Ray wants home

Originally posted by STARSHIPTROOPER
Recruiting footballers is not my chosen profession. If I missed the oppotunities that Clayton had in my work I would be on the dole.

Nevertheless I would not pick home sick interstate kids in front of a Vic kid with ostensibly less talent. I would also have not traded our No 6 pick for short term fixes. Melbourne are doing a better job of identifying talent with higher selections with a no name recruiter. Clayton is over rated, and many of the posters believe the publicity with out looking hard at the results.

Eg Claytons comment on over looking Aron Davey. Para phrased "We saw no value in recruiting light bodied players". Well hello Jordan Mc Mahon, Sam Power, Ryan Hargrave, Guido, Cross, Skippper,Gilby,Faukner,Issac, Wight etc etc
Every recruiter in th game overlooked Davey.

Nevertheless I would not pick home sick interstate kids in front of a Vic kid with ostensibly less talent. I would also have not traded our No 6 pick for short term fixes. Melbourne are doing a better job of identifying talent with higher selections with a no name recruiter. Clayton is over rated, and many of the posters believe the publicity with out looking hard at the results.

A person is not homesick until they are far away from home.

Not having actually seen or read the full article and not kmowing in what contense the question and reply was it is hard to judge how true the comment was.

Originally posted by mackem
A person is not homesick until they are far away from home.

Not having actually seen or read the full article and not kmowing in what contense the question and reply was it is hard to judge how true the comment was.

Context:
Every Melbourne clubs recruiter was asked why they over loked him and Clayton had that unbelievable ( but believable if you follow the dogs) reply

Home Sick:

They do psychological tests, talk to teachers family coaches and peer interviews, etc etc but did they ask him if gets home sick obviously not on your Nelly. How do I know, because I asked him.

CLAYTON IS OVER RATED.

Stupid to blame this on Clayton. Only 2 Melbourne clubs overlooked him and on talent, Walker and Sylvia probably justify it.

Besides, you ALWAYS pick the best talent available (unless it's an extreme case i.e. Angwin). In West Coast's case, say they had skipped on Judd because they were worried he might go home. They pick a player who is less talented. What happens? Well even if Judd had wanted to go home, they would have been compensated and there would have been a procession of clubs willing to give plenty up for him. Instead they either get left with a less talented player, or if that player wants to leave, they don't get compensation worthy of pick 3.

It's the same with Ray. In terms of talent, he's certainly worth pick 4 and as long as he can make an impact next year, if he wants to leave we'll be well compensated. He has more upside than McClean, Bradley, and probably Tenace, so if he stays we get a genuine gun, and if he goes, we should receive adequate compensation.

Again with the Judd example, lets just say that instead of Judd, they took Xavier Clarke because they thought there was less chance of him doing a runner. Clarke's good, but nowhere near Judd's league at the moment. So they'd be much worse off than they are now. And if Clarke left? Do you think they would have been given what they would have been given for Judd? No way.

Murphy, Bowden (pick 66), Harris (picked at 70 when no other club had even considered him).
Hahn who was part of the Cameron deal, where is Cameron now?
Minson too early to call, shows he has the right attitude.
To suggest he is over rated is way off the mark.
How many clubs have picked up a full back with pick 70 of recent times?

In fact, Clayton is especially good at picking up players late in the draft.

Bottom line:Clayton picks players based on their footy ability/attitude, its not his role to ensure they fulfill their potential and built up physically to meet the demands of AFL footy.
As he has stated, you can build up physically, however you cannot build ability!

Recruiting footballers is not my chosen profession. If I missed the oppotunities that Clayton had in my work I would be on the dole.

Eg Claytons comment on over looking Aron Davey. Para phrased "We saw no value in recruiting light bodied players". Well hello Jordan Mc Mahon, Sam Power, Ryan Hargrave, Guido, Cross, Skippper,Gilby,Faukner,Issac, Wight etc etc

Before we start getting stuck into people about not seeing the talent in Davey remember he was passed up by ALL 16 ALF clubs in the draft, Melbourne were no better than anyone else, they only picked him up on the rookie list to make up their numbers and it was only luck (and a bit of money from the people in Darwin) that got him onto the senior list to play footy this year. If one of their senior players hadn't been injured or the money donated to the club to pay his wage he'd be still playing VFL or country footy. Selection of talented players is 80 percent skill, 20 percent luck, and some clubs seem to work on the luck side such as Melbourne. :D

Originally posted by desipura
Murphy, Bowden (pick 66), Harris (picked at 70 when no other club had even considered him).
Hahn who was part of the Cameron deal, where is Cameron now?
Minson too early to call, shows he has the right attitude.
To suggest he is over rated is way off the mark.
How many clubs have picked up a full back with pick 70 of recent times?

In fact, Clayton is especially good at picking up players late in the draft.

Bottom line:Clayton picks players based on their footy ability/attitude, its not his role to ensure they fulfill their potential and built up physically to meet the demands of AFL footy.
As he has stated, you can build up physically, however you cannot build ability!

Murphy is a dramatic under acheiver, Bowden has improved but is average most of the time, Harris is solid , shows potential but aint a world better.

So someone else recruited Wiggins , Hargrave, Gilby, Colbert, Skipper, Cross, Birs, James,
Street, Power, Mc Kenzie Mc Harg, Danial Wulf,Andrew wills, Nick Bruton, Keiran Mc Guiness, Marcus Picken, Shannon Rusca, Scott Bassett etc etc

All of these players have struggled to hold down a spot in the worst performed club in the AFL. Yes I know its all Rhodes fault silly of me to forget.

The man is over rated. The results or lack of speak for themselves

I would presume that all of the recycled players (bar Picken and Rusca) are actually picked by the coach. But anyway

Hargrave: Showed some ability before stagnating and by the sounds of it actually going backwards this year.

Gilby: At least spell his name right. Has shown quite a bit but doesnt get necessary game time and gets dropped after playing well.

Skipper: Was starting to show before the injury against the Swans last year. Dont know how he is going now.

Cross, Birs: See Gilby

Power: Dont know what to make of him. Puts in some absolute shockers and then some brilliant play for a quarter. Time will tell.

Mc Kenzie Mc Harg, Danial Wulf,Andrew wills,Nick Bruton: I believe these were all Kleiman.

Keiran Mc Guiness: Played some Ok games, but overall hasnt done enough.

Next time you bag him (and i know you have started at least 2 threads about him already) at least get your facts right.

Originally posted by Borgsta
I would presume that all of the recycled players (bar Picken and Rusca) are actually picked by the coach. But anyway

Hargrave: Showed some ability before stagnating and by the sounds of it actually going backwards this year.

Gilby: At least spell his name right. Has shown quite a bit but doesnt get necessary game time and gets dropped after playing well.

Skipper: Was starting to show before the injury against the Swans last year. Dont know how he is going now.

Cross, Birs: See Gilby

Power: Dont know what to make of him. Puts in some absolute shockers and then some brilliant play for a quarter. Time will tell.

Mc Kenzie Mc Harg, Danial Wulf,Andrew wills,Nick Bruton: I believe these were all Kleiman.

Keiran Mc Guiness: Played some Ok games, but overall hasnt done enough.

Next time you bag him (and i know you have started at least 2 threads about him already) at least get your facts right.

Mc kenzie mc harg wulf in 99 pre season Wills 2000, Brurton 2001 source AFL web site.

You really have no idea do you.

If I missed the oppotunities that Clayton had in my work I would be on the dole.
Every recruiter in the business has missed opportunities, and most have at least a handful of shockers on their CV.

Clayton has as many, and in the majority of cases, more runs on the board than 14 rival recruiters. You’ve started a dozen threads bagging him over the past couple few months … can I ask why? Do you want him replaced? Given the club's track record with footy operations appointments over the past few years, the risk of appointing a rank amateur in that role massively outweighs the reward of a 5% chance of getting someone who, at best, will only be marginally better.
I would also have not traded our No 6 pick for short term fixes.
Yeah, I'm sure recruiters just love getting rid of top 10 draft picks :rolleyes:

You're pointing the finger at the wrong bloke.

Read this thread about OUR suggested trade to Essendon on the last day of trade week (before Rawlings became available):
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=89743

There’s only one person in the country shortsighted, desperate and stupid enough to, even for a split second, contemplate something that insane.

That bloke's list management has caused this club more damage in two years than Clayton could inflict in ten lifetimes.

Originally posted by Westy_Boy
Clayton has as many, and in the majority of cases, more runs on the board than 14 rival recruiters.
Out of interest. Is that a typo westy. Who is better in your eyes?

There’s only one person in the country shortsighted, desperate and stupid enough to, even for a split second, contemplate something that insane.

That bloke's list management has caused this club more damage in two years than Clayton could inflict in ten lifetimes.
Not sure who your talking about here either. (klieman, wallace , other?)

I think with a few of our players its attittude, not talent that is holding them back. A lot of that I blame on them being under wallaces "attack before defence" policy in their crucial first 2 years. Those old habits are proving hard to break.

Mc kenzie mc harg wulf in 99 pre season Wills 2000, Brurton 2001 source AFL web site.

You really have no idea do you.

Your counting preseason draft now. most likely the coaches pick. Esp. Wills

Originally posted by Ching
Out of interest. Is that a typo westy. Who is better in your eyes?
I think Phil Smart (Freo) has been the standout recruiter in the comp over the past four or five years. I rate Clayton among the next group, alongside Wells (Geelong), Stibbard (North) and Beveridge (Saints).
Originally posted by Ching
Not sure who your talking about here either. (klieman, wallace , other?)
Rohde, Ching.

The link I posted refers to the pick 6 + Alvey for Bolton trade (followed with twenty replies from opposition supporters laughing their heads off).

Bolton has stepped up a class this year, but fair dinkum, offering pick 6 for a bloke lucky to break into Essendon's top 10, who sits well outside the comp's top 100 players. No friggen idea.

I think Phil Smart (Freo) has been the standout recruiter in the comp over the past four or five years.

With all those bottom end of the ladder finishes he had a fair bit to work with.

Originally posted by Dogs 13
With all those bottom end of the ladder finishes he had a fair bit to work with.

Myth.

Have a look at the late picks & rookies.
Medhurst 56
Browne 50
Woods 61
Thornton 76

Rookies
Haines
Webster
Sandilands
Siegert
Grover
Hayden
Gilmore
Hadrill

That is where our improvement has come from , not the two priority picks we have had.

A few opinions:

Clayton is a good recruiter who has had stuff ups just like every other recruiter.

All the players at other clubs that we have avoided in selecting have gotten better then they were. This is called DEVELOPMENT

I yet again ask, do we have the resources to develop what we get to the extent that other clubs do? NO and thats why everyone is talking about a future thrend of sharing club resources with each other in training facilities, membership dept etc.

I was screaming to get Brock Mcclean prior to the draft.

Maybe the footy dept is overrated in detecting what to trade for who? Its like trading cards, the best way to hide a winning hand is to get involved in everything, spin it around but keep your senses about what you are doing overall.
Maybe the Jade Rawlings deal spun our blokes around tooo much?

@#@% Him. You can't expect Clayton to pass him up because he might be a homesick sook. Let him playout his 2 years, hopefully he will get some senior ground time to increase his value and get the best possible trade.
Then cut him loose.
I would be focusing more on Brian Harris,Will Minson and Adam Cooney and making sure they are happy living in Melbourne.

Ray wants home