RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

The RDFL should pick its best 22 players for the game, regardless of what team they are from.

Why should players from the stronger clubs be disadvantaged at the selection table? If the Kangaroos and Riddell have 14 of the best 22 then the RDFL selectors should pick those 14 players.
Many players made themselves unavailable last year and I'm sure that be the same this year . I think players look forward to the bye week , gives them a chance to spend a weekend away from football and with family. As a spectator it was a great game to watch last year . As a club administrator it isn't something you want your players playing in.

The RDFL should pick its best 22 players for the game, regardless of what team they are from.

Why should players from the stronger clubs be disadvantaged at the selection table? If the Kangaroos and Riddell have 14 of the best 22 then the RDFL selectors should pick those 14 players.
How many from Riddell played last year ?

Haven't heard much outa Kilmore, big signings (Wittmer, James, Lewis, Robbo, Garland, Prendergast plus 2-3 others) should have the Blues really really competitive which will be good to see. Ive said before that Books now having the luxury of Nick Monaghan and Liam Ryan to help him and Jamie on the bench on a Satdy will surely help things a lot :thumbsu:

Surely a few mobs have had intra-club trial games, who are the in-form blokes to look out for?

Ever coached Matty?

How many from Riddell played last year ?

Not too many... Chris Meacham was about the Riddell coverage I think.. J.Allen, J.Belleville and C.McCabe were all in the squad but unavailable..

Haven't heard much outa Kilmore, big signings (Wittmer, James, Lewis, Robbo, Garland, Prendergast plus 2-3 others) should have the Blues really really competitive which will be good to see. Ive said before that Books now having the luxury of Nick Monaghan and Liam Ryan to help him and Jamie on the bench on a Satdy will surely help things a lot :thumbsu:

Surely a few mobs have had intra-club trial games, who are the in-form blokes to look out for?

Heard they may have been some trouble with one of these big recruits at the Kilmore intra-club??? Anyone from Kilmore care to shed some light on the subject and confirm that this high profile recruit hasn't in fact "snatched it" again??

Agree completely... What would be the point if players were there only for the fact that a club must be represented.. If it is picked on the best 22 available for the game, the spots become more competitive and a valid representative team is on the field...

In saying that.. Which clubs were not represented last year and why were they not represented?? If I remember correctly it was Wallan and Kilmore.. The best players from these two sides were unavailable due to injury...

And play the Southern Leauge :

Thats has 6 players from division 1 , 8 players from division 2 , 8 players from division 3 ?

RDFL should be looking to take on another Leauge at about the same standard.

Agree completely... What would be the point if players were there only for the fact that a club must be represented.. If it is picked on the best 22 available for the game, the spots become more competitive and a valid representative team is on the field...

In saying that.. Which clubs were not represented last year and why were they not represented?? If I remember correctly it was Wallan and Kilmore.. The best players from these two sides were unavailable due to injury...

Here's a link the squad list: http://www.rdfl.org.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=321&Itemid=85

10 clubs were represented in the Seniors
12 in the 18's
8 in the Netball

IMS, on the money mate. It was Kilmore and Wallan who were not represented in the Seniors but the first squad had players from every club.

http://www.rdfl.org.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=308&Itemid=85

It's amazing just how many blokes are coming into the league this year that "will dominate this league". Hopefully they all perform to expectation, and it's going to be an ultra competetive year, and therefore bringing the RDFL even closer to the surrounding leagues in terms of quality. It's also going to be very interesting to see how an interleague team shapes up in 2010.:thumbsu:

Was just thinking the same thing Joe......

But with all this Domination going on, one can only wonder where & when the Bondage will start to take place ? :confused:

If you want a true representation of the RDFL, then the best two players from each side should be selected, not eight from Sunbury and six from Riddell ect, it has to be fair on all clubs, and then all clubs are represented, there for a larger crowd.

Good point Sly, but I think on balance I'd want the best side taking the park the RDFL could muster. The quality of the spectacle should be enough to bring the crowds through the gate alone.
And I am confident the majority of our clubs will be represented in the selection of our best RDFL talent for this side. :thumbsu:

We had ours last week...all went well. No injuries, been getting lots of numbers to every session. Not sure we're going to dominate the league though :D

We have our first practice match v Watsonia on the 14th, so come and have a look (buy lots of beer from us) and see for yourself! :)

In more impressive news over 40 girls getting to Netball :thumbsu:

Good point Sly, but I think on balance I'd want the best side taking the park the RDFL could muster. The quality of the spectacle should be enough to bring the crowds through the gate alone.
And I am confident the majority of our clubs will be represented in the selection of our best RDFL talent for this side. :thumbsu:

Well straight up, if Guy Booker was fit he would have made the team.. I would suggest that if Blake Whiteway was fit he would have been in the side too...

Gday Omni, James, Robo (Kil)Grrrry, Dawson (Rom) Talbot, B.Caton(Lan) Blade, McCabe(Rid) Fleming, Goodwin (Mac) Knox, NG (Wood) Sims, Laurie(Dig) Groth, Jacobs(Wal) take your pick of ant 2 at (Sun) down to the two recruits at the Rams. This would be a great RDFL side and with recruits not finalised for this season it will even be stronger.

The following in my opinion makes the BFL a leader in grass roots football competition in Victoria... (The website show and the scores texting).. Would love to see our board go out on a limb and try something like this

Trial-by-video arrives in BFL

BALLARAT Football League players beware: trial-by-video has arrived.
The league has confirmed a deal with a Geelong-based company which will provide video footage of every senior match in 2010.
While the purpose of the initiative is to capture BFL senior matches, which will be shaped into a 10-minute weekly highlights package for its new website, and give clubs the chance to review games throughout the season, the
flow-on effect means that the Ballarat Central Independent Tribunal will be able to call on replays to help make rulings.
Clubs would also have the opportunity to view replays of an incident before deciding their course of action.
RegionalOne BFL chief executive officer Rod Ward said the footage would prove an important tool in the judicial process. "Our tribunal is highly trained and does a great job. We think they're probably the premier tribunal in the state,'' Ward said.
"But this is just going to make their job easier.
"We think it is going to help clubs and the tribunal in their decision-making process.''
But Ward said the system wouldn't be flawless.
"There is only one camera at the grounds, so it's not going to be perfect,'' he said.
The cost of the project is largely subsidised by the BFL, but clubs will be required to pay $75 per week, entitling it to a DVD of the match.
"Coaches and umpires will find it fantastic for training,'' he said.
"It was tabled at our October meeting and voted on at our annual general meeting and overwhelmingly it was supported (by clubs).
"The BFL and the clubs have committed to 12 months, and we will review its success at the end of the year and determine where we go after that.''
This year's BFL interleague clash, on May 22, and grand final day will be streamed live to the new website, allowing supporters anywhere in the world to log on and view the action.
The BFL will launch the new website in four weeks, which will be a customised version of its current SportingPulse site. This will allow the league to set up a weekly BFL footy show, which will be recorded on Tuesdays and available on the website on Wednesdays. The show will feature panel members and special guests, who will recap the previous week's matches and take a look at the fixtures ahead.
"We think it's going to be a leading-edge website for grass roots sport," Ward said.
BFL players, sponsors and registered partners will be kept up to date with match results via SMS this season.
In a new deal with Red TxT, messages containing final BFL scores and an updated ladder will be sent direct to mobile phones about 6pm on Saturday nights. The service is free of charge to the league and recipients.

Thats has 6 players from division 1 , 8 players from division 2 , 8 players from division 3 ?

U could take on the HDFL but then again they would be to good allso:rolleyes:
Just have a game between yourselfs u cannot loose then:D

That was the 'original' agreement struck between the leagues.

My understanding on gameday, 13 division 1 players represented the SFL.

Gday Omni, James, Robo (Kil)Grrrry, Dawson (Rom) Talbot, B.Caton(Lan) Blade, McCabe(Rid) Fleming, Goodwin (Mac) Knox, NG (Wood) Sims, Laurie(Dig) Groth, Jacobs(Wal) take your pick of ant 2 at (Sun) down to the two recruits at the Rams. This would be a great RDFL side and with recruits not finalised for this season it will even be stronger.

If you were able to pick a squad from the following list of players (only going on what I know without seeing everyone play as yet and rumours of the talent) what would be your interleague squad??

Lancefield - B.Ruffell, L.Irwin, T.Waters, B.John, B.Talbot, T.Smith, M.Dorman
Romsey - G.Moorcroft, S.Green, C.Dawson, S.Burlak, R.Connellan, L.Carroll.
Broadford - G.Wearne
Rockbank - L.Maumill, D.Innella, T.Mainey
Centrals - B.Wheelahan
Kangaroos - C.Meacham, J.Cuffe, L.McInerney, R.Johnson, L.Walker
Riddell - C.McCabe, A.Blade, M.Allen, J.Climas, J.Allen, J.Belleville
Woodend - M.Knox, K.Ng,
Diggers - S.Sims, S.Ruane, C.Laurie
Wallan - Unsure of the recruits, B.Whiteway
Kilmore - M.Robertson, A.James, G.Booker
Macedon - A.Fleming, J.Macarthur, A.Macarthur, J.Wright, D.Goodwin.

Im sure I have missed at least a dozen names (including several new recruits) that will be additions for this list, but just this group of names alone would make a very good side... Feel free to add any I might have missed.. But

B - T.Smith, L.Irwin, R.Johnson
HB - J.Allen, G.Wearne, J.Wright
C - C.McCabe, M.Robertson, G.Booker
HF - C.Dawson, A.Fleming, M.Knox
F - G.Moorcroft, A.James, C.Meacham
R - R.Connellan, J.Climas, S.Green
I (From) - A.Blade, B.Talbot, T.Waters, S.Sims, C.Ruane, L.Carroll, L.Walker, J.Macarthur, K.Ng, M.Allen,

Left J.Cuffe out only on the basis of playing younger guys, left A.Macarthur out only on whether he plays this year.

Just thrown together quickly, but not too bad a side... :D

That was the 'original' agreement struck between the leagues.

My understanding on gameday, 13 division 1 players represented the SFL.

Good to see you back pal... Tell me you are going around again??? :confused:

If you were able to pick a squad from the following list of players (only going on what I know without seeing everyone play as yet and rumours of the talent) what would be your interleague squad??

Lancefield - B.Ruffell, L.Irwin, T.Waters, B.John, B.Talbot, T.Smith, M.Dorman
Romsey - G.Moorcroft, S.Green, C.Dawson, S.Burlak, R.Connellan, L.Carroll.
Broadford - G.Wearne
Rockbank - L.Maumill, D.Innella, T.Mainey
Centrals - B.Wheelahan
Kangaroos - C.Meacham, J.Cuffe, L.McInerney, R.Johnson, L.Walker
Riddell - C.McCabe, A.Blade, M.Allen, J.Climas, J.Allen, J.Belleville
Woodend - M.Knox, K.Ng,
Diggers - S.Sims, S.Ruane, C.Laurie
Wallan - Unsure of the recruits, B.Whiteway
Kilmore - M.Robertson, A.James, G.Booker
Macedon - A.Fleming, J.Macarthur, A.Macarthur, J.Wright, D.Goodwin.

Im sure I have missed at least a dozen names (including several new recruits) that will be additions for this list, but just this group of names alone would make a very good side... Feel free to add any I might have missed.. But

B - T.Smith, L.Irwin, R.Johnson
HB - J.Allen, G.Wearne, J.Wright
C - C.McCabe, M.Robertson, G.Booker
HF - C.Dawson, A.Fleming, M.Knox
F - G.Moorcroft, A.James, C.Meacham
R - R.Connellan, J.Climas, S.Green
I (From) - A.Blade, B.Talbot, T.Waters, S.Sims, C.Ruane, L.Carroll, L.Walker, J.Macarthur, K.Ng, M.Allen,

Left J.Cuffe out only on the basis of playing younger guys, left A.Macarthur out only on whether he plays this year.

Just thrown together quickly, but not too bad a side... :D

I reckon Chris Collins would have to slip in there IMS.

Interesting theory, now put them in position.