• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 2

the outside bar wasn't meant to be open until 5pm mate :)

I hung around for the first quarter, seemed a decent hitout. Wasn't our senior side, but had plenty of them playing. Strange tactic to have 3 behind the ball at the opening bounce in a practice match though gents?

I'm told the 2nd quarter was one way traffic once we made adjustments to the unexpected setup, and obviously with 60 players vs 40 in 30* heat it was always going to slow up at the end.

Exactly what we needed though, having not played an actual game of footy in 6 months - can train all you want, but nothing beats a good hitout

I hung around for the first quarter, seemed a decent hitout. Wasn't our senior side, but had plenty of them playing. Strange tactic to have 3 behind the ball at the opening bounce in a practice match though gents?

I'm told the 2nd quarter was one way traffic once we made adjustments to the unexpected setup, and obviously with 60 players vs 40 in 30* heat it was always going to slow up at the end.

Exactly what we needed though, having not played an actual game of footy in 6 months - can train all you want, but nothing beats a good hitout

Sorry Thommo you must have watched something a little different or didn't watch the play. There was a half forward who started behind the ball and pushed through to the forward line and there was no one else sitting behind the ball.

Just midfielders out working their QAFL counterparts to push back behind the ball in transition ( pretty sure that's the modern game )

Second qtr obviously PR could not sustain that tempo and midfield dropped off and a loose was dropped back for Nuxy ( had no influence anyway )

That's what happend and also great to see when the chips are down the pies turn on each other and point fingers!

Big thanks to Sherwood for their hospitality and opportunity for a Div 2 Club to play a quality QAFL outfit.

Good hit out for both clubs and I am sure everyone got something out of it. Think Anthony Corrie still got plenty to offer and looks fitter and revitalised for a good year.

Good luck for the season to Thommo and all the Club and hopefully the praccy match may become an annual event where we can have a good function at end of game.

Bar not open til 5? I crushed 3 tins by 2pm, weren’t bad either cooper session ale. A good selection of beverages - Not sure that $6.50 a tinnie is a fair deal though thommo whats goin on there ? Great hospitality none the less.

Pirates looked slick, unsure about the Loose men comment but what I did see was a 16 year old (#2 briggsy) put a string of 2nd,3rd,4th efforts together numerous times. Kid gets to all the right spots as a half back flank and should be playing QAFL right now. Hope the pirates can hold onto him.

what his phone number? :)

outside bar was setup for a function starting at 5pm, it was a one off. However, if you got a few tinnies early - good stuff.

We like the can bar, and it may become more regular - as having schooner glasses all over the place when there is a big event isn't ideal.

Bar not open til 5? I crushed 3 tins by 2pm, weren’t bad either cooper session ale. A good selection of beverages - Not sure that $6.50 a tinnie is a fair deal though thommo whats goin on there ? Great hospitality none the less.

Pirates looked slick, unsure about the Loose men comment but what I did see was a 16 year old (#2 briggsy) put a string of 2nd,3rd,4th efforts together numerous times. Kid gets to all the right spots as a half back flank and should be playing QAFL right now. Hope the pirates can hold onto him.

Very happy with all our young boys..
#2..#24..#10..16yr olds..
Aj think wore#21...#39 both 18yr old...
great thing is they are good kids who listen and work hard on the track.

Well done to Beenleigh today, good win against a good side in Alex Hills. Hopefully the Div 2 comp is going to be very competitive this year.

well done to the Buffs on winning pool C and Bond in pool B over Coomera which looked to be a higher standard game, Division 2 definitely will be a more even comp

from what I gather, Morningside, Sandgate and the Western Magpies would all have a pretty high proportion of club juniors making up their QAFL lists, certainly more than 50% I reckon.

QFA Div 2