Training Pre-Season 2023 (First game 18/3 v North)

Chuck on a 2022 game, set it to slow-mo and change the contrast to black & white and it's almost the same.

It's OK, I've learned that if you want something done around here you have to do it yourself. Just got back from Lathlain...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2023.
  • Jamieson went up against Hedwards in the ruck contests and I'd say that Hedwards has the inside running at the moment.
  • Hewett looked a class above the other midfielders bar Ginbey. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Barrass was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from McGovern. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Gaff looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before he was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Chesser, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Allen looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Culley has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2023. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Barrass in a forward role.
  • Long is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of a WAFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Keys, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Dewar was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Petch or Kelly. Couldn't tell you why.

It's OK, I've learned that if you want something done around here you have to do it yourself. Just got back from Lathlain...

• Jamieson went up against Hedwards in the ruck contests and I'd say that Hedwards has the inside running at the moment.
  • Hewett looked a class above the other midfielders bar Ginbey. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Barrass was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from McGovern. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Gaff looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before he was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Chesser, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Allen looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Culley has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2023. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Barrass in a forward role.
  • Long is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of a WAFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Keys, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Dewar was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.

Some pics from training today:

Ginbey over his toe issue:

FB_IMG_1678171332115.jpg

Longy getting some minutes:

FB_IMG_1678171337875.jpg

Gaff getting burnt:

FB_IMG_1678171343786.jpg

We almost beat Kangas last year with 3 kids called up from Auskick to double up that afternoon because we only had 19 fit list players, half of who were not B22. We had a first game string bean with little backline experience get toweled up by Larkey to the tune of 6 goals (lets see how he goes with Gov and Tb back there) and Ryan had one of those games where he could have kicked 10 but only kicked 1.

So, yes, Im quietly confident we can go one better against the Kangas this time round.
Gives confidence doesnt it. Who have North added that could be a threat?

Glad we’re getting value for money out of Gaff’s $900k salary. Wouldn’t mind it if he was left out of the round 1 side in favour of Hough or Chesser

Uh...Cunnington is an absolute bull. I like Culley but that is asking a hell of a lot from a kid to take it up, physically, against one of the strongest inside mids in the comp all day.

Cunnington is the only mid in the game i've seen stronger than peak Yeo of current generation players. I'm not sure parking Culley on him is going to do the job,

Can I just put it out there, yes we beat port but a bit like our two wins last year, we were the worse team for most of the match and if port had of kicked straight, particularly early there is every likelihood that we would have had a similar scoreline to what happened against Adelaide.

As a club I hope we win one of the first two matches because I really don't like our chances in the next 4. As far as the North game goes if Cunnington and Simpkin are both at peak condition I think we'll get flogged through the middle again and actually think it's harder than the match up against GWS.
Fair points. Just depends what team turns up for round one. It's a mystery waiting to unfold.
Just find it hard to believe we'll see the same effort as the Crows scratchie..will be a long painful road ahead if they do.
Also, the midfield looked disappointing, but NN's (and Culley) return should make a difference, just not sure how they improve their speed without going full Essendon.

Cunnington is the only mid in the game i've seen stronger than peak Yeo of current generation players. I'm not sure parking Culley on him is going to do the job,
He's also missed a lot of footy and training, for various reasons (and his comeback is a great story).

But that will also mean he won't be at career peak strength and conditioning - planning for the player he is now at 31 after 20 games over 3 seasons I think Culley will be just fine.

On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app

He's also missed a lot of footy and training, for various reasons (and his comeback is a great story).

But that will also mean he won't be at career peak strength and conditioning - planning for the player he is now at 31 after 20 games over 3 seasons I think Culley will be just fine.

His touch, endurance and speed might frop off but his bread butter is his contested work and that stuff is like breathing to him.

He appears a bit bottom heavy like de Boer was.

If he ends up having a career anywhere near as good a Mdb I will be thrilled.... 211 games and 78 goals.

I have already posted this, but I was rapt when we were able to pick Noah up so late in the draft as I honestly thought he would be well and truely off the board by pick # 58.

Time will tell but at this early stage it looks like an astute choice.

If he ends up having a career anywhere near as good a Mdb I will be thrilled.... 211 games and 78 goals.

I have already posted this, but I was rapt when we were able to pick Noah up so late in the draft as I honestly thought he would be well and truely off the board by pick # 58.

Depends if he ends up a permanent forward mate, because they're Zac Langdon conversion numbers.

Except MDB was one of the best run with shut down mids of his era., he was never a permanent forward

Long has a ton more tricks and flair than MDB ......... however if Noah can eke as much out of his god given ability as MDB did ...we have a really good player.

Regardless of where MDB played anyone who joins the AFL 200 Club is no mug.

The way Ginbey hit the contest/tackles has a bit of Yeo about. Culley is a big kid and while he's bigger than Ginbey he doesn't seem as powerful as the sandwich

What, he's 31? Surely he won't be played at that age. Won't they be playing the young guys?

The way Ginbey hit the contest/tackles has a bit of Yeo about. Culley is a big kid and while he's bigger than Ginbey he doesn't seem as powerful as the sandwich

One is fast and explosive, the other...

Dog Ride GIF

At least, that's what I've heard Squashkent say.

Last year during the U/18 champs yes, has he had it recently?
Doesn't necessarily matter when. LC can emerge even well after a first infection, and hit different organs in ways that are not yet well understood. Also elite athletes have different populations of ACE2 receptors around their bodies and that's the place where the virus gets into cells to do its nasty thing.

Talk about setting the bar far too low.

When I see a Noah Long photo I swear I see an 18 yr old GAJ with hair.

Now that's more like it!

Will settle for a Zorko career path though.