Random NON FOOTY thoughts not worthy of a thread: Edition II

I spent 6 months living in Africa in my 20's and worked for the Red Cross.
I saw millions. No exaggeration of unloved kids, abandoned kids, abused kids, r*ped kids, shall I go on?
And you're saying that these kids wouldn't give the world to be loved and cared for by 2 people in a loving union. Ffs
Just have a 5 minute chat to any organisation that deals with similar issues with Aussie kids.
I think your views are very short sighted.
No mate you mis read.
A married man/woman should be priority ahead of SSC.
If there's an over supply of children needing to be adopted go for it, the more these children are helped into safe environment the better

On EVA-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app

No mate you mis read.
A married man/woman should be priority ahead of SSC.
If there's an over supply of children needing to be adopted go for it, the more these children are helped into safe environment the better

Why?

Clarify your point.

Why?

Clarify your point.
My point earlier was that a mother/father family unit was in the child's best interest and most conducive for the development of that child over any other family unit, F/F, M/M, T/M, T/T and should take precedents and priority over LGT family units when it comes to adoption.

He's thrown in the millions of orphans around the world argument.
Yes those orphans deserve a family whether they are SS or not.
My point is, MF families should
Be considered a priority ahead of those other family units.

My point earlier was that a mother/father family unit was in the child's best interest and most conducive for the development of that child over any other family unit, F/F, M/M, T/M, T/T and should take precedents and priority over LGT family units when it comes to adoption.

what are you basing this opinion on?

I could but I've done my time at uni.
Lots of books online re: raising children.

A quick look at some research shows findings both ways. I'd be interested to know how much of the bigatry and hatred directed and same sex couples influences the up bringing of children. If we, as a society are able to treat same sex relationships equally, I would suggest that there would be little difference in results. Unfortunately this seems to be a point lost on a lot of people from the no side. You don't seem to understand the hurt you cause by treating people differently.

My own personal experience of coaching kids from same sex family units and friends of my children with same sex parents, is that there is very little difference in behavior. Parental love, guidance and support seems to be a more important factor.

It isn't, and that's been thoroughly researched.

But it's also a moot point - same sex couples and individuals are over-represented in fostering vulnerable kids, where the actual need is in Australia right now. Agencies target market to the LGBTQI community because that's where they get people ready to step up. Good example on Australian Story last week.

The argument to favour married straight couples reminds me of when women had to give up a job if a married man wanted it. Take the scraps we don't want, but if we decide we do want it, we deserve it more than you.

The ideal family is loving, nurturing, stable and supportive. That's all there is.

As angry as I often get at this club (especially during this terrible year) I'm always reminded of (one of the many reasons) why I adore the NMFC when I see things like us as an organization vocally supporting same sex marriage - or, going back to 2015, welcoming refugees on our banner. Having a social conscious is so important. It also makes me so happy to be part of this community when I read posters like kangaspurs and ferball - I don't know how to tag you guys but it's such a nice, refreshing change to read actual compassionate and intelligent opinions on social media (if you can call bigfooty that).

This is like a Mensa meeting compared to Facebook or twitter.

aflhouseyesnat-600x400.jpg

That's a strange table though. Where the hell are the rest of countries?

Seems more like an attempt to handpick where possible to paint a favourable picture to me, which to me is unnecessary.

ps: and I'm 'yes', the more progressive countries are no doubt heading down that track.

Worst part, it says England when it means all the countries in the U.K. - principle is reasonable, though. Countries most like Australia have this equality and no-one cares. We aren't voting about marriage equality because that's a widespread thing and the world keeps turning just the same - we are only other voting to see if Australia wants to keep up.

Melbourne Victory gonna learn what happens when you have a rubbish off season in recruitment.

Por que?

Rhys Williams (Socceroo class when fully fit)
Thomas Deng (returned from Holland)
Mark Milligan (returning)
Matías Sanchez
Kosta Barbarouses
James Troisi (returning)
Leroy George (check his highlights)

...........with Marco Rojas the only loss of any significance. This is a MUCH better squad than last year's runner up squad.

Por que?

Rhys Williams (Socceroo class when fully fit)
Thomas Deng (returned from Holland)
Mark Milligan (returning)
Matías Sanchez
Kosta Barbarouses
James Troisi (returning)
Leroy George (check his highlights)

...........with Marco Rojas the only loss of any significance. This is a MUCH better squad than last year's runner up squad.
I forgot about Deng. Barbarouses is meh.

So... with recruiting like this it just makes today that much worse.

I forgot about Deng. Barbarouses is meh.

So... with recruiting like this it just makes today that much worse.

Barbarouses was meh at Wellington, who played a completely unsuitable system for what he brings. He'll slot back in fine at MVFC.

The difference between last year's squad and this year's is enormous. Sanchez and George are yet to play, let alone at the same time, and there's still an import spot open. Milligan and Williams are both leaders and will make a huge difference.

The biggest issue is games aligning with international fixtures. Bloody FFA flogs!