RDFL Thread 2009

RDFL sanctioned and sponsored I take it???

Has to be the Royal... Lol... Whenever.. One night, just HURRY up..... :p I am thirsty

Seeing and quote "Sunbury Kangas RDFL Major sponsor" I thought you had the $$$ for the night. Suggest a night I'm out 11th & 12th, not any replies from the big footy posters (come on guys time to get together and have a frothy or 2).

Scott will put up but we need a spread of most clubs to get this going.

Seeing and quote "Sunbury Kangas RDFL Major sponsor" I thought you had the $$$ for the night. Suggest a night I'm out 11th & 12th, not any replies from the big footy posters (come on guys time to get together and have a frothy or 2).

Scott will put up but we need a spread of most clubs to get this going.

Any night the week of the 15th to the 19th December.. Me thinks... :thumbsu: So I say the 15th @ 7pm at the Royal... Give a yay if you are able to attend... Would be good to catch up with a few faces.. :)

Obviously u got a job at Macedon this year....one thing for sure he will get plenty of opportunity to get the footy in Macedons backline..since the ball spends 70% of its time there

Hey Greenman - no job at Macedon - jumping from club to club each year looks average on the resume. I will leave the club jumping to your good self.

You do realise Fleming was the Ballarat CHF in the team of the year this year??? The premier CHF in the Ballarat Football League will struggle in the RDFL?? I will give you a tip - please think before you post.

We could get together at a fantastic new watering hole in Sunbury I've just discovered, its situated just behind the Bowling club ????
Would that be the one with the pokies in it where your car was spotted whilst the rest of your team was warming up in preparation of a Mac game about 10 years ago???

Pull your head in Donegal you peanut, most people know you are from woodend and just stirring up sh1t. Give the boys a chance at least they are havin a go. You should know coaching isnt an easy caper!

isnt this donegal guy from macedon? he seems to know what happening there even if he aint happy about whats going on,
if you know he's from woodend who is he??
i hope ur right because youl look like a fool if your wrong!
thats not saying you are wrong i jusr thought that he was from the cattery

From memory, it was a fairly good partnership you had with Gregg Kennedy that helped get us over the line.

Whilst I am happy to talk that "OTHER" game up on here, some people do get the shits if it is discused on this Thread mate..........Topic for GDCA thread perhaps.

ps. Could always be relied on Mr G Kennedy thats for sure !

I am wondering if your clubs do stats and what your coaches look for? I have a keen interest in stats and am just curious what your club does in the way of stats? Does it play much of an importance at your club?

Never really placed to much stock in Stats, or the collection of em, myself.

Thought some of you lads might be interested in some extracts of my column this week.

A dream debut

THREE months ago, I never thought in a million years I would play in a full-blown match of rugby – union or league.
But having been based in Mount Isa for some time now, and watching the local Mount Isa Rugby Union A-grade matches each Saturday night, I must admit it has been a “dream” of mine to have a run.
On Saturday night, that dream came to true.
As I arrived at the Cloncurry Showgrounds in a rush, having been held up at the Mount Isa races, Euros and Keas were well and truly in the midst of a match.
It took me five minutes to realise, but Euros were three-men short on the field, and didn’t have a bench.
Was it my time to shine?
After taking a few happy snaps, and filling myself in on the details I had missed in the match thus far, I jokingly said to the Euros support staff I wished I brought my boots.
Turns out, they had a pair waiting for me – as well as shorts, socks and a guernsey.
So I waited until half time, then stripped down and joined the crew.
To be perfectly honest, I had no idea what I was thinking.
For those of you who have yet to meet me, I’m not built like your average rugby player.
In fact, the only sport I’m built for is lawn bowls.
But having played a fair bit of footy (AFL) back home, I was confident I wouldn’t get killed.
Oh was I wrong.
While I didn’t get hospitalised, I did end up with a small break in my left ring finger, which aches with just about every word I type.
But thanks to some of the bigger boys from Euros, I managed to escape the match relatively unscathed.
A few strong tackles and a good pass or two made it perhaps the most enjoyable game I’ve ever played in.
Believe it or not, but I actually got to have run in the front row of the scrums – although they were uncontested in this particular instance.
Unfortunately, that will be my one and only game of rugby this season.
Not only am I not good enough to warrant selection for any team, but as someone who is writing sport at the moment, I’d hate to come across as biased in any rugby articles I may write.
I'm happy to stay out of the limelight.
However, being a community man, I'll put my hand up again if needed.
At this stage though, I’ll be more than happy to keep my 100 per cent winning rugby record intact.

Thought some of you lads might be interested in some extracts of my column this week.

A dream debut

THREE months ago, I never thought in a million years I would play in a full-blown match of rugby – union or league.
But having been based in Mount Isa for some time now, and watching the local Mount Isa Rugby Union A-grade matches each Saturday night, I must admit it has been a “dream” of mine to have a run.
On Saturday night, that dream came to true.
As I arrived at the Cloncurry Showgrounds in a rush, having been held up at the Mount Isa races, Euros and Keas were well and truly in the midst of a match.
It took me five minutes to realise, but Euros were three-men short on the field, and didn’t have a bench.
Was it my time to shine?
After taking a few happy snaps, and filling myself in on the details I had missed in the match thus far, I jokingly said to the Euros support staff I wished I brought my boots.
Turns out, they had a pair waiting for me – as well as shorts, socks and a guernsey.
So I waited until half time, then stripped down and joined the crew.
To be perfectly honest, I had no idea what I was thinking.
For those of you who have yet to meet me, I’m not built like your average rugby player.
In fact, the only sport I’m built for is lawn bowls.
But having played a fair bit of footy (AFL) back home, I was confident I wouldn’t get killed.
Oh was I wrong.
While I didn’t get hospitalised, I did end up with a small break in my left ring finger, which aches with just about every word I type.
But thanks to some of the bigger boys from Euros, I managed to escape the match relatively unscathed.
A few strong tackles and a good pass or two made it perhaps the most enjoyable game I’ve ever played in.
Believe it or not, but I actually got to have run in the front row of the scrums – although they were uncontested in this particular instance.
Unfortunately, that will be my one and only game of rugby this season.
Not only am I not good enough to warrant selection for any team, but as someone who is writing sport at the moment, I’d hate to come across as biased in any rugby articles I may write.
I'm happy to stay out of the limelight.
However, being a community man, I'll put my hand up again if needed.
At this stage though, I’ll be more than happy to keep my 100 per cent winning rugby record intact.
WELL PICKLES LOVE THE WAY YOU WRITE ,MISS YOU HEAPS DOWN HERE, BOYS AT ROMSEY ARE GOING NOT BAD LEON COX ON FIRE SO IS BIG JED :thumbsu: BATS BOWLS AND NOW TELLING THE CAPTAIN WERE TO GO? HE CAN DO IT ALL THE BIG FELLA , ALSO PLENTY OF BOYS ON THE TRACK TRAINING 30 TO 40 EVERY NIGHT SO ITS GREAT NO ONE HAS LEFT ALL THE BOYS ARE STILL HERE WITCH IS GREAT ADAM HAS THEM TRAINING THE HOUSE DOWN. LOVE THE CLUB LOVE THE JUMPER :DGO REDBACKS :thumbsu:09

Can Someone inform us of the true ability of Matt Nicholls AKA Pickles. We have been bombarded with crap in the local paper about how good he was making 100's in cricket and kicking bags of goals in Riddell. Having observed pickles trying to play cricket my thoughts are there is an element of mistruth. Basically can he play footy?

Think he only ever kicked one bag (5 and that was Lancefield ressies vs Rockbank). Not even close to a star down here chief so I think he might have you all fooled. However, he should go okay up there. Reads the play reasonably well. Just don't get him to baulk someone on the mark!!! :D

As for cricket, I know he was reasonably handy at juniors and captained a few sides, not sure about how many runs he has made though. It doesn't sound like my boy Matty though, he's always been quick to admit he's shit :p

Mind you, he has been cut down by injuries. Has a serious lack of calcium or something. His bones break very easily.

Mate you've been had. Is a decent cricketer but not much chop as a footy player. Mind you, we barely seem him for more than a quarter. Seems to get injured every match.

Mr Mount Isa, I said in my column my most embarrassing moment in journalism was when I had to write about myself. Etc, making runs in cricket and kicking goals in footy. Never said I kicked big bags of goals each week and hit bucketloads of 100s. I also didn't say what league or division I played in. If I was that good I would be facing Dale Steyn next week or doing gut busting runs around the tan in Melbourne for an AFL club.

Pickles,
Just checking a few facts mate. Maybe you should try it, who knows it may turn out to be a handy skill for a journalist. Sorry mate, I must have misread your "Matt in the City" article, my apologies. Monday just wouldnt be monday without it.

Pickles,
Just checking a few facts mate. Maybe you should try it, who knows it may turn out to be a handy skill for a journalist. Sorry mate, I must have misread your "Matt in the City" article, my apologies. Monday just wouldnt be monday without it.

No worries pal. Is this Kingy? Or perhaps the one J. Stewart? Cmon, reveal yourself, we'll have a beer. It's my day off.