Preview R8: Changes v Geelong

It's not about VB, it's about your preoccupation with these highly specialised roles that only the incumbents can perform. It's odd, and not in a good way.
You're the one who keeps trying to bring VB into the conversation. You're the one with the VB obsession. More to the point, you're the one with an obsession about my supposed opinions on VB. It's perverted.

And I'm not saying that nobody else can perform these roles. It's just that the players coming in can't... and when it comes to the inside role which Mackay was playing, I don't see any other options within the existing team either. We're already at critical mass when it comes to the clearances. Losing another clearance player, without replacement, is going to tip us over the edge.

Milera isn't going to replace Mackay in the middle tonight, my money would be on the time being split between Betts and Cameron. Milera will play forward only, same as he did before getting injured.
Nope have to pick you up there. Milera split time between wing and half forward, not exclusively forward

DMack is averaging 2 clearances a game and 5 contested possessions a game and wait for it has achieved a massive 3 centre clearances this year.

We are going to lose nothing by having Milera replace DMack because DMack has the body of a Milera.
Mackay has a weaker core/upper leg strength.

I agree that, if Milera is brought in to play Mackay's role, we're a bit weaker on the inside. Mackay, for all his flaws, has done a somewhat acceptable job on the inside this year. That's not Milera's game at all.

You say it's not Milera's game playing inside, and fair enough. But the biggest thing for me is its not Mackays ideal position either, so why are we using him there?

I know he's injured and not in great form, but theoretically would we not be better using a genuine inside/outside tough nut like Riley Knight in his position? It makes little sense to he using Mackay where we have been of late...

Hampton needs to hurry the **** up and get fit.

You say it's not Milera's game playing inside, and fair enough. But the biggest thing for me is its not Mackays ideal position either, so why are we using him there?

I know he's injured and not in great form, but theoretically would we not be better using a genuine inside/outside tough nut like Riley Knight in his position? It makes little sense to he using Mackay where we have been of late...

Hampton needs to hurry the **** up and get fit.

Mackay is in the same boat VB was in a couple of seasons ago. He does enough good things that the club feels inclined to pick him, but the area he plays best in is already filled with better players, so they've moved him to a deficient area that he's not ideal for. He doesn't do it that well but we need someone, and the hope is that his other positive traits get a chance to show up a few times throughout the match as well.

Personally, I'd rather we just decide which of Lyons/CEY/Knight/Grigg/Gore we like the best in that role and back them in. That said, Mackay did play some good games earlier this season so I can see why they gave him an extended run. But now I'd like to see him be made to earn his spot back, and in the meantime someone else should be given the chance to establish it as theirs.

Mackay is in the same boat VB was in a couple of seasons ago. He does enough good things that the club feels inclined to pick him, but the area he plays best in is already filled with better players, so they've moved him to a deficient area that he's not ideal for. He doesn't do it that well but we need someone, and the hope is that his other positive traits get a chance to show up a few times throughout the match as well.

Personally, I'd rather we just decide which of Lyons/CEY/Knight/Grigg/Gore we like the best in that role and back them in. That said, Mackay did play some good games earlier this season so I can see why they gave him an extended run. But now I'd like to see him be made to earn his spot back, and in the meantime someone else should be given the chance to establish it as theirs.

Id love to see the club try Grigg in this role, maybe even blood Wigg in his role too, there's really no harm in doing so.

Gore is a possibility too, but I still think he needs some work imo.

Like I said either knight or Hampton would be ideal candidates for the same role and excel over Mackay in almost every area. Shame they're not up to it ATS.

Lyons is the one for me, but given that they seem to have lost faith in him again, I'd like to see CEY given another run.

He never carved it up at SANFL level and yet did fine in the AFL last year. Deserves another chance and adds an extra dimension to what is sadly a very one-dimensional engine room.

Lyons is the one for me, but given that they seem to have lost faith in him again, I'd like to see CEY given another run.

He never carved it up at SANFL level and yet did fine in the AFL last year. Deserves another chance and adds an extra dimension to what is sadly a very one-dimensional engine room.
He's been playing pretty good SANFL footy last few weeks

Actually reckon Charlie Cameron is a chance to attend a few centre stoppages tonight
Same here and I told a mate today that's who I would put in there. He's quick, hungry and will keep applying the pressure on the Cats midfielders in the middle and around the ground. I think he would be a sensation in the middle.

I don't think there's anything to suggest that the selectors have lost faith in Lyons. He made way for a player who is our best midfielder by a fair margin when fit. I'd expect that Lyons is still next mid in for an injury or even to replace Dougie if he doesn't show something resembling good form tonight. His time wasnt managed on Sunday for no reason, he's still close when a spot opens up in the midfield.

You are talking about Jacobs vs Stanley, Or should we be looking at Jacob/Jenklins vs Stanley /Smith.
If we are talking Marks if you class Jacobs as bad then Stanley who play half the game in the forward line is not much better, Jacobs 2.9 to Stanley 3.2 He get 1 more mark every 3 games.
If we are talking ground ball then Stanley needs to lift his game as Jacobs get double the ground ball, disp = 15.7 vs 9.3
Or are we talking Taps then again Jacobs is doubling the taps 33.7 vs 16.8
Now if it horses for courses, Can add Bilcavs to the Geelong list of rucks but then I would have to Add the Crow 3rd best tap winner in Sloane. don't need to go there do we.
Jacobs/Jenkins vs Stanley/Smith
Marks 8 vs 5.3
Dis 27.3 vs 20.6
Taps 38.1 vs 31.2
Goals 3.6 vs 1.5

See how pointless your historical stats were mate? If you knew anything about football you would be able to recognise that Jacobs is no where near the new calibre of athletic ruckman. People who cant recognise these sorts of things tend to rely on statistics to back their argument. Jacobs again was horrible.

I don't think that they lost faith in Lyons. Basically admitted that he should have stayed in. Will be back this week imo

Preview R8: Changes v Geelong