QAFL 2017

Left early to get back home to watch the AFL, but really a disappointing GF. Palmy all over Labrador from the opening bounce. The deeper midfield dominated and they were able to hit targets and apply greater pressure all day. In truth a 4 goal - nil first 1/4 into the wind had the game just about done at 1/4 time.

Pretty good crowd when you include those in the clubhouse. Estimated 3000 about 1000 more than the typical yeronga crowd. A much better venue than yeronga, more parking, more elevated viewing areas, food vans etc. a well organised day.

Southport is a NEAFL venue so you’d hope so

Great prediction Ablett you ****wit still a clown with no football knowledge palmy way to clean and slick for a big slow labrador side
I'm actullay glad Derricks is cleared to play, he'll now get to experience playing in another losing Grand Final so my tip is obviously Labrador.

Hall to run a muck n kick 6.[/QUO

Agree with 2010 Premiers comments ,,, a good crowd of some 3000 ,, a hot sunny day with very windy conditions ...
Palm Beach certainly have a game plan that defeats the Labrador side .... dominant midfield, far to quick all over the ground , great defence and more skilfull with there delivery ..

Credit where credit is due and congrats to Palm Beach deserving the Premiers title.

PB controlled most of the game, Labrador had some mini charges in the second half but couldn't get with in 4 goals and really threaten a victory.
PB matched them in physicality , ran & moved the ball better from their back half & more efficient delivery into forward 50m arc where as Labrador continued to bomb it to Hall who struggled over head & was well nullified by his opponent.
Tall skinny 68 was good in the air for PB, plays like a right footed Hipwood.
11 for PB is a jet & could easily get a gig for Southport.

No surprise the two teams that spent the most $$$$ on players made the Granny.

Coaches can be overrated when buying recruits can fill their deficiencies but success soon disappears when/if the money runs out.

Labrador need to install some pace n youth if they want to challenge it again next year, some of they're older stewards that have served them well in the past couldn't handle the tempo of grand final footy.

Any rumoured coaching movements ?
Sandgate have advertised.

Credit where credit is due and congrats to Palm Beach deserving the Premiers title.

PB controlled most of the game, Labrador had some mini charges in the second half but couldn't get with in 4 goals and really threaten a victory.
PB matched them in physicality , ran & moved the ball better from their back half & more efficient delivery into forward 50m arc where as Labrador continued to bomb it to Hall who struggled over head & was well nullified by his opponent.
Tall skinny 68 was good in the air for PB, plays like a right footed Hipwood.
11 for PB is a jet & could easily get a gig for Southport.

No surprise the two teams that spent the most $$$$ on players made the Granny.

Coaches can be overrated when buying recruits can fill their deficiencies but success soon disappears when/if the money runs out.

Labrador need to install some pace n youth if they want to challenge it again next year, some of they're older stewards that have served them well in the past couldn't handle the tempo of grand final footy.

Any rumoured coaching movements ?
Sandgate have advertised.
ablett your posts all year have been rubbish and your grand final prediction was another example. In my opinion you know nothing about football and need to give it away

That's a bit harsh fleet footed , just enjoy the win. The bookies and 1/2 the QAFL coaches predicted a Labrador win. They had won 26 of their previous 27 or something so understandable to predict them. That's what is great about our game, difficult to know what's going to happen. Hope you got on the 3.30 ladbrokes we're offering if you were so confident of a lions win.

Actually a neutral supporter of footy. Didn't enjoy his negativity and "facts"

Got to give credit to PBC coach , Chad Owens and his coaching team ,,, got the gameplan blueprint right on how to beat Labrador ... and did it in both finals games they played .

Would have been a more interesting GF if Broady had beaten Labrador last week.

Labrador just don't have the pace to go with PBC, just bomb it long and hope a big bloke marks it. Shattock found out big time, just like he was when he left the Lions 15 years ago!

I actually think Broady probably would have beaten PBC, but its just chip wrappers now. Owens was the real winner, Broady had the side to do exactly what PBC did to Labrador - but they didn't have the coach to teach it.

Labrador just don't have the pace to go with PBC, just bomb it long and hope a big bloke marks it. Shattock found out big time, just like he was when he left the Lions 15 years ago!

I actually think Broady probably would have beaten PBC, but its just chip wrappers now. Owens was the real winner, Broady had the side to do exactly what PBC did to Labrador - but they didn't have the coach to teach it.

Interesting thoughts. No doubt the cats went closer to beating premiers PBC in the finals than what Labrador did, and agree that Owens did a great job. No doubt in my mind that he won the battle in the coaches boxes on GF day, but ultimately PBC had too much midfield class, and that would have come through regardless of coaching.

Unfortunately due to a poor month mid-season, broady had "finals like" games in the lead up to the actual finals, firstly to make it and then to get top 3. Couple this with a shocking injury list and it was no surprise to me that the Tiges got us comfortably in the prelim. A few of our boys were cooked, 10 teenagers in a finals game is just too many.

I'll discipline, some bad luck and superior finishing won PBC the qualifying final in week 1 of the finals (the best football match of the season) and I suspect if we held on there an appearance in the GF may have followed, although again Palmys midfield I think would have won the day anyway.

But that's footy and I don't blame the coach for any of this, I reckon he did a great job.

As a Currumbin local I cannot tell you how disgusted and embarrassed I am over what our local men did on Saturday evening.
I hope the repercussions are severe and it hits the players and management where it hurts the most, in their own hip pocket.
I also hope they man up and make some sort of public apology to the cricket club and Gold Coast Rate payers.

Totally soured the win. Was so thrilled we won, now I'm ashamed and wish Labrador got up.

It's always Interesting when people say they would have won if they made it. That's an answer no one will know as they didn't make it. THere's way too much talk about the coaches from the weekend. Don't you think the players are more responsible for the results on game day?

they weren't drving, they were just watching!

Hahahahaha don't know about your eyes but I can see a bloke with a maroon hoody in the car and others standing around it. If that's not enough to say someone from palmy was driving then they clearly are condoning the pudrid behaviour.

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1506386531715.jpg
    FB_IMG_1506386531715.jpg
    20.2 KB · Views: 46
I was joking mate.

That was the pathetic defence that came from the club president. Suggesting that if they weren't driving, they won't take action!

I was joking mate.

That was the pathetic defence that came from the club president. Suggesting that if they weren't driving, they won't take action!

That’s like saying I paid the bloke to do the shooting but I didn’t pull the trigger so I’m not guilty.
Weak as pi55 from a president

So PBC football club have admitted their players were the ones ..... and will pay for the repair cost. .. Reports are 60k and that estimate may be over the top,, even it was 30k ,, I ask , just how deep is the piggy bank at the PBC football club.. ( Not to mention the cost they incurred to bring in bringing a high profile lawyer from Melbourne to contest the Derrick scenario. )

The 60k was the cost to excavate and install the new block. The pitch isn't ruined but have been told the repair cost will be a couple of grand.

Shithouse by the players I'm sure it wasn't all of them but they will have to cop it together now. Not a great look for the club after such a wonderful day for them on Saturday

I was joking mate.

Haha too easy. Bit hard to read sarcasm.

Don't know if true but heard the cricket club have filed an official compliant with qld police.

Interesting what will come of it if so.

The 60k was the cost to excavate and install the new block. The pitch isn't ruined but have been told the repair cost will be a couple of grand.

Shithouse by the players I'm sure it wasn't all of them but they will have to cop it together now. Not a great look for the club after such a wonderful day for them on Saturday

Some poor reporting by the GC Bulletin saying 60k worth of damage, should cost 5k-10k to fix, and I noticed the president said they'll pay as they should. Obviously no cricket there next week and probably for a couple of months, so understand the cricketers being pissed, but that's between them. Personally not sure whether police involvement is the best way forward.

Instead, the club should hold the players to account, with financial, community service and maybe even match suspension penalties. I hope they see this as a wake up call and insist on improved behaviour as the incident was no surprise to me given recent history. I was disappointed in the vitriol on social media re: the derrick saga and with a racial incident that was not addressed by PBC hierarchy.

Labrador's handling of a similar racial incident by both senior players and their club was commendable.

Having said all that PBC have recruited and developed well, are well coached and deserved their premier status.

QAFL 2017