Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs Richmond

You do realise that it was only 20-16 right? Pretty close tally.

You do also realise that we are about -40 free kicks compared to the next worst team in the negative, right? In that we get fecking reamed every single week? Do you watch footy?

We’re obviously all biased but try to go back and watch it; watch how many times we got you holding the ball and it was called play on, watch how many times Riewoldt and Lynch get held down and get no free kick, watch how Riewoldt gets his head ripped off for no free then 20 seconds later Waterman gets it for the same thing.

Umpires on the whole had nothing to do with the result today, your midfield torched our empty midfield for the most part (Dusty injured, no Prestia or Cotchin) but we were the better side overall.

In a 3 point game like last week where we lose the frees 26-13, maybe you can call out the umpiring a bit then, but not today.

Given you normally lose the free count convincingly, the fact you won it today should really tell you something.

When I win a game comfortably, I run to the opposition board to have a sook about the umpires.

After also winning the free kick count.

Derp.

Anyway, positives are further evidence of a new game plan with some clear winning moves (eg JJ to half back), and a big turnaround from the last time we played Richmond. We also saw Trew, and other kids like Hough continue to be cause for optimism.

Negatives are injuries as always. **** me. And skill execution. Unsure if that's adapting to a new gameplan, lack of talent or a lack of SYNERGY. Probably all three.

Smash the draft, cut the dead wood, overhaul medical team and strength and conditioning, and get Allen, Chesser, Sheed, Cole etc all fit and next year should be fun. Probably not 2011 levels of fun, but better than this shitty season.

Negative:

Still have players who are immediately looking to kick back or chip it sideways or chip it to another player who offers a lead that ends up with nett gain of 2 metres. Yes looking at you Mr Hurn.

Duggan is definitely playing on credits.

Positive:

Hough will be a player.

A lot more cohesion.

Essendon won. GWS won. Port losing.

Allen - great tryer but outclassed

Jeff Goldblum What GIF by The Late Late Show with James Corden

You do also realise that we are about -40 free kicks compared to the next worst team in the negative, right? In that we get fecking reamed every single week? Do you watch footy?

We’re obviously all biased but try to go back and watch it; watch how many times we got you holding the ball and it was called play on, watch how many times Riewoldt and Lynch get held down and get no free kick, watch how Riewoldt gets his head ripped off for no free then 20 seconds later Waterman gets it for the same thing.

Umpires on the whole had nothing to do with the result today, your midfield torched our empty midfield for the most part (Dusty injured, no Prestia or Cotchin) but we were the better side overall.

In a 3 point game like last week where we lose the frees 26-13, maybe you can call out the umpiring a bit then, but not today.
I watched the umpires give you three goals from free kicks that absolutely were not correct calls and that was enough for me. There were other 50/50 calls but to be honest, doesn’t bother me that much. Still think you win, but the margin is much tighter.

Awkward Kenan Thompson GIF by Saturday Night Live

tumblr_mrc49wUDP01qa9jn1o7_r1_250.gifv

Who the * is he referring to?
Weird call, especially as I’ve watched the game multiple times and think Allen was clearly our best on ground.

Matthew Nicholls is the worst umpire by some margin.
Doesn’t favour one team but makes the worst decisions over and over again. Then he usually compounds his s**t calls with things like the abuse free kick from the bench.
Watching any game he umpires is hard work.
Missed a clear free to Cripps and then doubles down with not only the most inconsistently applied rule in the league but applied it to someone off the field when it’s never been called in that way before.

Just ****ery of the highest order, if there were any standards in afl umpiring he’d be sent to the magoos next week for that effort. Instead the afl will review it and say the umpire made the right call.

Shuey just laughing because everyone knows how ridiculous it is.

watch how many times we got you holding the ball and it was called play on, watch how many times Riewoldt and Lynch get held down and get no free kick, watch how Riewoldt gets his head ripped off for no free then 20 seconds later Waterman gets it for the same thing.

Umpires on
So your having a go at that poster whinging about the umpires while your also whinging about the umpires in your reply sounds like a person that’s pissed off his team didn’t make the most of beating up on a team that’s 17th, save your breath mate go back to your board and enjoy the win.👍

Very happy with our efforts today. We actually looked like an AFL team. Lots of good signs. Kelly was outstanding. Yeo and Jamieson great early. Waterman looked very confident without JK around. Naitanui was a potential game changer. Darling and Barrass were very good.

Probably the only downsides for me were some sketchy decision making at times (Yeo punching it back towards goal and Hurn seemingly not expecting it), Petrucelle not really fitting in with what we're trying to do now, and Ryan and Rioli looking threatening but lacking polish.

Trew looked right at home in an AFL midfield.

I think the AFL has struggled to strike the right balance on the abuse rule but there is absolutely no reason it shouldn't apply to players on the bench too. It shouldn't be tolerated.

I don't actually know what Shuey did or said, but "they never pay it like that" isn't a good argument. The umpire dissent/abuse interpretation is about setting a standard for grassroot levels. You should expect as a player that if you remonstrate from the bench it might get the same penalty as if you were on field.

Agree you guys were way to good on the turnover and the ability to spread the cheeks for the umpires.

But seriously very slick running through the corridor and clearing the ball from defensive fifty. Well done 👍

Still loads of weapons in the Richmond squad! Good luck for September

I think the AFL has struggled to strike the right balance on the abuse rule but there is absolutely no reason it shouldn't apply to players on the bench too. It shouldn't be tolerated.

I don't actually know what Shuey did or said, but "they never pay it like that" isn't a good argument. The umpire dissent/abuse interpretation is about setting a standard for grassroot levels. You should expect as a player that if you remonstrate from the bench it might get the same penalty as if you were on field.

It was actually advised to all clubs when the abuse rule was put in.

I think it's mostly positives from the game but there are some things that need changing.

I feel the skill level has gone up a lot, but the decision making is still at times lacking.

So good to see Shuey get some continuity, looking more like his old self as the season goes on.

Drop Duggan as a kick up the bum.

Rotham, I just see such poor disposal from him to the point I don't want him involved in possession chains. He seems to have gone backwards.

Barrass is a beast.

Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs Richmond