Training Preseason 2024

Who are best on?
i can't think of anyone that particularly stood out so would be interested in other's takes, guess Dogga has to be best on with his goals and some of the stuff he did inside. most of the mids had 7/10 type games if that makes sense

First training session attended since 2003(famous one before the final)

What I saw 👀
- lots of ****ing ants…I quickly realised I couldn’t lay down on the grass and relax!
-Intensity was good. Lots of swearing, taunting and push n shoves.
  • Jacky boy Dealan has lots to learn and his teammates are letting him know. Just raw.
  • Sharp. Great athlete and has a long kick. Few fumbles and turnovers. Was told off by a few about his positioning and leading patters on the wing.
-Treacy looks very sure of himself and his position in the team. Kicked well and was the pick of the fwds for mine.
-Amiss not much of it but kicked goals when required. Will kick 50 plus this year or next.
-Reidy gets the taps but no good around the ground imo.
-Darcy has a bit to do. Cumbersome for mine.
-Jackson could win a Brownlow. Played everywhere and kicked straight for goals when given the opportunity.
-JOM bit slow through traffic but good skills. Did run throughs on the boundary at the end.
- Voss didn’t get much of it but was physical throughout. Kicked a long goal late.
-Tabs just doesn’t lead properly never has. Was outbodied most game. Just not AFL standard anymore.
-Walters had a few moments, but was very vocal and showed leadership. Did curse a heap.
-Serong, AB, Fyfe and Young all fine i their roles.
-Johnson ok. Erasmus bit meh.
-B.D Cooper was electric. Just looks exciting when he has it and has pace.
-Conrad Williams has pace but gets caught all the time. Indecisive.
  • Brodie didn’t notice too much.
  • Banners and Hughes should only be in peel. Just have to move on from them.
-Freddy 1.4 ? Very inaccurate. Just a sloppy game imo.
-Noddy not up to it.
-Aish with the glove on. Few rushed kicks coming out. Rather him on the wing.
-Clark was good. Need more run and carry imo..like wags.
-Oscar Mac. Solid
-Pearce not vocal enough.
-Ryan the general..very vocal
That’s about it.

Absolutely loving the reports of Young and Serong scrapping with each other and fyfey and Andy having a tiff too. Finally a bit of hardness and aggression and accountability coming into this playing group.
Every good team always has a few flashpoints when training, it’s something that’s been sorely missed from this squad in recent years.

Game Style Write-Up

Full disclaimer - I missed the first and last 10 minutes of the game

The 1st two quarters had some fantastic footy. Ball movement was slick and aggressive, particularly the kicking. Couple of the goals and shots on goals I hope they show the full sequence when the highlights come out because it was great to watch. They struck a good balance between holding it up and moving it fast.

It wasnt perfect, handball chains where we fluff it on the forward 50 let us down a few times so we clearly still struggle to play the full Collingwood / Richmond style but there was maybe two times at most I can think of where I was frustrated at the time or option taken to move the ball. There was clearly a directive to look inside as much as possible (I know because Sonny was shouting it every single time) and there was very little bombs down the line.

3rd quarter then intent was there but patches of bottom 4 level skills hurt the viewing experience. 4th quarter I think it picked up a bit but the boys went into cruize mode a little and there was a bit more hero ball (taking shots they shouldnt be type of thing). Not that it was bad but it wasnt at the level of the 1st half as you'd expect.

Chat and voice was fantastic, tackling and defensive intent was fantastic, great final intraclub in prep for next week.

Only injury I believe was Murphy who hurt his ankle. Went down like he was shot but jogged off after a couple of minutes, possibly just precautionary in why he didnt get back on

What I saw 👀
- lots of ******* ants…I quickly realised I couldn’t lay down on the grass and relax!
  • Jacky boy Dealan has lots to learn and his teammates are letting him know. Just raw.
  • Sharp. Great athlete and has a long kick. Few fumbles and turnovers. Was told off by a few about his positioning and leading patters on the wing.
-Treacy looks very sure of himself and his position in the team. Kicked well and was the pick of the fwds for mine.
-Amiss not much of it but kicked goals when required. Will kick 50 plus this year or next.
-Jackson could win a Brownlow. Played everywhere and kicked straight for goals when given the opportunity.
-JOM bit slow through traffic but good skills. Did run throughs on the boundary at the end.
- Voss didn’t get much of it but was physical throughout. Kicked a long goal late.
-Tabs just doesn’t lead properly never has. Was outbodied most game. Just not AFL standard anymore.
-Walters had a few moments, but was very vocal and showed leadership. Did curse a heap.
-Noddy not up to it.
-Oscar Mac. Solid
That’s about it.
Who played wing aside from NOD and Sharp.

Stanley?

Did Johnson have a run at all in wing?

Sounds like NOD is off the pace a bit at the moment.

What I saw 👀
- lots of ******* ants…I quickly realised I couldn’t lay down on the grass and relax!
-Noddy not up to it.
-Oscar Mac. Solid
That’s about it.
Sturt and Emmett?

Who played wing aside from NOD and Sharp.

Stanley?

Did Johnson have a run at all in wing?

Sounds like NOD is off the pace a bit at the moment.
JOM a bit. Brady Grey a bit. Milky bar kid must’ve on the club rooms side. Saw a top up at one stage.

Sharp isn’t a 10/10 winger..hope we know that. Dropped a chest mark then miss kick just before 3qtr time. Was told off a few times with positioning. Will be b22 on the wing I’m sure, but won’t have Acres 2022 output..not yet anyway. More of an athlete before footballer, but still better skills than Noddy. Milky has a higher ceiling if he can get his endurance in order. Imo.

Sturt and Emmett?
Sturt a goal and a poster I think. He just didn’t get much of it. Saw him at the end sitting with the trainer on the southern end..seemed annoyed(maybe with his game?) maybe he was told to do run throughs with JOM and Walker..not sure. That’s when I was leaving. Trainer was all upbeat and Sturt seemed moppy.

Emmet is a bit of a physical specimen. Strong in the legs. His disposal let him down. Can’t say I noticed him too much.

JOM a bit. Brady Grey a bit. Milky bar kid must’ve on the club rooms side. Saw a top up at one stage.

Sharp isn’t a 10/10 winger..hope we know that. Dropped a chest mark then miss kick just before 3qtr time. Was told off a few times with positioning. Will be b22 on the wing I’m sure, but won’t have Acres 2022 output..not yet anyway. More of an athlete before footballer, but still better skills than Noddy. Milky has a higher ceiling if he can get his endurance in order. Imo.
Thanks

I’m a big fan of Stanley just not sure he is ready for regular AFL yet. Won’t be long. From what I’ve seen and read NOD and Stanley are more likely starters at Peel.

Thanks

I’m a big fan of Stanley just not sure he is ready for regular AFL yet. Won’t be long. From what I’ve seen and read NOD and Stanley are more likely starters at Peel.
Probably. Stanley does have a leg on him though. Took the risky kick inside a few times and it payed off. Sharp takes the conservative long ball down the boundary..the heat was on him just before 3qtr time and dropped a mark and kicked it over the backmans head trying to run down the clock. Was not an AFL passage of play

Thanks for all the reports! Great to hear Sonny is still a forward line general 😍.
From the watchers opinions, did any fringe players either cement or implode their chances at a round 1/b22 claim?

Thanks for all the reports! Great to hear Sonny is still a forward line general 😍.
From the watchers opinions, did any fringe players either cement or implode their chances at a round 1/b22 claim?
Tbh no.
Erasmus won’t be breaking into that midfield anytime soon with Fyfe up and running.

I guess O McDonald could be a new face come round 1 if Cox isn’t ready. Seems comfortable down there, good read of the ball and skills would be better than Hamiling/Pearce.

Reidy is a good tap ruckman but does questionable things around the ground. Was told off with positioning at times. Even though he’s a beanpole Knobel could be first in for the rucks..still reckon they prefer Treacy to do the backing if a Ruck goes down and play an extra fwd.

Can confirm Vossy loves the (Pavlich style) don’t argue. Doesn’t always come off but he knows he’s stronger than his opponents and backs himself fending off opponents. Think he’s better than Corbett.

Player Write-Up in order of Jumper Numbers
Sturt:
Seems to be building. Noticeably stronger in contests and took the right option every time he got the ball. A bit more of the ball would have been good but given the interrupted preseason, was a good hit out
JOM: Spent time onball, up front and on the wing I think. Had a great tackle on Fyfe to get holding the ball which was literally that handshake meme but otherwise pretty quiet. Fluffed a couple of uncontested disposals he shouldnt have. Clearly building from an interrupted preseason
Serong: Angry ant who was in everything as normal, very strong in the contest (unless it was Cooper Simpson). I will say he needs to tighten up his inside 50s as his one area of weakness. Hits probably 50% of them when I want it up at 75%
Darcy: I struggle to think of many ruck battles Knobel attended, I think they just blasted Darcy in there almost the full game to get some fitness underneath him. Dominated the hitouts and was his normal self on ground balls. 100% fit now I think
Clark: Only player I think might rival him for most improved this year is Johnson. Good rebound, some fantastic tackles and chases and a big reason along with some other purple defenders as to why they won.
Fyfe: Looking like a contested ball behemoth again. Missed a couple of fieldkicks I'd like to see him be hitting but JOM was the only one that could stop him getting the ball out. I'll be clear that he is not going to be prime Fyfe but he can play a fantastic role in that middle in getting the ball out from contest.
Brayshaw: Same as Serong, didnt necessarily stand out but was all over the ground, couple of good fend offs showed his strength. Fully fit and ready to go
Jackson: I dont know how Melbourne fluffed his forward craft but the guy just kinda kicks goals for fun every time I've watched him this year. Cheap goals out the back, contested marks, snaps from a handpass out of stoppage. He both quietly dominates and very obviously dominates at the same time haha. Laid some massive tackles to go with everything else as well. BOG
Walters: Didnt do too much so must have been well held by Aish but still agile as a cat and his voice and leadership is incredible. Never stops talking
Aish: Must have held Walters well because I didnt notice him much unless he had a skill error where he had a couple. Definitely playing down back this year
Davies: Tabs got on the end of a few in the end but I thought he was excellent. A large part of the reason purple won with some great contests. Good game from him
Ryan: Second best on ground behind Jackson for mine, stopped repelled a LOT of attacks and organised purples defence. Of the kick outs he took(they specifically took it off him on occasion), I dont think there was one long bomb down the ground.
Sharp: Runs and runs and runs and runs. Always provided an option and his skills were pretty good today though I imagine most of the time in game he will just be getting and kicking down the line to a contest. Will fill a role nicely
Hughes: Didnt do much off the top of my head, missed an easy disposal or two
Brodie: Trademark Brodie game, very clean at ground level with elite hands. Not so elite kicking. Not as good as last game but definitely not bad
Emmett: Another bad kick culprit but the trademark endeavour was there with a couple of brilliant tackles and rundowns (including on Williams who was flying). Same player I had him pegged at Peel as last year. Is an AFL player IF he keeps his disposal at the level it was in those last couple of games.
Tabs: Great battle with Davies as mentioned. Presented hard and took a couple of good grabs. Definitely very handy depth if he's playing at Peel
McDonald: Amiss kicked 4 but I honestly didnt notice him much, OMac did a pretty good job all things considered. Still would have ahead of Davies as next player in for Pearce or Cox
Knobel: Kicked two goals but they were meh goals (free kick and a 50m penalty). I dont know if every time he rucked I was on my phone but I dont think he got much of a run on ball.
Worner: Seems to have gain a metre of speed with some really good rebound. His kicks are hit and miss still, some bullets that are lace out, some shanks. Definitely taken a step forward on last year though
Amiss: Just goes about his business hitting others up lace out and sneaking 4 snags. Maybe I expect too much from him already haha
Pearce: Had some great contests with Treacy, particularly in the last. Looks confident in himself again, including his kicking
Young: Another that just kinda quietly goes about his business though was a large reason for some of the fantastic kicking chains in the first half. Is a great piece that rounds out that midfield as a defensive 1st receiver of that makes sense
Jones: Took a fantastic contested mark in the 50 I believe but other than that, has a LOT of building to do to get an AFL game. Will start in reserves I imagine.
Erasmus: Better skills I thought from Ras, particularly in close. He does get to like every single contest somehow, crazy work rate even though it would be good if he could find a 5th gear somehow. Had an awesome kick to Jye where he was tackled but kicked perfectly to his lead as he was falling over. If it was deliberate, it was brilliant. I think he's basically a Darcy Parish clone
Simpson: This kid must have production or tank issues because he was awesome whenever on or near the ball. He basically told Serong to **** off in a fight for the ball and stole it from him. Might force the coaches hand to play him, even his kicking was great today with a couple of bullets.
Noddy: Honestly not sure if he played the first half but he was onball the 2nd half and looked pretty good in there where you can tell it's his natural position even though He'll never get to sniff it.
Walker: Has lost none of the agility or speed and was great to see him back out there
Freddy: Quieter than the other games, missed a couple of shots on goal but looks fit and ready.
Murphy: Injured in the first, unsure how bad
Treacy: Hopefully ready to go to the next level, getting to more contests and his voice is just as loud as SonSon. I dont think he did anything spectacular but was a large reason purple won.
Draper: Basically discount Chapman. His kicking and decision making ranges from elite to "needs work" but he's so damn fast and agile for his height. I want him impacting more contests now that he is noticeably stronger
Delean: Gets to some good spots but size holding him back a bit at the moment, will be a development year but he knows where to be on the crumb
Banfield: Probably the best pressure player on the ground, will be fighting with Emmett for a spot round 1 I imagine.
Reidy: At times competed well with Darcy but didnt do much elsewise
Johnson: Somehow needs to be on ball as much as humanely possible, if you can actually catch him in the contest given the time and space he plays with, good luck getting it to stick. Honestly, there has to be a superstar in there somewhere if they can just develop him properly. Doesnt get as much of it as I'd like but there arent many who can do what he can. Maybe I just have a weakness for not valuing production as highly as I should but man is he a tease
Williams: Only played the 2nd half I believe, there is something there with his pace and disposal. I hope he gets another year but if he doesnt quite make it at AFL, will be an incredible WAFL player I'm sure
Stanley: Same as normal for Milky, very good ball in hand, needs to somehow find more of it. Keep building that tank and work rate
Voss: Treacy clone without the elite kicking, had some very angry tackles and can contribute outside kicking goals but possibly limited athletically. Better depth to have than Corbett IMO

Jack Anthony went from 50 goals to 5 possessions for Subi. Sometimes it clicks and then just disappears.
Brodie is definitely the superior to Noddy though. Thought Brodie was ave today though.
Brodie needed to stand out and put his hand up for that 4th mid spot. Can’t see him getting a game unless injuries come.
Jl prefers JOM then Johnson and Erasmus.

Henry went back to Peel and worked on his craft, Noddy can do the same.
Nothing will fix his ball drop under pressure and through traffic ( no idea how he got it done 2022)

Few helicopters today. Even Fyfe had a chuckle with him about it..or chuckling at him.

Speaking of Fyfe I thought he disposal was brilliant today. His vision through traffic was on point too. Well weighted handpasses etc..

Just on Barich, my old man worked with him when he got picked up by the Eagles. Said there was a lot of love for him, all of it from himself.

To be fair to him, when I used to go to training and he was there he was always up for a chat with anyone who wanted to speak to him. He seems like a decent bloke.

Nothing will fix his ball drop under pressure and through traffic ( no idea how he got it done 2022)

Few helicopters today. Even Fyfe had a chuckle with him about it..or chuckling at him.

Speaking of Fyfe I thought he disposal was brilliant today. His vision through traffic was on point too. Well weighted handpasses etc..
He has the resources of an AFL club behind him and time. If that's his biggest issue than simply get him a kicking coach and drill that every day until it becomes muscle memory.

Training Preseason 2024