RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

I believe they are training well and have added a number of new recruits who will be more than handy. The rumour on replacing a Bowen Medalist with one is also close to becoming true but i wont declare it as fact until i see his name in the clearances page.

Heathcote Football Club Riddell District Football League Meldrum, Alistair Pending 13/02/10

This is on the heathcote page, not sure why but a number of clearances don't seem to end up on the RDFL site.

Jesse waters is returning to woodend on the NFL site, Sammut to Riddell on the EDFL site.

I believe they are training well and have added a number of new recruits who will be more than handy. The rumour on replacing a Bowen Medalist with one is also close to becoming true but i wont declare it as fact until i see his name in the clearances page.

NBF, is you rumour comming out of metro a grade footy or not, they ay have 2 who can win the bowen if this isnt the case

This talk of a potential bowen winner going to Macedon, wouldn't happen to be a bloke that played in the edfl last year Strathmore I think and prior to this spent most of his time playing with Gisborne?

No not that i know of but if they pull that one off it will be quite remarkable. I know they are still meeting with players and doing their best to build a team that can compete with higher paying sides like Riddell and Sunbury who look almost unbeatable at this early stage.
Who is Jesse Waters coming back to Woodend? Dont think i know that name. Training numbers for hawks are a worry after doing a slow lap their on wed.

Heathcote Football Club Riddell District Football League Meldrum, Alistair Pending 13/02/10

This is on the heathcote page, not sure why but a number of clearances don't seem to end up on the RDFL site.

Jesse waters is returning to woodend on the NFL site, Sammut to Riddell on the EDFL site.

Oh yeah i forgot about Meldrum winning a Bowen, if it pans out they will get 2 former bowen winners then. But you will never guess the other one.

Beat me to it Pickles, I know Al tried luring him to Heathcote during his successful tenure there?

Macedon maybe strong then, as far as i am aware the player i have the rumour about has never played rdfl seniors, so obviously that means no bowen around his neck, was clearly stating that he would have to be up there if not odds on favorite for it if macedon pull through,

No not that i know of but if they pull that one off it will be quite remarkable. I know they are still meeting with players and doing their best to build a team that can compete with higher paying sides like Riddell and Sunbury who look almost unbeatable at this early stage.
Who is Jesse Waters coming back to Woodend? Dont think i know that name. Training numbers for hawks are a worry after doing a slow lap their on wed.[/quote]

also have a training group in melb aswell of about 10-15 blokes which puts numbers down,

what sort of an impact will butterworth have at yea this year. im aware he played at broadford last year. how did he go . yea are definetely improving but have had a really young side and could definitely use his experience

Tommy was my assistant coach at Broadford last year and previously when I was in various coaching roles at Yea he was a fantastic leader for that club. The young blokes will learn a heap from him if they choose to coz a better leader of men you'll struggle to find - he has already had an impact back at home as I hear a few of his past premiership team mates may be returning to Tigerland to help coach Paddy McKenna continue to nurture these young fella's you speak of :thumbsu:

Dont worry I doubt they'll recruit heavily enough to get near Kinglake - as I hear that with more recruits they're that far ahead of the Divvie 2 pack it aint funny.

Good numbers at rockbank training again last night. With a couple of big signings still to be announced. It's looking like a big year for the rams.

Not to disrespect the Rams, but they will need a great deal more than just a "couple" of big signings, there is a lot of work to be done at Rockbank for significant improvement to take place.

According the clearance page on RDFL website here is how each club has faired in the off season:

Diggers - recruited 5 and lost 1
Kilmore - 10 and 4
Lancefield - 4 and 4
Centrals - 1 and 2
Riddell - 12 and 4
Romsey - 4 and 1
Sunbury - 20 and 2
Wallan - 3 and 8
Woodend - 1 and 3

Broadford, Macedon and Rockbank have yet to put in a clearance for players going to their clubs but have lost 5, 4 and 4 players respectively.

Are some clubs holding back on their clearances or are they struggling to get players to sign on the dotted line? Yeah some clearances are not on the RDFL page so if you know of any post them.

With the clubs that have recruited heavily, I'm interested to see whether those who played seniors in recent years stick around thoughout the season. Chances are there is no longer a spot in the 1s for a lot of them (you don't go around recruited 2's players). Should make for some highly skilled 2's sides if they do stick around.

Who out of those cleared is going to be most missed at their old club and most valuable at their new one?

Not to disrespect the Rams, but they will need a great deal more than just a "couple" of big signings, there is a lot of work to be done at Rockbank for significant improvement to take place.

I totally agree with that mate but there is definitly a buzz around the club that hasn't been seen before. Were not just relying on the new recruits to do all the work, alot of last years seniors players have stepped up and everyone is working hard to change the club and improve on last years effort.

Tommy was my assistant coach at Broadford last year and previously when I was in various coaching roles at Yea he was a fantastic leader for that club. The young blokes will learn a heap from him if they choose to coz a better leader of men you'll struggle to find - he has already had an impact back at home as I hear a few of his past premiership team mates may be returning to Tigerland to help coach Paddy McKenna continue to nurture these young fella's you speak of :thumbsu:

Dont worry I doubt they'll recruit heavily enough to get near Kinglake - as I hear that with more recruits they're that far ahead of the Divvie 2 pack it aint funny.
cheers mate, yeah we've definetly got some good ins but going by the amount of players getting cleared to other divi 2 clubs , it is going to be an interesting year in the yarra valley

I totally agree with that mate but there is definitly a buzz around the club that hasn't been seen before. Were not just relying on the new recruits to do all the work, alot of last years seniors players have stepped up and everyone is working hard to change the club and improve on last years effort.
will still finish bottom 2, club needs to recruit half a side before they could push for finals

some of the money being given to these new recruits is ridiculous considering where the club is at and what the players should be worth

Good on you Rams for having a red hot crack & starting the season on a positive note. :thumbsu:
Self belief is the first step on the road to success.
All the best fellas for the year ahead.

A strong & even RDFL competition is only as good as its weakest team !

you tell me mate!
According the clearance page on RDFL website here is how each club has faired in the off season:

Diggers - recruited 5 and lost 1
Kilmore - 10 and 4
Lancefield - 4 and 4
Centrals - 1 and 2
Riddell - 12 and 4
Romsey - 4 and 1
Sunbury - 20 and 2
Wallan - 3 and 8
Woodend - 1 and 3

Broadford, Macedon and Rockbank have yet to put in a clearance for players going to their clubs but have lost 5, 4 and 4 players respectively.

Are some clubs holding back on their clearances or are they struggling to get players to sign on the dotted line? Yeah some clearances are not on the RDFL page so if you know of any post them.

With the clubs that have recruited heavily, I'm interested to see whether those who played seniors in recent years stick around thoughout the season. Chances are there is no longer a spot in the 1s for a lot of them (you don't go around recruited 2's players). Should make for some highly skilled 2's sides if they do stick around.

Who out of those cleared is going to be most missed at their old club and most valuable at their new one?

So your saying that rockbank has done badly in trying to become a better footy club this year because why mate? not having a go at you pal wake up and see faith in the underdogs, they have nothing to lose! if we all went to a club guaranteed a flag where would the challenge be? I guarantee a room full of your mates winnin a game of footy is far more enjoyable than a room full of strangers you have known for five minutes.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I believe Rockbank did fantastic last year, putting up some great contests and a couple surprise wins. That was great for the comp, nobody likes to turn up knowing your going to win by 20 goals, but knowing they will get a run for their money and if they dropped their guard could give away the 4 points.

Well done to them for going out and recruiting a few more names. will they cover the loss of a couple and add more?, Maybe, maybe not, I think that with the heavy recruiting done by so many other clubs, they could be left behind again.
What do they do? throw their hands up and say, save the money wait for the comp to drop a little, then throw it out to push to the top. I doubt it. Everybody within the comp believes it is growing stronger every year, so as the clubs take a step forward it is the lower clubs that need to take 2 or 3 steps.
It is a long term plan that is for the future

B: Mark Strack, Warren Else, Mick McCarthy.
HB: Bobby Johnson, Jason Allen, Kar Weng Ng.
C: Leigh McInerney, Matt Robertson, Shaun Sims
HF: Simon Choate, Alistair Meldrum, Heath Wadden.
F: Mick Allen, Lee James, Brydan Morgan.
R: Jeremy Jose, Justin Belleville, Mark Dipietro.
I: Aaron Christiansen, Brian Wheelahan, Chris Collins, Mark McInerney.

I reckon I've forgotten about a dozen players or so, but this is pretty much a side based from 2004-2009.

Forget most of the early millenium. Apologies to those I've left out.

Also, my criteria was they had to be prominent players for at least four seasons. Didn't want to pick guys that had two good years and then left.