QAFL 2022

Watched Broadbesch put on a clinic today against Surfers ,,Just dominated from the start in all aspects .
Moncrieff had one of those days where nothing could go wrong and bagged 10 majors.
All over a great team performance

if clubs have the money to spend they are all going over the salary cap all over the nation, there's no way to police a paper bag under the table, only reason qafl cap is lower is because not all clubs can get the sponsorship deals clubs can get down south due to there just not being as much interest in afl up here.
I hear excuses instead of solutions , I hope you don’t look after any Clubs finances.

Andy it’s been a long time since Morningside has been beaten like they have this year on the scoreboard.
what’s going on at the panthers.

I also see no one talking about Beamer now he is winning. The bloke has worked hard to get Grange winning and we only seem to like talking negative on here about some people.

Obviously Morningside in similar position to few other clubs where they have very young list and will cop some ordinary results.

Started very ordinary yesterday and were 7 goals down fairly early similar to Sharks game.

Probably didn’t land the recruits like other clubs and lost a lot of players in both seniors and Ressies for various reasons.

Andy it’s been a long time since Morningside has been beaten like they have this year on the scoreboard.
what’s going on at the panthers.

I also see no one talking about Beamer now he is winning. The bloke has worked hard to get Grange winning and we only seem to like talking negative on here about some people.
Knowing Panthers have lost a lot of players, nothing is going on that wasnt obvious going into the season. There is a big gap between the top 4 or 5 teams and the rest. I see that as healthy as it will drag the quality of the competition up.

In their first 4 games Siders played Aspley and Redlands, (two of the comps front runners) and competed with the well recruited Grange side. Siders were just pipped by PBC.

This week Panthers have Broady ...and Labrador after that, so its not going to get any better for a couple of weeks.

The draw looks a bit more competitive for siders after the Labrador game with Sherwood, Mt Gravatt, Surfers and PBC the next in their draw. One imagines there will be a bit of motivation to get some points in that block of games.

One thing about Morningside is that they have had sustained success over a very long period. That comes off the back of club being financially sound .

Will be interesting to see how some clubs end up in next short period financially chasing that success if they don’t achieve it.

Morningside have over 1100 juniors/youth so they will always have good kids coming through that’s just the facts. But with that you need some level of experience and this year unfortunately it’s not there.

I’m sure it will only be a short term problem and they will bounce back in coming years.

One thing about Morningside is that they have had sustained success over a very long period. That comes off the back of club being financially sound .

Will be interesting to see how some clubs end up in next short period financially chasing that success if they don’t achieve it.

Morningside have over 1100 juniors/youth so they will always have good kids coming through that’s just the facts. But with that you need some level of experience and this year unfortunately it’s not there.

I’m sure it will only be a short term problem and they will bounce back in coming years.

Morningside struggling for a season is a different optic to perhaps Vultures or Surfers struggling. Morningside is a 'desirable destination' blue ribbon club and will attract players next year BECAUSE they have had an average year. Its a high return opportunity.

Some of the quality Aspley reserves should take note THIS YEAR! Its just a short drive down the road for a potential seniors opportunity at Morningside.. (im not a Morningside club member)

i dont thankfully but i stand by my comment there isn't enough supporters and therefore enough sponsors at a fair few of these clubs to increase the salary cap
Looking at the other state leagues, we have too many teams. Makes no sense us have a 12 side competition if the quality/strength of the competition is perhaps the main goal. The inclusion of Redlands, Maroochy and Noosa was the right idea, but there has to be some attrition as a result. QAFL needs to shed 2 clubs.

Safe?

Labrador
Broadbeach
Sherwood (Strategic Western corridor)
Morningside (Central)
Aspley (Nth Brisbane)
Maroochy (Most Northerly)
PBC (Most southerly)
Redlands (South East Bris)

TIPPING ;
What a tight contest here ..
Noosa boy picks the card and goes 1 ahead of the pack
21; NOOSA BOY
20; THUNDERDOC
19; MUDSTICKS, SMY, BUD, JUDGE, BIG E , GOALKICKER
18 ; BENCHWARMER, CLUELESS, DUSTY, FOOTY, DE ZARIO, STUY D
17; MAGPIE ,
15;
Looking at the other state leagues, we have too many teams. Makes no sense us have a 12 side competition if the quality/strength of the competition is perhaps the main goal. The inclusion of Redlands, Maroochy and Noosa was the right idea, but there has to be some attrition as a result. QAFL needs to shed 2 clubs.

Safe?

Labrador
Broadbeach
Sherwood (Strategic Western corridor)
Morningside (Central)
Aspley (Nth Brisbane)
Maroochy (Most Northerly)
PBC (Most southerly)
Redlands (South East Bris)

What you meant was

Labrador - got money & Sports club
Broadbeach - got money & Sports club
Sherwood (Strategic Western corridor) - No other club near them so they are good to stay
Morningside (Central) - been good for a long time so they should stay
Aspley (Nth Brisbane) - got money & Sports club
Maroochy (Most Northerly) - came in before Noosa so they should stay
PBC (Most southerly) - been good for a long time so they should stay, even if they are struggling for cash these days
Redlands (South East Bris) - got money & Sports club

I tell you what we should have in the QAFL and all the Divisions is relegation and then all clubs would need to have long term plans in place, so to stop teams spending up big and going bust a few years later.

TIPPING ;
What a tight contest here ..
Noosa boy picks the card and goes 1 ahead of the pack
21; NOOSA BOY
20; THUNDERDOC
19; MUDSTICKS, SMY, BUD, JUDGE, BIG E , GOALKICKER
18 ; BENCHWARMER, CLUELESS, DUSTY, FOOTY, DE ZARIO, STUY D
17; MAGPIE ,
15;
Seriously! You CANCELLED me?! :laughv1:

I tell you what we should have in the QAFL and all the Divisions is relegation and then all clubs would need to have long term plans in place, so to stop teams spending up big and going bust a few years later.
You dont have to cancel me if you are of a different opinion. lol How many VFL, SANFL, WAFL clubs would be broke and expect to stay in their League? QAFL is a bit different as it isnt the biggest code in the state and growth strategy must be of consideration. Hence Sherwood being an important part of QAFLs future. If you feel different about PBC, fine. But IMO for the good of the League, 2 clubs have to go and i dont expect they are going to like it. Perhaps a relegation system with Div1 may provide an answer?

What you meant was

Labrador - got money & Sports club
Broadbeach - got money & Sports club
Sherwood (Strategic Western corridor) - No other club near them so they are good to stay
Morningside (Central) - been good for a long time so they should stay
Aspley (Nth Brisbane) - got money & Sports club
Maroochy (Most Northerly) - came in before Noosa so they should stay
PBC (Most southerly) - been good for a long time so they should stay, even if they are struggling for cash these days
Redlands (South East Bris) - got money & Sports club

100% agree GK11 - nothing wrong at all with promotion / relegation. It might be a state league and this is not common practise but in reality it is just a very good local competition. I think a 10 team comp is fine though.

Seriously! You CANCELLED me?! :laughv1:

You dont have to cancel me if you are of a different opinion. lol How many VFL, SANFL, WAFL clubs would be broke and expect to stay in their League? QAFL is a bit different as it isnt the biggest code in the state and growth strategy must be of consideration. Hence Sherwood being an important part of QAFLs future. If you feel different about PBC, fine. But IMO for the good of the League, 2 clubs have to go and i dont expect they are going to like it. Perhaps a relegation system with Div1 may provide an answer?
Firstly - we are not a state league like the WAFL or SANFL. The VFL offering of Southport and AFL reserves is the State League equivalent.
We have had a constantly changing footy landscape over the past 15 years and hopefully we get to settle into this latest offering.
Its a quality competition that is more akin to the pre NEAFL days.
The regions are well represented and its a positive we are attracting plenty of ex AFL and State league players. VFL players have left in droves over the past 2 years in Victoria due to the Mickey Mouse AFL reserves set up. The VFL has been diluted and certain suburban comps in Melbourne have never been stronger as a result. The QAFL indirectly benefits as well.

Gap is wider in the QAFL between the haves and have nots which has always been the case. Takes a lot to develop a club without the resources to recruit for the short term. This burden maybe will be too much for some clubs going forward.
I actually like the idea of promotion/relegation such as they do in the Amateur comps in the southern states. Works well. Gives clubs time to develop and stabilise in a lower division and build towards creating another opportunity to move back up. Adds a bit of intrigue to the lower end of the ladder in the back half as well.
But your club either way, has to stand for something a bit more than just wins. Morningside is a great example, have a year to rebuild and develop for the longer term - try and win as much as you can in-between.

Play out of your skin through a finals series and get promoted without everything else in place and it is a recipe for disaster as we have seen in lower divisions.

Every club at QAFL level now has stood the test of time and should have the resources. They have extensive old boy networks and are predominantly in more affluent areas.

It is a business though. Get your house in order.

Firstly - we are not a state league like the WAFL or SANFL. The VFL offering of Southport and AFL reserves is the State League equivalent.
We have had a constantly changing footy landscape over the past 15 years and hopefully we get to settle into this latest offering.
Its a quality competition that is more akin to the pre NEAFL days.
The regions are well represented and its a positive we are attracting plenty of ex AFL and State league players. VFL players have left in droves over the past 2 years in Victoria due to the Mickey Mouse AFL reserves set up. The VFL has been diluted and certain suburban comps in Melbourne have never been stronger as a result. The QAFL indirectly benefits as well.

Gap is wider in the QAFL between the haves and have nots which has always been the case. Takes a lot to develop a club without the resources to recruit for the short term. This burden maybe will be too much for some clubs going forward.
I actually like the idea of promotion/relegation such as they do in the Amateur comps in the southern states. Works well. Gives clubs time to develop and stabilise in a lower division and build towards creating another opportunity to move back up. Adds a bit of intrigue to the lower end of the ladder in the back half as well.
But your club either way, has to stand for something a bit more than just wins. Morningside is a great example, have a year to rebuild and develop for the longer term - try and win as much as you can in-between.
Thats a great point. Just looking at the QLD forums not a lot of talk about Div1. Theres more interest in Div2 it seems. However, if there was a relegation system with Div1 in place, interest in Div1 would skyrocket, and of course interest in the bottom of the QAFL ladder. Famous old clubs like Coorparoo, Mayne, suddeny come in for attention, etc..

i dont thankfully but i stand by my comment there isn't enough supporters and therefore enough sponsors at a fair few of these clubs to increase the salary cap
Maybe so but why should clubs that are successfully be penalised to make it fairer for the clubs that are poorly ran?
The salary cap is hindering the standard of the league.
Do Coca-Cola have restrictions to make it fairer for Pepsi ?
If clubs can’t cope financially then they drop a division.........simple.

Think most QAFL Clubs are managed well and run magnificently by great volunteers. Yes some clubs have better sporting club support to ease the financial pressures but all in all I don’t think any club is dragging the competition down.

One thing that has increased is the pressure from AFLQ via AFL to increase womens footy and ensure all QAFL Clubs have top tier womens team to under pin the mens competition.

The strain and cost imposed on clubs to make this happen is something that AFL should be financing and supporting clubs as without this they wouldn’t have a national womens competition.

A decent contribution each year would be very handy for most QAFL Club’s.

Think most QAFL Clubs are managed well and run magnificently by great volunteers. Yes some clubs have better sporting club support to ease the financial pressures but all in all I don’t think any club is dragging the competition down.

One thing that has increased is the pressure from AFLQ via AFL to increase womens footy and ensure all QAFL Clubs have top tier womens team to under pin the mens competition.

The strain and cost imposed on clubs to make this happen is something that AFL should be financing and supporting clubs as without this they wouldn’t have a national womens competition.

A decent contribution each year would be very handy for most QAFL Club’s.

Normally agree with your thinking but this one’s off the rocker. Labrador, Morningside, Palm Beach, Mt G, Sherwood, Surfers, Brodbeach, Noosa all don’t have top tier womens teams.

Womens teams at local clubs all pay rego etc as well. Plus add another revenue stream having more players at clubs, plus also make it easier for heaps of teams to get grants. Not sure how having more club members requires any additional funding from AFLQ?

the queensland system is a lot different and a lot looser then the victorian system, qafl allows for a total of 50 points compared to vic its more like 38-42, one rule that I don't agree with is the player who moves from the gold coast to noosa is penalised further in the points system, moving over 2 hrs away isn't a test of loyalty not many people would travel that for training or to play at their junior club. The salary cap up here isn't large and to make this league a higher quality it needs to go up if they want to attract more high profile players, the struggle compared to down south is the inability to gain large sponsorships or fundraising through lesser crowds and smaller supporter bases. so making the salary cap higher could leave the smaller clubs in the dust but if it allows the league to grow and become more competitive a 10 club league instead of 12 has its benefits
Maybe so but why should clubs that are successfully be penalised to make it fairer for the clubs that are poorly ran?
I believe I have bought this up previously, obviously dropping clubs doesn't just happen for the fun of it or because they have struggled for the last 2 seasons but struggling clubs should have a plan put in place to be able to pull themselves out and have set goals for the end of each season (on and off field) and they should be shared with afl queensland, if set goals continually don't get met then after a certain amount of years and on field performance isn't up to the standard then yeah I think clubs should be relegated

Normally agree with your thinking but this one’s off the rocker. Labrador, Morningside, Palm Beach, Mt G, Sherwood, Surfers, Brodbeach, Noosa all don’t have top tier womens teams.

Womens teams at local clubs all pay rego etc as well. Plus add another revenue stream having more players at clubs, plus also make it easier for heaps of teams to get grants. Not sure how having more club members requires any additional funding from AFLQ?

Having women and ~150 junior girls helps us as a club financially, in addition the the million other positives.

Just like the male players though, we are simply running out of space for them all!

I don't mind idea of promotion/relegation either though it needs to be carefully considered.

We have finished lower than 6th once in a decade and that was 7th last year, when decisions made at HQ robbed us and PBC big time.

We go under water in Feb this year and have as many as 7 or 8 of our former players starring for other clubs, and 5 topping up lions VFL. Our Colts are undefeated and our div 1 u16s won by 100 yesterday. We are more than fine and looking good going forward, just a rough few weeks. Lost 3 or 4 more topliners to injury last 7 days, so the youngsters will keep building.

Its an age old boring argument - the financial capacity of some regions of the SEQ corner is significantly greater than others. It should not be about who can spend the most. No decent competition in suburban / regional Aust runs without a salary cap now. Without one in place it stifles competition and therefore hinders development and growth of the code.
Wasn't that long ago Broadbeach couldn't field a 2nds team without breaking the rules. (played half a doz old buggers who had come to watch their sons play!!) so lets not pretend that anyone from that footy club has the right to be demanding who stays and who goes.

Having women and ~150 junior girls helps us as a club financially, in addition the the million other positives.

Just like the male players though, we are simply running out of space for them all!

I don't mind idea of promotion/relegation either though it needs to be carefully considered.

We have finished lower than 6th once in a decade and that was 7th last year, when decisions made at HQ robbed us and PBC big time.

We go under water in Feb this year and have as many as 7 or 8 of our former players starring for other clubs, and 5 topping up lions VFL. Our Colts are undefeated and our div 1 u16s won by 100 yesterday. We are more than fine and looking good going forward, just a rough few weeks. Lost 3 or 4 more topliners to injury last 7 days, so the youngsters will keep building.
Yes that's the kicker Thommo - agree. Sometimes a clubs actual performance is hindered by some rules in place that disallows them to put out their best side. Think there needs to be more than just an onfield criteria attached.

We lost our skipper to a knee last thu, then 2 to hamstrings in the game on Sat.

We were able to bring in 3 academy boys (finally) but then we lose them again next week, while playing a GC club with all academy players available.

Competition remains so heavily compromised, these things need sorting out before worrying about anything else.

All the clubs very well run, financially stable and very professional.

We lost our skipper to a knee last thu, then 2 to hamstrings in the game on Sat.

We were able to bring in 3 academy boys (finally) but then we lose them again next week, while playing a GC club with all academy players available.

Competition remains so heavily compromised, these things need sorting out before worrying about anything else.

Suns academy also play this weekend. Then I believe they are available for clubs moving forward unless playing VFL.

this is where you are wrong, again. A club isn't run better by virtue of having a lease where the council maintains their field for them and picks up a the costs, its just pure luck.

In fact one would argue the ones that also have to run entire faciltities teams, and coordinate all that are even better run than those that don't.

Yep - but can you say the same about the governing body in QLD?

Becoming pretty clear that you can't...

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I think the points and salary caps are vital tools for equalisation.

Nobody enjoys massive blowouts, Sundays match at the Cats despite a very healthy crowd the atmosphere was flat because of the lack of contest.

Finding the right balance and grading players correctly (even though it benefits my club personally I don’t think VFL players that aren’t homegrown should be a 1 point and some of the grading of Aspley and Redland players raises eyebrows).

Salary cap serves 2 purposes one is competitive balance and the second more important purpose is helping to keep clubs more sustainable and hopefully making life a bit easier for volunteers.

To me it’s crazy that local games with crowds in the hundreds would have several players on $800 per game which would happen again in no time if there was no cap, ultimately driving player wages up and having clubs over a barrel

QAFL 2022