RDFL Thread 2011 (Part 2)

I think before we start talking about how the "Big Three" are going to fit into two for the big dance in a couple of weeks over at Lancefield............ Or at least I think its at Lancefield....... Who knows it may well have changed by now ! What time is it ???
Anyway it would be extremely remiss of us all not to consider the distinct possibility that the Cats are indeed in with a pretty good shot at going all the way now that they have gotten the "Monkey" off their backs, by finally coming off age & beating Diggers in a Final.
Belief is a massive driving force in footy. And now Macedon knows how to win a Final, they just might now have the confidence & appetite for a few more !
I think everyone in the comp' knows they have the cattle to play good footy, & after Saturdays convincing win by their reserves side, it shows they also have the depth of talent as well.
Although Macedon seniors win over Diggers on Sunday was at times a little scratchy, & both sides made a plethora of errors, the Cats stood firm when it mattered & there was no discernible second half fade out by them, which has been an unfortunate flaw of their game in recent years. Yes, a couple of their players need to do MORE. Ash Fleming & Al Collins need to step up. And big Al Meldrum needs to have a greater impact...... "THAT" is the burden which comes with leadership !
On the plus side the Cats had many solid contributors on Sunday & their commitment as a team to do the one percenters was a major factor in their victory. James (Nipper) Wrights run & carry was invaluable, as was the inspirational goals he booted in the first quarter. Darren Goodwins work at the stoppages was first rate. He is a big body, surprisingly mobile for his size & not easily pushed aside in the contested stuff, and he aint too shy when it comes to the in and under work either. Little Josh Cloughs performance on the far wing, (that saw most of the days play) was an absolute ball tearer. He may only be 50 kgs wringing wet, but the kids got a massive heart, puts his head over the ball & has a great turn of speed. Daniel Sandle & Tim Dettmann's contributions on Sunday were solid & important, as was Robbie Belchers. A backmans role is never glamorous or flashy, but Belcher offers good leadership down back, martials his troops very well, is not afraid to be creative & always makes his opponent earn every single possession.
Sometimes when you watch or play a game of footy you can be privileged to witness a watershed moment in the heat of the contest. These can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up & give you goose bumps. Well on Sunday at about the fifteen minute mark of the last quarter, we had a beauty !
Diggers were on the march, having kicked a couple of goals & were closing down the margin on Macedon, FAST ! The Cats were under siege. The game was tough & hard. No place to hide & certainly no place for the faint hearted. Diggers needed to get the ball down quickly to their forwards to score. A Burra player won possession of the pill in the centre & drove it long over half forward & into the hole. Shane Marchewka the Diggers full forward lead fiercely & direct with eyes only for the ball, desperate to take the grab.
Now people have all sorts of definitions & thoughts on what is "courageous" & what is "tough" in footy. Well, for mine, its what Macedons Pete Markworth chose to do on Sunday arvo' in the close, dying stages of this game. With the ball floating over his head, he turned around, running back with the flight of the ball, wide open & without any regard to his own welfare he made a suicidal contest of "that mark", which could only end in a bad way for his person. The sickening clash left him prostrate & motionless on the deck, BUT....... His valour in putting his body on the line had won Macedon a free kick for high contact to his noggin. HE had single handedly halted Diggers Rests dangerous foray forward. (although he could not take the resulting kick, & was helped from the ground by two trainers)

Had Marchewka taken the easiest of marks on the lead & converted the relatively simple shot, who knows if Macedon could've held out against a rampaging Diggers for that win !
Sometimes these selfless inspirational acts are the sort of things that players must do if their team is to prevail.

If Macedon now have a depth of players that are prepared to do this sort of thing, coupled with the 1%ers for TEAM success who knows how far it will take them ????

I think before we start talking about how the "Big Three" are going to fit into two for the big dance in a couple of weeks over at Lancefield............ Or at least I think its at Lancefield....... Who knows it may well have changed by now ! What time is it ???
Anyway it would be extremely remiss of us all not to consider the distinct possibility that the Cats are indeed in with a pretty good shot at going all the way now that they have gotten the "Monkey" off their backs, by finally coming off age & beating Diggers in a Final.
Belief is a massive driving force in footy. And now Macedon knows how to win a Final, they just might now have the confidence & appetite for a few more !
I think everyone in the comp' knows they have the cattle to play good footy, & after Saturdays convincing win by their reserves side, it shows they also have the depth of talent as well.
Although Macedon seniors win over Diggers on Sunday was at times a little scratchy, & both sides made a plethora of errors, the Cats stood firm when it mattered & there was no discernible second half fade out by them, which has been an unfortunate flaw of their game in recent years. Yes, a couple of their players need to do MORE. Ash Fleming & Al Collins need to step up. And big Al Meldrum needs to have a greater impact...... "THAT" is the burden which comes with leadership !
On the plus side the Cats had many solid contributors on Sunday & their commitment as a team to do the one percenters was a major factor in their victory. James (Nipper) Wrights run & carry was invaluable, as was the inspirational goals he booted in the first quarter. Darren Goodwins work at the stoppages was first rate. He is a big body, surprisingly mobile for his size & not easily pushed aside in the contested stuff, and he aint too shy when it comes to the in and under work either. Little Josh Cloughs performance on the far wing, (that saw most of the days play) was an absolute ball tearer. He may only be 50 kgs wringing wet, but the kids got a massive heart, puts his head over the ball & has a great turn of speed. Daniel Sandle & Tim Dettmann's contributions on Sunday were solid & important, as was Robbie Belchers. A backmans role is never glamorous or flashy, but Belcher offers good leadership down back, martials his troops very well, is not afraid to be creative & always makes his opponent earn every single possession.
Sometimes when you watch or play a game of footy you can be privileged to witness a watershed moment in the heat of the contest. These can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up & give you goose bumps. Well on Sunday at about the fifteen minute mark of the last quarter, we had a beauty !
Diggers were on the march, having kicked a couple of goals & were closing down the margin on Macedon, FAST ! The Cats were under siege. The game was tough & hard. No place to hide & certainly no place for the faint hearted. Diggers needed to get the ball down quickly to their forwards to score. A Burra player won possession of the pill in the centre & drove it long over half forward & into the hole. Shane Marchewka the Diggers full forward lead fiercely & direct with eyes only for the ball, desperate to take the grab.
Now people have all sorts of definitions & thoughts on what is "courageous" & what is "tough" in footy. Well, for mine, its what Macedons Pete Markworth chose to do on Sunday arvo' in the close, dying stages of this game. With the ball floating over his head, he turned around, running back with the flight of the ball, wide open & without any regard to his own welfare he made a suicidal contest of "that mark", which could only end in a bad way for his person. The sickening clash left him prostrate & motionless on the deck, BUT....... His valour in putting his body on the line had won Macedon a free kick for high contact to his noggin. HE had single handedly halted Diggers Rests dangerous foray forward. (although he could not take the resulting kick, & was helped from the ground by two trainers)

Had Marchewka taken the easiest of marks on the lead & converted the relatively simple shot, who knows if Macedon could've held out against a rampaging Diggers for that win !
Sometimes these selfless inspirational acts are the sort of things that players must do if their team is to prevail.

If Macedon now have a depth of players that are prepared to do this sort of thing, coupled with the 1%ers for TEAM success who knows how far it will take them ????

Excellent post Omni, as I said on Monday, I reckon that Romsey will definately have a game on their hands This Sunday against Macedon, who's form over the last month has been very good !

Look mate when I woke up today and thought to myself gee I wonder how Ryans year went I might ask someone on big footy because I don't have his number, I did not expect it would be so difficult to get a straight answer.

If you dont know or don't care don't answer. It's not faking hard. And just so you know I actually had the week of to rest up for the preliminary final so go finger your self.

Now can someone tell me how Ryan Connellan went this year please?

He has one heavy thing slowing him down and it aint his knee hahahahahaha.

i totally agree Omni, that was an icredible act of courage and im pretty sure he sat the rest of the game out, as he walked off past me, he looked like he had been hit by a truck. Awesome stuff. I cant wait for the game on sunday, should be a cracker!

Excellent post Omni, as I said on Monday, I reckon that Romsey will definately have a game on their hands This Sunday against Macedon, who's form over the last month has been very good !

Thanks mate. ONE expert critic on here reckons I write way too long stuff with not enough paragraphing ! :(

i totally agree Omni, that was an icredible act of courage and im pretty sure he sat the rest of the game out, as he walked off past me, he looked like he had been hit by a truck. Awesome stuff. I cant wait for the game on sunday, should be a cracker!

Yeah thats correct mate, jelly legs & no further part taken...... Hey champ, are you now on the Cat bandwagon too ???

Thanks mate. ONE expert critic on here reckons I write way too long stuff with not enough paragraphing ! :(

:D

Im sure no one has an issue with the length, maybe just the paragraphing, sounds like your critic on here was spot on... :cool:

On another subject..... Did anyone listen to the call of the game on the radio on Sunday ?
And was it better (after the criticism) than Saturdays call ?

On another subject..... Did anyone listen to the call of the game on the radio on Sunday ?

I heard that the special comments on the day were exceptional :D

I listened to the last term, was ok, but let's not get too focussed on comparing these lads to the Fresh or 3BO FM in Bendigo. Completely different set-ups and resources i'd suggest.

I'm pretty sure with the 9-10 weeks we hung out together this year I may have taught the special comments man how to waffle on a bit :D

I listened to the last term, was ok, but let's not get too focussed on comparing these lads to the Fresh or 3BO FM in Bendigo. Completely different set-ups and resources i'd suggest.

I'm pretty sure with the 9-10 weeks we hung out together this year I may have taught the special comments man how to waffle on a bit :D
Did he show ANY incite into the game at all Doon' ?

Oh ! I thought I saw you pressed up against the fence mate with a Cats beanie and duffle coat on with the number 22 on the back cheering your **** off ! :p
Bwahaha, wouldnt wipe my backside with that certain jumper number you speak of. And the way he sniped against us at trentham confirms my hatred.
On the radio topic, I thought the coverage was good, except for the three or four second delay.

Guardian,

The big Yak went down in Round 5 with a pretty bad knee injury and only made it back into the Senior side in Round 18.

The knee still appears to be giving him some grief and was dropped back into the 2's last week. All going well he is still a chance to play one's but we'll have to wait and see.

For the first time in a few years, Romsey had another ruckman to give the big fella a chop out and decrease his workload. Hopefully next year he can get back to his best and be one of the premier big men in the comp. (if you don't poach him of course)

I'd be very surprised if he plays one's again this year !

On the radio topic, I thought the coverage was good, except for the three or four second delay.
Thanks Sprech! By tuning in to 88.1FM at all finals, the delay is taken out.. on 100.7FM, we've got to send the feed back to the studio, that shoots it to Mt Macedon where the transmitter is and then out to the rest of the area... we've got a little transmitter at the ground plugged into our direct feed.. hence the 88.1FM.. that's what the Magician, our technician tells me.. we appreciate any support that we get.. we're looking for more people to take on our roles next year if anyone is keen.

With the Bowen Medal being awarded next Wednesday night.

Who are the favourites to take it out ?

Who are the likely top ten finishers ?

Who will take out the young gun award ?

Who are certainties to make team of the year, and in which positions ?

with the bowen medal being awarded next wednesday night.

Who are the favourites to take it out ?

Who are the likely top ten finishers ?

Who will take out the young gun award ?

Who are certainties to make team of the year, and in which positions ?
cuffe,cuffe,cuffe,cuffe

Ok Haylist to salute the judge......Black Caviar jockey to be replaced next prep by ex Burra

To UNRealist, I am the v-pres of Romsey Football Netball Club, as everyone is well aware of.. I am here to tell you, and everyone else in the football world, that the jockey that has ridden Black Caviar this year, will coach next year and as many years as he wants, at this club. He has bought discipline, respect, crowds, great people, football knowledge and a wealth of super coaches who work with him. People keep commenting on what a fantastic job our committee has done this year with our football and netball, Well I am here to tell you, that the great PEDO is in the same mold as Bomber Thompson with a handshake deal with myself, who employed him and that handshake was for two years. I believe in the man, I respect him and he loves the whole club especially the future kids coming through. So lastly if Pedo wasn't around, our club it would be a lesser place....So I can guarantee here and now that Black Caviar's jockey will be riding that great horse again in 2012........You better hope that it is not the person behind this alias UNRealist, that I think it is and spoken to me by phone in the last three days. I would be very disappointed.......cccccooooonnnllliiinnnkkkoooo you beauty

Very well said Conalinko, can we please get off this Black caviar talk it really is silly.! will be dropping in to see the great Yakitty Yak sunday lets hope he gets up for it. yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyooooooooooooouuuuuuuuuuuuuu bbbbbbbbeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaauuuuuuuuuutttttttttttttttyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::):D:D

No offence Connalinko, because pretty much all of what you said was good, but comparing Peddo to Mark Thompson? Is he the same guy that walked out on a contract with the Cats because he'd had enough of coaching, only to end up at Essendon as a coach?

Very well said Conalinko, can we please get off this Black caviar talk it really is silly.! will be dropping in to see the great Yakitty Yak sunday lets hope he gets up for it. yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyooooooooooooouuuuuuuuuuuuuu bbbbbbbbeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaauuuuuuuuuutttttttttttttttyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::):D:D

I agree the black caviar talk is silly........who started it again??

Hopefully this week Pedo will set team up to win, unlinke last week when he set team up to try and not to lose which obviously didn't work. You have the best team Pedo position them to win, they have to beat you, not you try and beat them, think positive, and let the team do what they have done all year, in their best positions!!!! The boys will do it, if you just give them the opportunity,don't be so negative. You win a game of footy by being the most positive and attacking, please remember that. You've done it all year for god's sake!