News & Events QLD Floods

Dont normally like Bligh, but have been very very impressed with her calmness, and empathy. Stoic and strong

All Feds should take note.

Yes but . . . every disaster now seems to follow the same script in terms of the media. Anna is the latest Mayor Giuliani.

She has been good but they knew months ago we faced this. The state governments reaction has been to cross their fingers.

As for stories about looters, it's all part of the media's predefined script. There'd be less crime in Ipswich than there's been in 20 years over the past few days. A small number of people (which hasn't even been confirmed) being opportunistic is such a small concern it doesn't really warrant comment.

Praising politicians, emergency service hero worship, talk of looters, telethons, charity sporting events, concerts . . . all nice but they're all part of a predefined script that distracts us from the monumental failure by those charged with minimising the impact of such disasters.

IDQ65389.540198.png

Just got a call from a mate on active duty.

The river has started rising again where he is.

Yes but . . . every disaster now seems to follow the same script in terms of the media. Anna is the latest Mayor Giuliani.

She has been good but they knew months ago we faced this. The state governments reaction has been to cross their fingers.

As for stories about looters, it's all part of the media's predefined script. There'd be less crime in Ipswich than there's been in 20 years over the past few days. A small number of people (which hasn't even been confirmed) being opportunistic is such a small concern it doesn't really warrant comment.

Praising politicians, emergency service hero worship, talk of looters, telethons, charity sporting events, concerts . . . all nice but they're all part of a predefined script that distracts us from the monumental failure by those charged with minimising the impact of such disasters.
yeah **** george bush

IDQ65389.540198.png

Just got a call from a mate on active duty.

The river has started rising again where he is.

ch9 quoting 4.5 metres this morning - lower than 5.5 predicted

Queensland government has to take most if not all of the blame. There idea of preparing for this was getting on there knees and hoping it wont happen again. Sandbagging should of begun very early on. Its not like it came from nowhere. Problem is they are too scared to prepare incase nothing happens and they look silly. In the real world its better to be safe than sorry. Alot of damage could of been prevented with the proper safety measures put in place

Can the media also please stop quoting Monash universities. Its just well laughable. A mere two months ago they were saying there research was pointing towards cooler waters in the ocean and they have now ignored that completely and changed there tune. Do more backflips than a gymnast some of these "researchers"

Queensland government has to take most if not all of the blame. There idea of preparing for this was getting on there knees and hoping it wont happen again. Sandbagging should of begun very early on. Its not like it came from nowhere. Problem is they are too scared to prepare incase nothing happens and they look silly. In the real world its better to be safe than sorry. Alot of damage could of been prevented with the proper safety measures put in place

Can the media also please stop quoting Monash universities. Its just well laughable. A mere two months ago they were saying there research was pointing towards cooler waters in the ocean and they have now ignored that completely and changed there tune. Do more backflips than a gymnast some of these "researchers"
Which rock did you crawl out from underneath idiot?

Floods happen, it is a part of life and you can't blame a government for that. Qld has had it's wetest year on record and since August each month has had rainfall in the top 10 recorded. This flood was unavoidable given the amount of rainfall, and luckily Wivenhoe Dam has held up to what it was designed for otherwise it'd be worse in Brisbane.

Sandbagging can only do so much and even then is not a guarantee of stopping the water especially if it flowing quickly. The Qld govt were telling people very early on to move out and in Brisbane shut off power to areas about to be flooded to help encourage people to leave.

There is very little more that could of been done that wasn't and if you think there was you obviously have never worked as a volunteer.

I strongly suggest you sign up with your local SES and get a grip on reality, because the government can't do everything and sh*t happens.

Which rock did you crawl out from underneath idiot?

Floods happen, it is a part of life and you can't blame a government for that. Qld has had it's wetest year on record and since August each month has had rainfall in the top 10 recorded. This flood was unavoidable given the amount of rainfall, and luckily Wivenhoe Dam has held up to what it was designed for otherwise it'd be worse in Brisbane.

Sandbagging can only do so much and even then is not a guarantee of stopping the water especially if it flowing quickly. The Qld govt were telling people very early on to move out and in Brisbane shut off power to areas about to be flooded to help encourage people to leave.

There is very little more that could of been done that wasn't and if you think there was you obviously have never worked as a volunteer.

I strongly suggest you sign up with your local SES and get a grip on reality, because the government can't do everything and sh*t happens.

Should have nothing to do with the SES. The fact that it does show just how ridiculously unorganised things are in this country. Look at the US governments response to Hurricane Katrina. It was flawed but atleast they actually had a plan. What was Brisbanes plan. Turn the power off and fend for yourself?

Police, fire, EMS, army etc should all be deployed from other states to the area. Evacuations should of been occuring a LOOONG time before river banks gave away and the government should be preparing its cash now to help with the rebuild effort. Apart from media interviews I dont think the Queensland government has done any of this. All talk and no action tends to be the Australian way nowadays

I feel very very sorry for the people in Queensland who have been let down once again by their government

I also fail to see your argument of very little being done about a natural disaster which took months to gather. Are you saying the more aware you are of the problem the harder it is to solve? Why are people driving themselves out of town. Get people on buses and accounted for. Its just plain common sense for one thing

Should have nothing to do with the SES. The fact that it does show just how ridiculously unorganised things are in this country. Look at the US governments response to Hurricane Katrina. It was flawed but atleast they actually had a plan. What was Brisbanes plan. Turn the power off and fend for yourself?

The US response was a joke women being r*ped, gangs running the streets and what plan?? new orleans had to fend for themselves for weeks..

ABC journo: "This is history. Everyone wants to be a part of it"

Christ almighty, when did the ABC turn into Ch 9?
One can only take so much of Karl Stefanovic.

That flog was bemoaning that the "nice houses" had been flooded. :eek:

The tugboats were brave to just take their boats out on a swollen river that would have a lot of debris in it. Insane to see them pushing that bridge down the river and away from the bridges.

Gillard is a faker.

It was a joke but the problem was poor execution of the plan as opposed to not having a plan at all.

Are you for real. From someone who is amongst it all - I think the government and SES etc have all been magnificent and I'm usually the first to criticise the pollies as I can't stand most of them. These are two very different events. I haven't heard of cops stealing police cars, sniper fire, wide-scale looting etc. 1464 people lost their lives as a result of Katrina, the total in QLD is only 13 so far. Have a read of what happened in New Orleans following Katrina and then compare the two.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Effect_of_Hurricane_Katrina_on_New_Orleans

You moron, there was no plan and the recovery effort was a disgrace. It actually played a large part in the Democrats steamrolling the Republicans in 2008 US elections. The US government knew about the problem of Katrina weeks before it happened and did nothing. This comment just goes to show how little you understand about this world. Go back to Primary school and learn something useful, because you know nothing now.

As for the Brisbane plan, there were evaction centres dotted all over Brisbane, Ipswich, Toowoomba and other areas, which are manned, have food & water. They also help provide clothes and Centrelink will visit to provide help in making claims. Not bad for something that isn't planned?

Coledinho said:
Police, fire, EMS, army etc should all be deployed from other states to the area. Evacuations should of been occuring a LOOONG time before river banks gave away and the government should be preparing its cash now to help with the rebuild effort. Apart from media interviews I dont think the Queensland government has done any of this. All talk and no action tends to be the Australian way nowadays
So where do you take the Police & Fire people from? I take it you're willing to leave a state even further undermanned and at the mercy of criminals. Please put a sign out the front of your house that you want to be bashed and have all your possession taken. So who would take care of the flood victims in Northern NSW, Western Vic, Northern WA, the fires in Sourthern WA? What about the people still required around Rockhampton, Gympie and St George?
The army actually was deployed, check you facts. It's very difficult to mobilise a large number of emergency services people quickly.

The biggest problem with you comment is that a week ago Brisbane was not under threat of flooding, yes it was wet and the ground soaked, but rivers were a safe levels. Flash flooding, which is what caused so much damage to Toowoomba and caused the Bremer river to flood is impossible to predict and plan for.

Cash payments are being made but they really aren't much use until people can start cleaning up.

The Qld government has started cleaning up where possible, it will take years to rebuild everything and they must prioritise to essential services first, property later.
Coledinho said:
I feel very very sorry for the people in Queensland who have been let down once again by their government

I also fail to see your argument of very little being done about a natural disaster which took months to gather. Are you saying the more aware you are of the problem the harder it is to solve? Why are people driving themselves out of town. Get people on buses and accounted for. Its just plain common sense for one thing
So how to people get their possessions out.

You have not yet made one decent comment, so come back and talk about this when you turn 15.

You just made a whole lot of rubbish up, the question is why?

Turn the power off and fend for yourself? What are the evacuation centres? What about helicopters and boat patrolling flood areas looking for stranded residents? What about 24 hour tv and radio coverage telling people exactly what they must do?

What about the door knocking before the water came up in different suburbs?

What about air dropping of food up North?

Police are around the clock, all emergency services are. See Bligh's news conferences, see the guy in a military uniform standing behind her? They are already involved.

Naturally the state government can not demand help from other states but it is being provided where it can be. There are floods in other parts of the country as well and fires in WA.

No, you are probably a resolute political stooge and I hate it when people want to political pointscore in the midst of events like this.

This is the most Qld people have heard from Bligh ever. She is considered out of touch. It's at least a positive when a leader with an approval rating under 30% shows that they are actually in touch on some issues when they are most needed to be. Regardless of politics.

Didn't realise how much crap and debris that the water will leave behind.

Spent most of this morning going through the Breakfast Creek area. Fortunately for most that live in that area it wasn't as bad as many feared.

The area around Albion Park Raceway is full of sorts of toxic shit. Most of the flooding in that part is of small industry like mechanics and such. It absolutely stinks and looks like sludge more than water. Right through to Windsor this is a problem. There's a scrap yards along the rail line in Windsor that has a slicks covering the parks and bowls club that are flooded.

As the water was receding it is leaving an aftermath similar to an oil slick.

The storm water drains are drawing water from below the surface so all the surface gunk is being left on the surface. In some of these areas it's likely some of the drains will block leaving toxic ponds to clean up.

It's going to be one hell of a mess.

Oh, btw, upwards of 250 people have died in floods in Brazil. I wonder how long news reports will spend on this tonight.

Why must people get high and mighty about news coverage of every event. If it was purely about numbers, then we would be spending weeks of 24/7 coverage on Chinese earthquakes and the like, and dedicate half an hour to the Qld floods in comparison.

But it is NOT about that. It is about things that people can identify with. This is a Queensland story but also an Australian story just like the Victorian Bushfires. People visit these places, know people in these places and feel some sense of patriotism when fellow countrymen are suffering.

Either you think our FTA channels should be picking up links from Brazil around the clock or you think that the Qld Floods are getting too much coverage.

Every country in the world covers its own disasters and plights of its own countrymen more than those from other countries, unless it is something unfathomable.

Natural disasters by and large are fathomable and each region is most interested in those close to home. Do you think many people overseas are glued to their screens right now watching Qld flood updates?

It is probably just an anti-media agenda being run here, but the fact is Australian people are watching and people do want to know. Not too many are wishing it would go away so they could watch Oprah.

News & Events QLD Floods