• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 2 North

when will the pokies open back up??? I can’t handle this anymore!!!

Pokies along with pubs and gaming will be a hard one GA. I think trying to keep machines cleaned from patron to patron etc will be their biggest challenge.

I’m with you I love my pub and a punt but not sure where it sits along with our beloved AFL.

I am hearing rumblings of an 8 week minimum season and 12 game maximum season if we get off the ground. But if schools are still staying home which in QLD looks like being in place for all of term 2 I can’t see any other relaxing of rules until at least end of June.

So at best any softening won’t occur until July in my opinion. So that would make an August season at best which was when we were supposed to finish?

So based on that I think AFLQ may either not worry about us or play something like 8 weeks plus 3 week finals series which is a November finish.

That’s all going well and best case I think?

Pokies along with pubs and gaming will be a hard one GA. I think trying to keep machines cleaned from patron to patron etc will be their biggest challenge.

I’m with you I love my pub and a punt but not sure where it sits along with our beloved AFL.

I am hearing rumblings of an 8 week minimum season and 12 game maximum season if we get off the ground. But if schools are still staying home which in QLD looks like being in place for all of term 2 I can’t see any other relaxing of rules until at least end of June.

So at best any softening won’t occur until July in my opinion. So that would make an August season at best which was when we were supposed to finish?

So based on that I think AFLQ may either not worry about us or play something like 8 weeks plus 3 week finals series which is a November finish.

We may get a fairer indication today with the Government meeting to discuss exit strategy. Schools at this stage is remote learning for 5 weeks (we are sending our kids 2/3 days a week).
We were told the 8-12 week season last week with our correspondence with the league. I believe they are willing to go into October/November

We may get a fairer indication today with the Government meeting to discuss exit strategy. Schools at this stage is remote learning for 5 weeks (we are sending our kids 2/3 days a week).
We were told the 8-12 week season last week with our correspondence with the league. I believe they are willing to go into October/November

I do really hope you are right. Even though it’ll be a kick and giggle/Mickey mouse type set-up it’s certainly important for AFLQ to try and generate some sort of cash flow for this year and keep guys participating (a year off is a long time for those who haven’t had injuries and what have you).

Just concerning that you still have these “experts” banging the drum in the media about “silent transmission” and wanting everyone indoors until the vaccine arrives next year. Not to downplay that risk as I’ve been one of the ones here who’s taken this virus very seriously, but the reality is we’re still a fair way off from really knowing what the back half of this year looks like.

I do really hope you are right. Even though it’ll be a kick and giggle/Mickey mouse type set-up it’s certainly important for AFLQ to try and generate some sort of cash flow for this year and keep guys participating (a year off is a long time for those who haven’t had injuries and what have you).

Just concerning that you still have these “experts” banging the drum in the media about “silent transmission” and wanting everyone indoors until the vaccine arrives next year. Not to downplay that risk as I’ve been one of the ones here who’s taken this virus very seriously, but the reality is we’re still a fair way off from really knowing what the back half of this year looks like.

My belief and it’s only mine is that they are talking hardball to avoid the community becoming complacent. There won’t be a vaccine till mid next year. They have much of it under control and trending in the right direction. They want to see it for a sustained period before relaxing measures. Any footy this year would be good regardless what form the comp takes. I understand that there was discussion in Victoria yesterday in regards to country and Metrop footy. Dramatic slashing of salary caps on that neck of the woods. If that happens down there it will happen here and it’s a great thing.

If any footy takes place it will be a very short season.
Played in extreme heat.
That in itself brings it's own problems.
You blokes do realise that a vaccine is only a possibility.
The best minds in the world haven't come up with one for many deaseses.
And it's been years for some.
Best we can hope for is no massive outbreaks like in Tassie.
Get it down to zero for three months then we will see some changes.

If any footy takes place it will be a very short season.
Played in extreme heat.
That in itself brings it's own problems.
You blokes do realise that a vaccine is only a possibility.
The best minds in the world haven't come up with one for many deaseses.
And it's been years for some.
Best we can hope for is no massive outbreaks like in Tassie.
Get it down to zero for three months then we will see some changes.
My belief and it’s only mine is that they are talking hardball to avoid the community becoming complacent. There won’t be a vaccine till mid next year. They have much of it under control and trending in the right direction. They want to see it for a sustained period before relaxing measures. Any footy this year would be good regardless what form the comp takes. I understand that there was discussion in Victoria yesterday in regards to country and Metrop footy. Dramatic slashing of salary caps on that neck of the woods. If that happens down there it will happen here and it’s a great thing.

I would assume it would be some sort of night competition if it did. I don’t
Think In any way, shape or form will we have anything that resembles a season. I’ve said from the start our best case, and one I’m holding out for, is some type of tournament in September/October. We won’t be playing before then.

I would assume it would be some sort of night competition if it did. I don’t
Think In any way, shape or form will we have anything that resembles a season. I’ve said from the start our best case, and one I’m holding out for, is some type of tournament in September/October. We won’t be playing before then.
From what I’ve been told night games are on the table. Heat won’t really be an issue, conditions won’t be any different to what they experience in the NT. A lot of teams train through November and December anyway so I believe the league will be smart.

That’s what we are hearing up here too sm.An 8 week home and away season top 4 play finals with the possible start date being July 3rd.Still finishing late September. That’s the plan although everything still Ofcourse up in the air but the curve suggests we are definitely on the right track!

They are talking restrictions in some form until September. I wouldn't think community footy will get the go ahead until all restrictions are eased. Start planning for 2021!

I agree with you that the chances of the government letting 44 blokes gather in one place and tackle each other before September is certainly farfetched - but gathering by AFLQ's email yesterday they'll do everything they can to have some sort of comp happen this year. Cant see why we coudn't have a summer tournament from September-November with pre season 2021 starting in January.

There won't be any footy this year guys. Go find another hobbie. We get 40mm of rain and they call games off let alone let us play durring a pandemic.

Just listening to the medical and pollies today.
I think community footy will come behind schools and other services.
So untill schools are back full time it won't even be considered.
That really means maybe mid July it will be looked at.
They are hoping for a full time return in term 3.
Things could change but with clusters still popping up
Its not likely.

Just listening to the medical and pollies today.
I think community footy will come behind schools and other services.
So untill schools are back full time it won't even be considered.
That really means maybe mid July it will be looked at.
They are hoping for a full time return in term 3.
Things could change but with clusters still popping up
Its not likely.

100 percent no footy of any sort at our level would be played before august best case scenario. It’s up to whether they bother with some sort of competition by that time. Maybe they will, maybe they won’t.

Mid July was always going to be best case. Remember we are locked out of the footy clubs until May 31 at the earliest and we expect at least a 4 week mini preseason. That’s another 6 weeks away. A hell of a lot can happen in 6 weeks as we’ve seen how much things have changed on the past 2 or 3 weeks.
We won’t know anything official for A few weeks when the AFLQ return to work.
They have done a ring around the clubs to touch base.

NSW just announced all grassroots competitions returning July 18. While we all know AFL and it’s associated local comps are FAR more conservative and less desperate than League has shown to be, it’s nonetheless a good sign

Absolutely. I just posted this in the QAFL thread

Received an email today that next week we will receive correspondence from the league in regards to the models being put fwd. what I understand is that salary caps will be slashed by probably 50%. Players won’t have a choice but to play for minimal/nothing which won’t hurt.
I will say the league has been outstanding in their transparency, their correspondence and keeping everyone in the loop. Will be an interesting next few weeks that’s for sure.

Big call indeed.
I wonder if the decision was made from medical advice and government new rules.
Or just out of desperation.
Like I said win and your a genius.
Lose and your back to square one.
Time will tell I suppose.

Momentum building. Brendan Murphy said in his presser this evening that community sport will be one of the priorities when looking at lifting restrictions.

dusty wherever you are, we may owe you an apology

I think he said it will be up for discussion at the next Meeting of restrictions on 12th May.

I agree it sounds a positive step but long way to go still I think if AFL haven’t kicked started community footy will be at least 3-4 weeks minimum behind that.

I see all the broadcasters have come out and stated that NRL start date of 28th May is premature and they still have no TV rights deal done yet.

Depends who you listen to but lots of theories and dates being put out and how competitions will look.

I think until AFL make some form of a statement around starting , I can’t see any community footy moving. Still think we looking July-August at best if anything.

I think he said it will be up for discussion at the next Meeting of restrictions on 12th May.

I agree it sounds a positive step but long way to go still I think if AFL haven’t kicked started community footy will be at least 3-4 weeks minimum behind that.

I see all the broadcasters have come out and stated that NRL start date of 28th May is premature and they still have no TV rights deal done yet.

Depends who you listen to but lots of theories and dates being put out and how competitions will look.

I think until AFL make some form of a statement around starting , I can’t see any community footy moving. Still think we looking July-August at best if anything.

Yeah agree 100% SM - lots of blue sky statements from vested interests in the media right now - the NRL are a pantomime so not sure anyone should really use them as a yardstick. Prefer to wait until Gill & co come out and say something categorical. Think Scomo has a political duty to put some sort of light at end of tunnel - keeps peoples hopes alive - but in reality the only thing that matters is when the next ball is bounced. Bit like recruiting - they are never your player until they run out on the ground with your jumper on...

Id be thinking August as well and have already heard at least one Div 1 club is probably not going to participate if it is that late in the year.

QFA Div 2 North