RDFL Thread 2008

How would we go with this guys

Elite Competition This would include sides that spend 70k upwards
Divi One
Greenvale ( Maybe they should be in the northen league)
Albion
Maribyrong Park
Port Colts
Spotswood
Hoppers Crossing
Keilor
West Coburg
Sunshine
St Albans
Strathmore
Aberfeldie

Divi 2 would includes sides that spend 50k upwards
Oak Park
Avondale Heights
Altona
Albanvale
Glenorden
West Footscray
Taylors Lakes
Doutta Stars
Craigieburn
West Meadows
Kilmore
Riddell
Yarraville Seddon Eagles
Keilor Park
East Keilor
Airport West

Divi Three would include sides that spend 40k upwards
Sydenham Hillside
Deer Park
Jacana
Nthern Saints FC
Rockbank
Lancefield
Sunbury Kangaroos
Melton Central
Western Magpies
Moonee Valley
Coburg Districts
Macedon FC

You could make 5 divisions, raise the standard, employ a more professional people to run the league. Come on guys whats your thoughts?

This was posted on the WRFL site - what do you all think of the concept?

I reckon more along the lines of every metro league make a rival comp similar to the Ammo's

This was posted on the edfl - move's thread

What do you thin guys ?

It is quite obvious where the "Power" is and it a total disgrace what has happened in this situation.
The league is going ahead in leaps and bounds,because we are all trying to achieve the same goals and make the RDFL one of the best if not the best local competition running around.
The decision by Riddell only shows that the overall big picture is not what it seems and individuals more to the point dont have the same agenda.
This is my personal opinion and for what it is worth i bet there is a lot of people who would agree with me.
It is quite obvious that the pressure is on and nothing less than a premiership after last year will be accepted.
What goes around comes around.
What goes around comes around????
Harden up and get over it, the grounds not right, move on.

Any idiot knows the grounds not right,its the co-operation that sucks !!!!!
I have moved on and just voicing my opinion.
Settle down precious idiot is a bit harsh, and not every idiot knew how the ground was/is including some of your own people!!!!!

Do you know what ground your talking about,our home ground was never going to be right for another couple of weeks and everyone knew that,i think your on the wrong tram!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway,lets get on with it and in the long run,what will be will be !!!!!!!

You have a great weekend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How would we go with this guys

Elite Competition This would include sides that spend 70k upwards
Divi One
Greenvale ( Maybe they should be in the northen league)
Albion
Maribyrong Park
Port Colts
Spotswood
Hoppers Crossing
Keilor
West Coburg
Sunshine
St Albans
Strathmore
Aberfeldie

Divi 2 would includes sides that spend 50k upwards
Oak Park
Avondale Heights
Altona
Albanvale
Glenorden
West Footscray
Taylors Lakes
Doutta Stars
Craigieburn
West Meadows
Kilmore
Riddell
Yarraville Seddon Eagles
Keilor Park
East Keilor
Airport West

Divi Three would include sides that spend 40k upwards
Sydenham Hillside
Deer Park
Jacana
Nthern Saints FC
Rockbank
Lancefield
Sunbury Kangaroos
Melton Central
Western Magpies
Moonee Valley
Coburg Districts
Macedon FC

You could make 5 divisions, raise the standard, employ a more professional people to run the league. Come on guys whats your thoughts?

This was posted on the WRFL site - what do you all think of the concept?

I reckon more along the lines of every metro league make a rival comp similar to the Ammo's

This was posted on the edfl - move's thread

What do you thin guys ?

I think it would be a good idea also add to the list sunbury, melton, melton south, darley and gisborne

if sunbury kangaroos 'swapped' some of their early season home games to away games and then got those games at home on the return leg, surely having all those 'home' games towards the end of the season would be a hell of an advantage leading into finals should they be up there

Congratulations to Simon Choate on his 200th game for the Lancefield Football Club. Anybody who knows Simon would be aware of the amount of work he does both on and off the field for the Tigers, and the way he goes about it, and would join me in congratulating a great footballer, great clubman and a great bloke.

Do you know what ground your talking about,our home ground was never going to be right for another couple of weeks and everyone knew that,i think your on the wrong tram!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway,lets get on with it and in the long run,what will be will be !!!!!!!

You have a great weekend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TOOL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pretty sure I know what ground I'm talking about, and when I say your own supporters did'nt know, everyone was under the impression that we were going to be playing on your own home ground for the first time not the lions juniors ground, and it was a late decision to change it.
What will be will be!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pretty sure I know what ground I'm talking about, and when I say your own supporters did'nt know, everyone was under the impression that we were going to be playing on your own home ground for the first time not the lions juniors ground, and it was a late decision to change it.

Supporters knew that our ground should be ready and open by today for tomorrows game, which it will be, Riddell FC and the league looked at it and said no to playing on it, Council ground keepers didn't really want it played on either, the club also decided that playing on it would affect its condition for the rest of the year as it was forecasted for rain thursday, friday and saturday. End of Story..

Now the roos will need to host the game at Riddell, blue shorts for the roos, as it is a home game the roos should also be playing out of the home rooms but i believe that is also out of negotiation. '
I'm sure that Riddells approach to this game will only add fuel to the fire as being one of the most hated clubs in this league, reason behind it or not.

Let me guess - you have trouble with basic concepts? Sunbury Rovers like the Fitzroy Lions and South Melbourne Swans no longer exsist. But hey you can get some attention by trolling. You don't upset people they all just think your a knob.
what have you been told about picking on people?i thought that you would have learnt some manners,obviously not.remember there are alot of people in the know!!

GROW SUM BALLS.both teams played on the ground.sunbury trained on concrete all summer and still are.and who are u 2 call dennisn a tool 4 expressing an opinion?

What the? I'm from Riddell champ so not to sure what your talking about when you say both teams played on the ground, and I should appoligise for calling him a tool it is just his opinion? As for growing some balls Uncle_Touchy is that so you can have your way with me?

OH petal,that would be fantastic.but unfortunately my taste is a little bit higher than someone from riddell.

Congratulations to Simon Choate on his 200th game for the Lancefield Football Club. Anybody who knows Simon would be aware of the amount of work he does both on and off the field for the Tigers, and the way he goes about it, and would join me in congratulating a great footballer, great clubman and a great bloke.

200th game for Choate

by Matt Nicholls

CHAMPION district footballer Simon Choate will play his 200th game for Lancefield tomorrow when the Tigers host Melton Central.
The veteran midfielder/forward has been a true stalwart of the football club over the years, despite a three-season stint with Essendon district club Doutta Stars.
A triple-premiership player at Tigerland, Choate, 32, said his most cherished memory at Lancefield is captaining the senior side to the 2004 premiership.
As an 18 and 19-year-old, Choate was a key ingredient in the Tigers’ 1995 and 1996 flags.
He kicked three goals as a forward pocket in the latter premiership, and was amongst the best in the ’95 flag win which broke a 29-year drought.
Having lived in Gisborne as a young child, Choate moved to Lancefield when he was 12 because his parents Gary and Pam wanted him, his twin brother Damian and older sister Melinda to go to school at Assumption College.
The brothers progressed through the football ranks at ACK, and eventually made it into the illustrious first XVIII, where they played with the likes of Justin Crawford and Ben Dixon.
After graduating, the twins returned to club football at Lancefield under the coaching of Tiger legend Marty Lakey.
When asked to speak briefly about Simon’s career, Lakey had nothing but praise for the left-footed star.
“He’s a professional footballer playing country footy. Everything he does, from training to playing, is done properly,” he said.
“On the field he is one of those players you want in your side. He’s versatile, reads the play well, and has tremendous skills. He doesn’t mind kicking a goal either.”
When speaking about his career with Lancefield, Choate said it was a privilege to pull on the guernsey for the Tigers.
“Being one of the more experienced guys in the team, you really start to understand how much history this club has, and, how much it means to you,” he said.
The skipper said that Lakey, along 95-96 premiership captain Mick Graham were some of the more influential people in his career.
PLENTY OF HISTORY
Choate also acknowledged Assumption coach Ray Carroll for teaching him about the finer parts of the game, such as the tradition, respect and etiquette at the higher level.
After his successive flags, Choate continued to play with Lancefield until the 1999 season, where the Tigers folded up due to dwindling player numbers.
So he went to Doutta Stars, where he played in a premiership in his first year and took out the best first year player and best finals player awards at club level.
A broken jaw and serious knee injury held back Choate’s career briefly, but he returned to Lancefield in 2002 and came back firing.
He was second in the Bowen Medal in his first year back, and also won the club best and fairest.
The following season he took over as captain from Brad Ryan and skippered his side to its second consecutive grand final loss.
In 2004, with the playing comeback of Lakey, Choate was a key player in Lancefield’s season and led them to a premiership over Riddell.
Since then he has continued to provide a strong leadership presence at Lancefield, and is the most respected player at Tigerland.
To go with his three Lancefield flags, Choate has received plenty of other accolades.
In 1994 he was an Under 18s interleague representative. The following year he played senior interleague.
From 2004-07 he was named in the RDFL’s team of the year. Last season he was picked as captain.
He won club best and fairests in 2002, 03, 05 and 06, and featured in the top three of several others.
Although his career is in its twilight, Choate will be long remembered at the club, and will no doubt still have a major presence in retirement, just like his family currently do.
I’ll never forget as a youngster, I used to go watch the Tigers play at Lancefield Park and idolise players like Choate.
In fact, I even tried to get his autograph one day at Romsey after the 1996 premiership.
I know I speak on behalf of the greater football community when I say it has been a pleasure to see Choate play.
Best of luck tomorrow.

Tips

Digger's to win by 3-4 goals. Wind expect alot of wind, to the Sunbury end of the ground.

Tige's to win by 3-4 goals. Cold with showers.

Pie's to win by 6 goals. Weather : Sleet, Sunny , Hail , Rain , Bring wet weather gear.

Hawk's to win by 9-10 goals. Weather, see above.

Bomber's to win by 7-8 goals. Bring some good cleaning products. Mud.

Snow down to 1000 metres.

200th game for Choate

by Matt Nicholls

CHAMPION district footballer Simon Choate will play his 200th game for Lancefield tomorrow when the Tigers host Melton Central.
The veteran midfielder/forward has been a true stalwart of the football club over the years, despite a three-season stint with Essendon district club Doutta Stars.
A triple-premiership player at Tigerland, Choate, 32, said his most cherished memory at Lancefield is captaining the senior side to the 2004 premiership.
As an 18 and 19-year-old, Choate was a key ingredient in the Tigers’ 1995 and 1996 flags.
He kicked three goals as a forward pocket in the latter premiership, and was amongst the best in the ’95 flag win which broke a 29-year drought.
Having lived in Gisborne as a young child, Choate moved to Lancefield when he was 12 because his parents Gary and Pam wanted him, his twin brother Damian and older sister Melinda to go to school at Assumption College.
The brothers progressed through the football ranks at ACK, and eventually made it into the illustrious first XVIII, where they played with the likes of Justin Crawford and Ben Dixon.
After graduating, the twins returned to club football at Lancefield under the coaching of Tiger legend Marty Lakey.
When asked to speak briefly about Simon’s career, Lakey had nothing but praise for the left-footed star.
“He’s a professional footballer playing country footy. Everything he does, from training to playing, is done properly,” he said.
“On the field he is one of those players you want in your side. He’s versatile, reads the play well, and has tremendous skills. He doesn’t mind kicking a goal either.”
When speaking about his career with Lancefield, Choate said it was a privilege to pull on the guernsey for the Tigers.
“Being one of the more experienced guys in the team, you really start to understand how much history this club has, and, how much it means to you,” he said.
The skipper said that Lakey, along 95-96 premiership captain Mick Graham were some of the more influential people in his career.
PLENTY OF HISTORY
Choate also acknowledged Assumption coach Ray Carroll for teaching him about the finer parts of the game, such as the tradition, respect and etiquette at the higher level.
After his successive flags, Choate continued to play with Lancefield until the 1999 season, where the Tigers folded up due to dwindling player numbers.
So he went to Doutta Stars, where he played in a premiership in his first year and took out the best first year player and best finals player awards at club level.
A broken jaw and serious knee injury held back Choate’s career briefly, but he returned to Lancefield in 2002 and came back firing.
He was second in the Bowen Medal in his first year back, and also won the club best and fairest.
The following season he took over as captain from Brad Ryan and skippered his side to its second consecutive grand final loss.
In 2004, with the playing comeback of Lakey, Choate was a key player in Lancefield’s season and led them to a premiership over Riddell.
Since then he has continued to provide a strong leadership presence at Lancefield, and is the most respected player at Tigerland.
To go with his three Lancefield flags, Choate has received plenty of other accolades.
In 1994 he was an Under 18s interleague representative. The following year he played senior interleague.
From 2004-07 he was named in the RDFL’s team of the year. Last season he was picked as captain.
He won club best and fairests in 2002, 03, 05 and 06, and featured in the top three of several others.
Although his career is in its twilight, Choate will be long remembered at the club, and will no doubt still have a major presence in retirement, just like his family currently do.
I’ll never forget as a youngster, I used to go watch the Tigers play at Lancefield Park and idolise players like Choate.
In fact, I even tried to get his autograph one day at Romsey after the 1996 premiership.
I know I speak on behalf of the greater football community when I say it has been a pleasure to see Choate play.
Best of luck tomorrow.

Well said Matt, definitely one of your better pieces. Choetey has been a great footballer but more importantly a great bloke. One of the main reasons Lancefield has kept its head above water for last few years in particular. Hope he has a blinder.

OH petal,that would be fantastic.but unfortunately my taste is a little bit higher than someone from riddell.

I'm a big boy and would be boring if we all were robots and had no opinion on issues.
Everyone, no matter who they are passionate about there clubs and a bit of banter doesn't hurt anyone.
You,me and our friend if the shoe was on the other foot would be just as passionate about certain issues.
Lets get back to the footy and hopefully for all that we have a good game tommorow.
May the best team win (tongue in cheek,go Kangas)

Well said Matt, definitely one of your better pieces. Choetey has been a great footballer but more importantly a great bloke. One of the main reasons Lancefield has kept its head above water for last few years in particular. Hope he has a blinder.

Thanks mate, its always nice to write a feel good story about one of your childhood heroes.

I'm a big boy and would be boring if we all were robots and had no opinion on issues.
Everyone, no matter who they are passionate about there clubs and a bit of banter doesn't hurt anyone.
You,me and our friend if the shoe was on the other foot would be just as passionate about certain issues.
Lets get back to the footy and hopefully for all that we have a good game tommorow.
May the best team win (tongue in cheek,go Kangas)
Cheers mate, all good.

Guys,

A message from Rocky and the Kangaroos, we as a committee and a club are appreciative of the Riddell football club for allowing us to use their facilities this week. Although it is not an ideal situation for either club, with our ground the way it is, unfortunately these situations will occur.. I think we all have to accept the card that has been dealt and I am sure it will be a fantastic event on Saturday, hopefully the Riddell locals will get up and support the Kangaroos through the gate.

Good luck to all teams this week

Go Roos!!!!