• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

At Wallan it would have to be Matt Vidal going by the footy record Show!

Gotta love the footy record for the big statements :D

Ryan Hatty is Wayne Carey :D

Flying in the retirement stakes.. loved what I saw of him last year.. assumed he was still getting a game.. ooopsies :eek::eek::eek:.. maybe he can make a comeback, a small one.. just ONE game.. :p Is Ryan like Wayne Carey off the field too??? ;)

Haha nice one Yeendy, still you're doin a better job than old pickles!!!:eek:

Lol.. Who knows, there is probably a good chance.. All he needs to do is grow about 15 inches and put on about 20kg in muscle and he might be able to play like him :D

Haha thank you but NO-ONE does a better job than Pickles.. he set the bench mark for million dollar all class journalism.. :p Haha 20kgs.. if he can eat 20 quarter pounders every day and hope that turns into muscle.. we'll see a Carey-esque like physique.. or is that Derek Kickett??

Observation on the wend, A fella gets roughed up and the field umpire red cards the other bloke, opposition team now playing with 17 for 15mins, 3/4 time umpire comes over and says that the boundary ump has reported your bloke as well, so he's off for 15mins in the last quart, which means both teams are down a player at different stages of the game, instead of them both being sent off at the same time in the third quarter, which would even up the teams. Any thoughts? Meaning we are down to 17 men in the last quarter.

The only person that wins in this scenario is the instigating player. More than likely he would be an average player setting out to rattle a better players chain. If they both get sent off, Like i said the only winner is the instigater.:thumbsu:

It's a tough one because unless the boundary.. likely to be a young guy or girl.. reports the player at the time of the incident when the other player is sent off.. the only other time communication can take place is at the end of the quarter.. it's unfortunate for the side who are down to 17 in the last quarter.. put it down to inexperience of the younger umpire.. it's something that may get brought up in the week at training but I guess at the end of the day, both teams were punished in similar circumstances and the 18 player team before 3/4 time may have taken advantage of the situation much in the same way the other team could have when their 18th player came on while the other was down to 17..

There is a break in play when the original player is sent off, the punishment can't happen further on down the track because they feel like it.. If the field umpires are the only one's that can send someone off, so be it, if the other report is made by a boundary or goal umpire that cannot enforce the send off, then the send off doesn't occur in my opinion, the punishment HAS to occur at the time of incident.

Unless there is a howling wind advantage on the day of course !

Heard there may have been a visit to harley hammond reserve satdy arvo by the local police, courtesy of a call from an RDFL official - apparently some young blokes were drinking stubbies and getting quite obscene vocally within earshot of women and kids alike. I know last year a few of our lads got reprimanded for taking stubbies in - but what can clubs really do to control this?

some strong rumours floating around macedon. already have their new coach in the wings for next season with meldrum?

If the boundary umpire is to make a report they are to notify the field umpire at the next break. In this case it's 3rd time. The RDFL has introduced the rule this year that if a boundary or goal umpire makes a report the field umpire is to send off this player once they are notified.

As for the comments about the inexperience of the boundary umpire, you might question it, but what happens the report was done because the boundary saw something the field umpire didn't?

I wouldn't be going around questioning the integrity of the umpires. That is what allot of the people around here seem to be doing. I don't think it's fair and people should just let things go and get on the game!

quote=The Seer;17863738]some strong rumours floating around macedon. already have their new coach in the wings for next season with meldrum?[/quote]

Interested to know where you got this info from Seer?

In response to IMS question about the players each club could ill-afford to lose - here are my thoughts.......

Riddell - It pains me to say it, but Jason Allen. 6th year as club captain, stability, loyalty, plays the zone-off/3rd man up role to a tee. Suspect 1 on 1 against a quality forward of similar size but still extremely durable and reliable. The Riddell FC have had alot of footballers come and go in his time, yet he remains the one rock a club requires in the most important part of a premiership side.......defence.

Sunba - Mcgovern has been a revelation in a club with a high turnover and a clear desire to succeed. The Kangas have had quality onballers over the years in the McInerneys, Bonnici, Helmers etc but this bloke is super consistent and a real headache for the opposition he faces on the day with his ball-finding ability.

Lancefield - Chris Collins provides the intensity, leadership and heart that every local football side needs and requires. This bloke has won a Bendigo Bombers 2's B&F, played in 2 Lanny Senior Flags (1 when he was 17 in '04) coached senior footy at 21yo (not an easy task for the most quality of grown men), yet he is still the one constant at LFNC and every bloke who walks through the club doors would say - what a player and leader to run out on the field with.

Kilmore - Easy. A. James. What a local metro/country league FF. Kilmore seriously would be donald ducked without him. Each of the 7 clubs he has played for in the last 8 years would agree that they would be 2 parts of stuff all in their respective leagues without him lining up in the 10m rectangle. Good luck to the club that has him in any given year and I know he puts up with alot of sh*t but still try to show a bit of class in the way you go about it.

Macedon - Andrew McArthur. And it is showing at the present time how much they are missing him. Provides buzz, quality and the on-field leadership that the cats require with their young mix of predominantly local products who have only a distant memory of the success associated with Macedon FC. A welcome return to the cats in the coming weeks the ginger AMac will be.......

Diggers - Shawn Sims is the heartbeat and soul of the Burra and is in a sumilar vein to Jason Allen. Another one who pains me to say it but a great leader with an exceptional mid/fwd ability who has a clear balance of team ethos and individual on-field pride in performance. Highly skilled by foot and drastically underrated overhead, which has often been the downfall of opposition sides in their planning against him.

Romsey - Most would say Moorcroft but I reckon McNaughton just over Yak. This bloke is a pure athlete who hits hard and finds it 30+ times a match and uses it at 75-80% efficiency. Super consistent at this level, and seems to have found a happy medium at the redbacks, despite probably not having a passion for the game that most would associate with a bloke with his level of ability.

Wallan - Carl Groth is a quality footballer with excellent skills and the ideal tank/disposal output to be a standout performer in an inconsistent magpie team. Has played a good standard of football, is fit, and gives Wallan the midfield consistency every club begs for.

Woodend - Knox. They have no target up forward without him. They have shown to be a team full of passion when it suits them, but are very inconsistent in the effort/intensity stakes which is a non-negotiable at any level. Knox however will present all day, and perservere. When the Hawks are winning games, he is prominent every time wothout fail.

Rockbank - Nathan Jackal has shown to be a close to elite runner who the Rams have drastically missed when he has been absent. Disposal is average but his ability to find the jack and jill and break the lines is something Rockbank have not possessed for a very, very, very, very, very, very, very long time.

Centrals - tough to find one in particualr but i'd go with Bullen. A good leader who genuinely thrives for the contest and has a pure feel for his club and the game, he just needs alot more teammates to jump on board his competetive wagon.

Broadford - Marcus Webb has played some quality football over the years and is a former ACK 1st XVIII Captain. Probably the only top liner (along with Grant Wearne) at the Roos and speaking to coach Billy Neilson he averages close to 40 touches a game this season, which is tough to find anywhere.

If the boundary umpire is to make a report they are to notify the field umpire at the next break. In this case it's 3rd time. The RDFL has introduced the rule this year that if a boundary or goal umpire makes a report the field umpire is to send off this player once they are notified.

As for the comments about the inexperience of the boundary umpire, you might question it, but what happens the report was done because the boundary saw something the field umpire didn't?

I wouldn't be going around questioning the integrity of the umpires. That is what allot of the people around here seem to be doing. I don't think it's fair and people should just let things go and get on the game!

I don't think that sly was questioning the integrity of the umpiring fraternity Macca, in fact, I would say of most of the people on the site, sly would be close to the most respectful of the job the men in orange do... He was asking the question of how it is to happen, which you have answered.. No one is slamming the umpires personally here, more the process, most would believe that if there is a report that will result in a send off, it should happen at the time is all...

No one's questioning the umpires integrity macca, i was asking for opionions to the rule, you have a player who gets belted, the thug gets sent off then 20 mins later you find out, you have to play one short! the rule needs to be looked at, not the umpire! for what it's worth the umpires did a great job and the boundary umpire (Erik) is definatly over 21.

Heard there may have been a visit to harley hammond reserve satdy arvo by the local police, courtesy of a call from an RDFL official - apparently some young blokes were drinking stubbies and getting quite obscene vocally within earshot of women and kids alike. I know last year a few of our lads got reprimanded for taking stubbies in - but what can clubs really do to control this?
The Clubs have to take responsibiity for their own supporters, ""Example"" last Sat a couple of trouble makers who could be from Sunbury make their way to woodsy, these trouble makers are informed by the Kanga's to leave the ground. They now know that they are no longer welcome at the Kanga's games! "Problem solved" Thats a club heading in the right direction. If you want success, it has to start off field before it can happen on field, although it seems to be happening on & off at the Kanga's.
Doona, were they under 18's or spectators?

From memory this was suggested a couple of months ago and smartly repudiated.

And has been again.... Look, whether or not Al takes over at the end of the year, who knows.. But that is for the end of the year.. I don't think that Brendan Lee will be replaced during the season so it isn't worth talking about at the moment... The Cats still have the job to do for this year and knowing Al, there will certainly be no talk of next year just yet, as the assistant coach of the Cats this year, they will be focusing on what needs to be done for the remainder of this year first..

The Clubs have to take responsibiity for their own supporters, ""Example"" last Sat a couple of trouble makers who could be from Sunbury make their way to woodsy, these trouble makers are informed by the Kanga's to leave the ground. They now know that they are no longer welcome at the Kanga's games! "Problem solved" Thats a club heading in the right direction. If you want success, it has to start off field before it can happen on field, although it seems to be happening on & off at the Kanga's.
Doona, were they under 18's or spectators?

According to KA that would be me :D I don't care what they say, I am not going anywhere!!! :p

Ha, and as door bitch at the pres. lunch I was soooo hoping KA would try to sneak in but alas, he didnt tip toe into Woodsy!

Very good president's lunch at Woodsy... The mini Chicken Parma's are a clear winner!!!! :thumbsu:

Blues 12 ate 40 of em!!!