RDFL Thread 2008

gday
i heard the east and west teams were in the record on the weekend for the all star match
does anyone have a list of the teams that were picked. it seems pretty early to name teams already. how long have the lads ben training?

:thumbsu:
To be fair I have no idea about players' ages in this comp, but here's a try:

B: Phil Romeril (Romsey), John Ryan (Diggers Rest), Ben Shipard (W-Hesket).
HB: Jae Wilton (Macedon), Stuart Clarke (Diggers Rest), Brad Hooke (Lancefield).
C: Ben Shippard (W-Hesket), Cam Dawson (Romsey), James Wright (Macedon).
HF: Matt Krul (Rockbank), Ben Richmond (Romsey), Nathan Carroll (Kangaroos).
F: Myles Dorman (Lancefield), Dave Henderson (Wallan), James Hepburn (W-Hesket).
R: Tom Waters (Lancefield), Peter Robertson (Riddell), James Climas (Riddell).

Apologies to anyone I've missed. Top of the head team.
Blake henderson 17 yr old playing ruck in seniours at wallan gotta have him in team

Agreed what were the sides posted in the record? Who are peoples tips for this week? Any news, upsets, suspensions or potential matchups that could bring people through the gates?

Didn't see the sides in the record, but I think they were only the squads from what I've heard.

Think they'll be four close matches - Rockbank v Macedon, Woodend-Hesket v Diggers Rest, Melton Central v Sunbury Kangaroos, and Kilmore v Romsey. Riddell should make light work of Wallan considering it is unlikely that Fowler (hammy) and Cornish (cut hand) will play. The Hawks v Burra match is certainly the most interesting. You'd expected the Woodend lads to get up on their home turf, but Diggers Rest is playing pretty good footy of late. Great move by Hopkins to reinvent Laurie as a forward!

can someone tell me if the rdfl would accept another local side to enter the comp say broadford or would that create a bye:confused::confused::confused::confused:
rdfl and clubs voted wallan back in would be great to see a club like say broadford join the comp which would take away the bye:thumbsu:

Thanks Matt although you say squads, what were the sides as a matter of interest.Believe it would make for some good viewing and discussion on this thread Defini9tely looks like a great round of football. Any upsets, I'll tip the burras in a close one with the match up of sims and jonston one to watch.

can someone tell me if the rdfl would accept another local side to enter the comp say broadford or would that create a bye:confused::confused::confused::confused:

I'm sure the league would consider any teams wanting to join the Comp regardless of if it creates a bye. I'm sure Trentham & Bachuss Marsh would already be considering it as they are struggling to be competative in their leagues other clubs struggling in comps would be Jacana and Gladstone Park.
Who knows I think you would find if a club was serious, the league would investigate into the finances of clubs to make sure they don't just come in and smash clubs with higher player budgets.

I'm sure the league would consider any teams wanting to join the Comp regardless of if it creates a bye. I'm sure Trentham & Bachuss Marsh would already be considering it as they are struggling to be competative in their leagues other clubs struggling in comps would be Jacana and Gladstone Park.
Who knows I think you would find if a club was serious, the league would investigate into the finances of clubs to make sure they don't just come in and smash clubs with higher player budgets.

Trentham are doing pretty well this year, certainly oodles better than in recent seasons. But they would be non-competitive in the RDFL in my opinion, which hurts because my grandfather was a club legend there (came third in the Bowen in 1953) and played with some champions like Jack Hiscock. I'd dearly love to see them back here, but I think they'd only compete with the likes of Rockbank.

I wouldn't mind seeing Broadford or Bacchus Marsh join up, but don't think Jacana or Gladstone Park would be appropriate at this stage. We have to avoid bringing in sides from the Melbourne suburbs, keep it more a "country" league, even though Sunbury and Melton etc are becoming suburbia.

On the Trentham issue agree that they would battle to be competitive at the moment. However attracting and retaining players long-term espicially guys from Melb would be a heap easier playing in the Riddell comp. Same issue that Kyneton has it is an hour home and then at least an hour to most away games, you need to be a pretty committed local to be doing that or getting some pretty reasonable coin!

Think both clubs long term would be in a better situation if they played in the RDFL.

On the Trentham issue agree that they would battle to be competitive at the moment. However attracting and retaining players long-term espicially guys from Melb would be a heap easier playing in the Riddell comp. Same issue that Kyneton has it is an hour home and then at least an hour to most away games, you need to be a pretty committed local to be doing that or getting some pretty reasonable coin!

Think both clubs long term would be in a better situation if they played in the RDFL.

Completely agree. Been arguing that Kynton should bite the bullet and play in the RDFL for years now. They certainly have some fine history in the Bendigo Football League, but have been a joke in recent seasons. Can't see them fighting back up the ladder any time soon either, which is sad.

Just for your information, Halfullonfence's horse Alrosa is racing at Sandown today.

R6 No.8, its paying around $19 at the moment on the TAB, but should come into about $12 by the start I reckon.

My quaddie for today is:

1st leg: 1, 3, 9, 10.
2nd leg: 3, 8, 13, 17, 18.
3rd leg: 2, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12.
4th leg: 4, 5, 12.

For $50 you'll get 11.9% - its not a good day for a quad, but it's best to go wide at Sandown, especially considering there has been rain about.

My best bet for the day is:

R4 No.1 -- Banc De Fortune, should win.

Just for your information, Halfullonfence's horse Alrosa is racing at Sandown today.

R6 No.8, its paying around $19 at the moment on the TAB, but should come into about $12 by the start I reckon.

My quaddie for today is:

1st leg: 1, 3, 9, 10.
2nd leg: 3, 8, 13, 17, 18.
3rd leg: 2, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12.
4th leg: 4, 5, 12.

For $50 you'll get 11.9% - its not a good day for a quad, but it's best to go wide at Sandown, especially considering there has been rain about.

My best bet for the day is:

R4 No.1 -- Banc De Fortune, should win.

That was all you needed to say,
Give a few jockeys a call maybe they will follow your advice.
I don't think anybody here really gives a crap. :D

Trentham are doing pretty well this year, certainly oodles better than in recent seasons. But they would be non-competitive in the RDFL in my opinion, which hurts because my grandfather was a club legend there (came third in the Bowen in 1953) and played with some champions like Jack Hiscock. I'd dearly love to see them back here, but I think they'd only compete with the likes of Rockbank.

I wouldn't mind seeing Broadford or Bacchus Marsh join up, but don't think Jacana or Gladstone Park would be appropriate at this stage. We have to avoid bringing in sides from the Melbourne suburbs, keep it more a "country" league, even though Sunbury and Melton etc are becoming suburbia.

Old teams of the RDFL

Sunbury lions
Melton bloods
Melton south
Darley
Trentham
Broadford

Gisborne
Craigieburn
Broadmedows Unt\Jacana
Mombba park
Nth fawkner or Fawkner park
Whittlesea or Nrth Eagles

Sunbury west early 1980's
Hesket

I know Gladstone park had juniors

Help my list

I think Bacchus Marsh would be a good fit to the rdfl

Hely my list

These are the list of premierships since WWII, it should help.

Sunbury - 13 (1953, 55, 57, 69, 74, 76, 77, 82, 87, 88, 90, 95, 96).
Gisborne - 10 (1962, 65, 67, 72, 75, 78, 79, 97, 98, 99).
Lancefield - 9 (1945, 46, 49, 52, 58, 66, 95, 96, 2004).
Riddell - 9 (1947, 70, 80, 82, 90, 91, 92, 2005, 06).
Romsey - 7 (1948, 50, 51, 63, 68, 75, 2003).
Melton - 5 (1973, 81, 83, 84, 86).
Kilmore - 4 (1971, 87, 94, 2001).
Wallan - 4 (1977, 85, 88, 92).
Woodend/Hesket - 3 (1978, 83, 2002).
Trentham - 3 (1956, 59, 61).
Darley - 2 (1989, 95).
Broadford - 2 (1981, 84).
Craigieburn - 2 (1979, 93).
Woodend - 1 (1964).
Hesket - 1 (1960).
Macedon - 1 (1976).
Melton South - 1 (1994).
Moomba Park - 1 (1991).
Northern Eagles - 1 (1988).
Diggers Rest - 1 (1993).
Jacana - 1 (2000).

Sunbury Rovers/Kangaroos - 0
Rockbank - 0
Darraweit - 0
Fawkner Park - 0

Alive after the first leg, $7 winner.

EDIT: After 2nd leg

Great run by Alrosa (fourth), but with a $78.90 winner, I'm out of the quaddie. Told you to go wide!

Young 19 yr old starting to find some fitness and form at the Kangas would be a show !!!!! lol

wont be happy with me!!!!!!

Fitness was the problem, although I believe an extended cricket season may have been responsible. My other problem I have is where would his position be in that U21 team? His height may not be up to it when you look at the other players in the forward line, and he doesn't have that raw pace to be a small forward. Certainly has plenty of talent though!

No luck with the quad, got three legs though :)

First leg - $7.00
Second leg - $78.90 - best runner came third.
Third leg - $10.60
Fourth leg - $3.30

Always another day.