Toast Presidency and The Board

Thank you 76woodenspooners

One of BigFooty’s all-time-favourite posters, Reykjavik , was all across the board level stuff. He once posted a list of the responsibilities of a Not-For-Profit board like that of Collingwood …

abcdef.....ijklmnop

NFP board responsibilities
Specific responsibilities of a not-for-profit (NFP) board include:

• Driving the strategic direction of the organisation
  • Working with the CEO to enable the organisation to obtain the resources, funds and personnel necessary to implement the organisation's strategic objectives
  • Implementing, maintaining and (as necessary) refining a system of good governance that is appropriate for the organisation
  • Reviewing reports and monitoring the performance of the organisation
  • Regularly reviewing the board's structure and composition, so that these are appropriate for the organisation
  • Appointing – and managing the performance of – a suitable CEO
  • Succession planning for the CEO
While the above points are also applicable to for-profit boards, NFP boards also face a unique range of issues, such as:

• Difficulties in defining and measuring organisational effectiveness
  • Transgression of role boundaries
  • The negative impact of the structural compositions of some NFP boards, including those arising from representative models
  • Funding dependencies and constraints

In practice, the role of the board is to supervise an organisation's business in two broad areas:

1. Overall business performance - ensuring the organisation develops and implements strategies and supporting policies to enable it to fulfill the objectives set out in the organisation's constitution. The board delegates the day to day management of the organisation but remains accountable to the shareholders for the organisation's performance. The board monitors and supports management in an on-going way.
  2. Overall compliance performance - ensuring the organisation develops and implements systems to enable it to comply with its legal and policy obligations (complying with statutes such as the Corporations Act 2001, adhering to accounting standards) and ensure the organisation's assets are protected through appropriate risk management.

http://www.companydirectors.com.au/...ctor/NFP-governance/The-role-of-the-NFP-board

Link to original post …

They should stay out of it.

Hell yeah!

Could you imagine the board of a corporation being meddled by a supplier? Airbus publicly declaring that it would be a bad idea for the Qantas shareholders to not support their current board? Would never happen.

Then we are farrrkkeed

I refuse to believe nobody out there won’t challenge and not care
That's what concerns me.

Browne and his allies are staying silent, and there's no other group publicly coming out showing interest or signalling an intention to run.

This is what stopped me from signing the petition. I admire David's work and to put himself out there, it takes courage.

The sound the same as Dictator Eddie

Cos they all network at the same clubs, social gathers etc and develop group think. Its why our board is stacked with like minded people. Have you seen how these folk operate? If they do not agree with you, they exclude you, censor you and in extreme cases, cancel you.

A good board has diverse opinion, different skill sets and open minds. Based on what I have seen our board is like the Borg.

White anting idiot? I know him, he is a ripper bloke and lives for the Pies. He hates doing it but he like many has had enough, the difference is he has the balls to put his neck on the line whilst you just chip away on an internet forum. What a hero you are.

Yes, but to what end? What is the intent of an EGM if he gets the signatures? Is he aligned to a rival ticket and doing someone else’s bidding? Is there even a rival ticket? Nothing but media speculation so far and surely if there is a genuine challenge by a new ticket, they would come out of the shadows and organise it themselves as opposed to riding off some random member? What if there’s no challenge, what then? A mid-season members forum where those so inclined can shake their fists at the club hierarchy and board?

It is not appropriate to be agitating in the middle of a season just to have a “voice” and vent your spleen. It is only adding to the noise and fuels the pile on. It’s a fair call to categorise it as white anting - I’m sure this chap may feel strongly and has the right intentions but it is misguided. Just save it for August. Doesn’t help perceptions that the media has latched onto his cause - what were cameras doing outside the club when he went and had his meeting with Korda? How did they know he was going in at that time, who tipped them off?

Hell yeah!

Could you imagine the board of a corporation being meddled by a supplier? Airbus publicly declaring that it would be a bad idea for the Qantas shareholders to not support their current board? Would never happen.

It does in a way. Many corporations are targeted today over ethical issues from major share holders and special interest groups. BHP plans to spin off coal, Woolies is spinning of its pubs (pokies). But they are profit driven organisations, Pies are not and all we should care about is winning flags.

Yes, but to what end? What is the intent of an EGM if he gets the signatures? Is he aligned to a rival ticket and doing someone else’s bidding? Is there even a rival ticket? Nothing but media speculation so far and surely if there is a genuine challenge by a new ticket, they would come out of the shadows and organise it themselves as opposed to riding off some random member? What if there’s no challenge, what then? A mid-season members forum where those so inclined can shake their fists at the club hierarchy and board?

It is not appropriate to be agitating in the middle of a season just to have a “voice” and vent your spleen. It is only adding to the noise and fuels the pile on. It’s a fair call to categorise it as white anting - I’m sure this chap may feel strongly and has the right intentions but it is misguided. Just save it for August. Doesn’t help perceptions that the media has latched onto his cause - what were cameras doing outside the club when he went and had his meeting with Korda? How did they know he was going in at that time, who tipped them off?

In your opinion. What makes you right? You sound like McGuire, you know what is best and no one else can have a say. Sheer arrogance.

Someone at the club would have tipped them off, just like someone leaked the racism report. Hats is staying very quiet, unlike the board and club employees with agendas, he don't have one and don't play politics. Hell, he doesn't tell me anything that is going on and I've know him a long time and been on many footy trips etc with you. Believe me he would much rather be drinking his bourbons and catching up with mates than doing this.

And no one is behind him, he simply wants the members to have a say.

EGMs cost time and money.

Would it cost any more than a couple of our senior players misusing their mobile phones?

Never understood this argument.

Doing this has to be worth the effort, or it will be for nothing.

IMO it’ll be worth it whatever happens.

Maybe the current board will present their vision for the future?

Or maybe Mark Korda will pledge to ensure that as President, he will ensure that our taxes and insurance premiums are always paid up-to-date?

White anting idiot? I know him, he is a ripper bloke and lives for the Pies. He hates doing it but he like many has had enough, the difference is he has the balls to put his neck on the line whilst you just chip away on an internet forum. What a hero you are.
Excuse me, but you don't know me, so don't assume.

I don't believe that organising a few signatures is a huge time commitment and it was one I was prepared to do at my workplace in a role where I had the appropriate skills to not just gain the signatures, but importantly act on them. Fortunately it didn't quite get to that stage, but it was discussed. The number of signatures required was similar if not larger. Obviously putting your neck out with an employer carries potential personal financial risk too.

Being prepared to sit on a board however is a considerable time investment and I believe any action of spilling a board should be accompanied by a viable alternative and plan. Given I lack the time and more importantly the necessary skills and attributes to sit on any board let alone an organisation the size of Collingwood I would only be wasting the club's resources (time, money, etc).

Had this action been accompanied by a viable alternative and plan my thoughts maybe different, but this seems to be more based in hope as opposed to proper consideration of what actually happens next.

Why wouldn't you want Club President position at Collingwood. Significant media exposure, networking opportunities and if you actually barrack for the pies, a great personal achievement. Just look at Eddie! Once the EGM is called there will be challengers - it is Collingwood after all.

I actually agree with you especially since there doesn't appear to be another ticket running (despite the Browne media speculations).

Don't think we need this in the middle of the season when the end for us is sooner than later.

I think Eddie and the board have made a huge error with all the Board appointments (not saying they have been good or bad as don't know enough about them), but it seems that during Eddie's reign, club members have had little input and can understand they feel aggrieved.

I am not a member so don't have a vote but I just can't see a winner in any of this and the timing.

Excuse me, but you don't know me, so don't assume.

I don't believe that organising a few signatures is a huge time commitment and it was one I was prepared to do at my workplace in a role where I had the appropriate skills to not just gain the signatures, but importantly act on them. Fortunately it didn't quite get to that stage, but it was discussed. The number of signatures required was similar if not larger. Obviously putting your neck out with an employer carries potential personal financial risk too.

Being prepared to sit on a board however is a considerable time investment and I believe any action of spilling a board should be accompanied by a viable alternative and plan. Given I lack the time and more importantly the necessary skills and attributes to sit on any board let alone an organisation the size of Collingwood I would only be wasting the club's resources (time, money, etc).

Had this action been accompanied by a viable alternative and plan my thoughts maybe different, but this seems to be more based in hope as opposed to proper consideration of what actually happens next.

Sometimes you just have to take a risk and see what happens. We cannot go on like this. I was actually pro giving Korda some time but that board appointment lost me completely. They did not even know the club constitution, chose someone who does not even support us and it was well known members were sick of being exluded from the process by the use of casual vacancy but Korda not only went ahead, he then ballsed it up.

Out of chaos comes opportunity.

Not sure this has been posted.

One of our major sponsors making it clear that they don't like the idea of an EGM.

We make up our own minds, of course, but the article is a perspective on the different pressures involved.

They may not prefer an EGM but I’m sure they wouldn’t be happy with the lack of supporters at today’s game either. Further inaction won’t help in attracting sponsors.

The club will audit those signatures closely to ensure that everyone is an eligible member. I suspect some won't be, but if this white-anting idiot has double the number required it's unlikely to drop below the threshold.

That list is going to be a dog's breakfast.

So many people voted who aren't even members, or not members who have voting rights. When delivered, the club will cut a swathe through it and challenge it.

Why wouldn't you want Club President position at Collingwood.

Universal hatred. Being damned whatever you do. Media out to give you a public flogging. Being blasted by a membership who has an opinion about everything from who the senior coach is, to whether Darcy Moore should play in forward or defence, and they want you to fix it. Dealing with organisational politics. Having to grease up to dickheads because they represent sponsors.

Don’t think for a moment that it’d be rainbows and lolipops

Sometimes you just have to take a risk and see what happens. We cannot go on like this. I was actually pro giving Korda some time but that board appointment lost me completely. They did not even know the club constitution, chose someone who does not even support us and it was well known members were sick of being exluded from the process by the use of casual vacancy but Korda not only went ahead, he then ballsed it up.

What is the detriment of waiting 3-6 months for an alternative president / board to emerge or at latest the annual general meeting? Outside of a decision on the coach, which I believe should be driven by the football department anyway, I can’t see any reason why this can’t wait.

Cos they all network at the same clubs, social gathers etc and develop group think. Its why our board is stacked with like minded people. Have you seen how these folk operate? If they do not agree with you, they exclude you, censor you and in extreme cases, cancel you.

A good board has diverse opinion, different skill sets and open minds. Based on what I have seen our board is like the Borg.

which AFL Clubs’ boards have ALL these characteristics that you speak of?

We're pretty closely aligned on this. I was willing to give Korda a chance as well, but the inability to follow the provisions in the Constitution was a big alarm bell for me.

Where we differ is whether signing a petition in the HOPE it may lead to something positive will occur. It will be a significant failure if no one challenges the current board and they remain in place unopposed.

Browne needs to come out one way or another and declare his interest to run and present his platform, or quell the rumours about him running and deny he's doing such a thing. Media speculation about it for more than a month isn't helping anyone.

If an EGM does occur, I will be there hands down.

That list is going to be a dog's breakfast.

So many people voted who aren't even members, or not members who have voting rights. When delivered, the club will cut a swathe through it and challenge it.

Nah, they were parked outside the Ponsford stand where the Lengends / Club 5 members sit. Surely they would have been smart enough to note down membership number, and most folks would need to get their card out to check that.

What is the detriment of waiting 3-6 months for an alternative president / board to emerge or at latest the annual general meeting? Outside of a decision on the coach, which I believe should be driven by the football department anyway, I can’t see any reason why this can’t wait.
Playing devils advocate, can we afford to wait 3-6 months when the decision about the coach has to be made and preparations for 2022 have to be well underway?

This is what stopped me from signing the petition. I admire David's work and to put himself out there, it takes courage.
The issue is for mine that we seem to have a messiah complex at the Pies. We need a big President campaign, a hero ex player as coach, or a Matthews / Malthouse coach.

What we actuality need right now are some good people in the right positions. What we are currently set up with though is getting people in who can be quiet, maintain the comfy status quo and vote in favour of the leader (or as McGuire bragged "we haven't had a vote at Collingwood ").

Holgate got her 'Cartier Watch' selection in 'Chairman's Club' Wilson and Dr O'Donnell was clearly earmarked for a future spot over a year out.

Those who were interviewed but overlooked include Dan Rosen and Con Frantzeskos. Gun businessmen, genuine Pies supporters and advocates for change and improvement. But both overlooked for two non-disruptive types.

So herein lies the problem; we can't get any meaningful change in the insular McGuire designed oligarchy. Not even just a little bit! It's all modelled arround self preservation and not evolution.

You don't need a 'messiah ticket' to sign. David (aka The Collingwood Turtle) is simply trying to reverse this current problem. Good candidates will present themselves and then maybe this time we can pick the better ones!

Nah, they were parked outside the Ponsford stand where the Lengends / Club 5 members sit. Surely they would have been smart enough to note down membership number, and most folks would need to get their card out to check that.
Card doesn't say if you have voting rights. Plus most people wouldn't have had their cards on them. The club will reject the petition as not having enough valid signatures.

The issue is for mine that we seem to have a messiah complex at the Pies. We need a big President campaign, a hero ex player as coach, or a Matthews / Malthouse coach.

What we actuality need right now are some good people in the right positions. What we are currently set up with though is getting people in who can be quiet, maintain the comfy status quo and vote in favour of the leader (or as McGuire bragged "we haven't had a vote at Collingwood ").

Holgate got her 'Cartier Watch' selection in 'Chairman's Club' Wilson and Dr O'Donnell was clearly earmarked for a future spot over a year out.

Those who were interviewed but overlooked include Dan Rosen and Con Frantzeskos. Gun businessmen, genuine Pies supporters and advocates for change and improvement. But both overlooked for two non-disruptive types.

So herein lies the problem; we can't get any meaningful change in the insular McGuire designed oligarchy. Not even just a little bit! It's all modelled arround self preservation and not evolution.

You don't need a 'messiah ticket' to sign. David (aka The Collingwood Turtle) is simply trying to reverse this current problem. Good candidates will present themselves and then maybe this time we can air the best ones!
Dan Rosen does not have the time to do it.

Playing devils advocate, can we afford to wait 3-6 months when the decision about the coach has to be made and preparations for 2022 have to be well underway?
A lot of fans complained about the McGuire board getting too involved in football decisions. Are fans now wanting a spill, so that their preferred board can get involved in football decisions???

Toast Presidency and The Board