Port Adelaide - Can They Hack It In The Big Time League?

Right and Port's average against non-Vic sides was 15k. So hardly streets ahead of North.
Let's face it Port, North and a bunch of other clubs all struggle to attract crowds when they are sh*t.

Indeed UM!!!
50% more um when comparing both clubs vs non-vic teams when played at their home venues.

Port Adelaide VsHome
TeamAttendanceGMAve.
Adelaide10161592442340
Brisbane Lions5211011828950
Fremantle4997191729395
Gold Coast100407425102
Greater Western Sydney148145624691
Sydney3946041428186
West Coast4449981726176
Average29263

North Melbourne VsHome
TeamAttendanceGMAve.
Adelaide4322002318791
Brisbane Bears7654589568
Brisbane Lions4186252020931
Fremantle2393801417099
Gold Coast67319416830
Greater Western Sydney72644612107
Port Adelaide3019782114380
Sydney12034138414326
West Coast3382212215374
Average15490

Indeed UM!!!
50% more um when comparing both clubs vs non-vic teams when played at their home venues.

Port Adelaide VsHome
TeamAttendanceGMAve.
Adelaide10161592442340
Brisbane Lions5211011828950
Fremantle4997191729395
Gold Coast100407425102
Greater Western Sydney148145624691
Sydney3946041428186
West Coast4449981726176
Average29263

North Melbourne VsHome
TeamAttendanceGMAve.
Adelaide4322002318791
Brisbane Bears7654589568
Brisbane Lions4186252020931
Fremantle2393801417099
Gold Coast67319416830
Greater Western Sydney72644612107
Port Adelaide3019782114380
Sydney12034138414326
West Coast3382212215374
Average15490

All well and good, but it's rather shifting the goal posts from "Even in their most dismal years Port were miles ahead of North currently".
In 2012 Port's averages were about 1k ahead of North's currently.

Que? In 2012 Port routinely got sub-15k crowds.
Not that I have any desire to jump on the OP's stupid hobby horse, I'm sure Port will be just fine long term.
Of Ports 20 lowest home crowds since 1997 taking out 2020 covid restricted crowds Port have had a mere 6 sub 15k crowds, of which only 4 were from 2012 the year you say we routinely drew sub 15k crowds.

Unfortunately North's 20 lowest crowds 8 were covid affected and the other 12 were sub 10k crowds all away from Melbourne and I can't find a home crowds in Victoria category to really assess how many sub 15k crowds north have gathered in the same period.

Don't subscribe to this theory of routinely posting sub 15k crowds but carry on
Screenshot_20210419-202834_Samsung Internet.jpeg

Of Ports 20 lowest home crowds since 1997 taking out 2020 covid restricted crowds Port have had a mere 6 sub 15k crowds, of which only 4 were from 2012 the year you say we routinely drew sub 15k crowds.

Unfortunately North's 20 lowest crowds 8 were covid affected and the other 12 were sub 10k crowds all away from Melbourne and I can't find a home crowds in Victoria category to really assess how many sub 15k crowds north have gathered in the same period.

Don't subscribe to this theory of routinely posting sub 15k crowds but carry on
View attachment 1106833
Again, my reply was simply in response to the claim that in Port Adelaide's worst year for attendances they were streets ahead of North Melbourne's attendances. It struck me as a spurious claim from memory.
Apart from the two games against the SA sides this year, North have had 4 sub-15k crowds at Docklands:
Port 2009 (14342)
Gold Coast 2018 (14389)
Port 2006 (14815)
Fremantle 2010 (14891)
Of the 20 lowest crowds at Docklands Port have played 8 times and Fremantle 6. For the home teams it's been North 7 and Dogs 5.
Edit: Also, in my first post I should have said routinely got sub 15k crowds against non-Vic sides, as that was the bar Schultzenfest set.

Again, my reply was simply in response to the claim that in Port Adelaide's worst year for attendances they were streets ahead of North Melbourne's attendances. It struck me as a spurious claim from memory.
Apart from the two games against the SA sides this year, North have had 4 sub-15k crowds at Docklands:
Port 2009 (14342)
Gold Coast 2018 (14389)
Port 2006 (14815)
Fremantle 2010 (14891)
Of the 20 lowest crowds at Docklands Port have played 8 times and Fremantle 6. For the home teams it's been North 7 and Dogs 5.
Edit: Also, in my first post I should have said routinely got sub 15k crowds against non-Vic sides, as that was the bar Schultzenfest set.
I dont know how ports attendance at docklands is of any significance to any argument to do with attendance, would be akin to crediting north with a large crowd against a sa team at Adelaide oval, its not the visiting teams job to pull in a crowd especially not when referring to interstate v interstate match ups.

It the entire reason why I didn't bother using north lowest home crowds since 97 because those 12 games were not played in Melbourne so it would be unfair to use that as some kind of standard.

I dont know how ports attendance at docklands is of any significance to any argument to do with attendance, would be akin to crediting north with a large crowd against a sa team at Adelaide oval, its not the visiting teams job to pull in a crowd especially not when referring to interstate v interstate match ups.

It the entire reason why I didn't bother using north lowest home crowds since 97 because those 12 games were not played in Melbourne so it would be unfair to use that as some kind of standard.
It's not about singling out Port - it's just that some clubs draw big crowds and some don't. Why are West Coast not on the list? Why is the game from last week the only time Adelaide appear? Essendon are only on there once.

There are small clubs and there are big clubs, and when the small clubs have lean patches, and especially when they play each other, there are small crowds. The AFL doesn't help of course when it schedules games for 4.30pm Sunday.

It's not about singling out Port - it's just that some clubs draw big crowds and some don't. Why are West Coast not on the list? Why is the game from last week the only time Adelaide appear? Essendon are only on there once.

There are small clubs and there are big clubs, and when the small clubs have lean patches, and especially when they play each other, there are small crowds. The AFL doesn't help of course when it schedules games for 4.30pm Sunday.
I get what you're saying, but if you look at Port average home crowd attendance v North up against North average home crowd v Port there's a difference of over 10,000 people average.

For a "small club" we draw over 10k more to our home games vs other small drawing Vic clubs(saints, bulldogs, hawthorn, Melbourne)do when the shoes on the other foot

Our lowest ever H&A crowd average is 19911. Which was terrible, and yet is still more than 1k better than North are doing this year, and more than 6k better than North are doing this year against non-Vic sides.
Minnow vic teams are always flattered by playing other vic teams - interstate teams stand 95% on their own merits

Yep. Imagine the difference it'd make to crowd numbers if the SA and WA teams got to play 6 or 7 home Showdowns or Derbies every season. Those are the conditions the Vic teams are working under.

Also take into account Port Adelaide's time slots that we play, when we play in Melbourne, what teams and what stadiums. Port has been shafted for years i think Jack Hombsch has the record for playing in the most stadiums around Australia in like 60 games for Port, we mostly get Sunday afternoon timeslots pretty much always at marvel.

So don't worry about ports ability to draw a crowd in Melbourne, if we actually got some blockbuster games against big teams we would be doing fine. But games like that get handed to Melbourne minnows to drive crowds and lock out the interstate teams. Why should the queens birthday, Easter Friday, Dream time at the G, the season opener and countless other huge drawing games always go to the same clubs no matter where they are on the ladder? Wouldn't we rather see more classics at the G like the hawks and Geelong games the saints and Geelong game from 2010 or whenever that was. Locking us into the exact same fixture year in year out is why so many cubs struggle to grow.

Also take into account Port Adelaide's time slots that we play, when we play in Melbourne, what teams and what stadiums. Port has been shafted for years i think Jack Hombsch has the record for playing in the most stadiums around Australia in like 60 games for Port, we mostly get Sunday afternoon timeslots pretty much always at marvel.

So don't worry about ports ability to draw a crowd in Melbourne, if we actually got some blockbuster games against big teams we would be doing fine. But games like that get handed to Melbourne minnows to drive crowds and lock out the interstate teams. Why should the queens birthday, Easter Friday, Dream time at the G, the season opener and countless other huge drawing games always go to the same clubs no matter where they are on the ladder? Wouldn't we rather see more classics at the G like the hawks and Geelong games the saints and Geelong game from 2010 or whenever that was. Locking us into the exact same fixture year in year out is why so many cubs struggle to grow.
Eagles do heaps of what melbourne minnow teams call the worst timeslots on Sunday arvo

I find it weird - like the footy is on at this time - so i go watch my team at that time.

It never really enters my head that sunday afternoon is bad - au contraire im able to go for a fish in the morning then catch the game in the arvo.

Eagles do heaps of what melbourne minnow teams call the worst timeslots on Sunday arvo

I find it weird - like the footy is on at this time - so i go watch my team at that time.

It never really enters my head that sunday afternoon is bad - au contraire im able to go for a fish in the morning then catch the game in the arvo.
Well all I can say is it's not interstate sides jobs to fill up Marvel.

screen-shot-2021-04-22-at-1-54-10-pm-jpg.1108768

So wait, you're telling me the afl handed out about 11 million dollars more to North Melbourne than port over the last 5 years?

Sounds to me like north can't hack it in the bigtime league.

Sunday Sesh is an institution In WA. Prob a big reason why Sunday afternoon isn't an issue over in WA. Used to Monday being a recovery day at work.

Port Adelaide - Can They Hack It In The Big Time League?