Training Pre-season updates 2025.

100%.

The trick with the “murph” role was reading the play and getting to the contest.
Whether that be third man or rolling up.

Don’t need height or strength.
Just a desire not to lose and ability to read what is happening.

Hence I’m not fussed with him “intercepting and rebounding using his pace”….unless we change roles for others, we don’t need that.
The other trick with the Murphy role was that he was very strong for his size, and as such very rarely beaten in a wrestle on the odd occasion he was stuck in one.

This is why I'll repeat my previous post, Reef may become a very serviceable flanker, but we haven't seen him show any body strength yet.....and until he shows that he isn't going to be a KP.

What's his new role?
I suppose similar to what he played in the Eagles game.
HF and then moving up iinto the midfield, would then do centre bounce on occasion and then would move forward as he provides transition from mid to forward.

The other trick with the Murphy role was that he was very strong for his size, and as such very rarely beaten in a wrestle on the odd occasion he was stuck in one.

This is why I'll repeat my previous post, Reef may become a very serviceable flanker, but we haven't seen him show any body strength yet.....and until he shows that he isn't going to be a KP.
Strong or otherwise….my comment about desire not to lose covers that!

You don’t need strength if your brain is faster.
I don’t like using “strength” as a reason…..it’s all about the brain and body position.

Agree with your assertion about reef.

I won’t be making any judgement until he has played at least 4 games at senior level in defence.

Interesting? What’s the new role? I feel like HF is a tough position to make a career out of.
Not even HF, as HF's are more half mids. But.I guess its more about giving him a secondary role to rather than just a clearance player, which isn't something that yet worked out. So hopefully by adding this string to his bow, if there is an opportunity there in such a role, he can take it.

100%.

The trick with the “murph” role was reading the play and getting to the contest.
Whether that be third man or rolling up.

Don’t need height or strength.
Just a desire not to lose and ability to read what is happening.

Hence I’m not fussed with him “intercepting and rebounding using his pace”….unless we change roles for others, we don’t need that.
Disagree that we don’t need someone to rebound with pace. Noble was the only player to reliably run the ball out of defence and we lost him, so it’s definitely an area of need.

Agree filling the Murphy role is even more crucial but we have no one on the list right now seemingly capable. (Frampton and Dean not up to it IMO)

People are hoping that Reefs height (taller than Murphy) and closing speed (faster than Murphy) it will translate to similar heroic 3rd man up spoils. But it all comes down to if he can read the game and make the right decisions as Murphy was so good at. This is very much up in the air.

Quietly underrated. Has a new role that I feel suits him. Looks stronger, and his hands are so quick, one of his strengths. Big year for him.

Better than him being loudly over-rated and set up for disappointment, as was the case last pre-season.

Perhaps he’ll play better without that weight of expectation but surely it will take a horror run of injuries for Fin to see Seniors action this season. The recruitment of Perryman and Houston push him even further down the list.

Let me ask you a question. Had we seen Murphy show any significant body strength before he put on size and was moved to key defence? Did you consider him capable of playing that role prior to him being thrown in there?

I’d wager you didn’t, and if you claim you thought otherwise while Murph was playing as a flanker, I’d be comfortable in saying you’re lying.

None of this is to say that Reef will make it as a key defender, but declaring what role a player is capable or incapable of playing when you haven’t actually seen them doing it is nonsensical.

Murphy was an excellent game reader though, not sure Reef has that.
In defence he was. Not so much playing on a forward flank. I’d like to actually see Reef in defence before making a judgement on his ability to read the play.
It wouldn’t surprise me if he was much more capable in that role considering he spent a lot of his junior footy playing as a defender.

Would hold off picking Hayes until he puts on some bulk - no need to take any risks with the kid.
He’s the same size as Hill. He doesn’t need bulk for the role he’d play which would be largely outside the contest. Plenty of talented kids his size have debuted with no issues.

My god the Reef adulation has started early. “He’s our second best defender already.” Give it a rest he hasn’t even played a game there and he’s only back there because he failed elsewhere.
Can we please have a season where he’s judged on what he actually does not what your imagination thinks he does.

He’s not in the starting defence for me. Moore, Frampton, Howe first for the talls then Dean and Reef but not for the big talls if you get my drift.

Remember last preseason when Finn was going to have a break out year? Let’s just not put bets on Reef for AA just yet ok.
Nothing wrong with people being upbeat and optimistic about Reef, or any other player.
If optimism is an issue for you then sadly that’s your problem.

Nothing wrong with people being upbeat and optimistic about Reef, or any other player.
If optimism is an issue for you then sadly that’s your problem.
Hes got the size, aerial ability and speed to be a decent 3rd (or 2nd) KPF. With Howey, Moore, Bruzzy and IQ around him he'll have plenty of instruction

He’s the same size as Hill. He doesn’t need bulk for the role he’d play which would be largely outside the contest. Plenty of talented kids his size have debuted with no issues.
Just checked Footwire - suprisingly, Hayes is 9kg heavier than Bobby.
That’s a very pleasant surprise - so my fears were unfounded.

Those few who have identified the pace issue now that Noble has gone are correct. Pace and dare were his great attributes, supplemented by great courage given his lack of physical strength. McInnes may be able to supply some of these: I don't know if his pace and endurance are actually at Noble's levels. He is an obvious upgrade overhead. If he can also supply some of what Murphy gave us, then there is probably a place on the backline for him.
No two players are identical. McInnes will not be one of the players we have lost. I expect he will be trying to use what he has in his own unique way. There is not much we can say until we get a view of what that might be.
As an aside, I believe that Gold Coast will get far more from Noble than they will from Rioli. The trade values of those two were heavily skewed.

Those few who have identified the pace issue now that Noble has gone are correct. Pace and dare were his great attributes, supplemented by great courage given his lack of physical strength. McInnes may be able to supply some of these: I don't know if his pace and endurance are actually at Noble's levels. He is an obvious upgrade overhead. If he can also supply some of what Murphy gave us, then there is probably a place on the backline for him.
No two players are identical. McInnes will not be one of the players we have lost. I expect he will be trying to use what he has in his own unique way. There is not much we can say until we get a view of what that might be.
As an aside, I believe that Gold Coast will get far more from Noble than they will from Rioli. The trade values of those two were heavily skewed.
The Rioli trade was absurd. Media driven and all too stupid to call it out

COLLINGWOOD

POSITION BATTLE: KEY DEFENDER

The Pies are still wanting for a Nathan Murphy replacement after the premiership defender was medically retired last year. Murphy was an understated part of Collingwood’s structure, and is a major reason for the side’s drop off in 2024. Finding a ready-made replacement is never easy, and while the Pies landed Tim Membrey in the off-season, they did not bring in a mature tall defender. Billy Frampton looks like the incumbent No.2 with Darcy Moore, while Charlie Dean managed eight games and is challenging for the role. Jeremy Howe would be a good third tall, but is likely undersized to play second fiddle in what will be his 15th AFL season. Joel Cochran is down the pecking order as a new draftee, while Reef McInnes is impressing as a swingman and could earn a spot down back.

The Rioli trade was absurd. Media driven and all too stupid to call it out
Absurd to the max.
Cannot believe the press at the time was supportive of pick 6 let alone an added pick in the 20s.
Imagine if we'd paid that for Rioli. My membership would get two goes in the microwave.

COLLINGWOOD

POSITION BATTLE: KEY DEFENDER

The Pies are still wanting for a Nathan Murphy replacement after the premiership defender was medically retired last year. Murphy was an understated part of Collingwood’s structure, and is a major reason for the side’s drop off in 2024. Finding a ready-made replacement is never easy, and while the Pies landed Tim Membrey in the off-season, they did not bring in a mature tall defender. Billy Frampton looks like the incumbent No.2 with Darcy Moore, while Charlie Dean managed eight games and is challenging for the role. Jeremy Howe would be a good third tall, but is likely undersized to play second fiddle in what will be his 15th AFL season. Joel Cochran is down the pecking order as a new draftee, while Reef McInnes is impressing as a swingman and could earn a spot down back.

I reckon injuries played a major role in our demise last year. A tweaking of the game plan also had an effect. I seriously doubt one player like Murphy was a major reason for our downfall. I also don't think we are majorly concerned about having a ready made tall defender if Darcy goes down or we would have done everything to try and find a decent key defender. We will back in our game plan and structures

The 4 game losing streak in July that seemed like another team effort wise didn’t help

Yeah, if we were that desperate, we would have gotten your mate tomlinson, but we didn't. Obviously decided then they were gonna trial reef and see if he can compliment that backline. I personally think it's easy to blame the defenders, but the real issue was the pressure up the ground.

Yep, our midfield just wasn't deep enough with all the injuries

Training Pre-season updates 2025.