• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 4&5

There are 5 games tonight in this space as follows:

Hinterland v UQ
Moorooka v ParkRidge
Coorparoo v Ferny Grove
Ormeau v Yeronga
Redland v Coomera

Then Pac Pines have a game tomorrow v Robina, North Shore vs Glasshouse and Greater Springfield play Pine Rivers.

Next week it continues with:
Moorooka v Aspley
Collingwood Park v Ipswich Eagles
Coorparoo v UQ
Mayne v Redlands
Rattlers v Zillmere

Freddy sends his best wishes to you all. Keep a beer cold for him when he drops in.

There are 5 games tonight in this space as follows:

Hinterland v UQ
Moorooka v ParkRidge
Coorparoo v Ferny Grove
Ormeau v Yeronga
Redland v Coomera

Then Pac Pines have a game tomorrow v Robina, North Shore vs Glasshouse and Greater Springfield play Pine Rivers.

Next week it continues with:
Moorooka v Aspley
Collingwood Park v Ipswich Eagles
Coorparoo v UQ
Mayne v Redlands
Rattlers v Zillmere

Freddy sends his best wishes to you all. Keep a beer cold for him when he drops in.
Any results from last nights game?

Word is a draw should be out in the next couple of days.
Apparently trying to sort out who's in each comp.
Personally if coops have two teams one should be in Div 3 north and one in Div three south.
If you're building for qafl then anything less is a piss take.

On CPH2483 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Word is a draw should be out in the next couple of days.
Apparently trying to sort out who's in each comp.
Personally if coops have two teams one should be in Div 3 north and one in Div three south.
If you're building for qafl then anything less is a piss take.

Surely no one is buying that Friday night footy is some sort of finishing school for QAFL. Wouldn’t those future QAFL stars being playing Div 1 seniors and ressies and then be grooming their U17s for Colts?

Plus if they’re half serious they’ll be chasing some top line recruits for 2025.

I am happy enough for them to have 2 Friday night teams if they have the numbers because the previous decisions in the past to deny 2 teams were wrong as it was simply stopping guys playing footy.

Surely no one is buying that Friday night footy is some sort of finishing school for QAFL. Wouldn’t those future QAFL stars being playing Div 1 seniors and ressies and then be grooming their U17s for Colts?

Plus if they’re half serious they’ll be chasing some top line recruits for 2025.

I am happy enough for them to have 2 Friday night teams if they have the numbers because the previous decisions in the past to deny 2 teams were wrong as it was simply stopping guys playing footy.
What you do is tell them that they’re full and that they will have to play somewhere else. 2 Friday night teams is wacko.

Tell me why it’s wacko?
If any particular Friday night team has a great time playing together and they have mates who come down and have a watch and they want to be part of THAT group how do you send that mate of one of the players to another club and they happily head off? The answer is they don’t.

If you want to talk about poaching players from other clubs that depletes their numbers, then that in my view is another completely different discussion.

There must be some major issues with comps and teams.
Why else would it take so long to do a draw.
But surely three weeks out from the start you're either locked in or your out.

I think the issue is with North. I think it’s a pretty easy decision keep South Div 3 & 4 as they have the teams but merge North into the one Division and have a good 12 or so team comp.

Tell me why it’s wacko?
If any particular Friday night team has a great time playing together and they have mates who come down and have a watch and they want to be part of THAT group how do you send that mate of one of the players to another club and they happily head off? The answer is they don’t.

If you want to talk about poaching players from other clubs that depletes their numbers, then that in my view is another completely different discussion.
It’s not under 8’s you can’t always PLAY with your buddies.What happens if the second team wins the premiership. Do they have to play against each other? Only 1 team can play at home. They would need more coaches/ trainers/ etc etc. The players would only be allowed to play for the 1 side otherwise it would be unfair to other teams in the divisions. So it’s totally wacko imo.

The notion it will help build colts is whacked also. Almost every parent of a colt age player I know has expressed significant concern about their kids playing in those comps. A sign of the times I guess in terms of over protective parents but still the reality. It’s not about building colts, it’s about keeping those huge numbers. Congrats to Coops for selling koolaid to HQ

It’s not under 8’s you can’t always PLAY with your buddies.What happens if the second team wins the premiership. Do they have to play against each other? Only 1 team can play at home. They would need more coaches/ trainers/ etc etc. The players would only be allowed to play for the 1 side otherwise it would be unfair to other teams in the divisions. So it’s totally wacko imo.
Ok. I certainly am a bit wacko GA, little doubt there. U8s were the best 10 years of my footy career.

In regards if the 2nd team wins the premiership can you tell me how it’s any different to when a senior team has a poor year and the Ressies team wins the premiership? Do they both play in the seniors the next year?

I agree with Tex in terms of potentially merging div 3/4 north to have a slightly larger amount of teams until more north teams come in and then go back to split comps.

It’s pretty clear to everyone but Coorparoo that providing a second team is complete BS. If a club like coorparoo ‘needs’ a second team to ensure they have a colts next year when they have one of the biggest junior numbers in Australia, then they don’t have a good transition program.

If that second team stays in div 4. Then their stronger thirds team will just kill everyone in div 3. Id suggest a lot went to coops from morningside once they pulled the pin this year.

Also once they go QAFL, do they just suddenly dissolve that team after just one year? Highly unlikely. There is no way both teams will be heavy with colts age players, or any for that matter. Just used it as an excuse and used the connections of former high level AFLQ persons that now are heavily involved in Coorparoo.

Maybe those numbers could have been used to revive the long dead but great Logan Cobras!

Ok. I certainly am a bit wacko GA, little doubt there. U8s were the best 10 years of my footy career.

In regards if the 2nd team wins the premiership can you tell me how it’s any different to when a senior team has a poor year and the Ressies team wins the premiership? Do they both play in the seniors the next year?
Generally when that happens the club has loaded the ressies up. Which is a whole other issue…

I agree with Tex in terms of potentially merging div 3/4 north to have a slightly larger amount of teams until more north teams come in and then go back to split comps.

It’s pretty clear to everyone but Coorparoo that providing a second team is complete BS. If a club like coorparoo ‘needs’ a second team to ensure they have a colts next year when they have one of the biggest junior numbers in Australia, then they don’t have a good transition program.

If that second team stays in div 4. Then their stronger thirds team will just kill everyone in div 3. Id suggest a lot went to coops from morningside once they pulled the pin this year.

Also once they go QAFL, do they just suddenly dissolve that team after just one year? Highly unlikely. There is no way both teams will be heavy with colts age players, or any for that matter. Just used it as an excuse and used the connections of former high level AFLQ persons that now are heavily involved in Coorparoo.

Maybe those numbers could have been used to revive the long dead but great Logan Cobras!
The Logan Cobras were in control of their own destiny.

As far as two teams go if it happens then every club who has been knocked back should be filthy.
Some wanted it to build for Saturday comp but now are just thrown into the mix.
But from now on it should be a given as the rules have changed.
If not then the bloke who sold it to them also has a bridge for sale on gumtree.

The Logan Cobras were in control of their own destiny.
Yes, the destiny of being poorly run. Fold and then come back as the powerhouse South East Suns, win a premiership and then fold for good. What a great destiny. They should merge with Beenleigh and become the Logan Bogans.

Jokes aside, it is a waste of an area. Two fields and a decent clubhouse and just off the pacfic motorway and only just up the Logan motorway. However I believe cricket is still played there.

Just to be clear, (again) any allegation that I had anything to do with two teams is simply not factual. I haven’t had a single discussion with AFLQ re Friday night footy. Why propagate such blatant mistruth? The irony is I only found out tonight our two teams are in D3 North & South. Keep writing stuff that’s not factual and I’ll keep correcting it. Say I was shit at my job, that’s fine, as that your opinion, but if you’re alleging stuff that occurred at least get the facts correct.

Just to be clear, (again) any allegation that I had anything to do with two teams is simply not factual. I haven’t had a single discussion with AFLQ re Friday night footy. Why propagate such blatant mistruth? The irony is I only found out tonight our two teams are in D3 North & South. Keep writing stuff that’s not factual and I’ll keep correcting it. Say I was s**t at my job, that’s fine, as that your opinion, but if you alleging stuff that occurred at least get the facts correct.
I think you have made your point very clear.
Fair enough it's just some won't believe you.
But it really doesn't matter now and I think that the divisions coops are in are correct.
Do you know if they have to have two separate lists and are they allowed to cross over.
With this being a first I assume there are no specific rules in place.

I think you have made your point very clear.
Fair enough it's just some won't believe you.
But it really doesn't matter now and I think that the divisions coops are in are correct.
Do you know if they have to have two separate lists and are they allowed to cross over.
With this being a first I assume there are no specific rules in place.

Good point! You would think this would need to be done right especially with a lot of people outside looking in. You would think they’d need 2 separate lists and as they’re in 2 separate competitions and they’d need permits to go back and forward. I’d presume but again some rules for some and different rules for others.

QFA Div 4&5