News & Events QLD Floods

You just made a whole lot of rubbish up, the question is why?

Turn the power off and fend for yourself? What are the evacuation centres? What about helicopters and boat patrolling flood areas looking for stranded residents? What about 24 hour tv and radio coverage telling people exactly what they must do?

What about the door knocking before the water came up in different suburbs?

What about air dropping of food up North?

Police are around the clock, all emergency services are. See Bligh's news conferences, see the guy in a military uniform standing behind her? They are already involved.

Naturally the state government can not demand help from other states but it is being provided where it can be. There are floods in other parts of the country as well and fires in WA.

No, you are probably a resolute political stooge and I hate it when people want to political pointscore in the midst of events like this.

This is the most Qld people have heard from Bligh ever. She is considered out of touch. It's at least a positive when a leader with an approval rating under 30% shows that they are actually in touch on some issues when they are most needed to be. Regardless of politics.

For starters, anyone who says there was no plans in place for Katrina is just plain senile. Look at the evacuation process before and the first 3 days response. As we all know it went up to shit after that but very early on there response was actually existant as opposed to our responses to the past 2 natural disasters. Put our hands over our ears and hope it goes away.

A hurricane is now easier to predict than a 3 month long weather cycle producing massive amounts of rainfall? Now ive heard it all

I must have missed the thousands of buses, evacuation centres, tent communities built up in the past 2 days. This is essentially my main issue. Door knocking does nothing nor has it been proven that it occured in the most affected regions.

Onto this, do you believe everything you see on T.V. The military deployment is around 1200 people at this stage. More troops are overseas shooting shadows in Iraq than are in our homeland protecting our own. Sad isnt it. All in all its like throwing a bottle of water on a raging fire TBH. All emergency services are around the clock but the fact is ALL emergency services across the country should be on around the clock with the extras sent over to help out.

If a states a state and they should deal with their own problems than I think our political system is in alot of trouble.

My honest opinion on Anna Bligh is that shes putting on one hell of a media campaign and everyones falling for it hook line and sinker. It was a natural disaster yes but when you cant do something as simple as sandbagging (even do this in Bangladesh ffs) forgive me if im not gonna start asking questions.

Once bitten, twice shy as they say. When people learn the truth (not sure if they will) alot of finger pointing will be at Anna Bligh and the mayor of Brisbane whose idea of planning best resembles a game of Monopoly than anything practical

Good news is that no bodies have been found under the bridge at granthom(?) where they expected to find a few

From all reports, and pics Ive seen, that is nothing short of a miracle :thumbsu:

The damn Cane Toads are having an absolute field day here:mad: They have alot of their tad pole eggs all around my yard Theres definably gonna be a population boom with the toads. Good News here is the Green Tree frogs are also enjoying all of this also and are breeding like crazy.

My yard is a swamp :(

I must have missed the thousands of buses, evacuation centres, tent communities built up in the past 2 days. This is essentially my main issue. Door knocking does nothing nor has it been proven that it occured in the most affected regions.

Onto this, do you believe everything you see on T.V. The military deployment is around 1200 people at this stage. More troops are overseas shooting shadows in Iraq than are in our homeland protecting our own. Sad isnt it. All in all its like throwing a bottle of water on a raging fire TBH. All emergency services are around the clock but the fact is ALL emergency services across the country should be on around the clock with the extras sent over to help out.

If a states a state and they should deal with their own problems than I think our political system is in alot of trouble.

My honest opinion on Anna Bligh is that shes putting on one hell of a media campaign and everyones falling for it hook line and sinker. It was a natural disaster yes but when you cant do something as simple as sandbagging (even do this in Bangladesh ffs) forgive me if im not gonna start asking questions.

Once bitten, twice shy as they say. When people learn the truth (not sure if they will) alot of finger pointing will be at Anna Bligh and the mayor of Brisbane whose idea of planning best resembles a game of Monopoly than anything practical

Emergency services are mostly volunteer and exist to essentially serve local areas ... you cant just send all of them everywhere????? A lot are being sent from other states, anyway...I know SA/Vic have., also from NZ.

I'm not in Qld so can only comment on what was on media ... I saw defence aircraft inc helicopters being used, evacuation centres set up which included centrelink staff, people being rescused.

How do you sandbag for flash flooding that occurred in Toowoomba, Murphy's Creek, Grantham???

before i'm labelled an Anna Bligh/bris mayor fan ... there needs to be questioning over the building on low lying areas next to Brisbane river since 1974 and lack of extensive flood mitigation dams in other parts of qld.

Emergency services are mostly volunteer and exist to essentially serve local areas ... you cant just send all of them everywhere????? A lot are being sent from other states, anyway...I know SA/Vic have., also from NZ.

I'm not in Qld so can only comment on what was on media ... I saw defence aircraft inc helicopters being used, evacuation centres set up which included centrelink staff, people being rescused.

How do you sandbag for flash flooding that occurred in Toowoomba, Murphy's Creek, Grantham???

before i'm labelled an Anna Bligh/bris mayor fan ... there needs to be questioning over the building on low lying areas next to Brisbane river since 1974 and lack of extensive flood mitigation dams in other parts of qld.

Emergency services needs to be re-hauled especially if we are to carry sich a small army size.

You dont sandbag for floods like the one in Grantham. You get them the F out of there and Im talking about a precise and organised evacuation beyond a door knock appeal.

Ultimately the bolded part is one of my biggest issues of all. The town planning and lack of foresight has bit them on the ass big time and while Im being a tad harsh on the current administration they sure as hell need to step up and explain some of the decisions made by those before them

Emergency services needs to be re-hauled especially if we are to carry sich a small army size.

You dont sandbag for floods like the one in Grantham. You get them the F out of there and Im talking about a precise and organised evacuation beyond a door knock appeal.

Ultimately the bolded part is one of my biggest issues of all. The town planning and lack of foresight has bit them on the ass big time and while Im being a tad harsh on the current administration they sure as hell need to step up and explain some of the decisions made by those before them

yep ... agree with you here, for sure

The damn Cane Toads are having an absolute field day here:mad: They have alot of their tad pole eggs all around my yard Theres definably gonna be a population boom with the toads. Good News here is the Green Tree frogs are also enjoying all of this also and are breeding like crazy.

My yard is a swamp :(

Got 4 of them last night with my trusty "spray"..that's about an average per night and they're the ones that I can spot from the back door. And I don't care what anyone says that it is a cruel way to kill them but it's them or the dogs who have a tendency to want to eat them...and that could cause all sorts of trouble. The swines kill the frogs who are o.k. to have around.

My honest opinion on Anna Bligh is that shes putting on one hell of a media campaign and everyones falling for it hook line and sinker.

agreed .... i struggled with those "crocadile tears"

my sentiments exactly ... whoever thought that Wivenoe made Brisbane flood-proof should be made accountable .

Half that city has been build on re-claimed swampland and flood plains

... i'll throw this in to the mix

Indonesian Tsunami..Australia gives $1 billion in aid, Pakistan floods..Australia gives $66.5 million in aid. THE WORST floods in Australian history destroys homes, towns, life and businesses...Australian government donates a lazy $1 million.. pull your finger out of your ass Gillard start looking after your own, post this to try & make them wake the hell up!

I would , if in the position , help it physically in some way shape or form .No worries at all there . Help your neighbour out

.... But i am very dubious about handing cash over . Thats what our government and taxes are for

Sigh .... you do realise that the federal government is going to foot a multi billion dollar rebuilding bill over a long period of time don't you?

The million is from just one fundraiser that will probably deal with initial monies to people. They are also distributing extra funds through the Centrelink system.

The Government have already put in a lot more than $1m.

As for 'crocodile tears', it wouldn't have mattered how genuine it sounded, some people will knock it for political reasons or because they are terminally cynical.

I know several people who were not affected by the floods directly, but who has shed a tear just watching it unfold. I guess they are crocodile tears too, considering the Premier has been on the ground, informed about the details about every situation and seeing the hurt first hand, not to mention the great burden of stress and responsibility she has at a time like this.

Time for some people to actually develop a sense of empathy and understanding about what goes on around them, instead of sniping from their ivory towers.

Lol @ IDGAF, "I would help if in a position ...." but instead you're content to sit back and take potshots, weak:thumbsdown:
Even worse, your last line about being dubious about financial donations, you're what's wrong with Australia mate, apathy!
Oh and btw, I walked into a bank and deposited $100 into the flood relief fund yesterday & I do have relo's and friends up there that have been affected to differing degrees.
Just get off your arse and do something instead of assuming everything is some sort of X-File

in response to this bit of tripe...
Stupid Facebook People said:
Indonesian Tsunami..Australia gives $1 billion in aid, Pakistan floods..Australia gives $66.5 million in aid. THE WORST floods in Australian history destroys homes, towns, life and businesses...Australian government donates a lazy $1 million.. pull your finger out of your ass Gillard start looking after your own, post this to try & make them wake the hell up!

I give you this bit of gold from TLC

the tsunami killed 200,000 people, displaced 1.7 mill, pakistan was over 2000 dead and 1.9 mil homes destroyed and 4 mil people with food shortage.. Not to mention the disease that followed. We have world clas insurance, sanitation, monetary assistance and above the $1 mill including possible govt buy out of destroyed homes, over $40 mil in donations.... only 15 confirmed dead... maybe we should pull our head out of our arses

Facebook bishes are generally dumb as ****...

i also laugh at a majority of the keyboard heroes out there that think this is all the govt fault, when if you had an inkling of a brain it'd be clear to see it is far from...

Sigh .... you do realise that the federal government is going to foot a multi billion dollar rebuilding bill over a long period of time don't you?

All things "crown" yes ... should and hope it runs a lot deeper than that

The million is from just one fundraiser that will probably deal with initial monies to people. They are also distributing extra funds through the Centrelink system.

The Government have already put in a lot more than $1m.

K Rudd handed out "42 billion" so we could all have new plasmas ... whilst the reasoning was (arguably) sound . its effect is immeasureable ... what is appropriate in this inst?

As for 'crocodile tears', it wouldn't have mattered how genuine it sounded, some people will knock it for political reasons or because they are terminally cynical.

Broad picture ... Anna Bligh is dead in the water politically . View that footage again and tell me if you actually see a tear there . i happen to believe in another posters view that there is an element of deliberateness and oh so subtle manouvering , you'd be naive' to think that a politician would never behave in such a way . no one would ever admit it of course ... and the person who throws a dart will always be the villain . but anyone who understands human nature ...;)

Time for some people to actually develop a sense of empathy and understanding about what goes on around them, instead of sniping from their ivory towers.
This from a "carlton supporting mod"

Priceless

You take one comment of mine about Anna Bligh and all of a sudden you "percieve" to know everything about me and my views on the world .

Hilariously short-sighted .

As do i and my home and resources all all available to them .... there are two caravans on my front lawn as we speak

Yeah but you live in them.
Open your wallet Scrooge, karma is a horrible thing and your attitude is likely to come back and bite you when you don't need it.

Yeah but you live in them.
Open your wallet Scrooge, karma is a horrible thing and your attitude is likely to come back and bite you when you don't need it.

No ... reletives from QLD who are flooded out and have nowhere to go so we have a make shift city set up for them to stay as long as they need to .

My attitude is one of finding better and more practical ways to help ...

kudos to all those who donate maney . Not bagging you at all for doing so ... its just my view that our government should be dealing with those sides of things when you consider the amount of money we send off shore every year to help out struggling nations .

News & Events QLD Floods