Preview R6 - GC v Adelaide: Sat 7:40pm, AO

Also Dunstall played before zone defence, flooding and triple teaming. He was almost always one out with no one else anywhere near his contest. He would be lucky to kick 50 goals a year now.
I agree he would kick fewer goals in today's game, but I think it would be more in the 70 range. He was bloody good! In today's game the limited one-out opportunities would cheat him of a couple of goals a game, but he'd still manage 3 a game. He was just a natural at marking the ball on a lead. Part of it was the service he got from the midfield either putting it on his chest or out in front of him, but the main reason he was so prolific was that he could get himself to the fall of the ball so that even a bad pass would end up in his bread basket.
In the Dunstall VS Lockett debate I will always come down on Dunstall's side. Plugger was a one-man show, but Dunstall was a team man and if they'd have kept stats on goal assists you'd find that he unselfishly gave away potentially hundreds of shots at goal to put a team mate in a better position. You have to remember that Dunstall retired after a season averaging 4 goals a game and only 2 years after booting his last ton. At the time, he was only 16 goals behind Lockett, having been overtaken that year while injured.
Dunstall played for Coorparoo which was only 20 minutes drive from where I lived. Even as a teenager, the hype was huge in the pre-Bears days in the QAFL and my old man took me to see Dunstall and Coorparoo play plenty of times that year. Does anyone else remember the chant "Go home Boringside" Roos fans used to thunder during Morningside games?

The maths says we will win at some point against the Crows.
0 from 10 so far.
We would have started all those matches at a 20% chance or worse in a 2 horse race.
If we play them enough times, one of those long shots will come good. Has to.

...right? Surely. Right?

The maths says we will win at some point against the Crows.
0 from 10 so far.
We would have started all those matches at a 20% chance or worse in a 2 horse race.
If we play them enough times, one of those long shots will come good. Has to.

...right? Surely. Right?
Two things about the Crows are that they historically have had easy schedules and they generally win the games they are expected to win. They play 12 games a season at Adelaide Oval, win at least 10 and then just have to score a few wins away to finish high on the ladder. Stands to reason that with them dropping early on in the season, this one is up for grabs.

I agree he would kick fewer goals in today's game, but I think it would be more in the 70 range. He was bloody good! In today's game the limited one-out opportunities would cheat him of a couple of goals a game, but he'd still manage 3 a game. He was just a natural at marking the ball on a lead. Part of it was the service he got from the midfield either putting it on his chest or out in front of him, but the main reason he was so prolific was that he could get himself to the fall of the ball so that even a bad pass would end up in his bread basket.
In the Dunstall VS Lockett debate I will always come down on Dunstall's side. Plugger was a one-man show, but Dunstall was a team man and if they'd have kept stats on goal assists you'd find that he unselfishly gave away potentially hundreds of shots at goal to put a team mate in a better position. You have to remember that Dunstall retired after a season averaging 4 goals a game and only 2 years after booting his last ton. At the time, he was only 16 goals behind Lockett, having been overtaken that year while injured.
Dunstall played for Coorparoo which was only 20 minutes drive from where I lived. Even as a teenager, the hype was huge in the pre-Bears days in the QAFL and my old man took me to see Dunstall and Coorparoo play plenty of times that year. Does anyone else remember the chant "Go home Boringside" Roos fans used to thunder during Morningside games?

I was born in Coorparoo and went to C'roo Primary and then Cavendish Rd High but there wasn't a Rules team at the Primary School and at Cav Rd, I seem to remember a Rules team being started for the 1st time in my 1st year there. But I do remember going to Windsor Pk as an adult years later, and watched Dunstall destroy Mayne.

Such a shame that all those pioneering clubs just got bulldozed when the Bears came in, although I suppose a fair few just rebranded or merged. Gold Coast clubs did a hell of a lot better, especially after the Bears abandoned Carrara. Brisbane clubs like Mayne were going broke while Southport was winning trophies and building massive bank accounts. I played for Labrador Tigers in 1988 and find it astonishing that such a tiny club could have made it to the top of the QAFL, although I guess with Pokies and being in the middle of a rapid growth corridor you can do anything.

Any comments or insights nutstar?
Nothing of major note. Risca is the traveling emergency, so trained of course. Roughly 40 fans turned out. Training lasted about an hour. Pretty much all the players hung around and signed stuff, took photos etc. Got plenty of signatures on my son's Guernsey, only a couple of photos, my little man was in awe of Witts received_10209472705854573.jpeg

I think we're in with a real chance today. Not a very large chance, but a real one.

This is a weak Adelaide side, and if they're as apathetic as they were against collingwood or Richmond in september, then we can take home the win.

That being said, I think they'll come mentally prepared, but we will keep it close regardless.

Good morning BF Board-today is free swing day in Adelaide. Let’s see the young men play manic pressure down there and just see what it brings us.
Come on Weller prove Bods and Me wrong and kick a few goal .

I'll throw a couple of bog predictions up.
1. Game still in the balance during the 4th quarter.
2. Lynch to kick 3+
3. Weller to have a big impact. Finishing top 3 on the ground.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

He is not special but don't you reckon is time for him to start playing to reasonable level .

Yeah I’d like him to be one of our best 5 players consistently
That’s what he’s been brought here to be given what we paid
In the Suns Board Medal tonight it’d be good for him to get points in nearly everyone’s top 5

He is not special but don't you reckon is time for him to start playing to reasonable level .

C'mon mate, give it a break. Sure, he's not setting the world on fire, but if he wasn't playing to a reasonable level, then your comment suggests you are condemning Stewie and the Management Committee for playing him.
I'll side with the MC on this and suggest he is playing to their reasonable level.....

And as far as being in the top 5 as Mr Bods suggests, I don't care if he's in the top 15 as long as he plays his role and gets our team the win...

C'mon mate, give it a break. Sure, he's not setting the world on fire, but if he wasn't playing to a reasonable level, then your comment suggests you are condemning Stewie and the Management Committee for playing him.
I'll side with the MC on this and suggest he is playing to their reasonable level.....

And as far as being in the top 5 as Mr Bods suggests, I don't care if he's in the top 15 as long as he plays his role and gets our team the win...

He’s allowed an opinion isn’t he??? I’m a fan of Lemmens and he cops heaps around here but I’m ok with people thinking otherwise.

I’m referring to the opening part of your post where you said “give it a break”. Surely you realise that’s what I was on about.

Actually I didn't but I see your point. I was actually referring to "playing to a reasonable level". That suggests to me that the MC was wrong in selecting him cause he wasn't playing to a reasonable level. I was backing the MC....maybe I could have worded it better but unfortunately I don't have the skills of 17er

Preview R6 - GC v Adelaide: Sat 7:40pm, AO