Training Pre Season '23

Would make an interesting thread - "Name the souls taken by Dusty and kept in the boot of his Range Rover" lol

Tom Stewart - 9th Sept 17 Qual Final outer wing MCG (I think I have the right match) Tom fumbles under Dusty pressure then Dusty performs a patented Don't Argue, spins on a dime and runs away making poor old Tom look silly and leading to an awesome goal.
Who can forget Dangerflog being cast aside in Brissy

He's just keeping a low profile. Reckon he's gonna blow the comp apart this year.
I wouldn't be surprised if he'd asked not to be on any social media that the Club posts. there'd be others not seen in vids or pics too at a guess. Prob left him out as a way of giving the media nothing regarding him at all.

Day 3 report up on the Club website.

Kamdyn won the Tony Mangan Award. Juddy and Trent were honourable mentions.

Haere Ra
Many thx for the blogs mate they were a great read as always. Are you able to confirm if Dusty was on the camp for those in here wondering if he was there or not?

I wouldn't be surprised if he'd asked not to be on any social media that the Club posts. there'd be others not seen in vids or pics too at a guess. Prob left him out as a way of giving the media nothing regarding him at all.
Martin has been doing all training, it seems, at Punt Road which is in the public eye and all the club's social media. A camp in the Otway's is about the same level of scrutiny. He was in a couple of photos before the camp.
I'm not sure if he's there or not but he'd have a good reason if not. His training form is v. good. Back to pre injury levels.
As long as he's not at clubs groping strippers' **** I trust Dimma and the club.

I have to ask, what is the source of everyone's unshakeable belief that Martin will tare the comp to shreds this year? His last two years have been mediocre by his salary and the hourglass flows forward. When was the last time that a 31 year old tore the comp apart?

I can see he could be a low end A grade player this year. However, if you read some people's posts here, he is definitely going to win a Brownlow and any other result is near impossible.

I have to ask, what is the source of everyone's unshakeable belief that Martin will tare the comp to shreds this year? His last two years have been mediocre by his salary and the hourglass flows forward. When was the last time that a 31 year old tore the comp apart?

I can see he could be a low end A grade player this year. However, if you read some people's posts here, he is definitely going to win a Brownlow and any other result is near impossible.
I feel like he was decent enough in 2021 but the whole team was flat and we had a shit season. He carried us in a few games when no one else could be bothered.

He then copped a serious injury late in the season and lost a lot of weight and muscle, then shortly after his father passed away - this would wreck most people for a period but he was only 29 and SUPER close to his Dad from what it seems, so you can imagine the horrible toll that must have taken.

Come 2022 he was still recovering and building up strength again but in a very non-Dusty way, his heart wasn't in it, he was grieving and depressed, wasn't training hard. He was only average and you could tell he didn't want to be playing. Then he copped a hammy in his first game looking like his normal self again (17 touches and a goal in a half through the midfield against the Eagles).

But now he is seemingly back to full fitness and from all the photos you can see he is happy and enjoying himself again. From all reports he is flying this preseason. I wouldn't think Brownlow, no way, but a 2020 level Dusty is absolutely achievable, if not potentially even better than 2020.

Over-rated and over-priced.

Warrnambool people talk Kermond's up as if there's no other burgers like it, but really they're just like a decent fish'n'chip shop burger, but more expensive.
I can't say I've tried other burgers from around the area as I'm not from there. But I've always enjoyed Kermond's and found the price to be ok.

It is a fish and chip shop style burger so you might be right.

Why mention Salary?:rolleyes:
Don't you think he paid us back in spades?

Not just Dusty. Everyone thinks we’re a shoe in for the flag. We could struggle for top 4 imo

Why mention Salary?:rolleyes:
Don't you think he paid us back in spades?
On the wage he is on I think he needs 1 more year of good consistent footy to be absolutely worth the salary.

Not just Dusty. Everyone thinks we’re a shoe in for the flag. We could struggle for top 4 imo
I fear this. There always seems to be some god of hubris that is prized to come down and smack us with his dick. I really hope the team haven't been reading all the press and expecting it to just happen.

Why, we saw a bunch of old men romp in a flag last year. I'd honestly say our team matches or beats every line of Geelongs premiership side with Taranto and Hops in the picture. We've got every right to go into next year with an air of confidence imo. only injuries will keep us out of top 4 which you can't really factor in in February.

We've brought in two class midfielders, Dusty is primed and ready to go and doesn't have to shoulder the bulk of duties. We also have kids like Sonsie and Juddy Clarke pushing for selection.

A forward line that scored the most points last year, now with more Dusty and an even spicier MRJ

If we tighten our defense up (Hello Truck) and the mids and forwards do what they did last year, I can see us finishing 3rd at the end of the H&A games (pending injury of course).

Barry Round won a Brownlow at 31 and if there's anyone that can break the stereotypes, it's Dusty.

I've put my money where my mouth is and bet on him to win the Brownlow.

Imo Dusty has paid his whole salary a dozen times over. And then some.
He's been incredibly durable until 2021. He's played well his whole career and goes alright in finals. Ralph/He had a sniff at leaving. 2015 or so, lacked a bit of discipline, But knuckled down and has been a huge contributor to the club's flag success. Huge performer in our wins. He's on huge money (top 4 or 5 in the league.} the club can afford him and Lynch and TT & JH.
Dusty is not going to be working in the media post football. Coach? maybe.

Got to make his money now.

Kevin Bartlett destroyed the Pies when in his 30s - 7 in the grand final and 21 goals in total for the final series.

we were basically a few goals off finishing 2nd on the ladder last year and we've probably improved our midfield which is where we conceded large amount of goals over small periods in most of the losses. obviously footy is pretty random but it's not a crazy theory to think we could finish top 4

also this board always says we're gonna win the flag lol

Training Pre Season '23