Review R22: Port v Adelaide review

Hope you don't mind an intruder's thoughts

First of all from a crows perspective a very nerve wrecking game, I am amazed that Port with that many outs managed to put up such Gusto, our kicking for goal certainly did us no favors. It must be incredibly hard for you fans when you can have a depleted side like tonight put out a show like that one night then look disinterested the next. In fact I would say the same thing happened during the 2nd quarter. Fitness? Leadership? Game plan? Coach?

What ever the case I think you will be back up the ladder next year, too good a side not to.

Ports best

R. Gray- amazing goal in the 3rd quarter, 27 touches - BOG for Port for mine
Closely followed by Wines who did some serious heavy lifting in the 3rd! Great around contests
Lobbe- I admit I do like to laugh at Matthew Lobbe but I thought despite some utter potato moments he dominated the center clearances.
S. Gray- goes under the radar against oppositions- looks the goods.
Boak- I'm really not a big Travis fan but he certainly had his moments. A workman like performance

Dishonorable mentions: Toumpas, O'Shea, Westhoff- I won't say no more.

Lastly- I would just like to thank Carlton for gifting us Betts, what a player! (Sorry couldn't resist at least one gloat).

Well played. Kudos.
Shut up flog.

Im sure the bleeding obvious has been mentioned already (horrendous skills, horrible gameplan, deplorable decision making) so 2 things that i thought i would raise...

Our kick ins: We appear to have 1 and only 1 plan. A dinky 45m kickout EVERY time. I know we're doing it, the opposition know we're doing it, it rarely results in a win for us and usually just ends up being pumped back in to our D50. Surely we can think and execute something elese?!?

DBJ: Possibly one for the unpopular opinion thread but in a team full of shocking kicks, he is the standout worst (which is some feat). I love his effort, his ball-handling below his knees is elite but if he does not clean up his kicking over Summer we cannot play him.

positives.
Palmer looks like a possible 3rd tall up forward. Looked dangerous in patches
Robbie and Wines were fantastic.
Boak played well in the second half.
Lobbe played well in patches and didn't disgrace himself.
Sam Gray was solid.
Impey had some nice moments. Loved the couple of times he took it on.
Clurey looked ok.
Darcy was ok
Young kicked some handy goals but would have been nice if he did more around the ground
Ebo fought the game out hard considering he copped a knock. Would have been nice if those marks stuck though.
Negatives.
Toump was shocking
Oshea was poor
Amon did some nice things in the last quarter but was hardly in the game all night
Pittard had a game like it was from his early days
Trengove was just average
Krak turned the ball over far too much for a bloke who's kicking should be his strength.
Schulz was too quiet didn't present enough at the ball. Maybe the game has passed him by
Neade like Amon wasn't in the game enough.
Polec was shit in the first half but improved in the second
Broadbent didn't play that well considering he is a senior player.
Westhoff should have taken more contested marks and kicked straighter

I'm so incredibly confused. Hartlett didnt even play tonight and he is copping flak??? o_O

Clurey impey and both grays were amazing. Wines showed glimpses off juddesque. Lobbe pretty good

We needed more composure and efficiency between the flanks. Bonner is a good kick but will he be the one? We'll se next round

Thought Tex was pretty ordinary again, so slow.. Suspect he will be one of those players who just fall off the face of the earth one year and never seen again

Very very very proud of those boys. Jarman haha. Come of age we'll see. Half a team. Held a rampant stinky shit enterprise full of duds down. **** the crows ****ing ****s. Jarman. DBC. Jaspey. Jacko the mad Jackson even Captain our Captain are now making me look forward to nect. Next. Nectar season.

Late in for Jess tha Jessie Palmer.

DBJ: Possibly one for the unpopular opinion thread but in a team full of shocking kicks, he is the standout worst (which is some feat). I love his effort, his ball-handling below his knees is elite but if he does not clean up his kicking over Summer we cannot play him.

Shirley, you can't be serious.

Of all the players that played tonight, you pick DBJ on his kicking?

#HumungousLollBall.

Plus Chad is a good looking bloke, Eddie has a head only a mother could love, he is one ugly campaigner. :eek:
He's got some competition in Lynch, Brown, Laird, Jacobs and Cheney though.

Yeah you're all ugly **** it, it's all I can be happy about at the moment.

DBJ is actually usually a very good kick. His last few weeks have shown a tired kid in his first almost full season of AFL level footy imo.

Misses targets but far out pal he's got some mates.....

Hope you don't mind an intruder's thoughts

First of all from a crows perspective a very nerve wrecking game, I am amazed that Port with that many outs managed to put up such Gusto, our kicking for goal certainly did us no favors. It must be incredibly hard for you fans when you can have a depleted side like tonight put out a show like that one night then look disinterested the next. In fact I would say the same thing happened during the 2nd quarter. Fitness? Leadership? Game plan? Coach?

What ever the case I think you will be back up the ladder next year, too good a side not to.

Ports best

R. Gray- amazing goal in the 3rd quarter, 27 touches - BOG for Port for mine
Closely followed by Wines who did some serious heavy lifting in the 3rd! Great around contests
Lobbe- I admit I do like to laugh at Matthew Lobbe but I thought despite some utter potato moments he dominated the center clearances.
S. Gray- goes under the radar against oppositions- looks the goods.
Boak- I'm really not a big Travis fan but he certainly had his moments. A workman like performance

Dishonorable mentions: Toumpas, O'Shea, Westhoff- I won't say no more.

Lastly- I would just like to thank Carlton for gifting us Betts, what a player! (Sorry couldn't resist at least one gloat).

Well played. Kudos.

Regarding dishonourable mentions, Douglas and McKay say hi.

As I've been saying for a while now we have some of the flakiest players going around.
Westhoff
Neade
Hartlett
Broadbent
Maybe O'Shea

There's a good start.

You can never EVER rely on these guys to deliver when the chips are down.

Should be moved on.

Yes I agree with you. I too have been saying it for awhile. I'm happy to retain Neade but those players need to go exactly

Shirley, you can't be serious.

Of all the players that played tonight, you pick DBJ on his kicking?

#HumungousLollBall.

Not just tonight. As i said he has ALOT to offer but unless he improves his kicking significantly over summer Im not sure we can play him. The amount of times we turn the ball over coming out of D50 is beyond a joke and he is a major culprit.

DBJ is actually usually a very good kick. His last few weeks have shown a tired kid in his first almost full season of AFL level footy imo.
Ditto the Krak.

Regarding dishonourable mentions, Douglas and McKay say hi.

Didn't think Douglas or McKay were awful. At any rate I was talking about port players, given I was on the port board.

Thought Jacobs was pretty ordinary tonight as was Jenkins for the first 3 quarters. Many of our players were maybe 20% below average I reckon including Talia, Sloane, B. Crouch and Tom Lynch. McGovern has good moments but he probably needs to find a little more ball, overall happy with his effort though (if he misses the goals thats another story).

Sheesh. Some people see one error from a player and then focus on it for the rest of the game.

No way was DBJ a 'culprit' tonight.
He made less skill errors in this game than Wines, Boak and Pittard.