QAFL 2018

Yes commentary has been biased and shocking all season. That loud mouth commentator has no idea and is always calling the wrong names etc.

Your right does reflect the standard of the league ha ha
Its pretty simple really mate if you dont like the standard of the comp and want to continue to put it down why keep watching it and posting about it? Nothing better to do with your life? Obviously you played a really high standard?

The free kick count may have been lopsided but the majority of them were there. I thought the umpires were quite good. But then again I am a palmy man

Also first quarter goals
- 2.05. John Anthony mark and goal
- 11:29. Yak Douglas mark and goal
- 25.40 Tom Thynne Mark and goal
- 29.20 Caleb graham Mark and goal

No goals from free kicks. If you can’t admit palmy were the better side blaming umps doesn’t really cut it.

In saying that don’t think they have ever been consistent in this league

Dezario,
must admit the lopsided free kick total happened in a fair manner be it no favourtism to PBC.
Cleary PBC were the better side and well done to win 2 in a row ... and a great year for my Cats as well !!!

Yes PBC was the better side for season. The cats are building though...

I think the umpiring was inconsistent Saturday. Something that needs to be looked at.

Im surprised by the lack of talk on here about the QAFL grand final. I thought it was a good game of footy which showed some promising young players on both teams. Anthony obviously far too good for any of their defenders and Douglas was crucial in that forward line.

Anyone else got thoughts on the game?

Any recruits for clubs next year?

Im surprised by the lack of talk on here about the QAFL grand final. I thought it was a good game of footy which showed some promising young players on both teams. Anthony obviously far too good for any of their defenders and Douglas was crucial in that forward line.

Anyone else got thoughts on the game?

Any recruits for clubs next year?

I doubt any clubs are looking to recruit next year.
The new salary cap at 65k pretty much squashed that. And if that wasn’t enough the new points system makes it mission impossible.

I doubt any clubs are looking to recruit next year.
The new salary cap at 65k pretty much squashed that. And if that wasn’t enough the new points system makes it mission impossible.

Head office have probably recruited more staff to make sure the competition is equalized.
No room for dominant clubs (except one).
All heil Yeronga.....

I don’t know much about the new points system. Can anyone shed some light?

Personally i reckon it’s probably the equalisation method most likely to work as how is a salary cap policed at our level?

Erickson added Cats BnF to his Grogan last night predictably after a great season.

Any other Clubs had theirs?

I agree 2010. Nothing wrong with bringing in some evening up processes, if it means the same 2-3 teams aren’t sitting on the top of the ladder for the next 10 years. I know it doesn’t sit well with people but it does get boring having a competition ruled by $$.

Tbh really means footy clubs just have to work smarter.

Top 5/Premiers/R-Up/Spoom

2014:

Morningside (Premiers)
PBC
Labrador (R/Up)
Broady
Mt Gravatt

Spoon: Sandgate

2015:

Labrador (Premiers)
Magpies
Grange
Morningside (R/Up)
Broadbeach

2016:

Labrador (Premiers)
PBC (R/Up)
Magpies
Mt Gravatt
Surfers

Spoon: UQ

2017:

Labrador (R/Up)
PBC (Premiers)
Broady
Morningside
Mt Gravatt

2018:

PBC (Premiers)
Broady (R/Up)
Morningside
Surfers
Mt Gravatt

5 completed seasons:

3 different Premiers
4 grand finalists
6 teams have been to a Prelim final

Everyone has played finals other than Sandgate (and UQ), and everyone has missed finals at least once.

With 6 different clubs having advanced to a Prelim final at least, everyone having missed finals in just 5 seasons is the competition as uneven as everyone keeps suggesting??

I'd suggest on field performance is reasonably equal apart from one club, but what clubs are able to do financially due to issues out of the control of AFLQ is what creates some measure of inequality if not addressed soon, will see the above numbers start to narrow.

Finding ways to address the structural inequalities when it comes to where clubs are at Day 1 in terms of budgets is the most important step going forward. Given its out of the control of AFLQ, its a tough nut to crack.

It’s all well and good having a cap. But that doesn’t make the bottom teams richer.
Just means top team have to come down to their level.
Which is all well and good if you can recruit blokes for different reasons other then dollars.

For me it’s the points system that will make it worse for the league as a whole.

Let’s say Sandgate need a few handy players

Say 2 vfl players 3-4 neafl players. Well there goes all their points.
Last I heard it was a cap of 36 points.

So how can Sandgate actually recruit and fit decent players in the points cap???
If we are talking equalisation.

I have no idea what it was this year, possibly 40 or 45?

It's 51 points in 2019, but the player points and how they're calculated has been adjusted.

eg. AFL players is a 7 pointer, VFL/WAFL/SANFL are 6 and NEAFL is 5.

There are various ways to earn deductions etc, but the above are the keys I guess.

Beams to the Magpies! what a pick up!
Yes that is big news for the comp. So that will be 14 of their 51 points? How much of the $65,000 cap will that take up? please dont roll out the line that we helped them with off field. Either way its great for the comp and probably not the equalization the league had in mind?

Beams to the Magpies! what a pick up!

Great pick up and exactly what should happen in a state league, ex afl players returning to local clubs after their afl careers. It is a pity they are penalized so hard. Even neafl players being 6 points, where are they expected to play when they want to step back from neafl, division 9??
It looks as though the want for a strong competition is a distant second to close games every week.

Never know what to believe with these things, but if you look at the AFLQ announcement - it might be as simple as the Magpies being the closest footy club to where they live. (Harwood and Beams)

Obviously not playing for peanuts, but that would put you in a good negotiating position if a guy just wants to have a kick at local level.

Yes that is big news for the comp. So that will be 14 of their 51 points? How much of the $65,000 cap will that take up? please dont roll out the line that we helped them with off field. Either way its great for the comp and probably not the equalization the league had in mind?

More than comfortable that we will be well under the cap and well inside the points system, despite having 2 x 7 pointers on the list.

With a list largely made up of 1 and 2 pointers, there is plenty of room.

If you don't want people to 'roll out the line' about helping players off the field, then don't ask. I know if I'm a 25 year old, I'm more interested in career assistance than I am an extra few hundred dollars a game. Not just token assistance, actual real assistance.

Well aware that other clubs have offered many many multiples of what we offer these players financially (no idea how it would fit in the cap if they actually signed on...?) but they choose to come here. It also helps out of pure luck that we're the closest footy club to where they live.

As I said, with so many 1 or 2 pointers and the constant drain of talent to the NEAFL or down south from our junior base - topping up with recruits is required to stay competitive.

GIt is a pity they are penalized so hard. Even neafl players being 6 points, where are they expected to play when they want to step back from neafl, division 9??

Plenty of speculation on the system going on.

DOn't have an issue at all with a recently retired/delisted AFL player being worth 7 points.

NEAFL players are not 6 points, they are 5 points and there are discounts available if they have been aligned to you, or went to the NEAFL from your club and are coming back. Which is good common sense.

Also remember that in any given week, some clubs will have 2 or 3 NEAFL listed players playing for them and they are only assigned 1 point.

QAFL 2018