RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

Robbo show shatters Magpies

by Matt Nicholls

ONE player should not be able to have so much influence on a game of football.
One player should not be able to single handedly revive a side’s winning chances.
One player did last Saturday . . . Matt Robertson.
quote]

Settle Matt, he was good, but there were other players on the ground helping.

by Matt Nicholls

One player should not be able to single handedly revive a side’s winning chances.
The Kilmore star produced one of the best individual games seen at J.J. Clancy Reserve, giving the Blues an eight point win over arch rivals Wallan in the first local showdown since 2001.
Some long-time Blues’ supporters likened Robertson’s game to the same calibre of the stars in Kilmore’s 1971 premiership side, which contained the likes of Bernie Hede, Terry Mills, Geoff Briggs, Graeme Harper and Peter Ryan – all top quality footballers.
Whilst Robertson was brilliant and clearly the best last Saturday, he had plenty of teammates who gave their support.
Skipper Adam Goudge played his best game for the club this year; Rhyan Straney perhaps played his best game for Kilmore ever, whilst the likes of Jason King, Alan Carroll, Ben Pronk, Dave Saunders and Jon Sutherland were all brilliant.
In front of the biggest home and away crowd I’ve ever seen in the Riddell District Football League, both sides could have walked away with the points.
It was game full of drama. Obviously the early focus was on Dave Cornish, but it soon switched to the football.
Kilmore kicked the first goal through Daniel Kenyon, but it was Wallan’s quarter. Through Shannon Galea (two goals), Hayden Langborne and Cornish, the Magpies held a nine point lead at the first break.
They continued their good form to hold a 14-point buffer at half time, but perhaps should have led by more, as the players missed several easy chances on goal.
The game had yet to really reach the high expectations, but then again the big crowd had yet to see the “Robbo show”.
A superb third quarter saw the Blues turn a 14-point deficit into a four point lead, and although the home side had the momentum, Wallan still appeared to be a good chance.
Adding to the drama, neither side had much of an interchange bench to work with. In the final term the Blues had no fit players on the bench, with Linton Kemp, Travis Hede, Chris Temperley and Cody Franks all injured, whilst Wallan were down to two fit men after Dave Fowler and Dave Henderson succumbed to hamstring injuries.
SENSATIONAL!
With the game in the balance, Robertson proved why he is one of the premier players of the RDFL.
In the final term he took eight contested marks, won two centre clearances, had over a dozen possessions, and kicked the winning goal.
Things were looking bleak for the Blues too. The Pies kicked the first two goals of the quarter to establish a five-point lead as Kilmore butchered several chances to score goals.
The game was turned on its head when Blake Whiteway fluffed a kick on the half forward line, which allowed Robertson to take a telling mark, kick long and direct to Kenyon, who was able to hit Straney on a lead about 40 metres from goal.
On a reasonably uncomfortable angle, and with the opportunity to give the Blues a one-point lead, there is no doubting there was a huge amount of pressure to kick the goal.
Known as a prodigious kick, the distance was never going to trouble Straney, but whether he could stand up when it mattered was the question on everyone’s lips.
But true to his earlier form, he walked in calmly, kicked through the ball and to be truthful, it never looked like missing. Straney had kicked his fourth and the Blues had the lead.
As they had done all day the Magpies continued to fight, despite conceding another behind, and actually looked a genuine threat to take the lead.
But they couldn’t get past Robertson.
After starting in the middle, the utility would float into defence and cut off the Wallan delivery. He took at least half-a-dozen crucial marks in the final quarter to keep Kilmore in the game.
With just a minute to go, Wallan looked to have found a way forward and had the crowd on the edge of their seat, but was once again thwarted by the Blues’ defence.
This time Robertson had found himself loose in the middle of the ground, and with one long kick had the ball in his hands.
Despite the best efforts of the Magpies’ half forwards, Robertson shrugged off his rivals, waltzed inside the forward line and slotted the sealer from 40 metres.
Game over.
SENIORS
Kilmore 3.1, 5.1, 8.3, 10.7 (67) d
Wallan 4.4, 6.9, 6.11, 8.11 (59).
Goals (K): R. Straney 4; M. Robertson, A. Moedt 2; D. Kenyon, B. Pronk.
Best: Robertson, J. King, A. Carroll, Straney, S. Finnigan, A. Hibbert.
Goals (W): D. Cornish, B. Hanson, S. Galea 2; S. Hamilton, H. Langborne.
Best: B. Henderson, B. Whiteway, Langborne, K. Mazurek, T. Tomsky, Galea.

You had to have a dig about Blake Whiteway again, bet you loved that. Hope you remembered to bring in a spare pair of jocks today, as those will def need washing after all that talk of Robbo. Did you run out after the game and get him to sign your jumper? You are a tool........

Here we go, I knew it would come up. Say something negative about Blake and they start again. For what its worth, he was clearly in the top five players on the ground on Saturday. In order I reckon I'd have Robbo, Henderson, Straney, Whiteway and Sutherland as my top players.

Settle Matt, he was good, but there were other players on the ground helping.

If you read down a couple of sentences, you'll get to this:

Whilst Robertson was brilliant and clearly the best last Saturday, he had plenty of teammates who gave their support.
Skipper Adam Goudge played his best game for the club this year; Rhyan Straney perhaps played his best game for Kilmore ever, whilst the likes of Jason King, Alan Carroll, Ben Pronk, Dave Saunders and Jon Sutherland were all brilliant.

Sunbury kangaroos lose and bigfooty stops as per usual...woodend play a terrific game of football and recieve no gratitude from sunbury as per usual.

You really are an inane fool OM.. Go back to sleep.. As usual you have had nothing to post until the Roos lost a game of football... Unless you have something constructive to add.. Head back to the VAFA thread and stay there.

I'm really sick of posters like Old Melbournian posting crap like that on this board. If you can't contribute anything of value to this discussion then don't say anything at all.

Your negative comments help nobody.

Has the RDFL ever been as even as it is this year? Any team could win on any day. I think it's great. In saying that though I think anyone playing Riddell will have to be at their best to beat them.

Agreed mate.. Woodend were outstanding on the weekend with a couple out too.. With Sippy back they will be right up there again, he breeds confidence in other players.. Was very impressed with Steve Considine too...

go back to the gtaIV thread TL!

anyway moving back to footy and away from this personal slander the burra are sitting comfortalbly at the moment with a huge game coming up on the weekend!!!

by Matt Nicholls

The Kilmore star produced one of the best individual games seen at J.J. Clancy Reserve, giving the Blues an eight point win over arch rivals Wallan in the first local showdown since 2001.
Some long-time Blues’ supporters likened Robertson’s game to the same calibre of the stars in Kilmore’s 1971 premiership side, which contained the likes of Bernie Hede, Terry Mills, Geoff Briggs, Graeme Harper and Peter Ryan – all top quality footballers.
In front of the biggest home and away crowd I’ve ever seen in the Riddell District Football League, both sides could have walked away with the points.
It was game full of drama. Obviously the early focus was on Dave Cornish, but it soon switched to the football.
Kilmore kicked the first goal through Daniel Kenyon, but it was Wallan’s quarter. Through Shannon Galea (two goals), Hayden Langborne and Cornish, the Magpies held a nine point lead at the first break.
They continued their good form to hold a 14-point buffer at half time, but perhaps should have led by more, as the players missed several easy chances on goal.
The game had yet to really reach the high expectations, but then again the big crowd had yet to see the “Robbo show”.
A superb third quarter saw the Blues turn a 14-point deficit into a four point lead, and although the home side had the momentum, Wallan still appeared to be a good chance.
Adding to the drama, neither side had much of an interchange bench to work with. In the final term the Blues had no fit players on the bench, with Linton Kemp, Travis Hede, Chris Temperley and Cody Franks all injured, whilst Wallan were down to two fit men after Dave Fowler and Dave Henderson succumbed to hamstring injuries.
SENSATIONAL!
With the game in the balance, Robertson proved why he is one of the premier players of the RDFL.
In the final term he took eight contested marks, won two centre clearances, had over a dozen possessions, and kicked the winning goal.
Things were looking bleak for the Blues too. The Pies kicked the first two goals of the quarter to establish a five-point lead as Kilmore butchered several chances to score goals.
The game was turned on its head when Blake Whiteway fluffed a kick on the half forward line, which allowed Robertson to take a telling mark, kick long and direct to Kenyon, who was able to hit Straney on a lead about 40 metres from goal.
On a reasonably uncomfortable angle, and with the opportunity to give the Blues a one-point lead, there is no doubting there was a huge amount of pressure to kick the goal.
Known as a prodigious kick, the distance was never going to trouble Straney, but whether he could stand up when it mattered was the question on everyone’s lips.
But true to his earlier form, he walked in calmly, kicked through the ball and to be truthful, it never looked like missing. Straney had kicked his fourth and the Blues had the lead.
As they had done all day the Magpies continued to fight, despite conceding another behind, and actually looked a genuine threat to take the lead.
But they couldn’t get past Robertson.
After starting in the middle, the utility would float into defence and cut off the Wallan delivery. He took at least half-a-dozen crucial marks in the final quarter to keep Kilmore in the game.
With just a minute to go, Wallan looked to have found a way forward and had the crowd on the edge of their seat, but was once again thwarted by the Blues’ defence.
This time Robertson had found himself loose in the middle of the ground, and with one long kick had the ball in his hands.
Despite the best efforts of the Magpies’ half forwards, Robertson shrugged off his rivals, waltzed inside the forward line and slotted the sealer from 40 metres.
Game over.
SENIORS
Kilmore 3.1, 5.1, 8.3, 10.7 (67) d
Wallan 4.4, 6.9, 6.11, 8.11 (59).
Goals (K): R. Straney 4; M. Robertson, A. Moedt 2; D. Kenyon, B. Pronk.
Best: Robertson, J. King, A. Carroll, Straney, S. Finnigan, A. Hibbert.
Goals (W): D. Cornish, B. Hanson, S. Galea 2; S. Hamilton, H. Langborne.
Best: B. Henderson, B. Whiteway, Langborne, K. Mazurek, T. Tomsky, Galea.

Matt wipe your chin....

anyway moving back to footy and away from this personal slander the burra are sitting comfortalbly at the moment with a huge game coming up on the weekend!!!

As unfortunate as it is.. I really dont believe that you can even comprehend what personal slander actually means..

And I am almost definate that anyone from Diggers Rest would be appalled that you link yourself with their club.

How about instead of you posting after the roos lose games, how about we see you actually post something of interest before a round, how about a match review or even your tips for the next week.

nice work there old melburnian, yes the burras are looking the goods shame about the roos thought they were very ordinary on the weekend.
i believe Gav has given up on the roos and has plans to re-open a basketball card store in Diggers.
PS. Riddell to win GF by 10-15 goals

nice work there old melburnian, yes the burras are looking the goods shame about the roos thought they were very ordinary on the weekend.
i believe Gav has given up on the roos and has plans to re-open a basketball card store in Diggers.
PS. Riddell to win GF by 10-15 goals

*thunderous applause*.. Fantastic post.

Can I have the last few BOG in the grand final? I know Nick Hannett won last year but can somone give the last couple.

How about instead of you posting after the roos lose games, how about we see you actually post something of interest before a round, how about a match review or even your tips for the next week.

He never reports on games, he never goes to games, he just doesn't like the RDFL clear and simple. Nothing more than an attention seeking troll.

The best on ground award is called the Doug McIntyre Medal.

2006 - Dean Besanko (Riddell)
2005 - Mark Andrews (Riddell)
2004 - James O'Grady (Lancefield)
2003 - Matt Cox (Romsey)
2002 - Mick Tadd (Woodend-Hesket)
2001 - Robbie Wittmer (Kilmore)
2000 - John Markham (Jacana)

The best on ground award is called the Doug McIntyre Medal.

2006 - Dean Besanko (Riddell)
2005 - Mark Andrews (Riddell)
2004 - James O'Grady (Lancefield)
2003 - Matt Cox (Romsey)
2002 - Mick Tadd (Woodend-Hesket)
2001 - Robbie Wittmer (Kilmore)
2000 - John Markham (Jacana)

jacana getting smashed every week! how long 'til they want to come back to this league

robbo did nothin till the last qtr..... u have lost all credibility u ever had matt. robbo has alot of ability but gets a hell of alot of cheap kicks. his good when he has the ball matt but far to lazy for my liking. chill out dude. whiteway and langbourne clearly best on the ground. kilmores best was j king and strayney. alot of people watched that game mate and witnessed that he wasnt fantastic all game just big last qtr. get ya hand off it pickles. where was britney spears, seen was named in the paper but didnt show. shootin the mouth off as usual..........

good to see the big cat, O'Conner kick 4 (5 last week) despite the side going down to the tiges.might be a pretty handy recruit come seasons end.realise they lost but how was the standard of the match.