• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Bit of niggle in it too Im told, heading out to Lancefield for a few hours but hope to get Omni's match report when I get home.

By the way IMS, can you check how many tipped Kilmore ;)

Any news on how Liddell is? never good for a player to leave the ground in an ambulance without knowing why.
from what i heard a very ugly incident after an old school all in brawl.
It is very dissapointing to hear that this still goes on :thumbsdown:

Bit of niggle in it too Im told, heading out to Lancefield for a few hours but hope to get Omni's match report when I get home.

By the way IMS, can you check how many tipped Kilmore ;)

As anticipated a very TOUGH contest today at Kilmore mate in trying conditions. The lead changed several times in the last quarter, with Kilmore finally getting over the line by 7 points. Great contest to watch, & the spectators REALLY got their moneys worth. Congratulations to Kilmore on getting the 4 points. Both sides shape up again in round 12 for the return "BOUT"....... Should be an absolute cracker !!!
I urge all who can to mark it down in the calander & get along..... You WONT be disappointed ! :thumbsu:

Any news on how Liddell is? never good for a player to leave the ground in an ambulance without knowing why.
from what i heard a very ugly incident after an old school all in brawl.
It is very dissapointing to hear that this still goes on :thumbsdown:

The sickening incident happened right in front of both IMS & myself (& Liddells poor mother as it turned out). ( No more than 20 metres away)
We could hear the shocking "CRACK" of the "contact" !
No news as yet. Gerard never saw it coming & was out cold before he hit the ground. He lay there motionless for many minutes as the Riddell trainer made sure he didn't swallow his tongue until he was placed on the stretcher & carried from the ground. Then he was rushed off to hospital.

I am certain a League investigation has to be launched into this very disturbing incident. And also how the out of control aftermath was ALLOWED to occure !

This week is the perfect chance for the RDFL to prove to the community they are a fair dinkum organisation. The incident today at Kilmore was nothing short of disgraceful.

Acting Kilmore captain Travis Hede (was at the coin toss, don't know how he could possibly be considered a leader of men) gave Liddell an old fashioned round house to the face right near the boundary line. Knocked him out cold and I suspect he has a broken jaw.

One of the field umpires was in view of the incident and refused to report Hede. It has been alleged the umpire told Riddell captain Jason Allen "I just hate Riddell" when questioned about the punch.

In my view and in the view of other witness, Hede's strike is worth at least a 6-week holiday. The RDFL need to make a stance. Run a full blown investigation and stamp out this nonsense. Perhaps the RDFL Umpires need to coach their officials again in regards to what is a reportable offence.

We now live in 2010, not 1970. Actions like Hede's are no longer tolerated. Liddell could actually have Hede up on assault charges. This precedent has been set elsewhere in Victoria. RDFL board member Alan Barnes was at the game in his RDFL gear today. He should take off his Kilmore glasses and get involved.

Apart from the Hede incident, the game was very tough and hard fought all day. The Blues deserved to win. Finished off the game like a very good side.

Ouch. Don't believe I said anything about premierships. Was simply making comment regarding Mongrel's attempts to pump up the Bombers as much as possible. Still think it will be a Riddell v Lancefield GF.

My pumping up of the bombers is mostly tongue in cheek matty. Ask omni, i told him last night that riddell were getting ahead of themselves.
The kangas had no trouble with kilmore and we keep winning with half a team in. Yes i beleive riddell are the best team in the comp, but i know full well that means jackshit come september.But by the sounds of things it will be standing room only in a month 4 the return game between the bombers and blues. There might be 4 field umpires and plenty of crowd control for that game too.:thumbsu:

Oh I know it's tongue in cheek. I was trying to add to it. Been enjoying the banter between you and OMNI.

Interesting to read about the happenings at Kilmore. Didn't pick Hede as the type to throw one. Hopefully it all gets sorted out. Glad to hear big AJ didn't get involved!

Well it was a wonderfull rainy day at harley hammond, lots of hard fought footy and a great game to boot!! But seriously, can someone at bfc please get some keys cut for the padlocks on the gates to the netball courts where the ball gets stuck everytime a goal is scored to the east end.

Oh I know it's tongue in cheek. I was trying to add to it. Been enjoying the banter between you and OMNI.

Interesting to read about the happenings at Kilmore. Didn't pick Hede as the type to throw one. Hopefully it all gets sorted out. Glad to hear big AJ didn't get involved!

yeah jameseys not a fighter matty, and most people would be shocked to know he had only eva been reported once in 20 years b4 he came back to the rdfl.
however if the big fella did decide to let loose, i hope everyone in his vacinity has mouthguards firmly fitted. The big fella can throw em.
On a more positive note its good to see that riddell didnt lose the plot tday under the circumstances that i heard took place.:thumbsu:

this week is the perfect chance for the rdfl to prove to the community they are a fair dinkum organisation. The incident today at kilmore was nothing short of disgraceful.

Acting kilmore captain travis hede (was at the coin toss, don't know how he could possibly be considered a leader of men) gave liddell an old fashioned round house to the face right near the boundary line. Knocked him out cold and i suspect he has a broken jaw.

One of the field umpires was in view of the incident and refused to report hede. It has been alleged the umpire told riddell captain jason allen "i just hate riddell" when questioned about the punch.

In my view and in the view of other witness, hede's strike is worth at least a 6-week holiday. The rdfl need to make a stance. Run a full blown investigation and stamp out this nonsense. Perhaps the rdfl umpires need to coach their officials again in regards to what is a reportable offence.

We now live in 2010, not 1970. Actions like hede's are no longer tolerated. Liddell could actually have hede up on assault charges. This precedent has been set elsewhere in victoria. Rdfl board member alan barnes was at the game in his rdfl gear today. He should take off his kilmore glasses and get involved.

Apart from the hede incident, the game was very tough and hard fought all day. The blues deserved to win. Finished off the game like a very good side.
alleged alleged alleged if you dont know the facts dont post a comment are you saying umpires are corrupt and wont report a player because they dont like the other team maybe you should put your glasses on then you would have seen what realy happened

This week is the perfect chance for the RDFL to prove to the community they are a fair dinkum organisation. The incident today at Kilmore was nothing short of disgraceful.

Acting Kilmore captain Travis Hede (was at the coin toss, don't know how he could possibly be considered a leader of men) gave Liddell an old fashioned round house to the face right near the boundary line. Knocked him out cold and I suspect he has a broken jaw.

One of the field umpires was in view of the incident and refused to report Hede. It has been alleged the umpire told Riddell captain Jason Allen "I just hate Riddell" when questioned about the punch.

In my view and in the view of other witness, Hede's strike is worth at least a 6-week holiday. The RDFL need to make a stance. Run a full blown investigation and stamp out this nonsense. Perhaps the RDFL Umpires need to coach their officials again in regards to what is a reportable offence.

We now live in 2010, not 1970. Actions like Hede's are no longer tolerated. Liddell could actually have Hede up on assault charges. This precedent has been set elsewhere in Victoria. RDFL board member Alan Barnes was at the game in his RDFL gear today. He should take off his Kilmore glasses and get involved.

Apart from the Hede incident, the game was very tough and hard fought all day. The Blues deserved to win. Finished off the game like a very good side.

did see that collision today and from what i saw it was a fair hard tackle....yes it was a high tackle but i saw nothing more then that and if at worse it could of been 50m.... there is no way it was a reportable offence with the umpires seeing it as a free kick as well and everyone dealt with the decision they made! In the end a good win to kilmore

Well, what a weekend of RDFL games... :thumbsu:

First of all, so not to take away from my comments on the game between Kilmore and Riddell I want to comment on the incident that took place right in front of me that caused the melee and also caused a player to be taken away to hospital. First things first, the comment that I just read that it was a "fair hard tackle, but a bit high" is not correct at all. One round arm to the waist on the left side of the players body and a swinging round arm to the head on the right side of the players body causing him to be knocked out before he hit the ground is not a "fair hard tackle". The incident was disturbing for where our competition now stands and what the competition stands for. From what I can gather, the offending player certainly didn't look as though he knew that was the damage he would cause once he realised the end result (certainly didn't help when he stood above the fallen player and told him to get up though). Yes, the umpire should have reported and sent the player off, especially when enough of the incident was seen to award a high free kick. But I don't believe the "I just don't like Riddell" rubbish that was spruiked, I think that the umpire in question is a very good umpire and while this was an error, I would be very surprised if that sort of comment was made. Forget the umpire, the issue was the incident and it should be looked at by the powers that be..

Now, on to what was one of the best contests I have witnessed in a long while...
The start of the game saw some very interesting positional moves, predominantly from the Bombers. Was interesting to see Nick Ash go to the defensive goal square and stand the big fella. It looked a complete mismatch and one that could have a big affect on the result. But the Bombers plan wasn't to stop James, it was to win the ball in the middle and create havoc in their own forward line. From the start of the game this looked like it was going to be the way it would be too. The Bombers were on fire early, they had clear ascendency at the stoppages and the midfield of Liddell and especially Casson and Sammut were on top, while of the Kilmore midfield only Booker seemed to be getting his hands on the ball, while Mark Prendegast and Jock Thompson were standing tall across the half back line. The Bombers just seemed to have control of the game, 3 first quarter goals from Mick Allen and Cameron McCabe seemingly everywhere. But there were signs there, when Kilmore where able to force a turnover and move the ball with fluency, they gave James a one out contest with Ash, a contest he was always going to win. Unfortunately for the Bombers though, the end of the first quarter would also signal the end for Mick Allen, who seemed to go on a holiday after quarter time, no where to be seen.
The 2nd quarter saw the continued tough contest that the first quarter produced, the only difference being that the Blues started to even up the stoppages. This was the quarter that saw James at his most dangerous. The Blues were able to isolate and if he had kicked the last attempted shot on goal, the Blues would have gone into half time in front. The Bombers were still providing highlights though, Matt Baird put on his strong marking skills in slippery conditions while McCabe continued to rack up possession. Brayden Allen was on top in the ruck, but the Bombers, when Climas wasn't in the middle, just couldn't seem to capitilize. They went into half time with a narrow lead and the game was evenly balanced. The Blues were a chance, but they needed something from Matt Robertson, who, in the first half, was barely sighted, I actually questioned at times if he was actually playing.
The third quarter the arm wrestle continued. McCabe kicked a great goal from the flank and Baird continued to create headaches for the Kilmore defense. But Riddell just couldn't find any other targets inside forward 50. They had their opportunity, but the had only managed 3 goal kickers for the game to that point and just needed someone else to step up. The Blues hung in their, continually pressing the Bombers defense, a late burst through the middle by Justin Collis followed by a sprayed shot at goal looked to be an opportunity missed, he had the opportunity to hit up a leading James but chose not too, but a Bomber turnover, coughed up to Collis allowed him to redeem himself, hitting James lace out for a 40m goal after the 3 qtr time siren that had the Blues back within a kick or two at the last break.
The last quarter was the reason I came to this game. A leaping mobile talented ruckman (B.Allen) up against a strong bodied head down bum up ruckman (N.Swann), two power running midfielders going head to head (Climas Vs Robertson), two former teammates desperate to make a difference to the result (Allen Vs James) and a two guys not directly on each other, but crucial to the end result as the best two players on the ground (McCabe and Booker).
The Blues came out of the blocks and looked the better of the two sides early. Again isolation of the James/Ash match up and a goal to James finally saw the switch of Jason Allen back onto the big man. But Riddell wanted back in the game. The next passage of play was classic. Brayden Allen hitout to advantage, James Climas with a full head of steam busting through the middle, a lace out pass to Matt Baird, goal Riddell. The thought turned that the play might have just been the game breaker, but the Blues just would not lie down. Enter the man that I thought may have spent the first 3 quarters in the bar, Matthew Roberston made the final term his own. If votes were given on a one quarter basis, Robertson would have been that far best on ground it wasn't funny. Alone he equated for 90% of the Kilmore clearances for the quarter, it also allowed Booker to peel off and help out the backline, he continually chopped off the Bombers foray forwards. As the last term went on, the only Bomber forward that looked like changing momentum back to the Bombers was McCabe. But Robertson was a man possessed, he continually pumped the ball forward as now Riddell were getting 2 or 3 players back to help out on James. But he stll managed to output Allen and Ash for another mark and a goal to put the Blues in front for the first time in the day. The game then turned in to a contested arm wrestle, both sides throwing everything into the game to get the result. Grant Puxley started winning the ball across half back. While Prendegast was providing run off the Kilmore half back line. After a stoppage which ended in not such a good fashion, the Bombers were able to work the ball forward and into the hands of McCabe. When the game resumed, McCabe goaled to give the Bombers back a 5 point lead. Riddell again won the clearance and went forward, a clearing kick went to a group of Bomber players who put the ball deep inside 50 where Brayden Allen took a towering mark, 30 meters out straight in front, the game was over... Surely... But Allen missed, and missed badly. The Blues slowly worked the ball up the ground, a shot at goal from Collis missed to the right and the arm wrestle continued. Brayden Allen again took a big mark but played on?? Kicked the ball straight to Booker who in turn hit Garland with a perfect pass, Garland kicked truly from 40m out to put the Blues in front before another late goal from the Blues gave them a well fought 7 point win in a classic match up. Both sides should be given credit for such an excellent specticle in difficult conditions and make no mistake that both of these sides will feature in the top 4 at seasons end.

My votes.

3 - C.McCabe (Riddell)
2 - G.Booker (Kilmore)
1 - J.Collis (Kilmore)

What I learned from Round 8
  • When the going gets tough, the best get going!!
  • The competition is so even this year at times.
  • Macedon might be starting to sweat, they have a very tough draw, and yesterday's loss might just come back to bite.
  • Whenever Sims is injured, he will still play and get in the best, damn you Simsy...
  • Rockbank at home are much better than Rockbank away.
Performance Ladder - Round 8
Kilmore
Lancefield
Sunbury Kangaroos
Diggers Rest
Riddell
Romsey

Macedon
Woodend/Hesket
Wallan
Rockbank
Broadford
Melton Centrals

Hede deserves at least 6-8 weeks. The league has to launch an investigation. If they are going to allow such gutless and dirty acts to go on, then Hede better be looking over his shoulder when these two teams play again in only a few weeks time.

i went to this game yesterday 1st game ive seen all year wat a cracka of a game .. and for use to say hede deserves 6-8 wks thats bullshit it was a high tackle that went wrong and hede didnt mean to hurt the riddell player , there was no report so the umpires must of thought the same thing ... and for the fight that occured after it well none of the riddell player around that part of the ground where the riddell player got hurt had a go at hede either so im guessing they didnt think he meant to do it as well, it was a riddell player that ran from full back that had a go at hede thats when the fight started... and i dont think hede and all the other kilmore boys will have to look over there shoulders next time they play cos it wouldnt bother them ... riddell can go the wack i bet all kilmore is worried about is whos winning on the score board .. and to finish of does any 1 no when goudge will be back ???? thought he might of been playin yesterday but saw him still on the side line..

Heard the Riddell coach may have went in the book early yesty for abusing the umps - can anyone confirm? Sounds like it was the game of the season to date and seems now the Blues are the real deal. Sets up two rippers this weekend.

Having known Gez for some time now, he's a cracking little fella and I hope he makes a speedy recovery :thumbsu: what's done is done and whilst it may have been reckless and/or sloppy, I doubt it that young Trav would go at a contest with the deliberate intention to injure someone??? I'm sure he'd be feeling it today.

Heard the Riddell coach may have went in the book early yesty for abusing the umps - can anyone confirm? Sounds like it was the game of the season to date and seems now the Blues are the real deal. Sets up two rippers this weekend.

Having known Gez for some time now, he's a cracking little fella and I hope he makes a speedy recovery :thumbsu: what's done is done and whilst it may have been reckless and/or sloppy, I doubt it that young Trav would go at a contest with the deliberate intention to injure someone??? I'm sure he'd be feeling it today.

Hede was heard to say in the goalsquare after the incident and after the melee (whilst the match was stopped still waiting for the stretcher ), "That'll teach him for mouthing off".

I was about 5 cars up from near where omni and ims were, and there was definately intent to hurt!!

I guess what goes around.......

Makes for a cracker in a few weeks!!

Well, what a weekend of RDFL games... :thumbsu:

First of all, so not to take away from my comments on the game between Kilmore and Riddell I want to comment on the incident that took place right in front of me that caused the melee and also caused a player to be taken away to hospital. First things first, the comment that I just read that it was a "fair hard tackle, but a bit high" is not correct at all. One round arm to the waist on the left side of the players body and a swinging round arm to the head on the right side of the players body causing him to be knocked out before he hit the ground is not a "fair hard tackle". The incident was disturbing for where our competition now stands and what the competition stands for. From what I can gather, the offending player certainly didn't look as though he knew that was the damage he would cause once he realised the end result (certainly didn't help when he stood above the fallen player and told him to get up though). Yes, the umpire should have reported and sent the player off, especially when enough of the incident was seen to award a high free kick. But I don't believe the "I just don't like Riddell" rubbish that was spruiked, I think that the umpire in question is a very good umpire and while this was an error, I would be very surprised if that sort of comment was made. Forget the umpire, the issue was the incident and it should be looked at by the powers that be..

Well done there pal for having the courage to give us that impartial & objective very accurate account of that disgusting act of violence we both witnessed yesterday afternoon, no more than 20 metres right in front of both of us.
I would also like to say mate you did leave out one tiny little detail -
The "CONTACT" was delivered from behind !

I hope the RDFL know where to find you pal when they are searching for the "Truth" ????
Perhaps they should also speak to the bloke that appeared from up behind us, to go on the ground after the final siren & said - " That bloke should have been reported..........& I'm from Kilmore " !!!!

Or they could even interview Gerard Liddells Mum. It happened right in front of her too ! (I wont soon forget the anguish & distress on that poor womans face !)

Or they can give me a ring, annnnnytime they want ???? They have my number !!!

Or the Lawyers can give me a call.......If thats the way this senseless assault plays out !!!

Well done there pal for having the courage to give us that impartial & objective very accurate account of that disgusting act of violence we both witnessed yesterday afternoon, no more than 20 metres right in front of both of us.
I would also like to say mate you did leave out one tiny little detail -
The "CONTACT" was delivered from behind !

I hope the RDFL know where to find you pal when they are searching for the "Truth" ????
Perhaps they should also speak to the bloke that appeared from up behind us, to go on the ground after the final siren & said - " That bloke should have been reported..........& I'm from Kilmore " !!!!

Or they could even interview Gerard Liddells Mum. It happened right in front of her too ! (I wont soon forget the anguish & distress on that poor womans face !)

Or they can give me a ring, annnnnytime they want ???? They have my number !!!

Or the Lawyers can give me a call.......If thats the way this senseless assault plays out !!!
Stop blowing things out of proportion

OMNIPOTENT_1Re: RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldie
Stop blowing things out of proportion w***er

You'll only get a reply sport when you have something intelligent & ACCURATE to add !!!

Refer below...............

That looks suspiciously like a reply to me (sport). !!

Hede was heard to say in the goalsquare after the incident and after the melee (whilst the match was stopped still waiting for the stretcher ), "That'll teach him for mouthing off".

I was about 5 cars up from near where omni and ims were, and there was definately intent to hurt!!

I guess what goes around.......

Makes for a cracker in a few weeks!!

Im not going to jump into these sorts of comments.. Trav looked sick when he realized the extent of the damage, so not sure he would have said that at all.....

But the reality is, that if the incident is investigated and a suspension comes, Trav will cop his right whack hopefully on the chin (bad pun I know) and we can all move on...

Hopefully we can all move on and celebrate what was a fantastic week of games in the RDFL... Irrelevant of the events, the Kilmore win was a fantastic effort and proves that they join the other 3 sides at the top of the ladder as premiership chances...

Not just yet mate lets not go getting ahead of ourselves.

Ok, lets just analyse the undisputed facts as we know them –

1. A Riddell player was brought to the ground ILLEGALLY by contact to the head, delivered by a Kilmore player.

2. The umpire immediately blew his whistle following the ILLEGAL contact & awarded a free kick, to the felled Riddell player.

3. The Riddell player was rendered unconscious by the ILLEGAL contact to the head.

4. The Riddell player lay motionless & unconscious for several minutes on the turf.

5. Riddell player was placed on a stretcher & carried half the length of the oval off the playing arena. Still motionless & unconscious.

What conclusions can we draw –

1. ILLEGAL contact delivered by the Kilmore player must have been of a severe nature to cause the Riddell player to lose consciousness. And also for the extent of time that it lasted.

2. Any news of any serious head injury will also back up the degree of severity of the ILLEGAL contact delivered by the Kilmore player.

3. Umpire failed in his duty to identify what was obviously, severe ILLEGAL head high contact to a Riddell player, which warranted at the very least – A freekick, 50 metre penalty, sending off & the report of the offending Kilmore player.

4. If Umpire had’ve taken the appropriate action & awarded the proportionate penalties, then there would have been a fair chance that his control of the game could have been maintained & the ensuing fracas would have been prevented.

5. The R.D.F.L administration must launch an immediate & thorough investigation into this severe ILLEGAL head high contact incident at Kilmore on Saturday.

6. Incidents of this unsavory nature can have the capacity to permanently & irrevocably tarnish the good reputation of a Club………. Or Even a League !

What questions need to be asked –

1. Was the contact deliberate, reckless or negligent ?

2. What was the degree of severity of the contact ?

3. What degree of injury did the contact cause ?

4. What is the lasting impact (if any) that the contact will cause ?

& finally

5. What degree of penalty should be imposed ?