Preliminary Final - Western Bulldogs vs GWS - Meetup/March/Post Match thread (upd Wed PM)

Now we mortgaged the house for flights, tickets and accom, a thread for catching up either via the Western Bulldogs activities. I'll update this as we get more info.

The @VL30J Fish Feed
  • About midday at the Sydney Fish Market on the Tram Route a stop or two after the Casino.
  • The Market has about 20 cooked fish vendors and a bottle shop with seats on the harbour.
  • Dry Rot has some great tips in this post
  • You can't beat the flame seared scallops on the RHS just past Doyles (which has faded recenty)
The "JJ Express" Rail Service
  • Train details at Transport NSW
  • Free travel on Sydney Trains to and from the game.
  • An additional fee is required for the airport stations
The "Dougie Hawkins Wing" Ferry Service F3
  • This is NOT the fastest method - The train is faster
  • There is a 14:07pm F3 ferry (& every 30 mins).
  • It arrives at Darling Harbour at 14:20.
  • A bus meets the ferry and expect to get to the Brewery/ ground at 15:30 with a bit of a walk.
Bigfooty meet-up Saturday afternoon at The Brewery, Homebush
  • Map
  • This is the Novotel, it will have expensive beer in probably plastic cups but it is close and big.
** NEW ** Bulldog Supporters' March from the Homebush Novotel to Zeno Tzatzaris Park 3:45pm ** NEW **
  • All Bulldogs, Swans and other supporters are welcome to join us for the March to the Stadium from The Novotel.
  • The GWS March is at the same time and they have right of way and are to be treated with respect.
  • Please forward this to any Bulldog fans that are going who are not Big Footy members and this is NOT an official Bulldogs or AFL event.
  • The club will be informed Thursday
AFL/Western Bulldog events
  • The AFL will have a "game zone" in the precinct
  • There appear to be no current plans for the Bulldogs. Can anyone work out a route, probably about half the length of Fed Sq to the G.
  • There are no official Bulldogs mass functions.
Post game
  • If the Brewery worked before then should work after for a debrief
  • Newtown (5km west of Sydney CBD) has a lot of pubs, bars and restaurants. Try the Newtown Social Club, Bank Hotel, Town Hall.
  • The CBD/Kings Cross are probably not the best places to head out to. Remember Ricky Ponting?
  • The Rocks - Better than the CBD but you still need to be safety aware.
  • China Town off George Street has some good food and some really bad hotels. You need to keep your wits about you around the CBD.
  • Little Thai - Another option in CBD - I prefer Satang Thai Exclusive a bees wanger from central - HUUUUGE plates.

I land at 3.25 so not a lot of time before the game, but after, will be looking for all the beers.
Probably is if we win we're gonna get locked out of most joints early on in the night. Bloody tossers and their laws.

Do we make a pilgrimage to the casino for more beers if thats the case?

Probably is if we win we're gonna get locked out of most joints early on in the night. Bloody tossers and their laws.

Maybe post match meet back at the brewery and formulate a plan? My mate that is going to the game flys back that night so will be looking for fellow Dogs to debrief with as I will be solo at that stage

unless you're set on a big night in the CBD/KingsX, the lockout laws don't apply beyond those places. Also lockout only starts at 1:30am.

CBD/KingsX are expensive as heck anyway.

unless you're set on a big night in the CBD/KingsX, the lockout laws don't apply beyond those places. Also lockout only starts at 1:30am.

CBD/KingsX are expensive as heck anyway.
My flight is at a sparrows fart on Sunday morning. If we win there's a fair chance me and my mate won't be sleeping. We have a place in bondi lined up but considering the shenanigans that occurred Friday we will be open for kickons anywhere.

I will be flying in and catching up with a friend early Saturday and then heading for a feed and a beer at the very excellent fish markets in Pyrmont (use their tram thingy) followed by a beer at Circular Quay before getting the ferry up the Harbour to Moore Park with the flag waving proudly from the bow. This is all weather dependent but I do recommend the food there.

Post game will be Newtown for some music at Newtown Social Club and onwards.

Saturday 24 September
Summary
partly-cloudy.png

Min 14
Max 22
Partly cloudy.
Possible rainfall: 0 mm
Chance of any rain: 5%
rain_5.gif

Sydney area
Partly cloudy. Winds southwesterly 15 to 20 km/h becoming light during the morning.

I'm on the 11am flight Sat morning & am staying in the city on Park St.

Thinking of hitting the beers in town, then training to meet you boys (& girls) @ the brewery

My flight is at a sparrows fart on Sunday morning. If we win there's a fair chance me and my mate won't be sleeping. We have a place in bondi lined up but considering the shenanigans that occurred Friday we will be open for kickons anywhere.
Bondi shouldn't be too bad, it's outside lockout zone and full of rowdy backpackers so should be fun

Just found some tickets with virgin from MEL to SYD 11:30 $335. The return flight on Sunday 12:25 $335. Cheapest I have seen so far. Qantas is fu..k expensive and I'm not taking the risk with Jetstar (almost the same price). Have you guys seen anything cheaper than this?

Yikes...qantas was reasonably pricey when I got em yesterday and they've already doubled since then :/

Depends what you're after. Newtown (esp Newtown Social Club) was brought up a few posts back, decent live music and no lock out. Most joints around The Rocks esp on George St are cool & not far from Circular Quay station (but lockout).

Suspect we're from different age groups, but I wouldn't call the George Street/Rocks joints cool. Some nicer old pubs NB in the back streets. And I suppose its always nice to walk around and under the Bridge and around the Opera House.

Walking across the Bridge is good fun if you are stoned.

If you are using trains, the area immediately next to Central Station is ordinary, but not far from there (to the north, towards the harbour) is Chinatown and Little Thai town, both good for a feed. Drinking holes there are, well, holes.

Kings Cross has been a hole for years, and our casino is crap. Younger folk may like bars around Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, dunno about their Lockout strategy.

https://www.google.com.au/search?hl..._occt=any&safe=images&as_filetype=&as_rights=

Newtown has many bars for younger folk. Quite a tattooed zoo on a Saturday night. Beware that IIRC Newtown has a voluntary lockout.

Now we mortgaged the house for flights, tickets and accom, a thread for catching up either via the Western Bulldogs activities. I'll update this as we get more info.

The @VL30J Fish Feed
  • About midday at the Sydney Fish Market on the Tram Route a stop or two after the Casino.
  • The Market has about 20 cooked fish vendors and a bottle shop with seats on the harbour.
The "Dougie Hawkins" wing Ferry Service F3
  • This is NOT the fastest method - The train is faster
  • There is a 14:07pm F3 ferry (& every 30 mins).
  • It arrives at Darling Harbour at 14:20.
  • A bus meets the ferry and expect to get to the Brewery/ ground at 15:30 with a bit of a walk.

Like your strategy if you have time.

I can second any ferry trip on the harbour, and the Fish Markets are good fun.

The cooked stuff needs some careful choosing, but the fresh oysters, prawns, crayfish etc are top shelf.

Grab some fresh bread and some booze and (local tip) head across to the big park opposite for a relaxed less crowded feed. Keep an eye out for the big pelicans wandering around near the wharves.

Cooked food: I'd check out Peters and Doyles (go the takeaway, not eat in).

Fresh stuff: Claudios is always first port of call. Ask to try a prawn before buying.

Suspect we're from different age groups, but I wouldn't call the George Street/Rocks joints cool. Some nicer old pubs NB in the back streets. And I suppose its always nice to walk around and under the Bridge and around the Opera House.

Walking across the Bridge is good fun if you are stoned.

If you are using trains, the area immediately next to Central Station is ordinary, but not far from there (to the north, towards the harbour) is Chinatown and Little Thai town, both good for a feed. Drinking holes there are, well, holes.

Kings Cross has been a hole for years, and our casino is crap. Younger folk may like bars around Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, dunno about their Lockout strategy.

https://www.google.com.au/search?hl..._occt=any&safe=images&as_filetype=&as_rights=

Newtown has many bars for younger folk. Quite a tattooed zoo on a Saturday night. Beware that IIRC Newtown has a voluntary lockout.
'cool' probably means more 'why not'. Not a ringing endorsement, although I'm not averse to Harbour View or Heroes of Waterloo...altho that requires a fair hike from Circular Quay.

Darling Harbour and King St Wharf are definitely within lockout. Pyrmont Bridge Hotel, whilst *just* up from DH, is not, as of August 2015 (when I was last there).

You're right some establishments in Newtown have voluntary lockout, the Marlborough does, not sure about others as haven't had a big one for a while.

Preliminary Final - Western Bulldogs vs GWS - Meetup/March/Post Match thread (upd Wed PM)