Autopsy Rd 6 Carlton v Brisbane Post Match Discussion

Attended my first game for the season. I was quite detached from it all today and didn't fret at the end of the game. A run of goals was the difference and Brisbane outplayed Carlton to kick five in a row. The spark is absent. I'm not sure why we're not prepared to run. Not running makes it easier for the opposition. I'm nonplussed at the lack of energy in the group. The game really wandered, seemingly without a purpose for the last twenty minutes. Plenty of time to kick four goals. My greatest concern occurred when we lost possession of the ball. Our response appears to be one of panic. Cool heads win out and goals result. After today I've lowered my expectations because as a team we're in a dark place.

It almost felt like a coaching directive to try and hit the roof when going inside 50.
Anyone else finding themselves say "Eddie would've kick 7 today"
I mean, the amount of time the ball hit the deck from huge packs due to up and unders, he would have had a field day!

Miss having a crumber especially when forwards have a 3% of marking that horrible delivery inside 50

A few positives:

• Bell was an animal all day: 17 k, 10 hb, 6 tackles, 78% DE, 2 goals, plus 93% game time
  • Cripps justs keeps impressing
  • Some very harsh words about Gibbs on here; I was pleased with his game in response to last weekend
  • Clem showed some promising passages of play. I know he turned it over a bit, but it was often while trying to take the game on, often through the corridor which was BLOODY REFRESHING, and he brought plenty of aggression around the contest
  • Cas booted 4 goals!
  • Docherty did everything he could today down back; a particularly stellar effort given the absence of Simpson and Yarran (and Walker, ha)
  • Curnow was close to best on ground in my opinion. He blanketed Zorko (who is a bloody good player), while picking 23 touches at 78%. Its the first time I've watched him and thought: "Gee, he looks dangerous out there…"
  • Thomas will be better for the run
  • Next week could be massive re. the INS: Yarran, Simpson, Menzel, Kreuzer, Henderson
  • The Northern Blues had another win, so there's a few putting their hand up for selection (I'd personally like to see Tutt given a few games in a row, as well Graham, while Holman seems to be getting better each week in the VFL [Watson possibly in for Jones next week...?])

Keep smiling :) We'll have the #1 pick!

Swap with Jamison. Henderson will have another week out. Jamo should be ready by then.

Also - Ive watch Clem play a couple times now... and his first half was great.
Its been 3 years since I've seen a player have enough guts (or potentially just hasn't had his enthusiasm drained out of him by MM coaching) to actually square it up through the corridor, which i believe led to our 2nd goal?
Also his pass to hit Jones on the chest was a beauty...

Murphy's regressing so badly is bewildering.

He looked right at home as captain in 2012. Reckon he was BOG for us in 3/4 of those games.
He is playing with a degenerative knee condition, hence why he is starting most games on a HFF this season. It is highly unlikely he will get anywhere near his 2011 AA form again. He is still a very good player though & in 2-3 years time, playing as a permanent small forward, could become a 30-40 goals a year player.

I'll give Carlton a tick because we are starting to get our midfield right but our forward line is deplorable. It's just so toothless, the only player that looks dangerous is Casboult. I guess at least Murphy kicked two goals but the lack of speed, skill and clever players is horrendous. It just comes out so much and when we get opportunities to score we have guys who can't finish. Constantly see the thing kicked to half forward and the opposition end up with it every time.

Bell had a ripping game, best his skills have looked, he wasn't one touch and still fumbled but he disposed of the ball really well, worked hard, used his size really well and had a ripping game.

Casboult had one of his better games, kicked it well and marked it well. Hardly lost a hitout if any when he went in the ruck.

Curnow had his best game of the season.

Judd is playing really good football but we need to manage his time in the middle, as good as he has been he was on the ball at times when he couldn't run and apply any defensive pressure. I don't think Judd is rotating as much or as early as he should be, there were times when they motored away and it was his turn to chase and he couldn't.

Docherty is a ripper, playing some good quality football, neat disposal, does most things right.

Decent Game from Thomas for a first game back, still has levels to go.

Cripps is a ripper although they nullified him later in the game and shut him down a bit.

Jaksch has a hell of a lot to learn. He makes a lot of mistakes. Little things like being the wrong side of contests but there's plenty to work with there.

Tuohy had an absolute shocker. Got beaten, got out ran and missed a number of tackles that gave them goals.

Everitt needs to go back to the twos, talk about a player not having a go. I'm sick to death of saying "gee that was a weak contest" week in week out. He's been soft and beaten at ground level and in the air regularly, he's been lazy, he needs a wake up call. Getting by on skill alone and only barely.

Murphy played mostly forward, kicked a couple of goals and got a little bit of the footy but over all didn't have a good game.

Rowe. What a shocker, took a few good marks but finished the game making some horrendous skill errors. Fumbling, poor kicking poor handballing and got a belting from McStay. Always feel nervous with him at the footy.

Walker had another absolute shocker. Handballed to the ground all day. Couldn't keep up with Mitch Robinson and didn't offer any rebound. His skill errors, decision making an like last week, his inability to keep up with his opponent was costly.

Boekhorst disappears for long periods of the game, let the opposition mark a ball that just went over his head, did some good things but looks a little soft and lazy.

Smith played his best game of senior football, he was clean and aggressive but towards the end his skills got sloppy. Great start to the game but poor finish. He will make a senior footballer and he'll be quite good. Just needs to learn to read the game better and learn to get the ball and crumb up forward.

Wood had a solid game and performs as good of a role as you could want from a ruckman.

Buckley had an absolute stinker. Missed a crucial tackle that delivered them an easy goal. His vision was woeful. His decision making was woeful. He runs himself into trouble and turns it over. He failed to see options and kicked to the wrong places.

Jones could have kicked 3 goals but he didn't. He was very ordinary. Guy can't read the game and is lazy.

Armfield didn't really do much.

Whiley, I though had more of it that what is put up but he was very quiet in the second half. He's just not finding enough of it.

Nick Graham came on for one quarter and actually looked alright. I'd like to see him given opportunity. It won't be for lack of skill and ability if he doesn't make it.

We've got a fair few out. We're playing a lot of young and inexperienced players so I get that results won't be that good and that we will be making plenty of mistakes but some of the problem is with more senior players which is annoying.
Agree with all that

I just don't think some of the new players are AFL ready yet. Jaksch, Smith, Whiley, Boekhorst could turn out to be very good players for the club. But at this stage, it's like we're throwing them all into the deep end at once, and hoping they come out alright by the experience. What I am saying, do we play these young guys for the sole purpose of giving them experience at the higher level, when maybe some of them aren't ready, and with the possible result of getting smashed every week?
I say yes within reason, do what the GWS and GC have done, forget about results and only play players who have the necessary skill or ability to potentially be a long term AFL player and forget about playing guys who are just hanging onto their careers.

Results right now are not an issue for me, we need to build a sustainable model to give us the best chance for long term success.

I think once we get Kreuzer, Yarran, Jamison, Menzel, Henderson etc back on the park our team selection around them them should be future based.

For example the following should occur despite what the results might bring.

Boekhurst plays instead of Armfield
Graham instead of Carrazzo
Jaksch instead of Rowe
Whiley instead of Curnow
Smith instead of Tutt
Byrne/Buckley instead of Walker

May lose a few extra games and may lose heavily but at least start to fast track your young talent in terms of experience, opportunity and education.

We had a fair few out this week, ie, Yarran, Hendo, Jamo, Simmo, the two Irish boys, also Kreuz got through the 2's ok, and Menzel. When we all get them a back in, it could make a big difference to our best 22,.........

How about we add Carrazzo and White to the outs. That is 10 probably best 22 players. There is a need to add some perspective to the day.
We were down on soldiers.
The biggest negative is that the likes of Hawthorn, Swans, Freo and a couple of others have systems to their coaching and development.
One soldier goes down another comes in and knows their role, as the system is drilled and TAUGHT. Our boys are playing like we did 30 years
ago. The first string does not know and/or comprehend the game plan. They are just "winging it" the days of "don't think, do" are long gone.
There are not many dumb footballers at top level these days, we have more than our share.

Unfortunately we have some very smart footballers too, players who have made a career by being smart and talented enough to avoid doing
the really hard yards. We have anointed these "smart" players as leaders.

We have a coaching panel of has beens and never wasses (if that's a word)

MM has a "game plan" which was found out a decade ago. Talented players were able to carry it off for a period of time at his last gig, where
he was supported by an impressive array of "up to speed" assistants. We will never know if MM or his team were the primary cause of his perceived
"greatness" at the 'pies. His parting experience at Collingwood led him to ensure he had no one on his panel who could threaten his position.
This is another reason he will coach out the season, there is no one on our staff equipped to replace him.

How the hell did our board and the likes of the seemingly never maligned Andrew McKay allow this to happen. We bared our a..e to the
ageing egomaniac and his archaic systems, even took his buddy Buttifant to add to his superannuation package.

The players are not looking great at the moment, but we have a reasonable list needing some focus and development, physically and mentally.
I prefer to think the underperforming is more from confusion and lack of confidence in the structures, their mates and themselves. Some more
top end talent would not go astray either. Malthouse has backed himself to take Everitt, Jaksch, Whiley, Jones, Tutt, Boekhorst and
Dick to a new level, as well a fast tracking our kids (unless their name is Graham, Watson or a couple of others). He is more comfortable
calling on honest battlers like White, Armfield and Ellard though............

Sorry, wasn't meant to be a long post, just adding Carrots and Whitey to the quoted..........oh well....................goodnight

Get Sav to work with Jones... or better yet, make Sav our forwards development coach after we sack Brad Green tomorrow... just have to convince SOS to come out and be our defensive development coach for a while until we can get a better replacement for Barker!

Or better yet, play SOS at full back and SAV at Full Forward. ;)

Watching replay Gibbs gets a handball from the inside mid and decides to no look handball over his head. Turnover goal. Beginning of the end right there with 7 mins to go in the 3rd.

Turnovers are absolutely killing our football team
Gibbs gave the group an absolute spray at 3q time. The last person who you'd think would/ (has any right) to do that.

Just watched the replay as I was out all day. Truly a depressing outcome. God, this is such a bad feeling...and I see all the ex-Carlton players thriving at their new clubs....Waite kicking bags, Betts a superstar, Jeffy seems to be quite settled too. WTF is wrong with our club?

Is Malthouse just too old for coaching? He seems as soft as butter too, who the players don't play for. If I was a blue supporter I'd be very happy to sign a coach with some mongrel who won't take any shit, for example a Worsefold

Just watched the replay as I was out all day. Truly a depressing outcome. God, this is such a bad feeling...and I see all the ex-Carlton players thriving at their new clubs....Waite kicking bags, Betts a superstar, Jeffy seems to be quite settled too. WTF is wrong with our club?
The culture that was created when some of those players you mentioned were here and impacting that culture or standards.....

Now they are in a new environment and have to conform to an already established culture means there is a much less chance of continuing on with their poor standards of training, discipline or fitness as the current leaders at their respective clubs wont allow it.

I say yes within reason, do what the GWS and GC have done, forget about results and only play players who have the necessary skill or ability to potentially be a long term AFL player and forget about playing guys who are just hanging onto their careers.

Results right now are not an issue for me, we need to build a sustainable model to give us the best chance for long term success.

I think once we get Kreuzer, Yarran, Jamison, Menzel, Henderson etc back on the park our team selection around them them should be future based.

For example the following should occur despite what the results might bring.

Boekhurst plays instead of Armfield
Graham instead of Carrazzo
Jaksch instead of Rowe
Whiley instead of Curnow
Smith instead of Tutt
Byrne/Buckley instead of Walker

May lose a few extra games and may lose heavily but at least start to fast track your young talent in terms of experience, opportunity and education.

I can see your logic, and I agree. Like you, I believe our season is stuffed, and I don't care about the results from now on, but other members might. We need to play these young players, but they are going to make some mistakes. However, we also need to retain some experienced senior players in the side to mentor and guide these younger players in their development to becoming good AFL quality players in the future and for the club. I'm afraid we will have to steel ourselves, as we go through a bit of pain to make some gains over the next couple of seasons. I just don't know whether MM is the right man for the long haul though. The jury is still out for me?

Is Malthouse just too old for coaching? He seems as soft as butter too, who the players don't play for. If I was a blue supporter I'd be very happy to sign a coach with some mongrel who won't take any shit, for example a Worsefold
Are you suggest we employ a coach that would do... whatever it takes?

Even if it brought the game into disrepute?

Prior to today, ie in the first five rounds, Brisbane was behind 96% of the time during its games this season. We've just dramatically improved this stat for them, that's what I find damning...

Rattens coaching was ok. It's his list management that was deplorable and why we find ourself where we are today.

Our abysmal drafting certainly didn't help his cause.
It's hard to blame him for player development because the spuds we drafted (and since delisted in most cases) haven't suddenly popped up at other clubs and become world beaters. In fact they are not even playing AFL footy in 95% of cases.

I can see your logic, and I agree. Like you, I believe our season is stuffed, and I don't care about the results from now on, but other members might. We need to play these young players, but they are going to make some mistakes. However, we also need to retain some experienced senior players in the side to mentor and guide these younger players in their development to becoming good AFL quality players in the future and for the club. I'm afraid we will have to steel ourselves, as we go through a bit of pain to make some gains over the next couple of seasons. I just don't know whether MM is the right man for the long haul though. The jury is still out for me?
The senior players we retain around these youngsters are the ones who can still impact or teach good habits on and off the field.

Therefore we keep Judd, Simpson, Jamison, Kreuzer, Thomas, Murphy, Gibbs, Henderson.

We really also need the next tier to start to impact in terms of leadership and consistent performance also as a couple above are probably in their last season or 2. This next tier is Yarran, Everitt, Docherty (going fine), Bell, Tuohy, Casboult.

Improve this 2nd tier and all of a sudden we have 10 to 12 players who you can build a culture around when you start to get your drafting, trading and development in order.

GWS and GC didn't have many senior players to start with but were blessed with multiple top end young talent joining their clubs.

We will have to gradually add young talent as we wont get the amount of draft concessions that they received.

I am also not sure if MM is the right person to do this but until a better option is presented he will have to be it and should at least form a rebuild strategy in conjunction with the club and adhere to it.

Autopsy Rd 6 Carlton v Brisbane Post Match Discussion