• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 2 North

Yeah agree 100% SM - lots of blue sky statements from vested interests in the media right now - the NRL are a pantomime so not sure anyone should really use them as a yardstick. Prefer to wait until Gill & co come out and say something categorical. Think Scomo has a political duty to put some sort of light at end of tunnel - keeps peoples hopes alive - but in reality the only thing that matters is when the next ball is bounced. Bit like recruiting - they are never your player until they run out on the ground with your jumper on...

Id be thinking August as well and have already heard at least one Div 1 club is probably not going to participate if it is that late in the year.

Yeah I think July is the latest you could feasibly start to have something worthwhile. If it’s august you may as well pack it in and wait for 2021.

Still some time yet to see how it all pans out. At least there’s a little bit of hope for the time being.

Yeah I think July is the latest you could feasibly start to have something worthwhile. If it’s august you may as well pack it in and wait for 2021.

Still some time yet to see how it all pans out. At least there’s a little bit of hope for the time being.
Rugby league have jumped the gun.
That's a move to put pressure on media right's and to try and force a decision from nsw government.
Bold strategy Cotton will see how it plays out.
Afl is stalling as long as possible.
Don't want to look like a dickhead like some other sports.
Gillian and the afl must just be sitting back and watching league and union implode and will certainly not go down that line.
So much to gain from other codes failing for Afl.
As to qld footy the biggest hurdle will be the premier.
She has taken a fairly strong approach to this crisis.
I don't think she will lift restrictions before she feels it's 100% safe to do so.
She has a lot of people on her side ATM.
Remember it's votes that keep her job.
To be known as the premier who got us through this is big numbers at the booth.
So we now enter the phase of medical advice verses pollies trying to keep their jobs.
Interesting times ahead for all sport.

Yeah agree 100% SM - lots of blue sky statements from vested interests in the media right now - the NRL are a pantomime so not sure anyone should really use them as a yardstick. Prefer to wait until Gill & co come out and say something categorical. Think Scomo has a political duty to put some sort of light at end of tunnel - keeps peoples hopes alive - but in reality the only thing that matters is when the next ball is bounced. Bit like recruiting - they are never your player until they run out on the ground with your jumper on...

Id be thinking August as well and have already heard at least one Div 1 club is probably not going to participate if it is that late in the year.
Who’s the div 1 Club is it last years premiers?

Momentum building. Brendan Murphy said in his presser this evening that community sport will be one of the priorities when looking at lifting restrictions.

dusty wherever you are, we may owe you an apology

Momentum building. Brendan Murphy said in his presser this evening that community sport will be one of the priorities when looking at lifting restrictions.

dusty wherever you are, we may owe you an apology

If Dusty wasn’t trying to be an abrasive flog he would have been taken seriously. I wouldn’t have had to join this addictive place to try and counter some of the crap.
Palalphabet is a bit like Dan the Union man in Melbourne atm loving holding the whip hand and being able to dictate as to when things will happen.
I agree with what a feW of you are saying but I still think End of June is looking highly likely. Every chance pubs are opening again in June as well. Worst case o can see a Summer series happening. We’ll put together a team comfortably if that was the case. Everyone has already paid their insurance fees and stuff anyway so there would be minimal costs to the players to put it on if it came to that.

Dan's doing a bloody good job from what I can tell Box. he's 2 for 2. Old scomo was coming from a fair way back after the fire season but is now square with the ledger. To be fair think its been a credit to all our pollies at state and fed level that they have collaborated so well and put vested interests aside. If only this could happen in other areas of politics and just do what they know is right, not play popularity politics. Politics always plays a part in this decision making process and it should because the sports are always pretty keen to put hand out for assistance from government as well when the time is right.

Yeah ScoMo has defied all expectations IMO. Has a Capacity for empathy and reasoning a lot of people didn’t know he had. He’s far from perfect but hard to be upset with what’s he done

Won’t be long until the oppo at both state and federal start playing politics with some of the decisions that have been made. You can guarantee it. Too fast, too slow, too harsh, not harsh enough. You alienated this demographic of people blah blah blah.
It’s coming

Who’s the div 1 Club is it last years premiers?
No way goal kicker definitely not us! All of our presidents have an up coming zoom meeting to discuss concerns.Will know more after that.No crowds is an issue even with a proposed 8 round comp.No bar takings or canteen when clubs still have to pay coaching fees,trainers,umpires,lights and league fees will be a major concern!

Thing is, if footy is allowed to be played then it would be an absolute non negotiable that the restrictions at the time would have to be 100 people or less in one place otherwise it’s completely breaking the law. That way, you could still hold functions with the players and close volunteers to raise cash.

As it stands with no crowds you’d have roughly 60-70 people gathering at a footy ground anyway. We do need to remember if there indeed is a footy season it’s not under these restrictions as they stand

Thing is, if footy is allowed to be played then it would be an absolute non negotiable that the restrictions at the time would have to be 100 people or less in one place otherwise it’s completely breaking the law. That way, you could still hold functions with the players and close volunteers to raise cash.

As it stands with no crowds you’d have roughly 60-70 people gathering at a footy ground anyway. We do need to remember if there indeed is a footy season it’s not under these restrictions as they stand

Might be 100 at the club rooms no change Room access but not sure your going to be able to control numbers surrounding the ground in cars etc. It’s actually a hell of a lot safer then being in the supermarket. Canteen and bar facilities aren’t really any different to doing takeaways at the cafe.

Yes I agree no crowds will be a problem, but great news you boys are keen to get on the field if we get started.

Won’t be long until the oppo at both state and federal start playing politics with some of the decisions that have been made. You can guarantee it. Too fast, too slow, too harsh, not harsh enough. You alienated this demographic of people blah blah blah.
It’s coming

If they'd taken a leaf out of Abbotts political handbook then it would have started already. It probably will but nothing like the imbecile running the US will cop.

100% I can see the tourism industry starting to pressure Anna alphabet soon enough. Tommy Tate will be up and about. Once things start to ease she’ll be coping some heat.

Here, here. They have both ben outstanding leaders in all this. Not influenced by the outside noise, making educated informed decisions based on experts in the field and seem to be able to keep a step ahead with flexible planning with a common goal at the end. Exactly how a good coach would operate! There is no playbook for this making it all the more impressive Berajiklian or however u spell it f#"ked up letting the boat disembark, but I reckon the rest of the country has been well led.
As for the footy I would think anything starting in August would be a waste of time, even more so if no crowds allowed. No right to encroach on crickets time, if ovals are shared, its just fortunate for them its happened out of their season. Frustrating for all, but at the end of the day its a worldwide pandemic none of which we have or hope to see again and it is what it is.

Here, here. They have both ben outstanding leaders in all this. Not influenced by the outside noise, making educated informed decisions based on experts in the field and seem to be able to keep a step ahead with flexible planning with a common goal at the end. Exactly how a good coach would operate! There is no playbook for this making it all the more impressive Berajiklian or however u spell it f#"ked up letting the boat disembark, but I reckon the rest of the country has been well led.
As for the footy I would think anything starting in August would be a waste of time, even more so if no crowds allowed. No right to encroach on crickets time, if ovals are shared, its just fortunate for them its happened out of their season. Frustrating for all, but at the end of the day its a worldwide pandemic none of which we have or hope to see again and it is what it is.
I don’t think this division is affected by cricket at all apart from Nambour maybe? I’m sure other clubs will you play on there field if yours is being used by cricket !

There’s a few. Hence the delay in the initial draw. We have great lights no pitch. Happy to host Thursday Friday Saturday if we have too

The afl has acknowledged that a hub for all players will be needed to resume footy.
So the high protocols required by the top level to resume won't be met by any community football.
So I think we are watching on tv for a while before you get to have a kick.

The afl has acknowledged that a hub for all players will be needed to resume footy.
So the high protocols required by the top level to resume won't be met by any community football.

AFL is probably going to resume a week or two after NRL though. Still 6 weeks of play before any chance of local footy happening, we knew that already

Also keep in mind the hub is due to travel restrictions

Just received another email from the league. Community footy decisions will be based off what the AFL do. We’ll know the time frame on May 11. Governments are keen to get community sport up and going. My prediction is still late June early July. AFL will start about mid June

Well on fox mark robinson
Said NEAFL is gone
So Redland and Aspley will
Go back into the QAFL
DIV 2 south NSW TEAMS won't be able
To play in QLD

Quick div change on the go
I can see a couple of div 2 north teams
Joining the south ect

Well on fox mark robinson
Said NEAFL is gone
So Redland and Aspley will
Go back into the QAFL
DIV 2 south NSW TEAMS won't be able
To play in QLD

Quick div change on the go
I can see a couple of div 2 north teams
Joining the south ect

Yep no chance NSW teams will be in this comp. I’d say Kenmore and Vic Point will go into div 1 as planned already and the south will become a full GC comp.

Must get the same e-mails.
I find them very generic and to be blunt nothing of substance in any of them.
What else can they say.
The elite level haven't given a start date.
So what are aflq going to say.
They are just keeping touch with everyone.
Fair enough as they have no clue what the comps will look like and how a competition will take place.
Also as stated no staff working ATM.
Not beaing negative just looking at the facts.
The longer this goes on the harder it will be to structure local footy.
What clubs are willing to play.
Is it just seniors.
Are their umpires ready.
What days and times.
Covid 19 protocols and can clubs comply.
Too many questions and no staff to work on it.
We are a long way off playing games at this level.

Must get the same e-mails.
I find them very generic and to be blunt nothing of substance in any of them.
What else can they say.
The elite level haven't given a start date.
So what are aflq going to say.
They are just keeping touch with everyone.
Fair enough as they have no clue what the comps will look like and how a competition will take place.
Also as stated no staff working ATM.
Not beaing negative just looking at the facts.
The longer this goes on the harder it will be to structure local footy.
What clubs are willing to play.
Is it just seniors.
Are their umpires ready.
What days and times.
Covid 19 protocols and can clubs comply.
Too many questions and no staff to work on it.
We are a long way off playing games at this level.

Can’t talk for everyone but I’ve been in regular contact with all our players and most importantly staff and they are ready to go at the drop of the hat.

Guaranteed we will be playing footy and I know for certain we will be ready to go.
Already conceded structure may not be the same. But there will be footy this year

It’s coming

yea well the LNP leader in QLD she's already trying to dig the knife in and attack Labor when she can. lol

QFA Div 2 North