an interesting player in this draft, he's absolutely beating up on smaller opposition in the NAB League but his ruck craft is actually pretty good and he does the basics of being a marking option around the ground and filling in the hole behind the ball well. If athleticism isn't a requirement for a club when looking for a ruck, he's one of the better prospects in the draft, but has a long way to go endurance wise. Luke Lawrence and Harry Rowston also impressive as draft age talents for GWS, I think Lawrence is our leading prospect with Curry not too far behind so will be interesting to see how we go matching any possible bids given we've got some pretty big needs in the front half that I think both these guys could fill. Jason Gillbee is probably a top 30 prospect at this rate for Bendigo, just does a lot right and the things that need improvement (mainly disposal under pressure) are easily enough covered up depending on role at the next level, I think he'll be a winger long term and generally as long as those types are good at kicking at pace they'll be ok.

Geelong are a team that bats deep, looked comprehensive against NT even without Clohesy or Clark. Riccardi is another impressing me more and more each week, seems to be finding the groove a bit and winning it more, as well as impacting the scoreboard. Northam is an exciting prospect, which isn't big news but a 195cm guy that is essentially a midfielder with how he plays is amazing. He won't be a ruck at the next level though, so would love to see him up forward for more extended stints to see how he looks up there as a top ager

Oliver Hollands is a bit of a tricky one for me at the moment, came into the year as a clear top 10 prospect but hasn't been overly convincing in his two games so far, winning a bit of it but I'm somewhat concerned on his kicking under pressure, to me he plays like a first possession winner in the midfield but I don't think that'll translate at the next level. It's pedantic though given his skillset is transferable as an outside leaning mid, hope to see him get to show that off more in champs. Brayden George is obviously good, liking what I'm seeing from him more and more, and Max Clohesy is one I'm watching closely going into the next couple of weeks, didn't realise that he was as clean as he is with the ball. Not much to take out in terms of Northern, Edmends and Harvey remain their only two 2022 draftable kids imo, but both are shaping as more 40+ picks for me currently

Sandy v Tassie was a blowout, Sheezel had that big day we were expecting but I've liked him as a top prospect through the lesser weeks as well, he's getting a lot of attention from opposition and that's allowed other guys like Hall-Kahan and Hope to hit the scoreboard more regularly, but he's maintained his efforts and leading patterns well throughout. I don't think he'll ever be a full time mid at the next level but he's got some really solid attributes to pinch hit in there, surprisingly hard at winning the ball and quick with his hands. Charlie Clarke has looked good with a more forward focused role, he's just manic in his approach and he's arguably the top pressure small forward currently in Victoria at the very least, will be interesting to see how he goes with APS footy on, will give him more midfield opportunities despite the likes of Ashcroft and Benton not being effected by it, I liked what I saw of Lachlan Cowan as well, has pretty much just taken over that Sam Banks role as an aggressive halfback, but I think his defensive game is stronger, making him a good two way running option.

Nick Madden will be an interesting player in this draft, he's absolutely beating up on smaller opposition in the NAB League but his ruck craft is actually pretty good and he does the basics of being a marking option around the ground and filling in the hole behind the ball well. If athleticism isn't a requirement for a club when looking for a ruck, he's one of the better prospects in the draft, but has a long way to go endurance wise. Luke Lawrence and Harry Rowston also impressive as draft age talents for GWS, I think Lawrence is our leading prospect with Curry not too far behind so will be interesting to see how we go matching any possible bids given we've got some pretty big needs in the front half that I think both these guys could fill. Jason Gillbee is probably a top 30 prospect at this rate for Bendigo, just does a lot right and the things that need improvement (mainly disposal under pressure) are easily enough covered up depending on role at the next level, I think he'll be a winger long term and generally as long as those types are good at kicking at pace they'll be ok.

Geelong are a team that bats deep, looked comprehensive against NT even without Clohesy or Clark. Riccardi is another impressing me more and more each week, seems to be finding the groove a bit and winning it more, as well as impacting the scoreboard. Northam is an exciting prospect, which isn't big news but a 195cm guy that is essentially a midfielder with how he plays is amazing. He won't be a ruck at the next level though, so would love to see him up forward for more extended stints to see how he looks up there as a top ager
spot on again mate, and agree very much with Northam, which is why i dont have him in with the ruck ratings, and would love to see him just play forward or even back for a trial as they are the positions where he will most likely play at the next level IMO.

Cowan eventually to the midfield at AFL level?

I think so, with his two way running, speed and kick he'd make a really good winger imo
Yep that's where I see him long term, pretty keen on him and Hamish Ogilvie loves them Tassie lads.

Keeping an eye on young Jack Callinan the son of former Crow Ian for next year..;)

Yep that's where I see him long term, pretty keen on him and Hamish Ogilvie loves them Tassie lads.

Keeping an eye on young Jack Callinan the son of former Crow Ian for next year..;)
The kid that kicked like 5 in the 17s game vs Queensland? Had no idea there was an AFL connection there

Now you do...

E_E0zmSVcAQVWql

C_HPwguUIAElvt6

I have not
If you get a chance and want to be first on the Derksen bandwagon, watch the Peel / West Perth game from yesterday, number 19. You can also come back and tell me how Freo have the best developing KPFs in the AFL with Treacy and Amiss =)

Draft Expert PMBangers' (and ‘friends’) 2022 Draft Board