Queensland Floods

Best wishes to all Queenslanders in this time of tragedy.
Stay safe.

Down here in Melbourne,it's raining hard too though not at the devastation up there.

Weather has been crazy lately.

90 plus humidity and rain and cloudy skies when it's usually 35 and low humidity.

Take care.

New Farm is mostly fine except for some of the low lying areas. Water is mainly around Merthyr Rd/James St but not too deep (just like the flood map for people interested). Moray St is fine as it's on high groun backing on the cliffs!

As I suggested a few days ago the riverwalk was trouble and for those who don't know a large chunk floated down the river early this morning.

The main worry (other than people without power) is that the Coles is flooded and IGA is shut. Hopefully other supermarkets in the inner city will be well stocked.

The cleanup is going to be immense and protracted.

The real challenge will be keeping volunteers committed for the long haul.

Everyone is engaged right now because it is all so fresh.

Good point Brown dog. I am in Rocky and have been flooded for weeks. Can't get to work, stocks of anything hard to come by, bugs and sandfly's in their millions.
It wears thin very quickly but you can't get complacent. The disease factor and stench from the rotting vegetation and trapped and deceased animals is going to last for weeks after the water subsides. It is tough and the reality is the hard yards are with us here for 5 weeks minimum and then the clean up and rebuilding of infrasture will last years.

I feel for my southern counterparts down in the south east thats for sure. Play it safe and simple, if in doubt - DON'T !! Be practical and sensible and remember that material things can be replaced, lives can't.

Queensland solidarity has never been stronger.

Hope you are all well and that most of you big footy posters haven't lost your friends or family members and are doing well.

It all remind's me of the New Orleans disaster but America seemed to do more then Australia has done where are the helicopters and rescue teams like they had? Or arent we seeing it on the T.V?

Probably need to pay closer attention.

Plenty of copters (public, private and military) involved in search and rescue.

As for rescue teams, they are everywhere. It's a fantastic coordinated effort.

another here who agrees that Anna Bligh has done an amazing job through this and there's no doubt her emotion is real. Huge kudos to all the emergency services people who are working incredibly hard and doing all they can and more.

That's good to hear thanks for the update Browndog have friends up there that I haven't spoke to in years hope there safe and sound.The family are all the Gold Coast so they didn't really get affected.Any of the players lose there house's or missing.Time Fevola checks out of rehab and does he job cleaning up QLD to earn his keep.

BTW if your local Woolies and Coles doesn't have stock of necessities, try your local IGA. My parents up in North Qld comment often that because IGAs often carry local stock they continue to have deliveries while the big boys have shut down or can't get through.

another here who agrees that Anna Bligh has done an amazing job through this and there's no doubt her emotion is real. Huge kudos to all the emergency services people who are working incredibly hard and doing all they can and more.

Agree about Bligh. She's probably secured herself another term from this.

Heard from John this morning. "All good" was the status report. :thumbsu:

Can add on a sad note only Johns utilities have been cut... but on a positive side this has not effected his ability to road test a new wine... :D

Power to the man! [and hopefully his local community/neighbourhood back on over the next couple of days]

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/floods-force-brisbane-lions-out/story-e6frf9jf-1225985720044

Also fortunate was former St Kilda midfielder Xavier Clarke, who was forced to evacuate his home on the home at Bulimba, near the Brisbane River, but the flood waters have spared his residence.

Lions chairman Angus Johnson was not so fortunate with his river-side Yeronga home inundated.

The Lions' Gabba officers are closed until further notice but the venue has been spared the worst of the flooding.

My relative's business on Margaret Street has miraculously had no water from reports. It went up the footpath and was right at the door, but a large development site close by that has excavated about 4-5 stories down for future car parking saved them - apparently water was cascading down into it but didn't completely fill it.

From my reading the difference between this flood and 74 was, besides Wivenhoe, that there was comparitively less rainfall in Metro Brisbane and Greater Ipswich which appears to have saved Brisbane from greater flood heights.

a mate of mine works in CBD - his employer rang him today, TELLING him he's on long service leave for 3 months - wasnt ASKED, was told.

he's fine with that considering, as the ground floor office has 2 ft of water in it and the smell is atrocious. he's gonna join a mate who runs a cleaning business and just earn a heap with a water gun cleaning houses for the next 3 months.

With what is happening to many of you guys, it really makes one realise that footy - in the overall scheme of things - is not that important..

I haven't read the previous pages through fear of seeing unwanted news, so I only hope all our fellow Lions are safe and well - houses and material goods can always be replaced. Thoughts are with you. Cheers, CC.

Thoughts are with you. Completed our donation effort of $9,250 this afternoon.

If anyone needs anything shipped to them from Melbourne, please don't hesitate. I will do what I can for all of you.

God bless.

Thoughts are with you. Completed our donation effort of $9,250 this afternoon.

If anyone needs anything shipped to them from Melbourne, please don't hesitate. I will do what I can for all of you.

God bless.

:thumbsu:

Queensland Floods