RDFL Thread 2008

I've just finished writing my preview for this weekend's RDFL record, and I say that Riddell's side this year is probably the best since Gisborne's in 1999. I also said that they've probably had the best list in every year from 2002-2007, but only won three flags instead of six.

I don't think Woodend-Hesket are spending more money on players than the rest of the pack, but it is clear that Riddell are paying the most. The Hawks are blessed to have a great crop of locals through a terrific junior and Under 18s program. Kilmore will see the benefits in the future now, and Macedon is stiff to have Gisborne and other clubs always poaching their young guns.

Although money can buy you players, it doesn't always buy you heart and courage. Continue to develop kids and that will work out. This year Riddell are the dominant team, and have been for a long time, but there is still hope for the other clubs.

Fair dinkum matt you're a tool sometimes,, maybe it's not the amount that we outlay but the actual players we get for our$$$. The side we have on the park this season, including the two's, are probably the tightest bunch of MATES i have had the pleasure in being part of in all the years I have pulled on a jumper. So instead of everyone sooking about how much we are reportedly paying players everytime we smack some side, why don't they have a look at their paid players and concentrate on that. Maybe they're not getting as much bang for their buck as they would like to think!

I agree but that wasn't my point.

Matt- do you not think that a lot of the kids that are coming through at the moment are starting to come of age. Macedon,Woodend, Riddell and Diggers Rest are starting to reap the rewards of these players. The next crop looks like coming out of Kilmore and Lancefield so i hope they look after them and they can then reap the rewards and make the competition stronger again. Name your top ten under the age of 20 at the moment and you might find you would have a fair list at that. As for the money clubs spend is a lot of that here say or facts because i dont think any club in this competion would say how much they spend. Which club would be the most disappointed right now ?? Diggers must have spent a bit then ,there now third on the Ladder (and sneaking up)or are they getting a little bit more out what there got at the moment.

I think if you look back a week or so you'll find my praise of our young stars. You too, missed my point.

Matt not having a go at you. All im saying is some clubs are starting to get good value with there kids at the moment coming through and its good to see. Kangas a couple of years away yet if they can keep their under 16 side to-gether from last year. Heres one for you Matt name an under 21 side at the moment and on form i think it would be interesting.

To be fair I have no idea about players' ages in this comp, but here's a try:

B: Phil Romeril (Romsey), John Ryan (Diggers Rest), Ben Shipard (W-Hesket).
HB: Jae Wilton (Macedon), Stuart Clarke (Diggers Rest), Brad Hooke (Lancefield).
C: Ben Shippard (W-Hesket), Cam Dawson (Romsey), James Wright (Macedon).
HF: Matt Krul (Rockbank), Ben Richmond (Romsey), Nathan Carroll (Kangaroos).
F: Myles Dorman (Lancefield), Dave Henderson (Wallan), James Hepburn (W-Hesket).
R: Tom Waters (Lancefield), Peter Robertson (Riddell), James Climas (Riddell).

Apologies to anyone I've missed. Top of the head team.

HB: Jae Wilton (Macedon), Stuart Clarke (Diggers Rest), Brad Hooke (Lancefield).
F: Myles Dorman (Lancefield), Dave Henderson (Wallan), James Hepburn (W-Hesket).

Thanks Matt -interesting isnt it.Not too shabby a side

Too late, top 4 or 5 went to Lions this year, to play in a better comp????
Very dissappointing

Matt I think James Petran could sneak a spot down forward pal, Yes ?
i might have to play soon i cant even get a crack in ur under 21s nicholls! shattered

Give you a spot on the wing champ, hows that ?
Benny Shippard is pretty good but I dont think even he can play in 2 possies at once !

Any chance you could PM me the phone numbers of these guys :confused:

Petran would be in the best side in the comp, let alone an under 21 side!

Needs to lift his work rate & be a little more consistant at moment, but then again holding down the toughest possition on the park (chf) is no mean feat & he "WILL" have a blinder game soon its just a question of which poor side he decides to turn it on against !

Riddell are simply an outstanding unit.. No doubt about it.

was that the best first qaurter you have seen IMS from mick allen on saturday?? what he kick 8.1?, in those conditions is a wonderful effort! couple of big games this week that could shape some sides season's, with the league bye just around the corner:thumbsu:

Best individual quarter I have seen, would be pretty close, although I did see a quarter of football from Cole Laurie in the final against Woodend a couple of years ago that was pretty special, although that was a last quarter and turned the game so tough to judge that against Mick's quarter which effectively ended the game.. Wherever Mick went in that first quarter the ball followed, I reckon 3 times the ball bounced at right angles into his lap.. But it was definately a special quarter of football from an individual.. I tell you what though, Riddell were awesome before the weekend, they got Coles back on Saturday for his first game and he gives them yet another dimension, thought he was outstanding for his return game too...

Could anyone tell me if you cop 17 weeks or more in your comp do you get banned for life from playing, this is a rule in the VCFL.

Big A James that is playing in the KDFL got 16 weeks when he played in your comp, He has been reported again for jumping the fence and having a crack a person. There is a lot of talk that if he gets one more week that will be it for him, but also talk that the was reported in a metro comp that is not covered by the VCFL.

Can anyone help??

Taken from today's Herald Sun . . .

THE career of country goalkicking sensation Aaron James could be over after he allegedly punched an opponent and later slapped a spectator when playing for Stanhope in Saturday's Kyabram League game against Undera.
James, who played with Collingwood, Richmond and Western Bulldogs, needs only a one-match suspension to be deregistered.
Under an AFL Victoria ruling, players who accumulate 16 or more matches in suspensions are deregistered.
James was suspended for four years by the Riddell District Football League in 2006 for acting in a threatening manner to an umpire.
The ban was reduced to 16 matches on appeal, but that suspension will be recognised by the Kyabram League.
James will front the tribunal on Friday night.
He has been a huge drawcard for Stanhope and this month booted 19 goals against Avenel to take his tally for the season to 50 goals in four matches.
James, who has been the target of spectator abuse for seasons, an an Undera player were reported for striking each other.
Stanhope defeated Undera by six goals.

I posted this yesterday morning. All the stuff regarding what happened in the RDFL and the AFL Victoria rules is all factual to my knowledge. Can't comment on what happened at Stanhope.

Could anyone tell me if you cop 17 weeks or more in your comp do you get banned for life from playing, this is a rule in the VCFL.

Big A James that is playing in the KDFL got 16 weeks when he played in your comp, He has been reported again for jumping the fence and having a crack a person. There is a lot of talk that if he gets one more week that will be it for him, but also talk that the was reported in a metro comp that is not covered by the VCFL.

Can anyone help??

AFL Victoria (and therefore all affiliated clubs and associations) have brought in the 16 week rule (referred to as the deregistration policy - refer the AFL Victoria site for the policy http://www.aflvic.com.au/index.php?id=8 - this is to stop serial offenders. The new transfer rules also ensure that a player's history follows when he/she moves clubs and leagues.

As an affiliated association, the RDFL has this rule but with the override that the player's history commences from (I think) 2 years ago so everyone started with a clean slate.

Hope this helps ....:)

AFL Victoria (and therefore all affiliated clubs and associations) have brought in the 16 week rule (referred to as the deregistration policy - refer the AFL Victoria site for the policy http://www.aflvic.com.au/index.php?id=8 - this is to stop serial offenders. The new transfer rules also ensure that a player's history follows when he/she moves clubs and leagues.

As an affiliated association, the RDFL has this rule but with the override that the player's history commences from (I think) 2 years ago so everyone started with a clean slate.

Hope this helps ....:)

Thanks mate, This should stop a lot of sh#t talk around the KDFL.