Rate / Rank The Leagues - Yes its the unwinnable argument!

Originally posted by timelord
Umm, when I last looked - Gisborne won the 2002 flag, and are in the grand final again in 2003.

Duds, on top of the BFL ladder? So what does that make the rest of the comp - super duds? Give me a break!

yeah ... bunch of overachievers :D

Originally posted by timelord
Umm, when I last looked - Gisborne won the 2002 flag, and are in the grand final again in 2003.

Duds, on top of the BFL ladder? So what does that make the rest of the comp - super duds? Give me a break!
In the part of the World where i live,Gisborne is known as Shyteville and is the Enemy.I hate the place,the football team is a bunch of CROCKS,DUDS and LOSERS of the 1st order.

Originally posted by Bombers 2003
In the part of the World where i live,Gisborne is known as Shyteville and is the Enemy.I hate the place,the football team is a bunch of CROCKS,DUDS and LOSERS of the 1st order.

Sunbury Boy Bombers???? good to se the Gisborne hate is firing in the belly, Gisborne are a good side though as much as i hate to say it.
I personally always saved my anger for the Melton sides, i hate them scum they are a different breed over there.
On Lupson he is no way known the best footballer produced from sunbury and wouldnt be in Sunbury best 10 at the moment. In his day he was a gun but not quite at the moment, guys like Mark Power, Justin Lewis and Darryl Griffin are on another level.

Bombers if Sunbury were to play Gisborne at the moment who do you think would win??? would be a great game.

cheers

I've known Dean Lupson half his life.I realise he has a quick temper.
But
You have to admit he's the best Footballer Sunbury produced.

Are you forgetting the bloke that wears Number 1 for your AFL team Bombers?

Originally posted by tige19
Sunbury Boy Bombers???? good to se the Gisborne hate is firing in the belly, Gisborne are a good side though as much as i hate to say it.
I personally always saved my anger for the Melton sides, i hate them scum they are a different breed over there.
On Lupson he is no way known the best footballer produced from sunbury and wouldnt be in Sunbury best 10 at the moment. In his day he was a gun but not quite at the moment, guys like Mark Power, Justin Lewis and Darryl Griffin are on another level.

Bombers if Sunbury were to play Gisborne at the moment who do you think would win??? would be a great game.

cheers
Tige19.
1-How did u guess where i live?,do u live around the area?.
2-I used to dislike Melton,especially Hughie Carey[now that's a long time ago,i saw a few games when i was home from OS,my parents used to live in Riddell's Creek].
3-I dont go to local games much,so havnt seen the blokes u mention play often.But Matty Power wasnt a bad Footballer at Sunbury.Is "Chook" Fedoruk still playing?,must be getting a bit Long in the Tooth.
4-Yeah.i'll give u it be a great game.Perhaps a -----------Draw?.

I've known Dean Lupson half his life.I realise he has a quick temper.
But
You have to admit he's the best Footballer Sunbury produced.

What about Schwartz, Johnson both good Sunbury Lions Junior players

Tige19.
1-How did u guess where i live?,do u live around the area?.
2-I used to dislike Melton,especially Hughie Carey[now that's a long time ago,i saw a few games when i was home from OS,my parents used to live in Riddell's Creek].
3-I dont go to local games much,so havnt seen the blokes u mention play often.But Matty Power wasnt a bad Footballer at Sunbury.Is "Chook" Fedoruk still playing?,must be getting a bit Long in the Tooth.
4-Yeah.i'll give u it be a great game.Perhaps a -----------Draw?.

Yeah took a swipe you were from Sunbury as most guys involved around the footy club really dislike Gisborne as you do.
I actually used to play at Sunbury before shifting this year so yes im from the area and still live in Sunbury.
Chook is now assistant coach and still punching up opposition players and supporters alike lol.
Matty Power is no longer playing at Sunbury, the last i hear was he was Assistant at the money driven Darley, his brother is better than he will be Mark and he is i would think Sunburys best player.
Kyneton are nothing special at all, although they have had a descent season this year, i remeber a praccy game againts Sunbury earlier this year, Sunbury fielded the 2s side and went down by 3 odd goals :eek: .
I think Sunbury would still beat Gisborne, the Boys from Gissy seem to be fearfull of Sunbury they have always been scared to beat them.

cheers

Originally posted by tige19
Yeah took a swipe you were from Sunbury as most guys involved around the footy club really dislike Gisborne as you do.
I actually used to play at Sunbury before shifting this year so yes im from the area and still live in Sunbury.
Chook is now assistant coach and still punching up opposition players and supporters alike lol.
Matty Power is no longer playing at Sunbury, the last i hear was he was Assistant at the money driven Darley, his brother is better than he will be Mark and he is i would think Sunburys best player.
Kyneton are nothing special at all, although they have had a descent season this year, i remeber a praccy game againts Sunbury earlier this year, Sunbury fielded the 2s side and went down by 3 odd goals :eek: .
I think Sunbury would still beat Gisborne, the Boys from Gissy seem to be fearfull of Sunbury they have always been scared to beat them.

cheers
Good to see Chook hasnt changed in anyway.And Sunbury's hate of Gisborne is even worse that of Carlton for Collingwood as it's a little older.

Ok I will not rest until I get something happening here :)

Firstly I won't edit much of what I've copied. Hopefully some will be out of place and/or argument-starters, which will at leats get yers involved ;)

Firstly, there's hot competition between the SANFL and the VFL for 2nd-best league. My quest is not about ordering every single one, more than one league can share a ranking level. So :

1. AFL
2. SANFL, VFL
3. WAFL

But now it gets tricky. Three contributions all listed three different leagues for the next spot!

Those were :
Southern FL (Tasmania)
AFLQ
AFLNT

These same 3 leagues got the following rankings :
Southern FL (Tas) - 5th, {not rated, lowest given was 8th}, 6th.
AFLQ - 11th, 5th, 13th.
AFLNT - 10th, 8th, 5th.

Lowest score would be closest to a consensus, I'd say.

Southern FL (Tas) - 5+9+6 = 20
AFLQ - 11+5+13 = 29
AFLNT - 10+8+5 = 23

Therefore the 4th spot should go to the Southern FL?

What do yers think?

Here's some more thrown in for good measure :

20 (rnk pts) Southern FL (Tas)
23 DVFL
23 EDFL (Melb)
26 VAFA A Grade
29 Northern Tas
31 ACTAFL
32 Ovens & Murray
34 Goulburn Valley
37 MPNFL
38 Southern FL (Vic)
38 Sydney FL
40 Western Region FL (Vic)

I just found another thread, search struggled to find a thread entitled "rank you legues" but hehe ...

I ended up with the following :

Tier 1 : AFL
Tier 2 : SANFL, VFL, WAFL
Tier 3 : Eastern FL (Vic), Diamond Valley FL, VAFA A Grade.
Tier 4 : Ovens & Murray, SAAFL Div 1.
Tier 5 : Goulburn Valley, Northern Territory FL, ACTAFL, Essendon DFL.
Tier 6 : Northern Tasmanian FL, AFLQ, Geelong FL, VAFA B Grade.
Tier 7 : Riverina FL, Ballarat FL, Bendigo FL, West Gippsland-La Trobe FL, Central Murray FL, Hampden FL, MPNFL, Southern FL (Tas).
Tier 8 : Sydney FL, Sunraysia FL, Murray FL, Wimmera FL, North-Central FL.
Tier 9. Central Highlands FL, Horsham DFL, Warrnambool DFL, Southern FL (SA), Tallangatta DFL, ALberton FL, Ellinbank FL, Mid-Gippsland FL.
Tier 10. Maryborough-Castlemaine DFL, Southern FL (Vic), Mallee FL, Colac DFL, Heathcote DFL, Ovens & King FL, North Gippsland FL, East Gippsland FL.
Tier 11. Lexton Plains FL, Mininera DFL, Loddon Valley FL, Riviera FL.
Tier 12. Millewa FL, Omeo & DFL, Upper Murray FL.

Ok here's where it was left, any more ideas? Got your own to add in :

Tier 1 : AFL
Tier 2 : SANFL, VFL, WAFL
Tier 3 : Eastern FL (Vic), Diamond Valley FL, VAFA A Grade.
Tier 4 : Ovens & Murray, SAAFL Div 1, VAFA B Grade.
Tier 5 : Goulburn Valley, Northern Territory FL, ACTAFL, Essendon DFL.
Tier 6 : Northern Tasmanian FL, AFLQ, Geelong FL.
Tier 7 : Riverina FL, Ballarat FL, Bendigo FL, West Gippsland-La Trobe FL, Central Murray FL, Hampden FL, MPNFL, Southern FL (Tas).
Tier 8 : Sydney FL, Sunraysia FL, Murray FL, Wimmera FL, North-Central FL.
Tier 9. Central Highlands FL, Horsham DFL, Warrnambool DFL, Southern FL (SA), Tallangatta DFL, ALberton FL, Ellinbank FL, Mid-Gippsland FL.
Tier 10. Maryborough-Castlemaine DFL, Southern FL (Vic), Mallee FL, Colac DFL, Heathcote DFL, Ovens & King FL, North Gippsland FL, East Gippsland FL.
Tier 11. Lexton Plains FL, Mininera DFL, Loddon Valley FL, Riviera FL.
Tier 12. Millewa FL, Omeo & DFL, Upper Murray FL.

What the hell is the Darwin Amateur FL? Never heard of them!

Killer, please explain! Your two submissions end up sortah like this when combined :

Country Cup (A/S), Darwin AFL
Central AFL
Katherine DFL, Tiwi Island FL
Gove
Barkly AFL
Maningrida

Here we go :

1 AFL
2 SANFL VFL WAFL
3 Eastern FL (Vic) VAFA A Grade Diamond Valley FL
4 Ovens & Murray VAFA B Grade SAAFL Div 1
5 Goulburn Valley Essendon DFL ACTAFL Northern Territory FL
6 Northern Tasmanian FL Geelong FL AFLQ Southern FL (SA)
7 Riverina FL Southern FL (Tas) MPNFL Hampden FL Central Murray FL Bendigo FL West Gippsland-La Trobe FL Ballarat FL Great Southern FL (SA) Central Aust CC (NT) Darwin Am FL (?)
8 Sydney FL Western DFL Div 1 (Vic) North Central FL (Vic) Wimmera FL Murray FL Sunraysia FL Barossa Light Gawler FL Central AFL (NT)
9 Central Highlands FL Mid Gippsland FL Ellinbank DFL Alberton FL Tallangatta DFL Warrnambool DFL Southern FL (SA) Horsham DFL Tiwi Islands FL Katherine DFL Riverland FL Hills FL
10 Maryborough-Castlemaine DFL East Gippsland FL North Gippsland FL Ovens & King FL Heathcote DFL Colac DFL Mallee FL (Vic) Southern FL (Vic) Gove FL
11 Lexton Plains FL Riviera FL Loddon Valley FL Mininera DFL Mallee FL (SA) Northern Plains FL Adelaide Plains FL Barkly AFL
12 Millewa FL Upper Murray FL Omeo & DFL Maningrida FL Woomera DFL

Cool Muesli!

Now, would you consider the Riddell to be more on a par with :

Tier 10 :
Colac DFL
East Gippsland FL
Gove FL
Heathcote DFL
Mallee FL (Vic)
Maryborough-Castlemaine DFL
North Gippsland FL
Ovens & King FL
VAFA D3

or with

Tier 11 :
Adelaide Plains FL
Barkly AFL
Golden Rivers FL
Lexton Plains FL
Loddon Valley FL
Mallee FL (SA)
Mininera DFL
Northern Plains FL
Riviera FL
VAFA D4

?

Btw here's my full list atm :

Tier 1 :
AFL

Tier 2 :
SANFL
VFL
WAFL

Tier 3 :
Diamond Valley FL
Eastern FL (Vic)
VAFA A Grade

Tier 4 :
Ovens & Murray
SAAFL Div 1
VAFA B Grade

Tier 5 :
ACTAFL
Essendon DFL
Goulburn Valley
Northern Territory FL
SAAFL Div 2
VAFA C Grade

Tier 6:
AFLQ
Geelong FL
Northern Tasmanian FL
Southern FL (Tas)

Tier 7 :
Ballarat FL
Bendigo FL
Central Aust CC (NT)
Central Murray FL
Darwin Am FL (?)
Great Southern FL (SA)
Hampden FL
MPNFL
Riverina FL
SAAFL Div 3
VAFA D Grade
West Gippsland-La Trobe FL
Western Border FL

Tier 8 :
Barossa Light Gawler FL
Central AFL (NT)
Murray FL
North Central FL (Vic)
Southern FL (SA)
Sunraysia FL
Sydney FL
VAFA D1
Western DFL Div 1 (Vic)
Wimmera FL

Tier 9 :
Alberton FL
Central Highlands FL
Ellinbank DFL
Hills FL
Horsham DFL
Katherine DFL
Mid Gippsland FL
Riverland FL
Southern FL (Vic)
Tallangatta DFL
Tiwi Islands FL
VAFA D2
Warrnambool DFL

Tier 10 :
Colac DFL
East Gippsland FL
Gove FL
Heathcote DFL
Mallee FL (Vic)
North Gippsland FL
Ovens & King FL
VAFA D3

Tier 11 :
Adelaide Plains FL
Barkly AFL
Golden Rivers FL
Lexton Plains FL
Loddon Valley FL
Mallee FL (SA)
Mininera DFL
Northern Plains FL
Riviera FL
VAFA D4

Tier 12 :
Maningrida FL
Millewa FL
Omeo & DFL
Upper Murray FL
VAFA Club XVIII
Woomera DFL

I would just like to add my honest opinion about the football and players in the Northern Territory.

First of all the standard of competition in the NT has dropped dramatically over a number of years now. However there are a number of reasons that have contributed to this factor.

Players drafted to AFL
A large No play in other leagues around the country (SANFL/WAFL/Vic Country)
Also i believe that the new AFLNT bored members have a lot to answer for as they are slowly losing long time supporters of the game. They need to listen to the supporters as without them there is no competition.

Dreamkiller if you think im being unfair then thats your opinion, however i was sitting with Matty Whelan the other week at footy and he couldnt believe the poor standard of competition, if your fit and have half a football brain then you can play A-grade.

As for NT players in the AFL, yes the NT doesnt have a large amount of players but for our population we have the highest ratio of players on AFL lists, well i remember reading this somewhere anyway.

I think that there are at least 5-10 kids that have the potential to be drafted every year that dont even get mentioned because Talent Scouts dont spend enough time up here. The fly in 1 week and out the next.

The AFLNT has the potential to be a great competition but to do that they need to look at getting SANFL/WAFL and other players back every season. They need to give them an incentive to play in the local comp and maybe that has to be organised with the AFL and AFL clubs as the only reason players leave is to play in a comp where they will be recognised.

One last thing i wanna add is watch out for Richard Tambling next year and for the people in SA, watch for Ryan Ayres who could be a great addition to Westies if he can get over his long run with injuries.

AFL

VFL

SANFL..................... then comes daylight

WAFL

ACT-AFL

VAFA (A)

O&M

NTFL/QAFL

SAAFL

And who really cares about the rest
:D

Mobbs surely you wouldnt have Essendon comp ahead of O&M and the Bendigo and Ballarat comp??? most country comps well the Div 1 country comps would flog 90% of the Metro leagues.

cheers

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
I dunno, I'm pretty happy with tentatively offering O&M as better than EDFL but EDFL probably better than Ballarat & Bendigo leagues. What do others think?
I think the O&M is still ahead of the EDFL but not the Ballarat and Bendigo leagues. We have a couple of guys training form the Ballarat comp and they say its not as good.

Mobbs just a quick glance at your tier rankings and I reckon you have the VAFA B grade and C grade rated far to high. the top teams in the GVFL, GFL, EDFL, and even BFL would beat the top teams in those comps

Also the Ballarat and Bendigo comps are a little to low. They'd still make mince meat out of the Hampden Footy league and VAFA D grade sides.

Mine:

1: Eastern

2: Diamond Valley, O&M, VAFA (A)

3: Goulburn Valley, Essendon, Geelong

4. Ballarat, Bendigo, VAFA (B)

5. WDFL, VAFA (C)

6. Riddell

Can't include others coz I haven't seen enough games or finals.

Ok, try this instead, then :

AFL

SANFL
VFL
WAFL

Diamond Valley FL
Eastern FL (Vic)
VAFA A Grade

Ovens & Murray
SAAFL Div 1

ACTAFL
Essendon DFL
Goulburn Valley
Northern Territory FL
SAAFL Div 2
VAFA B Grade

AFLQ
Ballarat FL
Bendigo FL
Geelong FL
Northern Tasmanian FL
Southern FL (Tas)
VAFA C Grade

Central Aust CC (NT)
Central Murray FL
Darwin Am FL (?)
Great Southern FL (SA)
Hampden FL
MPNFL
Riverina FL
SAAFL Div 3
VAFA D Grade
West Gippsland-La Trobe FL
Western Border FL

Barossa Light Gawler FL
Central AFL (NT)
Murray FL
North Central FL (Vic)
Southern FL (SA)
Sunraysia FL
Sydney FL
VAFA D1
Western DFL Div 1 (Vic)
Wimmera FL

Alberton FL
Central Highlands FL
Ellinbank DFL
Hills FL
Horsham DFL
Katherine DFL
Mid Gippsland FL
Riverland FL
Southern FL (Vic)
Tallangatta DFL
Tiwi Islands FL
VAFA D2
Warrnambool DFL

Colac DFL
East Gippsland FL
Gove FL
Heathcote DFL
Mallee FL (Vic)
North Gippsland FL
Ovens & King FL
VAFA D3

Adelaide Plains FL
Barkly AFL
Golden Rivers FL
Lexton Plains FL
Loddon Valley FL
Mallee FL (SA)
Mininera DFL
Northern Plains FL
Riviera FL
VAFA D4

Maningrida FL
Millewa FL
Omeo & DFL
Upper Murray FL
VAFA Club XVIII
Woomera DFL

The Ovens & Murray league is definitely a cut above the Melbourne Metro leagues and should be classified in a Tier above them, and along side the NT League

For mine:

AFL
SANFL
VFL/WAFL
O&M/NTFL

Tassie Leagues/EDFL/Diamond Valley/VAFA

Then the rest

Rate / Rank The Leagues - Yes its the unwinnable argument!