RDFL Thread 2009

didn't Belcher play on Moorcroft? Did he kick any goals on him?:D

Interesting game of football at Macedon on Sat. One team came to play while the other certainly did not. Macedon were very good but Romsey were equally bad. What became very obvious throughout the day though is that one G moorcroft is not worth the aleged money he is being paid. All he wanted to do was intimidate opposition (and umpires to a lesser extent). he gave away quite a few free kicks and should have given away many more but the umps took a soft approach with him that they wouldnt take with anyone else. Talking to some of the romsey boys after the game it seems they are not all that happy with their star recruit despite his ability to win them games. For what its worth he only played a quarter at full forward and the rest of the match on ball where christianson had the better of him.
Cant wait for Hawks v Tigers match this weekend, reckon the hawks will get over line at GG Oval to keep finals hopes alive.

Looks like it's gonna be another intresting week for the Rams. I've heard a few stories about what happened and it seems like its one of the regular trouble makers that was involved. Why some people aren't given the boot I'll never know.

The actions of stupid people who should've been shown the door some time ago are now probably gonna cost the club the rest of its the season.

Make a change and boot the trouble makers end of story. They show up, ask them to leave or call the cops. I have no doubt the RDFL would 100% back the club if they chose that road.

So what if it means you may be short on players. Next year with all the idiots gone you may get some quality players join up because you have "taken out the trash".

Regardless, you'll be losing players at the end of this season because of things that have gone on, on and off the field over the last 12 months.

I'm afraid that whatever the club or the RDFL decide to do will be too little too late!

http://www.theage.com.au/national/footy-parents-involved-in-offfield-brawl-20090720-dq9z.html

Footy parents 'involved in off-field brawl'Mex Cooper
July 20, 2009 - 1:37PM
Parents of junior football players are believed to have been involved in a wild off-field brawl that led to the cancellation of two games in Melbourne's outer north-west yesterday.

Umpires of an under-12s game at Diggers Rest, between the home team and Rockbank, decided to end the game when a fight erupted off the ground during the third quarter.

Diggers Rest mother Amanda told Radio 3AW she had seen parents punching, kicking, screaming and pulling hair during the fight that began between some under-16s players.

Brawls at the weekend footy
Brawls between families and fans cause the cancellation of junior footy matches over the weekend.
She said some of the parents involved were angry about umpiring decisions taken during an earlier under-10s match at the ground.

"My son plays for Diggers Rest and we are seriously considering stopping him playing," she said.

"I had my two other children there, a two-year-old and and a four-year-old, and they're right in front of a brawl between parents."

Amanda said one teen pulled a steering lock from a car during the fight but a parent was able to grab the lock before it was used as a weapon.

A Victoria Police spokesman said police went to the ground just before midday and were told a fight had broken out on the field during an under 14s match between two players before spectators joined in.

But Riddell District Football League general manager Scott McCartney said the fight had not been related to the game on the ground and happened on an adjacent field.

"It is terrible ... people have got to realise, going to football these days isn't a right, it's a privilege," he said.

"If people don't behave at these facilities we'll ban them for life."

A Rockbank parent told Radio 3AW he too was thinking of stopping his three boys from playing in the league.

"We came away from the game absolutely disgusted, my kids don't want to play any more" he said.

Mr McCartney said the fight had happened during the under 12s game and the umpires had decided to call off the following under 14s and under 16s matches so people would leave the area.

The police spokesman said there had been no injuries or complaints and police were not investigating.

Mr McCartney said the league was waiting for a statement from the Diggers Rest club on the incident.

He said any club member who had been involved would be banned from the league.

"Football at the moment is a great avenue for kids to go and get a bit fit and do something positive in the community but unfortunately there's just a couple of clowns out there who can ruin it for everybody," he said.

"It's crap like this, it makes you wonder why you bother ... why you bother setting up a league of 5000 players, why we do it, when there's some kids out there, parents, spectators who just think they can do whatever they want and that's not the case."

The Riddell District League tribunal last month banned a 29-year-old Rockbank player for life after he punched a 16-year-old umpire during a game.

Looks like it's gonna be another intresting week for the Rams. I've heard a few stories about what happened and it seems like its one of the regular trouble makers that was involved. Why some people aren't given the boot I'll never know.

The actions of stupid people who should've been shown the door some time ago are now probably gonna cost the club the rest of its the season.

Make a change and boot the trouble makers end of story. They show up, ask them to leave or call the cops. I have no doubt the RDFL would 100% back the club if they chose that road.

So what if it means you may be short on players. Next year with all the idiots gone you may get some quality players join up because you have "taken out the trash".

Regardless, you'll be losing players at the end of this season because of things that have gone on, on and off the field over the last 12 months.

I'm afraid that whatever the club or the RDFL decide to do will be too little too late!
Spot on pal, rockbank will never learn, they might not b so lucky this time

Rockbank really do have a tough decision on their hands now. They need to either throw out the trash or keep going down this path. They dont need the negative media constantly on their backs or the League (who im sure, dont want to be on their backs). They have to clean the club of troublemakers and ban them for life.
As know_a_thing_or_2 does say. Whatever they or the league do it may be a little too late. Lets hope for the sake of Rockbank Footy Club, the RDFL and participating clubs its not too late.

See ya later Rockbank. Enough is enough .
The fact of the matter is rockbank will not get kicked out for an incident involving 2 sets of parents.Diggers rest should be held accountable as much as rockbank, why the police and mmm were called has got me beat as this was a very isolated incident and was dealt with very well and quickly by senior game officials from rockbank as soon as it happened {thats why they are at the games every week now} as the police said uppon arrival and i quote "Why were we called out here" just some idiots tryin to get on the radio and or news ring police etc and try and get attention, very sad day when people stoop that low because they have no life.

Overall the Rockbank football club (Can you even call it that? Maybe the Rockbank football crashing club?) is doing nothing but causing trouble. They are apparently trying to take out the trash it and aint working, simple solution, disband the club, as I wouldn't wish what has happened in the RDFL to any other league. Rockbank, so long and good riddence, this was once a great league, but it has been degraded because of the club. To make the RDFL what it once was, Rockbank needs to go!

Interesting game of football at Macedon on Sat. One team came to play while the other certainly did not. Macedon were very good but Romsey were equally bad. What became very obvious throughout the day though is that one G moorcroft is not worth the aleged money he is being paid. All he wanted to do was intimidate opposition (and umpires to a lesser extent). he gave away quite a few free kicks and should have given away many more but the umps took a soft approach with him that they wouldnt take with anyone else. Talking to some of the romsey boys after the game it seems they are not all that happy with their star recruit despite his ability to win them games. For what its worth he only played a quarter at full forward and the rest of the match on ball where christianson had the better of him.
Cant wait for Hawks v Tigers match this weekend, reckon the hawks will get over line at GG Oval to keep finals hopes alive.

What’s this statement suppose to mean??? I would think umps would treat all players the same but if they were to treat him any different they would take a tougher stand with him because of his experience not the other way around???

The fact of the matter is rockbank will not get kicked out for an incident involving 2 sets of parents.Diggers rest should be held accountable as much as rockbank, why the police and mmm were called has got me beat as this was a very isolated incident and was dealt with very well and quickly by senior game officials from rockbank as soon as it happened {thats why they are at the games every week now} as the police said uppon arrival and i quote "Why were we called out here" just some idiots tryin to get on the radio and or news ring police etc and try and get attention, very sad day when people stoop that low because they have no life.
Mate get real it is anything but an isolated incident, there have been a number of incidents throughout the year involving the club and they have been given many oppitunities to get on top of it and clean up the club but have failed to do so now it is time for the league act.

Personly i think the league needs to suspend the club for the remainder of the season that may force them to act, then let the club know that there will be many boxes they will need to tick before the club is cleared to return next year and that if there is anymore incidents that they will be gone for good.

What’s this statement suppose to mean??? I would think umps would treat all players the same but if they were to treat him any different they would take a tougher stand with him because of his experience not the other way around???

It was on far wing in last quarter when I saw and heard him react very strongly when umpire told him to 'shut up and get on with footy'. I believe if any other player reacted in same manner they would have been at the least sent off immediately. He was very angry/frustrated man all day actually. is he always like this?

Mate get real it is anything but an isolated incident, there have been a number of incidents throughout the year involving the club and they have been given many oppitunities to get on top of it and clean up the club but have failed to do so now it is time for the league act.

Personly i think the league needs to suspend the club for the remainder of the season that may force them to act, then let the club know that there will be many boxes they will need to tick before the club is cleared to return next year and that if there is anymore incidents that they will be gone for good.
And you saw the incident on sunday at the rockbank oval did you mate? Do not comment, i repeat do not comment unless you actually saw what happened, you sound like a journo and you make things worse as people anywhere can read all your rambling. How were rockbank suppose to know that diggers rest and rockbank parents were going to run onto the ground? Do you think rockbank condone this? And what were your thoughts about sundays game prior to the altercation?

Overall the Rockbank football club (Can you even call it that? Maybe the Rockbank football crashing club?) is doing nothing but causing trouble. They are apparently trying to take out the trash it and aint working, simple solution, disband the club, as I wouldn't wish what has happened in the RDFL to any other league. Rockbank, so long and good riddence, this was once a great league, but it has been degraded because of the club. To make the RDFL what it once was, Rockbank needs to go!
To say 1 club made this league bad is an absolute joke mate why did Melton,Melton sth,Darley,Gisborne and Sunbury all leave? Sorry i think crageiburn is in that bag of treats as well.

And you saw the incident on sunday at the rockbank oval did you mate? Do not comment, i repeat do not comment unless you actually saw what happened, you sound like a journo and you make things worse as people anywhere can read all your rambling. How were rockbank suppose to know that diggers rest and rockbank parents were going to run onto the ground? Do you think rockbank condone this? And what were your thoughts about sundays game prior to the altercation?
Do i think rockbank codone it? hmm let me see well the the fact that there has been repeated problems at there juniors games with crowd behaviour and yet these people are still involved at the club would suggest that they havent done alot to fix things pal

Everytime you jump on here mate you seem to condone the incidents the club are having and with you being a player at the club maybe that speaks volumes bout where the club are at right now

i remember growing up playing junior football and worshipping the senior players for my club. i talk to my mates and they have vivid memories of past players for their respective clubs and have great stories to tell. after saturdays game, i wouldn't want to be a junior player at rockbank.

all games have scuffles but one incident shocked me and the bloke never got reported! you cant king hit a bloke three times while he is lying on the ground, it was a dogs act and the player got away with it! he came off laughing about the incident. but we look and just wonder why this is allowed to happen. in another incident, two players go at each other and jumper punches are thrown but only the centrals player gets the send off! our player deserved to be sent off but so did the other player.

getting rid of the rot starts at the top and rockbank need to look at the senior players and oust the players who continue to model this behaviour. children, parents and supporters are watching and this doesn't lend itself to a great culture.

Anyone who thinks that Rockbank condones thuggery and abusive behaviour clearly has no idea what goes on at that club.

There is a catch 22 when banning people from the club. You get rid of one trouble making parent and you may lose 3 good kids, a coach and a netballer. These kinds of things make decisions hard.

You ban someone and they continue to show up anyway and when you ask them to leave they say it's a public reserve and there's nothing you can do about it. You threaten to call the cops and hope that by doing so they'll leave. If they don't go and the cops do show up there's not a whole lot they an do either.

They club have given out warnings to some people which is why I stand by what I said yesterday. This craps gone on long enough. Tell the trouble makers they're no longer welcome and get rid of them once and for all.

George 08 - The incident you're talking about happened right in front of me. There was some push and shove then the Centrals player threw a couple of punches and then jumper punching started between both players. Maybe the Centrals bloke was sent off cause the ump saw the first few he threw.

The other incident that took place in the middle of the ground was after a Rockbank player was headbutted. The ump didn't see that but saw the Rockbank player have a go back. He turned to pay a 50 and didn't see the punches that were thrown which is probably why he was not reported. He was however sent off. I can assure you that this behaviour was not accepted. The coach told the player involved to piss of and get dressed cause he was not putting him back on the field after what he'd done.

At, I believe, 3 qtr time one of the more senior players called all the boys in and gave them a fair spray for what went on both on the score board and with their behaviour.

I am not making excuses for any party involved and in relation to what happened Sunday, I wasn't there so I cannot comment. What I am saying is what I did see on Saturday and why I believe the send offs etc occurred. I am also saying that with 5 rounds to go and no prospect of finals (other than maybe 16's) it's time Rockbank cut their losses and cut the crap out of the club.

The other incident that took place in the middle of the ground was after a Rockbank player was headbutted. The ump didn't see that but saw the Rockbank player have a go back. He turned to pay a 50 and didn't see the punches that were thrown which is probably why he was not reported. He was however sent off. I can assure you that this behaviour was not accepted. The coach told the player involved to piss of and get dressed cause he was not putting him back on the field after what he'd done.

At, I believe, 3 qtr time one of the more senior players called all the boys in and gave them a fair spray for what went on both on the score board and with their behaviour.

This is fantastic! Im glad the coach told him to bugger off! (i thought he came back on) im also rapt with the few senior players who stood up and gave the spray! innella was fantastic with the way he went about things. i too saw him rip shreds through a few blokes. maybe that's all it takes.

Anyone who thinks that Rockbank condones thuggery and abusive behaviour clearly has no idea what goes on at that club.

There is a catch 22 when banning people from the club. You get rid of one trouble making parent and you may lose 3 good kids, a coach and a netballer. These kinds of things make decisions hard.

You ban someone and they continue to show up anyway and when you ask them to leave they say it's a public reserve and there's nothing you can do about it. You threaten to call the cops and hope that by doing so they'll leave. If they don't go and the cops do show up there's not a whole lot they an do either.

They club have given out warnings to some people which is why I stand by what I said yesterday. This craps gone on long enough. Tell the trouble makers they're no longer welcome and get rid of them once and for all.

George 08 - The incident you're talking about happened right in front of me. There was some push and shove then the Centrals player threw a couple of punches and then jumper punching started between both players. Maybe the Centrals bloke was sent off cause the ump saw the first few he threw.

I am not making excuses for any party involved and in relation to what happened Sunday, I wasn't there so I cannot comment. What I am saying is what I did see on Saturday and why I believe the send offs etc occurred. I am also saying that with 5 rounds to go and no prospect of finals (other than maybe 16's) it's time Rockbank cut their losses and cut the crap out of the club.
You make some valid points but these incidents have been going on all year yet the club has done nothing to fix things.

the club obviously has a major issue with the culture and things need to change, the club has had the oppitunity to fix it but has failed now i think the league must act, the rdfl has been a very well run league but these incidents have brought negitive press to the league.

i think the club needs to start again and cut out all the trouble makers and if they loose a few good people in the process then so be it, right now the clubs name is mud and it will be hard to ever win back respect of the league.

You make some valid points but these incidents have been going on all year yet the club has done nothing to fix things.

the club obviously has a major issue with the culture and things need to change, the club has had the oppitunity to fix it but has failed now i think the league must act, the rdfl has been a very well run league but these incidents have brought negitive press to the league.

i think the club needs to start again and cut out all the trouble makers and if they loose a few good people in the process then so be it, right now the clubs name is mud and it will be hard to ever win back respect of the league.

They Haven't done nothing. They have banned a couple of people and given a first and final warning warning to another couple of people who were involved in an incident earlier in the season (given a warning as there had been no issue with them previously).

As I said, get rid of the problems and focus on rebuilding the club for next season, whether they are still in RDFL or are told to go elsewhere.

One things for sure, training will be interesting tonight.

George 08 - Pretty sure the player in question didn't go back on the field after he was sent off. Didn't see him again till after the game and he wasn't in his gear.

They Haven't done nothing. They have banned a couple of people and given a first and final warning warning to another couple of people who were involved in an incident earlier in the season (given a warning as there had been no issue with them previously).

As I said, get rid of the problems and focus on rebuilding the club for next season, whether they are still in RDFL or are told to go elsewhere.

George 08 - Pretty sure the player in question didn't go back on the field after he was sent off. Didn't see him again till after the game and he wasn't in his gear.

he didn't go back on at all. he was told to get dressed as soon as he got back to the bench he went into the rooms. came out without his gear on and remained off the field. which was a great move by the coach.

If the club is trying to fix these behaviuor problems within the club then it really isnt working when these incidents keep occuring on a regular basis, to have this many problems in such a short space of time at one club really isnt good and i think your spot on in saying the club needs to take out the trash.

i think that the club needs a changing of the gaurd cos the same group of people have had conrol for far to long and it clearly isnt working on or off the field and for the good of the club they need to step aside and give others a chance to turn the club around before it is to late.

i do know lee spry and he is s fantastic bloke and he is trying to change things and the way he handled things sat shows that but there is only so much he can do, i know a few of the boys are happy with the issues at the club and fear that they may loose some quality people next year cos of all this.

RDFL Media Release

Based on the evidence that has been provided to the league, The RDFL board has decided that due to the events of the weekend that all junior teams from both clubs, Diggers Rest Junior Football Club and Rockbank Football Club juniors, shall be suspended from taking the field in round 13

The games that were scheduled for this weekend will be forfeits under RDFL guidelines.

The RDFL Board wish to acknowledge that this decision is not based on the conduct of the club officials who acted swiftly to get control of the situation.

The RDFL Board wish to further acknowledge that both clubs have been fully co-operative during the investigation thus far.

Whilst this outcome has not been an easy decision to make, the RDFL Board feels that it is the right action and believe this is the only way spectators will get the message that whilst barracking and wanting your child to perform well is human nature, it is critical that this should be done in a responsible manner avoiding the ugly parent syndrome at all times.

Parents have an important role in the delivery and support of sporting activities for their own and other children. With it comes a clear responsibility to act in a constructive and encouraging manner at all times

The AFL Kids First Policy is very clear in outlining the role and reasonability’s of parents and spectators.

The basic principles of AFL Kids First Policy are to remind parents that:

Sport for children is a vital part of their growing up.
Children like to win, but more importantly, they want to have fun.
Parents need to set the right example at the sports ground, not just at home.
Parents should be proud of their child’s efforts irrespective of the result.
Sport is important to children’s self esteem.

The continued growth and health of the game depends on junior programs and matches being conducted in a positive, encouraging and fun environment. AFL Kids First Policy provides guidance for achieving this objective.

The leagues investigation is continuing in which individuals will be identified and be dealt with accordingly.

me thinks all you people calling for the expulsion of rockbank for an offield fight have got short memories.
fights in the crowd at football matches have been happening since jesus was playing fullback for jeursalm thirds...wasnt it only during last years finals at romsey that all hell broke loose in the crowd i dont recall hearing anybody wanting to kick those clubs out...so before you start throwing mud please check your own club

me thinks all you people calling for the expulsion of rockbank for an offield fight have got short memories.
fights in the crowd at football matches have been happening since jesus was playing fullback for jeursalm thirds...wasnt it only during last years finals at romsey that all hell broke loose in the crowd i dont recall hearing anybody wanting to kick those clubs out...so before you start throwing mud please check your own club

I ever asked for their expulsion simply said that they need to leave this season behind and focus on next year wherever they may be. I don't necessarily think they should be booted but believe that with all the incidents they have had this year, and I know of 4, they may be on their last legs with the RDFL.

Whispering Jack - I'm with you mate, new committee and a new outlook is on the cards.

Damn shame they cancelled all junior games for both clubs for this weekend. Looks like the Rams most successful side is now gonna get robbed of finals cause parents can't act like mature adults.

I ever asked for their expulsion simply said that they need to leave this season behind and focus on next year wherever they may be. I don't necessarily think they should be booted but believe that with all the incidents they have had this year, and I know of 4, they may be on their last legs with the RDFL.

Whispering Jack - I'm with you mate, new committee and a new outlook is on the cards.

Damn shame they cancelled all junior games for both clubs for this weekend. Looks like the Rams most successful side is now gonna get robbed of finals cause parents can't act like mature adults.
Just hope that the group running the show step aside and let fresh blood try turn things round, feel very sorry for the kids missing a wk of footy through no fault of there own

I hate to think what the actions of these moron adults will have on their kids. Unhappy with some umpiring decisions in the under tens???, you gotta be kidding me. Funny to see maumsy fire up again, give us a spell mate.