Training Pre Season ‘25

This is so far from accurate.
There are so many physical and psychosocial challenges facing young athletes moving into full time professional sport. Some kids are more well developed (more ready) physically than others and they do have better preparation through elite junior pathways, however, bodies are still more fragile than hardened professionals, their susceptibility to physical stress reactions is higher. The weight difference in some cases means higher impact forces. You see quite a number of young players struggling with injury until their bodies mature (Brown, Banks, Bauer, Fawcett) Psychologically, this is a huge change, with massive competitive pressure and social/media pressures which have never been higher, these can impact confidence, motivation and broader mental health. Like most young men, they are also prone to making dumb choices.
It’s rubbish anyways , all of the talls we drafted need to add size , min 5-7kg . Lalor needs to lose a few . Taj needs to add size as well
Smilie prob closest to afl ready in terms of size , aerobic, we ll see

This is so far from accurate.
There are so many physical and psychosocial challenges facing young athletes moving into full time professional sport. Some kids are more well developed (more ready) physically than others and they do have better preparation through elite junior pathways, however, bodies are still more fragile than hardened professionals, their susceptibility to physical stress reactions is higher. The weight difference in some cases means higher impact forces. You see quite a number of young players struggling with injury until their bodies mature (Brown, Banks, Bauer, Fawcett) Psychologically, this is a huge change, with massive competitive pressure and social/media pressures which have never been higher, these can impact confidence, motivation and broader mental health. Like most young men, they are also prone to making dumb choices.
af98c-this.gif

Atm he's too fat to fit their clothes.
gotta be up yaself to come back a fat slob in season 2 after being the best number one pick in years and years

We had guys like Baker, Graham and Dow as regulars in the middle last year

We have plenty of spots to give them rotations especially without Bolton as well

1st year players don’t generally play midfield roles anyway

Even the likes of Daicos and JHF spent the first year or so of their careers on the flanks
again, sticking to my point hooper is surplus to us now

huge liability for us. turnover kong. kicks at 32 % efficency. getting heaps of money for what. once you give me facts I will give you some respect.
I would trade him for antony miles

I think with the new batch of kids coming in that that will help the 'mid' year kids (Brown Tresize Banks etc) also go to another level naturally as being their 'seniors' - and if we've picked character correctly they'll improve in the leadership and ownership aspect alone which won't hurt.

I am looking forward to and hoping we get a full fit year of Hopper and see if he can recreate what he'd been previous - had no luck.

Well he went at 47.7% by foot for starters 🙄

People have forgotten how good a player he is when fit.
Didn't realise he was kicking that bad.

#eco was definitely the way to go or I would have melted about that.

come on mate look at the facts. hes keeping mcaulfie, smilie and others out. everyone is entitled to an opinion disagree with yours.
You asked me to give you facts and I did.

He's not keeping anyone out yet and he's only 27 too. There is room for McAuliffe, Smillie, Lalor, Taranto and Hopper in the midfield.

yeah and the 1847 locomotive is faster than that midfield

respectfully disagree they only facts you have given is an unfounded stat. Hoops is not our future.

This campaigner has the memory of an elephant.

This campaigner just clipping everyone for no reason. Just wants attention. We see you.

This campaigner, just a campaigner.

What do you mean “we”. No one gives a **** what you think

will we even need him? will have reid 2.0 in sharp.
with trading future picks being in next year, one possibility is we keep Pick 1 (for finishing last) get Sharp, then use the trade pick we got from North, our 2026 year pick and maybe giving a player such as a (fingers crossed) way improved Jacob Blight and whatever other sweeteners to get it done (i.e 2027 2nd round etc)

respectfully disagree they only facts you have given is an unfounded stat. Hoops is not our future.
Agree he isnt the future but he is our transition to that future. He was lauded for his professionalism and leadership values at Giants and I have heard is this same at Richmond with his off field influence. So providing that to the new kids is more valuable. And hey at this best a few years ago, he was more than serviceable, just unfortunate he has limitations lately with his playing abilities and has never been a high ceiling player.

come on mate look at the facts. hes keeping mcaulfie, smilie and others out. everyone is entitled to an opinion disagree with yours.
I didn’t have the time to go back to the original post. But I assume this is about Hopper.

Hopper is a big strong body to protect the likes of Smilie, Mcauliffe and co. Throw them too into the midfield by them selves and they will get eaten. Yeah they might get some touches and look good. They will have big bodied mids smashing into them, risking them getting hurt or not getting the development into their games that’s needed.

You have Hopper in there to win that hard contested ball, protect the young mids from the seasoned veterans from other teams.

If you have ever played senior footy you would understand the importance of having seasoned/older players in the team.

Hopper has a big frame and also is a pretty decent player when he’s up and going. He will do things on the field that the young fellas will see and potentially add to their own games.

Smilie is also capable of playing in the backline or up forward with rotating in the middle. Having Hopper in the middle allows quality players like Smilie to fill roles around the ground.

it’s not about Hopper being the future, it’s about Hopper filling the gap as a inside contested ball winner that we currently lack. Smilie is the future and playing next too/under a fearless contested player like Hopper will do wonders for his development.

Just like the past with players like, Troy Chaplin, Daniel Jackson, Steve Morris etc.

Those players protected the young players like Rance, Cotch and Vlastuin coming through. The same can be done with Hopper and Smile/Mccauliffe and co.

Training Pre Season ‘25