RDFL Thread 2007

Nice work Matt, but do we get a photo in this weeks edition for your remote area readership pal ?

You'll get two pics champ. One of Nathan Allen over the footy with Housey ready to pounce, and the other with Colesy and Cuffe wrestling for the footy on the ground. I think you'll be happy in Riddell :D

Although with plenty of footy to be played, is there any news from those clubs who didn't make it or clubs still involved of possible departures, coaching changes new recruits?

Harry Wilson what are your thoughts on the under18s-some have played two games all year but the most important game of the year for your club the first semi they all watched- they would have been the difference. You had 5 players in the interleague squad and the league B&F surely one or two could have played or are they pulling rank you have a lot of young talent at the club at the moment will they all stay ?? I would like to think they would have learnt something about respect and being humble in victory or defeat after last week but they certainly let the Macedon boys know about it after the game. To win the Grand Final is one thing to gain the respect of the competion and players is just as important i hope they try to both over the next couple of weeks.

I believe the u/18's at romsey have a strained relationship with seniors. My sources tell me the u/18's coach has very different ideas to the senior coaches and thus they have clashed on numerous occasions. The u/18's wish to train harder and on their own away from senior group. Also led to believe that some of the senior players dont give the u/18's the time of day. Maybe all just heresay or maybe a reason why they didnt put their hand up to play senior football. My source is from within the club. Maybe Harry can put some true and falses to these allegations

Matt
Can we have this weeks odds please. And can you be little more realistic. I thought the pokies return of 84% was bad. Your returns last week based on odds were about 70%.

Matt
Can we have this weeks odds please. And can you be little more realistic. I thought the pokies return of 84% was bad. Your returns last week based on odds were about 70%.

PRELIMINARY FINALS
Seniors: Sunbury Kangaroos $1.30 v Woodend-Hesket $2.80
Reserves: Woodend-Hesket $1.30 v Riddell $2.80
Under 18: Romsey $1.75 v Diggers Rest $1.90
SENIOR PREMIERSHIP
Riddell $1.25
Sunbury Kangaroos $2.30
Woodend-Hesket $6.50
RESERVES PREMIERSHIP
Sunbury Kangaroos $1.55
Woodend-Hesket $2.35
Riddell $9.50
UNDER 18 PREMIERSHIP
Woodend-Hesket $1.15
Romsey $3.20
Diggers Rest $5.50
SENIOR GRAND FINAL QUINELLA
Riddell - Sunbury Kangaroos $1.40
Riddell - Woodend-Hesket $2.80
RESERVES GRAND FINAL QUINELLA
Sunbury Kangaroos v Woodend-Hesket $1.20
Sunbury Kangaroos v Riddell $3.20
UNDER 18 GRAND FINAL QUINELLA
Woodend-Hesket - Romsey $1.50
Woodend-Hesket - Diggers Rest $2.20

I believe the u/18's at romsey have a strained relationship with seniors. My sources tell me the u/18's coach has very different ideas to the senior coaches and thus they have clashed on numerous occasions. The u/18's wish to train harder and on their own away from senior group. Also led to believe that some of the senior players dont give the u/18's the time of day. Maybe all just heresay or maybe a reason why they didnt put their hand up to play senior football. My source is from within the club. Maybe Harry can put some true and falses to these allegations

its false, i play there, im close with most of the 18's boys, sullivan and harrison both wanted to play..but dippa and sparra went with the older footballer options..right or wrong is irrelevant, no dissention in the ranks, there good kids...a bit rowdy, but romseys got a bright future if they can keep em

I agree with Catters here. The boys are young and yes some of them are immature. I was unaware of any jeering going on and to hear that happened, I'm very dissapointed. We have a sensational group of young blokes running around in the 18's. It would be highly unlikley for any of them to leave the club in the next few years. They break away from the senior group after every training session, that's called team bonding. They work extremely hard.

With regard to them not playing on Sunday, Justin McGregor was going to play in replacement of me, however he was very sore and had some cramping. I didn't realise just how bad my ankle was. I tried to play and I could run but I couldn't twist or turn. Bad decision of mine. He could well have been the difference.

Massive allegations you’re throwing out FH18 to a team that nearly made it to a prelim. We always hear about sources within the club, but how about you name your source. You're not a reporter and therefore there's no need to protect a source like our good friend Matt did last week. No one knows who you are, name someone so we can legitimately take what saying seriously or simply pass it off as backyard ladies gossip!

Don't do it footyhead. I have heard the same rumours and although I believe they are not true, there is no need to reveal your sources. Other wise whoever told you won't give you any more info!

Just another thing here, as far the comment about the senior players not giving the u18's the time of day, this is absolute rubbish. I for one get around to all of the 18's, have a joke with them, run with them during training drills etc.. I also pull a few of them aside at training and let them know what they're doing right and wrong. The problem there lies that sometimes a couple of the boys don't like being told whats what. This is where it comes down to age and maturity. Some of the boys muck around during training and when they get told to pull their heads in they sulk and crack the shizens. That's not all of them, just one or two here and there and it'n not a regular occurance. The u18's are fantastic for the club, they bring a hell of a lot of enthusiasm to the club and provide us older guys something to remember. Boys will be boys and when they're 16-17-18 yrs old they'll always be gung ho.

regardless of whats happened this week will be big for both romsey and diggers.
and after what happened last time id expect this game to be a really tough contest. definitely worth pulling up a chair.
and i have a a feeling it will be worth the early start.

regardless of whats happened this week will be big for both romsey and diggers.
and after what happened last time id expect this game to be a really tough contest. definitely worth pulling up a chair.
and i have a a feeling it will be worth the early start.

spot on burra, lets hope all 3 games can be tight and close for the crowd...who knows maybe woodend and sunbury can repeat diggers vs woodend of last year....remember O.T

What are conditions like near macedon today, it has bucketed down in the city, with more rain predicted for this week who will wet conditions suit. Last year we saw a perfect day at macedon for the prelim, could we see a wet one this year. And destroy what should be a cracker of a day of football.

If it's wet, the Roos will win, if it's a dry day, Woodend.

Don't do it footyhead. I have heard the same rumours and although I believe they are not true, there is no need to reveal your sources. Other wise whoever told you won't give you any more info!

Dont worry Matt, im not that silly. I have some reliable sources at quite a few clubs, but none that i am willing to give up. I suggest Woody starts worrying more about his 'down on form' hawks than worrying about my sources.
I wonder if he had any luck tracking down the leak that came out last thurs night, via yourself Matt, re dropping of a few senior players. He seemed very concerned about that.
I believe Harry and Catters cleared things up quite well re the rumblings at romsey b/w u/18s and seniors.

Dont worry Matt, im not that silly. I have some reliable sources at quite a few clubs, but none that i am willing to give up. I suggest Woody starts worrying more about his 'down on form' hawks than worrying about my sources.
I wonder if he had any luck tracking down the leak that came out last thurs night, via yourself Matt, re dropping of a few senior players. He seemed very concerned about that.
I believe Harry and Catters cleared things up quite well re the rumblings at romsey b/w u/18s and seniors.

You do mean OUR Hawks dont you FH18. Looked at your posts and it seems we follow the same team. Not many 'down on form teams' get to prelim! A few hiccups last week, but the last quarter looked anything but a 'down on form team'. Hawks will put a four quarter performance together this week FH18 and hopefully book themselves a grand final birth-Hope to see you and your Romsey mates down their to support us!

On form, you don't really know which side to back this weekend.

But I disagree with you Harry, I think if its wet it will suit Woodend-Hesket. I still think Sunbury Kangaroos will win either way though. Not having a ruckman will really hurt the Hawks.

In my opinion, the key players for Woodend-Hesket in this game will not be the Sipthorps, Ngs, Johnstones etc. because we know they will produce.

I think if the Hawks are to win they need 4-5 goals from Barker (who IMO is not a big game player), Forrest to run the Roos defence ragged and take contested marks, Bowen to produce four quarters, and Salpy to put in another game like he did on Sunday.

For the Roos, they will need a huge effort from their key forwards in Ploog and Sporle, and need Housey, Holey, Bobby and co. to not only hold the backline together, but to make Woodend-Hesket's forward line accountable by running the ball from defence.

You do mean OUR Hawks dont you FH18. Looked at your posts and it seems we follow the same team. Not many 'down on form teams' get to prelim! A few hiccups last week, but the last quarter looked anything but a 'down on form team'. Hawks will put a four quarter performance together this week FH18 and hopefully book themselves a grand final birth-Hope to see you and your Romsey mates down their to support us!

I will be their to support the brown & gold woody. From an outsiders perspective I believe they are the best team in the comp. I know people will think that is a ridiculous statement considering how dominant riddell have been but i think the hawks have more natural talent at their disposal and if they can just put it all together on the one day for 4 quarters they will prove me right. Having said that though, i believe they have been down on form over the past couple of weeks with too much being left to too few. Against the kangaroos they just expected things to happen and despite 1 awesome quarter (which was a snapshot of what they are really capable of) they were very average. Then on Sunday they were very fortunate Romsey ran out of legs and self-belief because once again they struggled to work cohesively and didnt seem to have suitable match ups for a few of romseys guns: Morgan & Burlak!
I have faith that both the players & the coaching staff will peak this weekend and next in all 3 grades & the hawks will bring home some coveted silverware.

I will be their to support the brown & gold woody. From an outsiders perspective I believe they are the best team in the comp. I know people will think that is a ridiculous statement considering how dominant riddell have been but i think the hawks have more natural talent at their disposal and if they can just put it all together on the one day for 4 quarters they will prove me right. Having said that though, i believe they have been down on form over the past couple of weeks with too much being left to too few. Against the kangaroos they just expected things to happen and despite 1 awesome quarter (which was a snapshot of what they are really capable of) they were very average. Then on Sunday they were very fortunate Romsey ran out of legs and self-belief because once again they struggled to work cohesively and didnt seem to have suitable match ups for a few of romseys guns: Morgan & Burlak!
I have faith that both the players & the coaching staff will peak this weekend and next in all 3 grades & the hawks will bring home some coveted silverware.

Who was the gingernut c....kheadwho from woodend who followed Morgan every quarter just to abuse him. Probably same one who followed Jamesy each quarter last year. Im not kangaroos no1 fan but i can see why James leant over fence and smashed idiot last year

Bit over the top Roy. From what i saw he was just having some friendly banter with Morgs & Romsey supporters in last quarter. Nothing malicious in it. Think he was following a mate who plays in woodend backline more so than Morgs.

It has been raining pretty much all day but only lightly for the most part, just drove past tony clarke actually and the ground looks to be in very good nick.

ive heard sunny 24 degrees on friday and clear/cloud 20 sat so IF the weather goes to planned, we should be in for a ripper of a match!

It has been raining pretty much all day but only lightly for the most part, just drove past tony clarke actually and the ground looks to be in very good nick.

Weather has done the ground the world of good meet with league there yesterday and they have givin the ground :thumbsu: the centre square is a little bare (clubrooms side) as is CHF at the bottom end. More heavy drizzle than rain.

Congrats to Bulk and co for Romsey's ground condition on Sat.