Potential training breach?

How much would’ve it cost the Crows to have their players stay at the Barossa? Given all the cuts, it seems to me this was already an unnecessary excessive cost.
Cost about $50k, but the players are paying most of it. However the club has stated that it would've cost more if they had isolated at home, as most of them are kids so are staying with host families, who would've also had to go into isolation

How much would’ve it cost the Crows to have their players stay at the Barossa? Given all the cuts, it seems to me this was already an unnecessary excessive cost.
Do we recoup the 6 weeks of peanuts we were going to pay Ben Hart?

You probably could have left it at that first phrase.

"keep borders closed and take precautions, but it's time to loosen the restrictions" - what exactly do you mean there? Border closure is a massive restriction.

"there is no risk to the SA public...." doesn't stack up. Minimal risk, acceptable risk, manageable risk maybe. There's no such thing as no risk with this.

"revelling in their power...." really? I can't see any of our political leaders, no matter what party or where they have jurisdiction, who are reveling in this. No matter which premier, prime minister, senior health official or other leader is speaking, all I see is incredibly tired, massively stressed individual who would rather be having root canals daily than having to make the decisions in front of them.

Fair call, I should have said some restrictions, which is what I meant.

Bingo. When the ball dropped on 1/1/00 and planes didn't fall out of the sky and prison gates didn't open there was a lot of "Y2K? Pfft, what a fizzer."

It was only a fizzer because IT professionals spent hours and hours upgrading systems and protocols and governments spent millions and millions of dollars to ensure it went off without a hitch.

It's the IT industry paradox.
"Everything always works, why do we pay you?"
"Everything's always breaking, why do we pay you?"
This is true. But not the whole story. A lot of the hype leading up to Y2K was about planes falling out of the sky, life support systems switching off, etc. Hyperbolic nonsense that was never going to happen leading to numerous scams and rackets.

Not to mention vendors using the opportunity to get organisations to switch to their expensive, bloated, slow but Y2K-compliant software rather than pay a programmer to change one line of COBOL.

I'm no health expert, but the minimal amount of infections in this country does not say 'pandemic'. Even in Vic, which has the most, this is so minor as to be insignificant. Sure, keep borders closed and take precautions, but it's time to loosen the restrictions nationwide. There is no risk to the SA public by having a couple of footy teams fly in and out. We can still take precautions. I have the feeling that our political 'leaders' and health officials are revelling in their power to control us all.
Have a look at the US if you want to see what will happen without restrictions. It's only minor because of the restrictions. Personally I'm quite happy at the stance the government has taken on footy, if the Vics don't like it, focus on their own government's inability to control things. I agree that soon (and we are starting to see it already), the restrictions within SA can be reduced

BREAKING NEWS;
Carolyn Wilson can now confirm that the Adelaide Crows may have been responsible for the Cedar Meats Coronavirus outbreak. An unknown source has confirmed a possible link between the outbreak and the Barossa Crows. Apparently the non-vegan players at the luxurious Barossa Resort all eat rump steak on Sunday night. You do the maths” said the multi-award winning journalist.

This is just another example of the Crows attempting to destroy the AFL said Wilson. I have it on good authority that the original 14 day isolation period for people entering South Australia was prompted by the Crows 2017 camp on the Gold Coast. “They were crammed into a bus, passed around a talking stick and tied naked players to trees. This is just the type of behaviour that could enable coronavirus to wipe out a community”. The WA government, a state that shares the longest state border in Australia with SA, were so concerned with the Crows behaviour in 2017 that they decided the only responsible action was to also institute a 14 day quarantine period to prevent any Crows entering the state.

In unrelated news, Caro has nominated Melbourne Coach Simon Goodwin for the community selflessness award. When asked how he felt about the possibility of playing HOME matches against WA and SA teams in Queensland Goodwin said “It’s not ideal but if it is required by the AFL we will accept it”. It is expected that Melbourne will play as few as 13 of their remaining 16 games in Melbourne.
I blame Mitch McGovern for the McDonald's cluster.

Adam Kelly claimed it didn't cost the club anything. He said the players paid for some of it and the rest was paid by a couple of individuals involved with the club (perhaps after the negative response though?)

I think it was also heavily discounted.

Rucci has called the Barossa incident SA's Ruby Princess and because of this now everyone from poor little Alberton has to pack their bags, kiss the wife and kids goodbye and head off to war, basically.

Honestly, that is beyond a partison club insult. The Ruby Princess made a LOT of people sick in a lot of different states. If not for that one incident, our whole nation would be in an even better spot with loosening of restrictions.

Rucci knows the Barossa kick-to-kick was meaningless, and it is a ****ing disgrace he'd say otherwise.

Rucci has called the Barossa incident SA's Ruby Princess and because of this now everyone from poor little Alberton has to pack their bags, kiss the wife and kids goodbye and head off to war, basically.
I mean they have CLEARLY put thousands of people at risk. There is clear evidence that hundreds of infections and many deaths have been the result. So, yeh, clearly the same thing.
Poor old Rucci. So utterly irrelevant, his attempts to gain attention are becoming more and more hysterical.

Yeah because so many people died from the training breach Rucci.

Also, since when did the guy that played Michael Jackson in The Simpsons start working at Port?

We should move up to Queensland too, shack up with West Coast, observe how a competent club goes about things.

Knowing us we would shack up with Freo....
I dont know why they dont just move the entire competition up to the goldy.. plenty of empty hotels up here!..

Each club could have its own..

Hold the games at the Gabba/Metricon and several other half decent grounds.. Have a game on wednesday, thursday and friday night and arvo and night games on saturdays and sundays..

Heaps of indoor and outdoor training places for the clubs like bond uni And all the 2018 com games facilities..

Weather in winter up here is a mild 25, sunny and never overly windy nearly ever single day.

Have every club here then if there is a “second wave”, unless its a massive outbreak on the goldy, theres not gonna be a real issue.

If we have clubs still based in different states all over the country and a second wave occurs and the borders lock down again.. the comp will be abandoned for a second time and it will surely mean the season would be shot to pieces..

There's no way that the Barossa training breach didn't factor in to the CMO's decision.
They probably won't admit as such because it's not a nice PR narrative.
Ben Hart proved that some people in the football industry can't be trusted to do the right thing during this health crisis.

There's no way that the Barossa training breach didn't factor in to the CMO's decision.
Ben Hart proved that some people in the football industry can't be trusted to do the right thing during this health crisis.

Did the Barossa breach factor into WA's CMO's decision to go the same path as us?

Certainly wouldn't have anything to do with the cesspool that is Victoria having OVER 150 NEW cases in the last 2 weeks.

But something something crows training something something

Totally disagree with this, no way would the Barossa incident or anything related with it have had anything to do with the CMO's decision, it would be purely be down to what she's ascertained to be medical risk factors and nothing else.....and it wouldn't have only been her sole decision either she would have consulted with the whole medical panel appointed to handle the Covid-19 pandemic.

Hey Vic flogs, this isn't hard to understand, you are the current Corona virus captial of Australia, we don't want to ruin all the hard work we have done in this state for your biased, corrupt competition, so just suck it up and look at your own backyard.

#****thevafl

Totally disagree with this, no way would the Barossa incident or anything related with it have had anything to do with the CMO's decision, it would be purely be down to what she's ascertained to be medical risk factors and nothing else.....and it wouldn't have only been her sole decision either she would have consulted with the whole medical panel appointed to handle the Covid-19 pandemic.
You mean looking at the health of the entire population of the state and making an evidence based decision without making exceptions for two clubs which will only bring risk to the community and economy and almost no benefit beyond to the clubs?

Potential training breach?