When: Sunday April 28 - 3.15pm AEST

Where: Gabba

Tickets: Ticketmaster

TV: 7/7mate/Foxsports 3

Weather: Mostly fine, possible shower. Min 16 Max 27

Preview by Matt_BL

Brisbane v Melbourne Preview​
At the beginning of the AFL season, the Brisbane Lions and the Melbourne Demons were very far apart. The Lions had just completed an unbeaten run to win the Pre-Season Grand Final, while the Demons came off a horror season and looked to rebuild. Melbourne were tipped to be a bottom 5 side while the Lions were widely backed to continue their rise up the ladder. But now, at round 5 these teams are one place apart. With the Lions sitting 16th and the Demons 17th on the AFL ladder. Brisbane seems to have imploded since their NAB cup form, and 2012 form for that matter, with many players significantly down on form. Now it is time for one of these clubs to stand up and show they aren’t as bad as everyone says.

The game in itself isn’t a big crowd drawer, but it is extremely important for both teams and acts somewhat as an ‘8 point game’ this early in the season to get the team away from the bottom of the ladder. Lets wipe the slate clean and look at these two teams head to head.

The Matchups

Backline
Howe, Byrnes and Pedersen all got on the board against GWS with Howe kicking four goals and Byrnes showed some form kicking 3. There is an injury cloud over Mitch Clark, he may miss which will allow a slightly easier matchup in the favour of the Lions. No doubt Merrett will go to the number 1 forward, which may be someone like Cam Pedersen while Patfull is likely to take Howe. It will be an important matchup for Patfull as Howe is know to take hangers all over the ground and Patfull may not have the athleticism to keep up. Michael Evans had a good game for the Demons last week, kicking 3 goals with 20 disposals. He’s a fairly new player to the demons lineup, with injury keeping him out of the side in 2012, it will be an important matchup for our smalls to get right.

The biggest one however looms to be Shannnon Byrnes, this season our small defenders have struggled to contain the goal sneak forward type, and being from the Cats, Byrnes has a good idea of how to get a hold of the Lions. Someone like Adcock needs to go to him and shut him down.

Midfield
By far, Nathan Jones has been Melbourne’s best midfielder in the last two seasons. In 2011 it was Brent Moloney – who is now at the Lions and he will go against his old club. These two may well go head to head. The old verse the new. Will be an interesting matchup. Generally, both midfields have been poor all year, and when both teams have been on the end of heavy defeats it is usually to do with the lack of the ball winning ability and poor entry into the forward 50.

Both Co-Captains of the Demons got amongst it against GWS last week which is a positive sign that their leaders are throwing themselves into the contest. For the Lions, 2 of the 3 R’s have been sorrily lacking in their performances this year, with Rockliff being the only exception, he has started the season like every other one and looks like one of the only players who actually cares about the results of the team. The unit needs to lift. A big in for the Lions this week may be Simon Black. If it is it would be expected he might get the green vest, or even the red vest at half time. Black would ad some class and ball winning ability which makes the Brisbane midfield function better as a unit.

Two young guns in Sam Mayes and Jack Viney will be great to watch. Both have had very solid starts to the season and both can win the ball and use it well.

Mark Jamar an All Australian ruckmen will go head to head against Matthew Leuenberger who has returned from injury this year and is playing well. It will be a pivotal matchup as these ruckmen both are very good at giving their midfield first use of the ball. Jamar has been averaging 33 hitouts this year to Leuenberger 28.

Forward Line

Many on the Lions board have jumped to panic stations about Jonathan Brown being past his best. While he hasn’t had much impact on the scoreboard, neither has the rest of the team. Frawley would be the obvious choice for Brown, as last year at the Gabba Brown got off the chain when Jack Watts was forced to defend him. Tom McDonald may be another one to rotate on to Brown, but it would be expected that these two take our tall forwards in either Brown and Martin or Jordan Lisle if he finds himself in the side this week. Marco Paparone kicked 3 goals on debut so he will be looking to back up his good form with another strong display. The Lions are 18th in Points For so goals need to come from somewhere, it’s a good chance to get some points on the board this week. Alternatively, if the forward 50 entry is poor, it will be easy pickings for the Melbourne defence and they will be able to rebound the ball quickly. The Demons do have pace so it is important to limit their use in the back half.

The Coaches

Voss is in his 5th season and Neeld his 2nd and both are facing pressure to keep their jobs. The winner of this will come out feeling a little better, the loser especially if the Lions lose will find themselves under an intense spotlight. With coaches such as the calibre of Ken Hinkley guiding Port Adelaide to 4 straight wins this season, the temptation would be there to start a fresh and aim towards a new goal. Neeld in my opinion needs more time, however Voss’ time may be running out.

The Verdict

The Lions and the Demons have been in some poor form this year, so it is an important game for both teams. It is at the Gabba giving the Lions the home advantage, and if the team comes to the game prepared they should be able to get across the line. It will be close though.

Brisbane by 18

Great preview.

We've got a national audience this week, and we better play as such. We should expect nothing short of a big win. The Dees will have their tails up after the last quarter last week, and ours is understandably between our legs. I expect we'll start slowly and build as the game progresses. We have an absolutely horror run coming up, so if we don't improve the confidence this week we're staring down the barrel of a couple of very lean months.

cripple_fight.jpg

Summary
Both teams are now fighting for respect. Melbourne earned some last week with a great finish against GWS when staring down the barrell of what would've been an embarrassing loss. Brisbane on the other hand lost some against North, with a lazy and insipid performance, but will hopefully be out to get it back this week.

Melbourne's problems are well documented, with a young list lacking senior players and leadership roles thrust upon players who in many cases are still trying to establish themselves. Brisbane has gone missing since the preseason with a large number of players dropping off and out of form, either that or they were heavily over-rated.

If both clubs play to potential then Brisbane should win comfortably. Unfortunately though this game I feel will be more memorable for the 4 points won than the quality of the game.

Vedict
Brisbane simply can't afford to lose this game, the consequences of a loss would be massive, not only in the coaches box where the fire that is starting to smoulder under Michael Voss would quickly turn into an inferno. With the coming fixture providing the Lions with a number of games that on form they are unlikely to win against Sydney, West Coast, Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong and Hawthorn from round 6-14, so a loss would likely have the Lions staring at being 1-12 at the end of round 14.

Brisbane by 28 pts.

with match selection looming, let's hope the match committee send a very clear message that last weeks performance was totally unacceptable & will not be tolerated by making the appropriate changes to the team for the weekend.

Such a little to gain, everything to lose game.

Pretty much where Melbourne were at vs GWS... lose and you are a rabble beyond belief, win... so what... you were supposed to.

Can't think of what could possibly happen on Sunday that would make me walk out feeling stoked about where we are going. Mild, temporary relief is the ultimate prize. Baby Panadol.

I know that sounds negative, but the context of this game just doesn't offer us much.

Such a little to gain, everything to lose game.

Pretty much where Melbourne were at vs GWS... lose and you are a rabble beyond belief, win... so what... you were supposed to.

Can't think of what could possibly happen on Sunday that would make me walk out feeling stoked about where we are going. Mild, temporary relief is the ultimate prize. Baby Panadol.

I know that sounds negative, but the context of this game just doesn't offer us much.

Yeah....agree with all of that.

Even if we absolutely flog the Dees, it will then be all about them being back to square one, only good enough to scrape in against a bunch of kids (GWS), where to now for Melbouurne...etc etc.

A skinny win (for us) is going to leave as many unanswered questions about us as there are now.

A loss is unthinkable.

Hiding to nothing for us here.

Feel the same way. Even if we win by 50 points, I'm not going to feel satisfied or feel that anything has changed. The next few weeks after that will give us a better indication whether we have any pride/desire/respect as a football team.

Depends on how the game pans out for me. The Melb game is a chance to get the guys back into form via sheer work and hunger for the contest. The finer details, ball movement, skills, etc, will follow afterwards. We can beat Melbourne by 10 goals, and either be happy at seeing a big win off the back of being hard at the ball and working their asses off, or we could get the same win playing still very average. TBH, i'd by happy with a 10 POINT win, but see every player stuffed, barely able to stand by the end of the game, and see a hardness and appetite for the contest we haven't seen from the Lions this year.

It is cold comfort to Melbourne supporters who have suffered through the last two beltings at Etihad but I hope they play really well for the people who turn up. Regardless of whether it is a close game or a blowout, I hope that supporters can go home and say "I really enjoyed that." And for that to occur, I think we need to see genuine effort put in.

Could the dees comming out and saying mitch clarkes been ruled out being a bluff, Hopefully from a lions point of veiw be great to see mitch rest this one out.

I have only seen one dees game this year BUt apparently Max gawn had a huge game last week, what kinda matchup do we have/ need for him?????
Would love to see patty K get a run this week and weeks to come and would love to see him play as a foward, just shake things up a bit in the foward 50, Paparone, brown, PK,

also Pretty sure browny will be in for another torrid afternnon on sunday against one of the best tall defenders in frawley so we are going to need someone else to really stand up and kick some goals or could be a long afternoon.

Could the dees comming out and saying mitch clarkes been ruled out being a bluff, Hopefully from a lions point of veiw be great to see mitch rest this one out.

I have only seen one dees game this year BUt apparently Max gawn had a huge game last week, what kinda matchup do we have/ need for him?????
Would love to see patty K get a run this week and weeks to come and would love to see him play as a foward, just shake things up a bit in the foward 50, Paparone, brown, PK,

also Pretty sure browny will be in for another torrid afternnon on sunday against one of the best tall defenders in frawley so we are going to need someone else to really stand up and kick some goals or could be a long afternoon.

Gawn will be handled by Sauce. Davis from the Giants really struggles against a powerful, tall body and was beaten quite easily on occasion. Although, in saying that Gawn had the best position on a number of occasions and the GWS defence showed some inexperience in dealing with him.

Voss surely must shake things up this week...The mid field needs a over haul...Rockliff, Rich, and Redden are slow damm lazy this season and shouldnt be taking 3 midfield roles...Rockliff and Rich should go forward and learn to present to create a option. Redden is woeful, and should be dropped. I would put Green in the middle, and bring back Banfield for some hussle. Get games into Karnezis, and Continue midfield action for Mayes

Would be hard to imagine Polks won't come straight back in after collecting 38 touches in the reserves. Sadly this is more of a reflection on the quality of our reserves competition than anything else.

Harwood really needs some continuity in the seniors, a few games to really get to grips with the pace of senior footy, I'd be disappointed in the coaching staff if they drop him on last weeks performance

Could we see Blacky in for 3 quarters perhaps? Gosh we are missing his poise and class around the stoppages.....

Voss surely must shake things up this week...The mid field needs a over haul...Rockliff, Rich, and Redden are slow damm lazy this season and shouldnt be taking 3 midfield roles...Rockliff and Rich should go forward and learn to present to create a option. Redden is woeful, and should be dropped. I would put Green in the middle, and bring back Banfield for some hussle. Get games into Karnezis, and Continue midfield action for Mayes
lol, rockliff is the only non-lazy one bar the 1 and 2 gamers, but i agree get green and/ or banfield into the midfield