Preview Prelim Final:Sydney Swans vs Collingwood Sat 17th Sept @ SCG - Our Bevy vs the Tribe dosey doe

Good stuff Ticky009 !!

I am unspeakably nervous about this game and also have this lingering bad feeling (I think it's the shades of Bravedogs that I'm getting from Collingwood atm), so I will instead try to be purely positive about this one.

Reasons I think we have to be hopeful:

- Collingwood's best is not that good. They haven't scored 100 points since May. They just can't score that much. Teams like this tend to get found out as soon as they're up against teams that defend equally as well but that score even better. It was telling that Collingwood's 11.13 was seen as some kind of blistering, amazing footy, but Melbourne kick 11.13 the night before and their front half was seen as dysfunctional and diabolical.

This is the key point for mine. If we effectively stop them playing their 'preferred game style' (i.e. don't play like Freo who just basically let them do whatever they wanted), then I think they'll struggle big time to kick a winning score.

Our biggest risk is a slow start and them getting away to a big lead that we can't chase down. If we hit the game with intensity, turn it into a grind if need be early on, but are within a couple of goals or better at half time, then I think we will do what we've done to a lot of teams this year and grind them into the dust in the second half. x

Squiggle is just one measure, but it is usually a pretty good one for mine as to tell the likelihood a team is ready to 'crack the big one'. There are always exceptions and footy isn't a statistical game played on paper - but if the Lions or the Pies were to go all the way, they would be huge outliers compared to teams that generally win the flag. The fairypuppies were the darlings in 2016, but they did profile well in terms of Squiggle with where they ended up (i.e. their ladder position belied their capability). Overall, there isn't the exceptional sides seen of other seasons, but Geelong and the Swans are the only two in the ballpark.

Pies have roughly the equivalent of our attack from 2005, matched with a much worsed defensive capability. Our profile is similar to West Coast in 2018 which I also found interesting.

Anyway, get the attitude right, go out hard early and knock them off their game (like we did a month ago), and it'll take something extraordinary from the Pies, or one of those days where absolutely everything goes right for a team for them to beat us.

Attachments

• Squiggle.JPG
    Squiggle.JPG
    185.3 KB · Views: 83
Pies articles going around:
-Pies coaches kept changing the plan. Players were confused
-Number of their blokes were sick
-Hadn't traveled much. Weren't used to it as well as the SCG

I get why Collingwood fans would be feeling cocky but if we bring what we have been it'll be a repeat of the last match

Seems every Melbourne team we beat gets crook before they play us. We've heard that at least 3 times this year haha!

And De Goey's heat map is just plain out weird from their last game. He parked himself in the centre square and didn't leave.

Gah, defaults to Jack Steele of all people. You'll have to enter his details yourselves.

I thought Freo was the greater danger to us. We caught them unawares last time. They couldn't switch their play style to defend man on man when we played the short kick tempo game. I expect Longmuir would have had a plan B, C, D & E ready if they'd got through.

Collingwoods game depends on speed and pressure, hard two way running, spread and frenetic paced football., especially in final quarters. They spread chaos among all players, but it's chaos they thrive on. The crowds are revved up and when opposition teams win possession they tend to be sucked into Collingwood's sense of urgency.

We've shown we're the kings of pressure, especially in final quarters. We don't get rattled. We've been able to adjust our pace to nullify the sense of panic Collingwood likes to sow among its opponents. Without the ball we can match their pace, ie. flat out, full on and desperate, yet we retain enough shape to rebound effectively. We have all the strengths of Collingwood and more.

In the Geelong and Freo matches against Collingwood, Collingwood rely upon dragging their opponent into the fast pressurised game that Colllingwood have made their trademark this year. Geelong were (just) good enough to win playing Collingwood's game, and it was good to see a much maligned ex-Swan take a large role in their downfall. Freo were stunned mullets.

The real strength of the Swans is we stick to playing our own game. We can play every bit as frantic as Collingwood when we're without the ball, but when we get the ball only we dictate the pace, moving the ball carefully to pick through our opponent's defence then attacking (or rebounding) at speed where we have a good spread of options ahead of the ball. If we have the corridor we're very dangerous, with so many forward options including hard running mids.

In the latter part of the H&A season we found a way to attack effectively when teams denied us the corridor. We used the wings, often taking more and shorter kicks to pinpoint our f50 thrusts and/or handballs to running players to force the opposition defenders to shift to defend other spaces, opening and exploiting gaps. Even under pressure we are a more efficient team at disposing the football. In almost every stat of pressure football we perform better than Collingwood. Our challenge is to bring full pressure to bear for a full four quarters. Do that and we win.

Of Geelong or Brisbane, if we get past Collingwood I expect Geelong will be our next opponent. Our speed and hard two way running can match their fast end to end ball movement, but theirs is a mature and very experienced finals team. When a team plays finals for so long all their flaws are eventually laid bare and can be rectified. They won't be the Geelong of yesteryear. We won't be wondering which Geelong turns up, there is only one version. Besides the obvious that we need to lock down on Cameron as much as possible, I think we're a 50:50 chance or maybe better, depending on how hard it is to get past Collingwood - assuming we do.

We could find it harder to match up against Brisbane. Their defence is no match for our forward pressure, especially if we bring our forward 50 pressure and lock the ball inside 50. But their forwards are not only talented but unpredictable. If they all fire it'll be up to our mids to deny them opportunities, which begins with Hicks being competitive on the big O and (probably) Rowbottom keeping Neale honest. If they get easy ball inside 50 our defence will be very busy. Daniher is dangerous when he's on, a strong mark and quick on his feet when the ball hits the deck. Hipwood is in a purple patch of form. How Cameron wasn't picked as the AA small forward is beyond me. Whoever gets him is going to need help. I'm thinking Fox who's very quick but at times speedstars like Lizard and Rampe must be willing to leave their opponent and assist if necessary. McStay and Bailey can also get off the chain while Brissie's mids are happy to go forward and take a ping if given the opportunity.

And De Goey's heat map is just plain out weird from their last game. He parked himself in the centre square and didn't leave.

Gah, defaults to Jack Steele of all people. You'll have to enter his details yourselves.

De Goey heat map. Pretty much in the middle.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220911-232156_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20220911-232156_Samsung Internet.jpg
    54 KB · Views: 70
Not for the PF. But if he's fit enough possibly for the GF. Bit stiff for the guys who've pulled the weight along the way though. I assume the subs get the medal?
Gotta win this week first.
Agree with you that he has to be fit enough. If we had a sub already banging down the door to get into the 22 it would be different - but I think Kennedy is straight in as sub if for.

I can’t imagine a possible sub in the league that oppositions would fear more to see entering the field in the latter stages of a grand final than Kennedy. Kennedy is Mr September Contested Possesions. With 30 minutes to play in his career and fresh legs, I reckon he could go beast mode one more time.

15 possession final quarter and 5 clearances. I’m calling it now. I can at least dream, can’t I?

I think we win this easily and if we bring the pressure and kick straight it could be a real blowout tbh.

Couldn't have asked for a better prelim really. The Pies have been good in the finals so far, but there's a fair gap between us and them. Add to this we are at home at the SCG.

I reckon the scoreboard flattered the Pies in our R22 clash and hopefully we control the game from start to finish like we did that day.

No changes and Campbell sub again. I'd have Cunningham, Amartey and Gould as the other emergencies.

Didn’t they kick a last second goal when it didn’t matter to get it under 30? It wasn’t close. No aspect of it was.

I don’t think it’s arrogant to expect to win this. We finished higher, we’re more convincing, we have more very good/elite players and it’s at a ground that we love and they hate.

Unfortunately it isn’t played on paper so we will actually have to show up, but I see no reason why we won’t.

De Goey heat map. Pretty much in the middle.

We should look to flood the corridor and force the game out onto the wings. Limit the effectiveness of Collingwoods hail maries down the corridor.

Collingwoods wingers like Hoskin Elliot etc have not set the world on fire, and I think JMac, Gulden and Stephens really have the edge over the opposition in this area of the ground. The ball use from our wingers is significantly better as well to change angles back inside when attacking so we arent limited to boundary line set shots.

Didn’t they kick a last second goal when it didn’t matter to get it under 30? It wasn’t close. No aspect of it was.

I don’t think it’s arrogant to expect to win this. We finished higher, we’re more convincing, we have more very good/elite players and it’s at a ground that we love and they hate.

Unfortunately it isn’t played on paper so we will actually have to show up, but I see no reason why we won’t.

The same could have been written on the Melbourne board before they played Brisbane at the MCG.

There are a dozen reasons why we should win this game but sometimes things go the way of the other team.

We have to go out there to earn this win. It won't come to us if we expect anything less than an absolute sh$tfight. I'm concerned that Collingwood have momentum and we've had a week off. We need to be switched on.

In our last PF we came the long way round and bulldozed a fresh Geelong who'd had a relaxing week off.

I replied to your kind post after our round 22 win stating that we will meet you again in the preliminary final.
I similarly predicted, with 4 rounds to go, that Carlton would miss the 8 being replaced by the Dogs. I'm pleased to say I won quite a nice few $$$ on that prediction.
My ladder predictor also had the top 8 in the same position as they all finished.
The point of all this is I predicted a Geelong/Swans GF with the Swans as the premiers.
Nostradamus mark 2. ;) ;)
I remember that. :)

Great that you got a good pay day out of it! $$$

Hoping for a different result this time around on .Saturday though. :D

mdkhj4d6k4n91.jpg
Tagged the Swans and the Pies but not the Temper Trap.

Feel like there’s a bit in that too

Jack Crisp played a very good semi final. Taylor Adams is a good player when available.

Adams is out isn't he?

Howe and Maynard looked proppy but should get up, but it's a reminder they'll have some sore bodies regardless of how comfortable that result looked. Other than Ollie we should be fully fresh and ready to go.

The arrogance of the Collingwood board is something to behold. They were in a stronger position form-wise last time and got dealt with easily.

Not saying they can’t win, but they’re really trying to convince themselves that the last meeting was just an aberration.

We should look to flood the corridor and force the game out onto the wings. Limit the effectiveness of Collingwoods hail maries down the corridor.

Collingwoods wingers like Hoskin Elliot etc have not set the world on fire, and I think JMac, Gulden and Stephens really have the edge over the opposition in this area of the ground. The ball use from our wingers is significantly better as well to change angles back inside when attacking so we arent limited to boundary line set shots.

Very good point. I think that's something we did last time. Our fresher bodies means we should run out the game better than them.