Port will make the 8

This thread is gold.

Crows fans have a genetic fear of Port Adelaide and never has it been more prevalent than here.

I cant stop laughing. Their heads must be exploding trying to think of reasons why we cant make it. Never met a bigger bunch of Sad Sacks than crows supporters.

:D:D:D:D

This thread is gold.

Crows fans have a genetic fear of Port Adelaide and never has it been more prevalent than here.

I cant stop laughing. Their heads must be exploding trying to think of reasons why we cant make it. Never met a bigger bunch of Sad Sacks than crows supporters.

You are right. You caught us out. We are all dead terrified of a club and coach than can find no conceivable way of beating us.

Yes we are indeed sad sacks ... after all we haven't won a Showdown in years and our "crowds" are falling to a level well beyond pitiful ... oh hang on, that's not us .... it's the allegedly "mighty" Port Adelaide.

After Port had what can only be described as one of the luckiest seasons in the history of football in 07. It was good to see karma getting the better of them in the Grand Final.

Truly I have never seen a football club go through a season as they did in 07 with such an ability to strike a team at the absolute bottom of their game (be it just through bad form or injuries). It was the softest second on the ladder finish in recent memory.

That said they still aren't a bad side, but not a good one, and whether or not they will make the 8 will largely depend on them striking that similar good fortune this year. I thought the karma from 07 had carried over from the GF to this year, but typically again it appears sides are again falling apart just as they are about to play them. WC, Saints and a deplorable Bombers outfit doing just that.

I just can't believe how ******ed certain Crows fans are. Living in Adelaide there are a hell of a lot too.
They all seem to make up facts to suit themselves.
The comment we got teams at there worse is laughable, will you also say Geelongs premiership is tarnished as they got us at our worse last year?
Get a clue idiots.
If you want to see a fluke, chuck on your 97 98 premiership videos.
If we are the best side and don't win the flag we are chokers and get no credit, when we go through a season and finish outright second we are simply lucky??? :rolleyes:

BTW Our kids shit all over the Crows kids, not matter how deluded Crows fans are.

I just can't believe how ******ed certain Crows fans are. Living in Adelaide there are a hell of a lot too.
The comment we got teams at there worse is laughable, will you also say Geelongs premiership is tarnished as they got us at our worse last year?
Get a clue idiots.
If we are the best side and don't win the flag we are chokers and get no credit, when we go through a season and finish outright second we are simply lucky??? :rolleyes:

BTW Our kids shit all over the Crows kids, not matter how deluded Crows fans are.

Sorry to spoil your parade but last year you did very well to get where you got but in the end if counted for squat and were found out when it mattered most. Don't forget the high no. of close wins you had and how you managed to play the bottom 3 sides, twice.

At the moment on current form, both Essendon and West Coast would be the two worst sides in the AFL and you have beaten both over the past 3 weeks. Whoppee!

Disagree with your last comment but thats my opinion.

Get a clue idiots.

I don't discount the fact we had some luck in those final series (queue the 'Colbert mark' fallacy). Conversely during the minor round of each of those seaosns we did not have a lot of luck with injuries and lost some close matches. We did not get anywhere near putting our best side on the park for the vast majority of games in 97 & 98.

You need luck to win a premiership unless you are a totally dominant team.

I don't discount the fact we had some luck in those final series (queue the 'Colbert mark' fallacy). Conversely during the minor round of each of those seaosns we did not have a lot of luck with injuries and lost some close matches. We did not get anywhere near putting our best side on the park for the vast majority of games in 97 & 98.

You need luck to win a premiership unless you are a totally dominant team.
you got hammered in a final in one year

the other year you cheated to get through, Geelong were absolutely shafted.

You played the worst GF side ever in 1997, and North couldn't kick to save themselves in 1998.

LUCKY.

Get a clue idiots.

You will be lucky to not be reported for defamation after calling Crows supporters on this board "******ed". I have read many posts from those who have made sensible and accurate comments on this thread and they are fine analysts of the game who do not have to reduce to childish name calling to make their salient points.

Yes you are right about the 97 & 98 "flukes". Well managed sides, coached by sports scientists who catered their training so they peaked at the right time of the season. 7 out of 8 finals victories, 5 of them interstate are further proof of how incredibly flukey this effort was not.

As for the "kids", weren't your kids supposed to be creating an era of total dominance over the Crows about 4 years ago? You have only beaten us once since in 8 attempts. I guess it's how kids who have developed better after all.

you got hammered in a final in one year

Yep, was fortunate in the fact that if other results had not gone our way we would have been out of the finals all together.

the other year you cheated to get through, Geelong were absolutely shafted.
As I said queue the Colbert mark fallacy. How about the non mark to Modra, how about the goal given to Ronnie Burns off Mark Bickley's leg. Just go and watch the game.

You played the worst GF side ever in 1997
Pretty game quote considering your effort last year, Saints had won 9 straight heading into the GF

and North couldn't kick to save themselves in 1998.
agreed luck was on our side that day, but bad kicking is bad football? North had won 11 straight heading into the GF.

In case you didn't realise, we regularly beat Brisbane in those years....

Care to tell me how many goals Brisbane thumped Adelaide by? I swear it was over 20.... can't put my finger on it....

That's right. Same amount you lost the GF by last year.

Geez, you just walk right into these don't you?

In case you didn't realise, we regularly beat Brisbane in those years....

Care to tell me how many goals Brisbane thumped Adelaide by? I swear it was over 20.... can't put my finger on it....

Can't put your finger on it but maybe you should get your hand off it.

Still, guess you are just living in the past, the grand Port Adelaide tradition.

Quick question.
If the Crows are not in the top 4 after round 15 will they make the 8?

You will be lucky to not be reported for defamation after calling Crows supporters on this board "******ed". I have read many posts from those who have made sensible and accurate comments on this thread and they are fine analysts of the game who do not have to reduce to childish name calling to make their salient points.

Yes you are right about the 97 & 98 "flukes". Well managed sides, coached by sports scientists who catered their training so they peaked at the right time of the season. 7 out of 8 finals victories, 5 of them interstate are further proof of how incredibly flukey this effort was not.

As for the "kids", weren't your kids supposed to be creating an era of total dominance over the Crows about 4 years ago? You have only beaten us once since in 8 attempts. I guess it's how kids who have developed better after all.

Winning 7 out of 8 finals is no fluke i agree, although it should have only been 5 finals as you finished 5th, lost your first final and played the following week. But that was the system then.

Funny though, how those 8 games were not a fluke or lucky, yet the whole of our season in 2007 was! No one is that lucky for a whole year, we had a good season last year, this year so far not so.

Quick question.
If the Crows are not in the top 4 after round 15 will they make the 8?
7 wins to go to qualify out of 15...the odds are good.

Next three games are Melb WCE Essendon. If we really are a top 8 team we should win all three.

Then we play you guys again (round 16). Odds are a win there. Last game of year is against the Bulldogs. Over here they are our bunny and again if we are a top 8 team we should win.

So there is five wins. Takes us up to ten. Rounds 11 to 15 are Richmond (G), Hawks (Home) Brisbane (Gabba) Geelong (Home) Pies (G). I reckon we could snare two wins in this run.

The run home is..Port, Sydney (SCG), Carlton (Home), Richmond (Home), Essendon, never beaten them in Vic (Dome), Saints ( Dome), Bulldogs (home). Out of this lot we should beat Port, Carlton Richmond and Dogs.

That is a season ending at 13-16 wins. It is possible. As you can see apart from rounds 11- 15 our draw is quite good. Having such a great start with unexpected wins against three Prelim finalists in 2007 has been a bonus. When I looked at our draw for this year in October I thought we would be about 2-5

Crows should make the 8. with 15 (Same as Port last year) wins top four.

How bout an honest assesment on Ports final 15 games????

Can't put your finger on it but maybe you should get your hand off it.

Still, guess you are just living in the past, the grand Port Adelaide tradition.
I take it you have lived under a rock for a while...

You haven't noticed the 10 year celebrations in Adelaide last weekend?

The pages and pages in the papers for both years lately?

Crows supporters still harp on last century like it was yesterday.

This thread is gold.

If Crows make the 8, --(and this is not guaranteed)-- smart crows supporters WANT port to make the eight --(neither this)--in hope of playing another Crows/port final. But by all means keep laughing believing Crows fans have a genetic fear of port.....Craig/Williams...7 - 1.

Brrrrrr so frightening.

7 wins to go to qualify out of 15...the odds are good.

Next three games are Melb WCE Essendon. If we really are a top 8 team we should win all three.

Then we play you guys again (round 16). Odds are a win there. Last game of year is against the Bulldogs. Over here they are our bunny and again if we are a top 8 team we should win.

So there is five wins. Takes us up to ten. Rounds 11 to 15 are Richmond (G), Hawks (Home) Brisbane (Gabba) Geelong (Home) Pies (G). I reckon we could snare two wins in this run.

The run home is..Port, Sydney (SCG), Carlton (Home), Richmond (Home), Essendon, never beaten them in Vic (Dome), Saints ( Dome), Bulldogs (home). Out of this lot we should beat Port, Carlton Richmond and Dogs.

That is a season ending at 13-16 wins. It is possible. As you can see apart from rounds 11- 15 our draw is quite good. Having such a great start with unexpected wins against three Prelim finalists in 2007 has been a bonus. When I looked at our draw for this year in October I thought we would be about 2-5

Crows should make the 8. with 15 (Same as Port last year) wins top four.

How bout an honest assesment on Ports final 15 games????
My bad I stuffed up your draw.
* PAF takes question back * :eek:

My take on Port? If we are in the 8 after round 15 we could even end up top 4, if we are not in the 8 after round 15 we could even miss out altogether.
Very hard to predict at this stage.

I saw them against the bombers and I saw them against us. Very impressive both times, such a confident team that takes the game on as well as any other team. Certainly not the strongest defence in the league, and this will hurt them against the likes of Hawthorn and Geelong, however they are certainly top 8 material and possibly top 4.

you wont get one from a Port supporter....

But here is their draw

Hawks at Aurora...Won last year with Buddy playing a stinker. Hawks of 2008 are better. Hawks win.
Sydney at Home...60/40 Sydney way
Freo at Subi...If Freo continue like this maybe. But no Cert. Won last year on Lade's Heroics.
Carlton at Home. Should win if a top 8 side. Although only won at home last year due to Carlton Tanking.
Geelong..NO Way.
Richmond at Home. Should win
Bulldogs at Darwin. Interesting game. Port have good record agaisnt Dogs up there. Dogs are a better team this year. 50/50 game.
Kangas at Home. By now Kangas will be limping. Port have got wood over them in recent years. Should win

Adelaide. Under Craigy Crows have dominated Port. If port are way out of finals contention might steal it like in 2006. Crows should win

Freo at Home. Should win

Saints at Dome. Depends on Saints form. I dont think we the Crows can beat them at the Dome so highly doubt Port will.

Carlton at Dome. Last year in Melb Carlton won by 40 odd points. Carlton to win.

Collingwood at Home. 50/50 game

Melbourne at Home. Should win. Port are much better than this rabble.

Kangas at G. 50/50 game.

Highlighted games are the ones that Port should win....gives them 9 wins. Not enough to get into 8. Win the 50/50s and that is 12-13 wins

Inability to put Geelong away and the last quarter rain against Brisbane could be costly...Looking at this draw if Port do win it will be a good effort.

Hawks at Aurora - We love Tassie, but the Hawks are awesome at the moment.
Sydney at Home - 60/40 Sydney
Freo at Subi - We play well at Subi, and we play well against Freo. Win.
Carlton at Home - Win
Geelong - Loss
Richmond at Home. Should win
Bulldogs at Darwin - 60/40 to the bulldogs
Kangas at Home - Win
Adelaide - Loss
Freo at Home - Win
Saints at Dome - They are our absolute bunnies. We kill them every time. Win
Carlton away - 60/40 to us
Collingwood at home - Win
Melbourne at home - Win
Kangas away - On a run by now, we'll win.

Here is my assessment of our remaining games. Bold games are victories. We are the same side that we were last year, and things are starting to click. People wrote us off far too quickly.

That gives us 13 wins. Sounds about right. Wouldn't shock me if we won Sydney at home, either.

Horror draw but bold are games I think we can win.

Hawks at Aurora...Won last year with Buddy playing a stinker. Hawks of 2008 are better. Hawks win. 40-50 loss.
Sydney at Home. Barry Hall destroyed us last time. No hall No Swans. win 20-40 win.
Freo at Subi. If Freo play like they did against Geelong, loss if they play like they did against Melbourne, win. We have a good record against Freo away. 10-30 win.
Carlton at Home. Should win. If we lose this we won't make finals. Must win. 20-50 win.
Geelong arn't playing great footy, 70/30 geelong but possibly an upset arises, we play very good against Geelong (besides the day we never mention). 10-30 loss.
Richmond at Home. Should win. Must win. Will win. 30-50 win.
Bulldogs at Darwin, we have a good record against Dogs up there. Dogs are playing a hell of a lot better this year, i still don't rate them. 10-25 win.
Kangas at Home. Kangas suck and are weak. percentage booster. Will need a comfortable win to make the 8. 50-70 win.

Adelaide. Adelaide dominate us, 50/50 game i think we can win but most likely won't with there record against us. 10-25 loss.

Freo at Home. Should win easy, they don't have a very good record against us over here. 40-60 win.

Saints at Dome. Really all depends how Saints are going, i think there mid is slow and overrated. Their legs will be absoulotly smashed. Saints do have a good record against us at the dome though.
10-20 win.

Carlton at Dome. Interesting game. Must win and should win. All depends on Carlton's form and there legs. If they have a lot in the tank (lol what a joke:D:p) we will probably will lose, but i think we will win by 20-40.

Collingwood at Home. 50/50 game, but we will have won 9 out of our last 10 games (going by my thoughts), so should me a lot more mentially tough and you know what happens when teams get on a role (geelong 07). 10-30 win.

Melbourne at Home. Should win. We should win easily, nice percentage booster, hopefully. 50-70 win.

Kangas at G. 50/50 game. 11 of our last 12 games one we should smash them and go into the finals ranked 4th-8th. 30-50 win.

This gives us 15 wins, this is all bearing injury and suspension though.

So anyone's predictions are very rough because who knows what might happen.

According to me we will probably finish anywhere between 3rd and 7th.

Port will make the 8