• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 2 North

Interesting to see the SQ squad get announced today/tonight a few handy names in there, any hard luck stories from around the league? Hivvy from yeronga would have to be considered unlucky as would perry-warren from Kedron who has been great in a losing side...

Was watching some of the twos a few weeks ago at yeronga and they look to have some decent young talent pushing through number 6 Ranke I think his name was showed some class and is surely only a few weeks away from a senior call up

Hi Ranke, how are you?

Kenmore to def Alex by 32 points
Yeronga to def Kedron by 45 points
Jindalee to def Moorooka by 2 points
Moreton to def Hinterland by 8 points
Wynnum to def Park Ridge by 15 points
Pine to def Redcliffe by 20 points
Sandgate to def Ipswich by 53 points

My tips for this week...

Kenmore to beat Alex Hills by 23
Yeronga to beat Kedron by 52
Moorooka to beat Jindalee by 16
Moreton to beat Hinterland by 28
Wynnum to beat Park Ridge by 33
Pine Rivers to beat Redlcifee by 44
Sandgate to beat Ipswich by 56

In other news, beyond me that the likes of Dezotti, Nickalls, Blake Hartley, Trent Lowrie, Harding bros dont get a look in for this squad. Same to be said for Harwood and the Stewarts. Clearly some clubs just choose not to nominate.

Hi Ranke, how are you?

I'm good thanks mate. hahaha. How are you?

Can assure you I wouldn't write this about myself! 'Young Talent" is a bit of a stretch... struggle to get a kick at the best of times and definitely not one of the young fellas anymore! :):cool:

I'm good thanks mate. hahaha. How are you?

Can assure you I wouldn't write this about myself! 'Young Talent" is a bit of a stretch... struggle to get a kick at the best of times and definitely not one of the young fellas anymore! :):cool:

Very modest mate, you're having a good season. I notice you haven't been on the team lists lately, are you injured?

Hey GK11. Any truth in the rumour that Park Ridge have asked you for players this week given you have the bye in Div 1? If so I gather these are to top up their reserves because they are short and not repeating the Mt Gravatt bye episode where they were playing in the ones to strengthen their team which in my opinion compromises the whole competition

A lot of top ups in the reserves and had a major influence on the game as well. No6 from morningside was a gun across half back. Permit system is a joke and totally rorting the system. Cannot see how that is fair at all? But it's reserves so no one cares except the guys playing in reserves hey?

Luc

Mac we had 22 players out across both grades due to varying reasons and probably lost another 3 yesterday in just Seniors due to injuries.

So we asked for players as Thommo said from Friday night sides. Not sure what else you expect us to do mate apart from forfeit? I’m sure over the years Wynnum have done no different?

You Probably lucky we didn’t have Jono, Chez, Ben Pay,Mitch Fallon, Ryan Thompson, Wayne Ollington, Tom Hurst, Mitch McKee, in Seniors as may have been a different result? Our kids had a red hot crack yesterday.

Luc

Mac we had 22 players out across both grades due to varying reasons and probably lost another 3 yesterday in just Seniors due to injuries.

So we asked for players as Thommo said from Friday night sides. Not sure what else you expect us to do mate apart from forfeit? I’m sure over the years Wynnum have done no different?

You Probably lucky we didn’t have Jono, Chez, Ben Pay,Mitch Fallon, Ryan Thompson, Wayne Ollington, Tom Hurst, Mitch McKee, in Seniors as may have been a different result? Our kids had a red hot crack yesterday.

Yeah in our worst years we may have borrowed a couple of players just to have a team, but we were not borrowing players that would have such a profound influence on the game and actually win us the game.
Wynnum also had 6-7 of there best side out for various reasons. We had 3 18 year olds 3 20 year olds and 3 21 year olds and if we had of kicked straight then I think the result could have been a lot worse. We also don’t call out opposition players in posts either

Permit guys from Sherwood and Morningside are guys from 3rds.

Hey Thommo, hope you are well mate? If that’s true the no 6 from Morningside is playing in the wrong division. Bloody handy 3rd division player I would think?

Yeah in our worst years we may have borrowed a couple of players just to have a team, but we were not borrowing players that would have such a profound influence on the game and actually win us the game.
Wynnum also had 6-7 of there best side out for various reasons. We had 3 18 year olds 3 20 year olds and 3 21 year olds and if we had of kicked straight then I think the result could have been a lot worse. We also don’t call out opposition players in posts either
I agree with your point on it being piss poor to call out players on here but with regards permits you've said on one hand you think the permit system is a rort but admitted you've used it yourself in the past to make a team. I presume what you want is some sort of qualification of the standard of player. I'm not 100% sure of the precise rules in place BTW. What's your suggestion on this?

Lagging I’m just a player not the club president or team manager. Going from my dodgy memory I’m not sure we have used permit players. Maybe back in 2014 when we were in a lot of trouble numbers wise. But even then I think it was more a case of a club lending us a couple of their players just so we could have a game. And we were being pumped by 80 points or more back then so it didn’t matter. Plus a lot of games (as Gympie have been doing this year to their credit) we just played short. The next year we dropped 2 divisions because we could not regularly field two teams.
This situation is very different we’re you are getting players to help you win a game. And it seems Park Ridge has had 22 players out every round this year just about. I think it is wrong to use the permit system to prop up a club. If you cannot field two teams every week with getting help from other clubs then maybe questions do need to be asked about your club?

[/QUOTE

I think there needs to be a filtering system of the players permitted. Playing div 3 doesn’t make you a hack nor does playing qafl 2s make u a really good player. Unfortunately would just be another job that some poor schmuck from HQ would have to do.
to simplify it would be easier to say permitted players can only come from clubs competing that same weekend hence you could then say they are ranked lowly enough to not get a game in a twos side nor a div 3 side.

I think there needs to be a filtering system of the players permitted. Playing div 3 doesn’t make you a hack nor does playing qafl 2s make u a really good player. Unfortunately would just be another job that some poor schmuck from HQ would have to do.
to simplify it would be easier to say permitted players can only come from clubs competing that same weekend hence you could then say they are ranked lowly enough to not get a game in a twos side nor a div 3 side.

This makes a hell of a lot of sense. TBH anyone who has played either a QAFL firsts or reserves game shouldn’t be able to drop two levels either regardless of whether they played the week prior.

We’ve been fortunate that despite an horrendous injury and unavailability list we have enough players to cover. I understand other clubs aren’t as fortunate, but in no way should any club be disadvantaged by permit players coming in for an oppo club.

Been happening for decades and clubs that have contacts will exploit it to its fullest. The saving grace is they can’t play finals. If a club is relying on it then they’re on a slippery slope so the footy gods will strike at some stage
Yeah that may well be the case but at the same time why should a club be able to "tread water" to eventually have their best 22 or so together come finals time whilst others build their lists, manage their players with injuries / unavailabilities (which is a skill in itself) but be disadvantaged to the point that finals isn't even a reasonable objective. You don't want clubs to forfeit 2's games but at the same time you don't want competitions compromised by an influx of guys week to week who have nothing to do with the comp or certainly aren't at the standard.

Lagging I’m just a player not the club president or team manager. Going from my dodgy memory I’m not sure we have used permit players. Maybe back in 2014 when we were in a lot of trouble numbers wise. But even then I think it was more a case of a club lending us a couple of their players just so we could have a game. And we were being pumped by 80 points or more back then so it didn’t matter. Plus a lot of games (as Gympie have been doing this year to their credit) we just played short. The next year we dropped 2 divisions because we could not regularly field two teams.
This situation is very different we’re you are getting players
any thoughts on the results this week?
Who saw the drawn match between Moreton Bay & Hinterland? Cracking game?

QFA Div 2 North