Preview Port Melbourne V Williamstown Grand Final (Sunday, 25th) (Etihad Stadium, 2:15pm)

Gee i hope Wallis is a lot better than i seen today.For a player with big wraps today wasnt too flash.

In the dozen or so games I've seen of his, I'm yet to see what all the fuss is about, looks slow, he is constantly second to the ball and goes to ground a little too much and for somebody with purported quick hands, throws the ball a hell of a lot, a trait that pisses me of more than any other.

Before you guys crucify me for shooting Bambi, yes I understand where he is in his development and that he plenty of time to work on these perceived (as I see them) deficiencies.

Matthew Panos has to be upgraded.
He would have to be one of the best kicks in the team and is competent above his head.
He doesn't need many opportunties to kick a bag.
It's something we'll miss without Barry Hall.
Panos will also benefit from good service at AFL level.

Because over one third of our list today showed they can't compete with second tier footballers. You might be fine with that, but I reckon it's a scary scary thing.

Our back up players were the only team to make the Grandfinal, outperformed every other composite side. Port Melbourne were undefeated so I guess every team in Victoria in the AFL should be scared too? In fact even more scared?

It was an insipid performance today, with some players not contributing much. But Port, have a lot of ex AFL players, including a couple of ex bulldogs in Lynch, Skipper and Rose - with a lot more experience than some of our guys.

Having said that, we were never really in the game, our skills were sloppy, constantly kicking over each other's heads, missing easy shots at goal etc.

But this team was also good enough to win the Foxtel cup for the first time, I think they just had a particularly off day.

Was at the game and biggest disappointments yesterday were the ruckmen. For two guys who are supposedly afl quality players their influence around the ground was minimal. Roughy is a very big worry if we are relying on him to shoulder the load over the next few years.

People have been bagging Wallis but the only time Willy looked any good was in the first qtr and that was when he was in the middle. The rest of the game (as another post noted) he was following a man around.

Otherwise...

-would love to see Panos upgraded
-DJ showed some good signs
-Hill - that was your big chance and you blew it mate - bye-bye
-Mulligan - one of the worst players I've seen
-Howard & Tutt - potential

Finally I thought German's coaching was horrendous. I thought he was okay before this but going to this game changed my mind. The backs were beaten pretty much all day and yet the match-ups were never changed???

It was an insipid performance today, with some players not contributing much. But Port, have a lot of ex AFL players, including a couple of ex bulldogs in Lynch, Skipper and Rose - with a lot more experience than some of our guys.

Having said that, we were never really in the game, our skills were sloppy, constantly kicking over each other's heads, missing easy shots at goal etc.

But this team was also good enough to win the Foxtel cup for the first time, I think they just had a particularly off day.

It was the insipid nature of the effort that was so disappointing - and it is something that has plagued the Bulldogs this year. We were smashed around the contest and, for a grand final, showed a lack of intensity that was startling. I am more concerned about what this match revealed about the character of our players. It certainly did nothing to dispell the 'downhill skiers' cliche. There is no way to sugarcoat their unwillingness to gut run, tackle like they mean it, harrass, get to contests and show some genuine leadership qualities. No, their body language exuded that it was all too hard. They dropped their heads, and this is why this group of players are attracting so much derision.

It was the insipid nature of the effort that was so disappointing - and it is something that has plagued the Bulldogs this year. We were smashed around the contest and, for a grand final, showed a lack of intensity that was startling. I am more concerned about what this match revealed about the character of our players. It certainly did not thing to dispell the 'downhill skiers' cliche. There is no way to sugarcoat their unwillingness to gut run, tackle like they mean it, harrass, get to contests and show some genuine leadership qualities. No, their body language exuded that it was all too hard. They dropped their heads, and this is why this group of players are attracting so much derision.

My exact thoughts as i left the game, but if you really think about it it's a reflection of our senior team.

It was a disappointing to lose the way we did yesterday. But remember that Port are a very good team at this level. People expect that because Willi had so many Bulldog listed players that we have the advantage. But I think Port has the advantage, building a team that plays and trains together week in week out. And they have some very experienced players, many who have play AFL or been on lists.

Willi lost becuase they stopped doing the pressure things. They stopped chasing and tackling. The very things that led them to be 3 goals up at 1/4 time. Too many players unsighted on the day, they have been mentioned.

Just as added comment, while I enjoy going to the Docklands, I really think VFL footy is best played on the suburban grounds. I really enjoy the relaxed atmosphere you get at those grounds for this level of footy. Docklands, on a sunny day with the roof closed with 11,000 people lacks soul.

Why on earth do they close the roof when it was such a nice day. It amazes me we they say it's because the sun gets in people's eyes....that is surely the case at every ground, isn't it? Winter in Melbourne is bad enough, so when the sun is out...open the roof! Better still, play the game at traditional VFL ground.

Well done Williamstown on a great year. I enjoyed watching them very much.

-Mulligan - one of the worst players I've seen

I couldn't agree more. I said this during the year after his second game.
All size no substance.

Still hope people stop saying that Howards is an elite kick. He is a nice looking kick but the result and outcome of his kicks do not rate as elite. I have given him 2 years now to asses and he is a nice looking kick not elite. I would love to see some efficiency stats on his year this year at Willi. He would be no higher than most other players.

It was the insipid nature of the effort that was so disappointing - and it is something that has plagued the Bulldogs this year. We were smashed around the contest and, for a grand final, showed a lack of intensity that was startling. I am more concerned about what this match revealed about the character of our players. It certainly did nothing to dispell the 'downhill skiers' cliche. There is no way to sugarcoat their unwillingness to gut run, tackle like they mean it, harrass, get to contests and show some genuine leadership qualities. No, their body language exuded that it was all too hard. They dropped their heads, and this is why this group of players are attracting so much derision.

I couldn't agree more.

Just shows how far off the Doggies are when we aren't at full strength.

Wallis needs to take the game on like he did in the 18's rather than unofficially tagging.

Roughhead doesn't work hard enough in the air.

Too many passengers yesterday. I think they thought at quarter time that they could cruise away with a victory and that their other teammates would ensure that would happen. Not good enough. McCartney wouldn't have been happy with what he saw.

Kudos to Port, they would have beaten Gold Coast, Port Adelaide and probably the Bulldgos yesterday!

Was at the game and biggest disappointments yesterday were the ruckmen. For two guys who are supposedly afl quality players their influence around the ground was minimal. Roughy is a very big worry if we are relying on him to shoulder the load over the next few years.

While I agree they both had quiet games, I think our ruckmen (in particular, Minson) were one of the main reasons Willi made it to the final in the first place. Will polled 4th in Liston medal from only 11 or so games remember.. However, having gone to the game yesterday, I thought that the ruckmen played a minimal role as much of the game was won by Port cutting through the midfield with handballs and run.. It wasn't a game for the big men.

On Roughead, I think he's suffering from being No.2 behind Will the same way that Will has struggled being No.2 behind Hudson.. I would like to see Rough have half a season next year being No.1 ruck for Willi to show us is he can be as dominant in the ruck as he should be at that level.

I also suspect he is not ever going to be the resting forward we were hoping he could be..

Wallis needs to take the game on like he did in the 18's rather than unofficially tagging.

Too many passengers yesterday. I think they thought at quarter time that they could cruise away with a victory and that their other teammates would ensure that would happen. Not good enough. McCartney wouldn't have been happy with what he saw.

Kudos to Port, they would have beaten Gold Coast, Port Adelaide and probably the Bulldgos yesterday!

I agree we had too many passengers. But using your logic, how much trouble is every other teams list in if they get some injuries concidering they didn't even make the grand final. This group lost just 5 games for the year. Are there some issues with few players, yes, that is why they are in the seconds. But I think on the whole, there is some real talent amoung that group. Yes, there are a few that I don't think will make it. But there are several there that Maca will be able to work with and develop.

Just so people know, Port Melbourne are probably one of the best VFL team ever assembled. Better than any Geelong or Collingwood teams in recenet years(Which according to some of you here should be amazing because they are AFL teams when mostly their shithouse) better than any Bulldogs/Werribee or Bulldogs/Willy teams every mashed together. Better than any AFL combination team.

To say 'look bad against against a weaker team' or 'look in a different class' to Port Melbourne doesn't mean shit when Port Melbourne are streaks ahead over every team in the competition.

We should be poaching their players instead of bagging our own.

Which players should we be looking at?

I was going to make a parody thread one day called something like 'Pigdog responds' and it was going to be full of 1 or 2 line fake questions/answers to peoples comments.

You ever noticed how somebody can write say a full essay on Terry Wallace and than you reply with.

'But what assistant coach would you have picked in 1996?'

(And I can imagine some guy doing this)
smug_1898757c.jpg

(Anyway, to answer your question is to miss the point of my post but if you want a literal answer than I start at looking at their mids like Valenti. But feel free to smugly ask 'But don't you think we have enough skilless mids' with a facial expression like this)
smug-girl.jpg

(I actually think you're a worthy poster and Bulldogs fan but get sick of seeing you respond with scathing replies posed as questions. I hate passive aggressive people and have sworn to fire anyone that posts passive aggressive notes around the office)

While I agree they both had quiet games, I think our ruckmen (in particular, Minson) were one of the main reasons Willi made it to the final in the first place. Will polled 4th in Liston medal from only 11 or so games remember.. However, having gone to the game yesterday, I thought that the ruckmen played a minimal role as much of the game was won by Port cutting through the midfield with handballs and run.. It wasn't a game for the big men.

On Roughead, I think he's suffering from being No.2 behind Will the same way that Will has struggled being No.2 behind Hudson.. I would like to see Rough have half a season next year being No.1 ruck for Willi to show us is he can be as dominant in the ruck as he should be at that level.

I also suspect he is not ever going to be the resting forward we were hoping he could be..

Agree 100%.... He is a ruckman IMO and a handy forward.... certainly not a permanent forward.

Does not have the mobility that a modern day forward requires when the ball hits the deck. He laboured on numerous occasions yesterday in chases. Hope he has a big pre-season. 8 games 2010, 9 games 2011.

From a Bulldogs point of view, the game would have proven very instructive for Macca - see what players can do when things are running their way, and see how they react when put under the pump.

The reason why those bulldogs players were playing for Willi is because they have flaws and/or a lot to learn. Those flaws and areas of improvement would have been highlighted nicely. :thumbsu:

It was a disappointing to lose the way we did yesterday. But remember that Port are a very good team at this level. People expect that because Willi had so many Bulldog listed players that we have the advantage. But I think Port has the advantage, building a team that plays and trains together week in week out. And they have some very experienced players, many who have play AFL or been on lists.

Willi lost becuase they stopped doing the pressure things. They stopped chasing and tackling. The very things that led them to be 3 goals up at 1/4 time. Too many players unsighted on the day, they have been mentioned.

Just as added comment, while I enjoy going to the Docklands, I really think VFL footy is best played on the suburban grounds. I really enjoy the relaxed atmosphere you get at those grounds for this level of footy. Docklands, on a sunny day with the roof closed with 11,000 people lacks soul.

Why on earth do they close the roof when it was such a nice day. It amazes me we they say it's because the sun gets in people's eyes....that is surely the case at every ground, isn't it? Winter in Melbourne is bad enough, so when the sun is out...open the roof! Better still, play the game at traditional VFL ground.

Well done Williamstown on a great year. I enjoyed watching them very much.

I hhate the docklands, I wish so much our home ground was the G.

The thing about the roof is that players go from areas of deep shade to strong sunlight -- is much more disorienting that when playing in the open in bright sun everywhere.

As an aside, I saw on mythbusters that pirates wore eyepatches on purpose so they could go from sunny decks to near dark below decks and still be able to see - they just took their eyepatch off when they went into the dark and that eye was already set up for low light vision.

Malcolm Lynch?
He had his chance.

Jarrod Dalton looked alright at full back I thought.

But even then, this was a united team, with many ex-AFL listed players, all of whom had a common purpose.

They were the best team in the comp, and that's why they won. Not because their players are all that brilliant. That's my opinion anyway, I'm sure others may not agree

I was going to make a parody thread one day called something like 'Pigdog responds' and it was going to be full of 1 or 2 line fake questions/answers to peoples comments.

You ever noticed how somebody can write say a full essay on Terry Wallace and than you reply with.

'But what assistant coach would you have picked in 1996?'

(And I can imagine some guy doing this)
smug_1898757c.jpg

(Anyway, to answer your question is to miss the point of my post but if you want a literal answer than I start at looking at their mids like Valenti. But feel free to smugly ask 'But don't you think we have enough skilless mids' with a facial expression like this)
smug-girl.jpg

(I actually think you're a worthy poster and Bulldogs fan but get sick of seeing you respond with scathing replies posed as questions. I hate passive aggressive people and have sworn to fire anyone that posts passive aggressive notes around the office)

There I was thinking I asked a reasonable question to your post and you imply that there is some sort of hidden agenda to this question... Yeah, whatever.

And yep there is a reason why they (Port) have so many 'mature' players with AFL experience playing at this level, they as a group simply don't make the grade.. the gap between VFL is immense...and is only getting bigger.

And I look forward to the thread you create... I'm sure it will make for some fascinating reading.

Preview Port Melbourne V Williamstown Grand Final (Sunday, 25th) (Etihad Stadium, 2:15pm)