• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2016 Season discussion

Bugger me boys where's the goss? Even some footy trip action would suffice ha ha.

Handful of Broady boys did the Bali thing, and I'm hearing the Sunbury Kangaroo's were quite vocal in the dying stages of their return flight from Adelaide yesty whilst the pilot juggled the blustery conditions upon landing.

Bugger me boys where's the goss? Even some footy trip action would suffice ha ha.

Handful of Broady boys did the Bali thing, and I'm hearing the Sunbury Kangaroo's were quite vocal in the dying stages of their return flight from Adelaide yesty whilst the pilot juggled the blustery conditions upon landing.

Diggers onto another quality player I am told. Rupo building their list nicely. Great to see Meecham back at the Kangaroos.

Not from this league but have a few ex teammates that now play at Broadford. Been informed that the playing group haven't been paid for the last few games of the season and are out of money. A lot of boys not happy by all reports... Could be a walk out. Have the Kangas run out of the Kanga ;)

If true then their 'business plan' seems to have failed miserably!! Watch this space I guess.

Everyone around town knew that the club was gonna struggle with $$$$

No one on here defending the claims? Keston? Anything?
Have no comment but understand that it's not a major issue by a person who I would say is reliable
Can say that most clubs have a 12 month buisness plan that at times may need a tweek and can mean some re budgeting

So with the salary cap are players happy in some circumstances to take a 30% cut let's see who's got any loyalty....

Careful Keston .... I raised a similar query in March/April and got howled down by TheSpycritic.

Plenty of "what ifs" but maybe they have just lost their way a fraction in a business sense after you left?

Careful Keston .... I raised a similar query in March/April and got howled down by TheSpycritic.

Plenty of "what ifs" but maybe they have just lost their way a fraction in a business sense after you left?
Sorry mate should have qualified that part of my statement I meant over the whole league as many of the top clubs would need to reduce there payments to fit into the cap
And agree was a great season following the year before on field down at broadford ...but believe more soldiers off field required from what I've heard .....
Wish them all the best ....

Sorry mate should have qualified that part of my statement I meant over the whole league as many of the top clubs would need to reduce there payments to fit into the cap
And agree was a great season following the year before on field down at broadford ...but believe more soldiers off field required from what I've heard .....
Wish them all the best ....

Lets hope they don't go down the path of wanting to leave the league again!

Funny you say that after Kilmore leaving and now there juniors also from reports the Sunbury kangaroos are looking I believe it will eventually happen and other clubs to suite...
Like Kilmore one big problem with broadford is Location Location Location...

Funny you say that after Kilmore leaving and now there juniors also from reports the Sunbury kangaroos are looking I believe it will eventually happen and other clubs to suite...
Like Kilmore one big problem with broadford is Location Location Location...
Agree Keston, I was not meaning to pot them more stating the league needs them in short term even though I agree location I don't believe suits this league. Goldfields need to come out and state the direction for the future, what successful business operates year by year, you need a short medium long term plan which they have but are not sharing. If broadford left, if the kangas were looking where does that leave the RDFNL, if head office plan to restructure (which we know is a done deal) if it is to be a 1st 2nd division concept, then those that don't agree need to have the opportunity to advocate for a better outcome. To me, from the outside, Broadford try to recruit to the flag for whatever reason and it failed, you would have hoped though that it would go for more than 1 year. They were probably the 2nd best team this year to so not far off barring a better run with injury.

From the outside it looks as though they have gone down the 'try and buy a flag' road in the hope that this will help recruiting and build continued success as people want to play at successful clubs..

Could be backfiring tho....

From the outside it looks as though they have gone down the 'try and buy a flag' road in the hope that this will help recruiting and build continued success as people want to play at successful clubs..

Could be backfiring tho....
This happens everywhere most clubs who win flags spend big it's the lay of the land .......

Confirmed. Players were told they would receive their last 4 match payments on Presentation Night but only received 1. Club informed players that a sponsor pulled out and they have no money left.

Partially true but mainly incorrectly informed from what I have heard ...
I've been involved in footy for a long time and many clubs I've seen clubs have to take till Xmas to pay players it's a twelve month of the year buisness but I believe as many players get paid well more than there worth a little patients should be shown after all it's tax free :)

I have been reading these posts with interest as it's been reported some EDFL clubs also owe players money. I believe ALL players should be paid as what was agreed when they signed. The majority of clubs pay fortnight or monthly however the payment should never extend past presentation night IMO. I advise players to get paid every home game or don't sign.
Yes players are paid well. Some get overs and some get unders, but it's still a contract agreement signed by player and football manager/president so it MUST be followed.. Some players might agree to wait and that's fine but others could walk due to clubs not upholding their agreement..

I have been reading these posts with interest as it's been reported some EDFL clubs also owe players money. I believe ALL players should be paid as what was agreed when they signed. The majority of clubs pay fortnight or monthly however the payment should never extend past presentation night IMO. I advise players to get paid every home game or don't sign.
Yes players are paid well. Some get overs and some get unders, but it's still a contract agreement signed by player and football manager/president so it MUST be followed.. Some players might agree to wait and that's fine but others could walk due to clubs not upholding their agreement..

Have to agree my friend a contract is a contract and players should be paid but have you read a standard contract goes something like this if you don't train on a Tuesday night you lose 25 % of a match payment if you don't train Thursday night a further 25% of your next match payment if you don't do 70% of preseason your contract is to be reduced by 25% so on so on clubs should instigate this but if they do players sook up and threaten to leave I can tell you not only my time at broadford but at romsey also Tuesday night saw a handful of senior players attend 25% over 16 games x15 players is a fair amount of dollars ... So yes contracts should be held up
What do they say what's good for the goose is good for the gander...

image.jpg
Not really fair to blame it on a sponsor as I am sure they would owe a bit more than one sponsor would be paying
Haha heard that story before so funny
Mean while broadford lads enjoying there end of season trip Bali and possible gun recruit note majority of players already re signed ...reckon a lot of bullshit on this site...
Move on lads there is no major issue...and issue being bantered about isn't correct ...
Perhaps you would prefer broadford left the league....
Bloody sooks

RDFL 2016 Season discussion