Mongrel
Do you reckon you have another year in you or not ? Body holding up
it will only happen if i lose twenty kilos.bodys fairly hammered tho ballsy.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Do you reckon you have another year in you or not ? Body holding up
There were plenty of players that didn't contribute their best on Saturday IMS, but most of the players you would expect to do something at least did something. Barker and Bonnici were the only two key players to not contribute on the day. As for bagging my comments, I can cop that. But when my opinions are parallel to many spectators, two opposition coaches and at two Sunbury Kangaroos players I think I'm not too far off the mark.
Barker is always going to get one of the best defenders, but that should be no excuse. I know he didn't get a lot of the ball, and is a team man etc. But he is supposed to be a goal kicker. Yes, you won the game, but against Riddell he will have to kick at least three or four if you are to be a chance. Why on earth wasn't Sippy named in the best? Who are you trying to fool?
have to agree with the sipthorpe call, thought his hands were huge all day, took a number of contested marks at pivotal points, along with ciunik they were the difference i thought, especially when they were both floating across half forward...
What did you make of Bonnici's game? You should be unbiased.
Barker is always going to get one of the best defenders, but that should be no excuse. I know he didn't get a lot of the ball, and is a team man etc. But he is supposed to be a goal kicker. Yes, you won the game, but against Riddell he will have to kick at least three or four if you are to be a chance. Why on earth wasn't Sippy named in the best? Who are you trying to fool?
My point was simply that the type of game he played allowed others to pop up and kick a few-dont care who kicks the goals and gets in the best and i'm pretty sure none of the team does either! Haven't looked at who was named in the best, however it's most likely a mistake was made, you know mistakes can be made Matt, like picking Woodend to miss the finals this year after recruiting well and making a prelim the year before. My response was to your call of him being worst on ground. I was simply trying to get the point across that sometimes a reporters read on the game is not indicative of the clubs perspective who better understand his role (and this of course changes week to week)! By putting a clubs slant on a players role means that readers (especially those who were unable to attend) get a more balanced scope of the events that transpired and thus giving him some credit he deserves.
He couldn't even make a contest on a number of occasions.
Bit harsh Matt! Your comments have been a little anti-Woodend lately mate-What have we done to upset you Matt? Have the Woodend punters been cleaning up?
I like Barker and Woodend, I have been a little disappointed with both in the last couple of weeks. The Hawks' form is winning form, and you can't complain, but I reckon you played better in the home and away season. While Barker played well in the first final (I wasn't there), I noticed he was pretty quiet at Kilmore, so I made a concerted effort to watch him on Saturday. There are many players in this competition I like watching in full flight, and a number of them are Hawks players. This year you have the nitty gritty on-ballers, along with a bit of class around them, but I just think you need to get more output from your key forwards. Forrest has struggled to play many 'matchwinners' this year, similar to Digger. While these guys do warrant a lot of attention, and your smaller types benefit (Dowling, Podbury and Salpy), those three probably won't kick enough goals in a grand final to get you through. I'm also critical of the Kangaroos from Saturday's game. The week before they took it right up to Riddell, and I don't know whether it was the different matchups or whatnot, but they hardly gave a fair dinkum yelp at Macedon. The Hawks had all the answers, yes. But they were only under serious scoreboard pressure for a couple of periods in the game. Apart from kicking the first score of the match, the Kangas never led, and only got as close as level pegging twice for the remainder. Perhaps because I'm such a big fan of the way Riddell play and manage themselves, I can be easily be more critical of others. Please prove me wrong Woody07 and the rest of the Woodend boys. I want to see a great game on Sunday. Be great to see Barker kick five! I've been wrong before and happily admit it. Your bound to get it wrong when you make predictions every week. But I'm happy to stand by what I say, so bring on the criticism if you have any. Can't learn if people praise you all the time
any thoughts if sippy will be at the hawks again for season 08? I know he wasnt even %100 fit this year and still dominated ... surely he would be walk up 1's in better leagues?
Matt any chance of some odds on the netball GF, not enough options with just the footy. I knwo the B grade will involve a short priced fave but the A grade match looks like a real 50/50. Will give me some incentive to go and have a look at the girls on Sunday.